DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. 20200328269.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1, 3 and 8 of Shin discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 100 comprising a first island 101, a connection unit 102, a second island 101 spaced from the first island and connected through the connection unit to the first island, and an opening V positioned between the connection unit and the first island;
a first display unit (fig. 3) overlapping the first islands;
a second display unit (fig. 3) overlapping the second island;
a conductive wire W’ overlapping the connection unit;
an insulating material member set (as labeled by examiner above) overlapping an edge region of the connection unit, and spaced from the conductive wire in a plan view (it is necessary the case from fig. 8 above) of the display apparatus,; and
an organic material layer 208 (par [0148]) positioned between the conductive wire and the insulating material member set in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, and covering an upper surface (top of interface layer) and two side surfaces (left and right side of each of the interface) of the insulating material member set,
wherein the insulating material member set is positioned between the conductive wire and the substrate in the direction perpendicular to the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Shin necessary discloses wherein the insulating material member set includes an inorganic insulating material (interface material of W which is inorganic which is connected to interface material of 208 and interface material of 202).
Regarding claim 4, fig. 8 of Shin discloses further comprising a buffer layer 201, a gate insulating layer 203, a first interlayer insulating layer 205, and a second interlayer insulating layer (PVX/208) each including an inorganic insulating material and disposed on the first island, wherein a material of the insulating material member set is identical to a material of the second interlayer insulating layer (208 which part of the second interlayer insulating layer).
Regarding claim 5, fig. 1 of Shin discloses wherein a first side (side away from V) of the connection unit is longer than a second side (side next to V) of the connection unit, and wherein the insulating material member set overlaps a geometric center line (center line across 102B would overlap left and right side interface) of the connection unit that cross the first side of the connection unit in the plan view of the display apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 8 of Shin discloses further comprising an encapsulation layer 300 covering the first display unit, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises an organic encapsulation layer 320, a first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer, wherein the organic encapsulation layer is positioned between the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer and is spaced from the connection unit by at least one of the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer directly contact each other outside the organic encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 8 of Shin discloses wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer and the second inorganic encapsulation layer directly contact each other on the connection unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893