DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 05/20/2026 claims 1-19 are pending. Independent claims 1 and 16 were amended by including new limitations not previously presented.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to independent claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the applicant argues in pages 12-14 of the Remarks dated 05/20/2026 that the prior art reference Xie does not teach the newly added limitations to amended claims 1 and 16. However, the examiner does not rely upon Xie for the newly added limitations. The examiner cites a newly found prior art below for the amended limitations.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The specification objection to the abstract is withdrawn due to the amendments made by the applicant.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 17 of claim 1 replace “a” with --the-- and add --process-- after “start” so that it reads “the black start process” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. Claims 2, 6, and 16 are objected to for the same reason as claim 1. For examination purposes below these limitations will be interpreted as “the black start process”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (Chinese Patent CN-113381428-A) in view of Hug (USPGPN 20220271563).
With respect to independent claims 1 and 16, Xie teaches a black start method for a household energy storage system in an off-grid state (¶[04]; an off-grid black start method for an energy storage system).
Xie teaches comprising a battery management system (BMS) (Fig. 1; ¶[61]; a BMS), an energy management system (EMS) (Fig. 1; ¶[28]; an EMS), a power conversion system (PCS) (Fig. 1; ¶[28]; a PCS), and a battery system (Fig. 1; ¶[28]; an energy storage battery system (ESS)).
Xie teaches wherein the BMS is configured to, in response to detecting that the battery system is discharged to a state of charge (SOC) of less than or equal to a set value M, send a state of the battery system to the EMS, wherein M is a number greater than 0 and less than 1 (¶[79-80]; the BMS uploads the SOC of the ESS to the EMS when it detects the SOC is below 30% during a discharge state. One of ordinary skill understands this value corresponds to 0.3 in decimal point format which is a number greater than 0 and less than 1).
Xie teaches the EMS is configured to receive the state of the battery system and send timing starting time T1 (¶[79]; it is understood that the start time is recorded when SOC drops below 30% (e.g., for more than 5 minutes)) and black start time T2 to the BMS (¶[86]; a black start attempt to establish voltage occurs after 30 minutes).
Xie teaches the BMS is further configured to, in response to performing timing for a time T from T1, instruct the battery system to stop working such that the household energy storage system enters a sleep mode (¶[79]; after 5 minutes the PCS will be shutdown therefore shutting down the system).
Xie teaches in response to performing timing to T2, wake an auxiliary power supply up for power supply to the EMS for performing a black start process (¶[85]; a UPS support power supply is used for operating the system thus it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the EMS controller is powered by the auxiliary UPS when the system is shutdown for performing a black start).
Xie teaches the EMS is further configured to, in response to detecting that the battery system is in a charging state, determine that a black start of the household energy storage system succeeds (¶[88]; the EMS will place a PCS in voltage source mode when it determines that it is online in a charging state therefore it is understood it has determined the black start has succeeded hence placing the PCS in voltage source mode).
However, Xie fails to explicitly teach detecting whether the battery system is in a charging state; and in response to detecting that the battery system is not in the charging state, performing another black start process subsequently and powering the EMS by the auxiliary power supply.
Hug teaches detecting whether the battery system is in a charging state (Fig. 11; in step 314 the system detects if the battery system is in a charging state).
Hug teaches in response to detecting that the battery system is not in the charging state, performing another black start process subsequently and powering the EMS by the auxiliary power supply (Fig. 11; ¶[99]; in steps 314-318 the system will reattempt a black start irrespective of whether the battery is in a charging state or not and will do so subsequently until it is successful. In other words, in step 314 the system will detect the charging state of the battery and if the battery is not in a charging state a black start attempt will be performed in step 316 and will continue to do so via step 318 until it is successful. In step 316, the auxiliary power system provides power to the system).
Calibrating a power restoration system in order to determine whether a black start is successful based on the state of charge of the battery would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date by adapting Hug’s verification of the charge state of the battery before attempting a black start with Xie’s black start system. The advantage of this being a resilient hybrid black start system with a setup that cuts capital costs by downsizing individual components, optimizing generator fuel efficiency, and ensuring high-reliability backup power (see ¶[22] of Hug).
With respect to dependent claims 10 and 17, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. Further, Xie teaches before sending, by the EMS, the timing starting time T1 and the black start time T2 to the BMS, further comprising sending, by the EMS through a cloud platform, a turning-off instruction to a terminal bound to the cloud platform to instruct a user of the terminal to turn off some or all loads in the household energy storage system (¶[57-59]; an iWeNet provides instructions to manually disconnect the switches for the PCS, the inverter, and the load which is understood by one of ordinary skill to be done before a black start attempt as a method to avoid high inrush currents which could trip protective equipment).
With respect to claim 13, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Xie teaches wherein in the sleep mode, some control circuits in the BMS, the EMS, and a PCS are powered off (¶[85]; a UPS support power supply is used for operating the system thus it is understood by one of ordinary skill that some of the control circuits in the BMS, the EMS, and the PCS are powered off during system shutdown).
With respect to claim 14, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Xie teaches wherein the auxiliary power supply is the battery system or another power supply connected to the household energy storage system and used for powering the EMS (¶[85]; a UPS support power supply is used for operating the system thus it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the EMS controller is powered by the auxiliary UPS when the system is shutdown).
With respect to claim 15, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Xie teaches wherein the black start time T2 is a moment at which a photovoltaic generation system connected to the household energy storage system works (¶[86, 90]; after 30 minutes the inverter is operated converting the solar power of the photovoltaic system).
Claims 2-9, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (Chinese Patent CN-113381428-A), in view of Hug (USPGPN 20220271563), and further in view of Beaston (USPGPN 20240258826).
With respect to claim 2, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Xie teaches in response to determining that the household energy storage system satisfies a first startup condition, sending, by the EMS, a startup instruction to the BMS (¶[10]; the EMS checks the system for faults and if none found it sends a startup instruction to the system which one of ordinary skill understands includes the BMS).
Xie teaches instructing, by the BMS according to the startup instruction, the battery system to power the EMS, the BMS, and a power conversion system (PCS) such that the household energy storage system exits from the sleep mode (¶[10]; the EMS instruction to startup includes powering the system (i.e., the EMS, the BMS, and the PCS) from the batteries thus under control of the BMS which would exit the system from a shutdown state).
Xie teaches sending, by the EMS, a charging instruction to the PCS and charging, by the PCS, the battery system according to the charging instruction (¶[86]; the EMS instructs the PCS to commence charging when the inverter is started thus one of ordinary skill understands the batteries are being charged).
Xie teaches determining, by the EMS, that the black start of the household energy storage system succeeds (¶[88]; the EMS will place a PCS in voltage source mode when it determines that it is online in a charging state therefore it is understood it has determined the black start has succeeded hence placing the PCS in voltage source mode).
However, Xie fails to explicitly teach detecting, by the BMS from a P-th minute to a Q-th minute after the PCS charges the battery system, that the battery system is in the charging state and sending the case where the battery system is in the charging state to the EMS.
Beaston teaches detecting, by the BMS from a P-th minute to a Q-th minute after the PCS charges the battery system, that the battery system is in the charging state and sending the case where the battery system is in the charging state to the EMS (¶[370]; a timer is used to determine a specified time the charger started to operate and ended operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Beaston’s amount of time the charger is operating to Xie’s black start method in order to determine if a successful operation has occurred based on the amount of time since the charger has been in use. The advantage of this being the ability to provide back-up power to customers is enabled during the event of power disruptions (see ¶[233] of Beaston).
With respect to claim 3, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Xie teaches turning on, by the PCS, a photovoltaic inverter in the PCS according to the charging instruction to charge the battery system through electrical energy converted by the photovoltaic inverter (¶[86]; the inverter is started and controlled which one of ordinary skill understands is to charge the batteries).
With respect to claim 4, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Xie teaches detecting, by the BMS, whether a charging current flows through the battery system and in response to the charging current, determining that the battery system is in the charging state (¶[88]; one of ordinary skill understands the charging state is determined by measuring the current flow into the batteries).
With respect to claim 5, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Xie teaches in response to determining that the household energy storage system has no preset fault and determining that the SOC of the battery system is greater than or equal to Q, the EMS determines that the household energy storage system satisfies the first startup condition (¶[73]; the EMS checks the system for no active faults and for SOC to be greater than 35% then it sends a startup instruction to the system).
Xie discloses the claimed invention except for wherein Q is a number greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to M. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select Q to be a value greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to M, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 6, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Furthermore, Xie teaches sending, by the EMS, a charging instruction to a PCS and charging, by the PCS, the battery system according to the charging instruction (¶[86]; the EMS instructs the PCS to commence charging when the inverter is started thus one of ordinary skill understands the batteries are being charged).
Xie teaches in response to determining that the household energy storage system satisfies a second startup condition, sending, by the EMS, a startup instruction to the BMS (¶[10]; the EMS checks the system for faults and if none found it sends a startup instruction to the system which one of ordinary skill understands includes the BMS).
Xie teaches instructing, by the BMS according to the startup instruction, the battery system to power the EMS, the BMS, and the PCS such that the household energy storage system exits from the sleep mode (¶[10]; the EMS instruction to startup includes powering the system (i.e., the EMS, the BMS, and the PCS) from the batteries thus under control of the BMS which would exit the system from a shutdown state).
Xie teaches in response to detecting that the household energy storage system exits from the sleep mode, determining, by the EMS, that the black start of the household energy storage system succeeds (¶[88]; the EMS will place a PCS in voltage source mode when it determines that it is online in a charging state therefore it is understood it has determined the black start has succeeded hence placing the PCS in voltage source mode).
However, Xie fails to explicitly teach detecting, by the BMS from a P-th minute to a Q-th minute after the PCS charges the battery system, that the battery system is in the charging state and sending the case where the battery system is in the charging state to the EMS.
Beaston teaches detecting, by the BMS from a P-th minute to a Q-th minute after the PCS charges the battery system, that the battery system is in the charging state and sending the case where the battery system is in the charging state to the EMS (¶[370]; a timer is used to determine a specified time the charger started to operate and ended operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Beaston’s amount of time the charger is operating to Xie’s black start method in order to determine if a successful operation has occurred based on the amount of time since the charger has been in use. The advantage of this being the ability to provide back-up power to customers is enabled during the event of power disruptions (see ¶[233] of Beaston).
With respect to claim 7, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Xie teaches turning on, by the PCS, a photovoltaic inverter in the PCS according to the charging instruction to charge the battery system through electrical energy converted by the photovoltaic inverter (¶[86]; the inverter is started and controlled which one of ordinary skill understands is to charge the batteries).
With respect to claim 8, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Xie teaches detecting, by the BMS, whether a charging current flows through the battery system and in response to the charging current, determining that the battery system is in the charging state (¶[88]; one of ordinary skill understands the charging state is determined by measuring the current flow into the batteries).
With respect to claim 9, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Xie teaches in response to determining that the household energy storage system has no preset fault and determining that the SOC of the battery system is greater than or equal to H, the EMS determines that the household energy storage system satisfies the second startup condition, wherein H is a number greater than or equal to M (¶[73]; the EMS checks the system for no active faults and for SOC to be greater than 35% then it sends a startup instruction to the system, in which H = 35% is greater than or equal to M = 30%).
With respect to dependent claims 11 and 18, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. However, Xie fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 11 and 18.
Beaston teaches sending, by the EMS, a turning-off instruction to a switch unit of an energy gateway of the household energy storage system, wherein the switch unit comprises a first switch, a second switch, and a third switch and turning off, by the switch unit, the first switch and the second switch and turning on the third switch according to the turning-off instruction to turn off all loads in the household energy storage system (Fig. 1E; an energy gateway comprising switches 132A-132D and EMS 106. The switches 132A-132D receive an on or off signal from the EMS 106 in which non-critical loads are disconnected via switches 132B-132D and switch 132A remains on to provide power to the batteries 136 during a turning-off operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Beaston’s switching topology to Xie’s black start method in order to properly ensure loads are disconnected while the battery remains connected in order to receive charging power. The advantage of this being the ability to provide back-up power to customers is enabled during the event of power disruptions (see ¶[233] of Beaston).
With respect to dependent claims 12 and 19, Xie teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 16, respectively. However, Xie fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 12 and 19.
Beaston teaches sending, by the EMS, a turning-off instruction to a switch unit of an energy gateway of the household energy storage system, wherein the switch unit comprises a first switch; and turning off, by the switch unit, the first switch of the switch unit according to the turning-off instruction to turn off all loads in the household energy storage system (Fig. 1E; an energy gateway comprising switches 132A-132D and EMS 106. The switch 132B receives an off signal from the EMS 106 turning off the critical loads from the energy storage system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Beaston’s switching topology to Xie’s black start method in order to properly ensure loads are disconnected while the battery remains connected in order to receive charging power. The advantage of this being the ability to provide back-up power to customers is enabled during the event of power disruptions (see ¶[233] of Beaston).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Toya et al. (USPGPN 20180159349) describes a battery-based power system for homes or similar buildings that uses a plug-in electricity storage unit and a separate monitoring device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859