DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, 18, 21-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0301302 (Furuuchi et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0381921 (Beguin et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Furuuchi et al. discloses a system in response to an abnormality like leaking from a battery comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-31, a device 1 (e.g. switch device; paragraph [0044]; Figures 1,7) for leak detection (e.g. liquid leaking from battery; paragraph [0051]) comprising an insulative casing 6 (e.g. housing formed of insulating material; paragraphs [0044],[0094]) defining a cavity (e.g. observed in Figure 1); a first component contact 2,11 (e.g. conductor or fuse element; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]) and a second component contact 3,12 (e.g. conductor or electrode; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]); a solid, soluble material 14 (e.g. separator made of insulating material having solubility property; paragraphs [0062],[0064],[0065]) disposed within the cavity and in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact such that the solid, soluble material being substantially non-conductive in a solid state (e.g. paragraphs [0062] to [0065]); in response to contact with a fluid (e.g. water; paragraph [0064]), the solid, soluble material dissolves to form a conductive solution having a second electrical conductivity greater than a first electrical conductivity of the solid, soluble material (e.g. paragraphs [0064],[0065],[0051],[0011]); the conductive solution thereby establishes a direct electrical path through the conductive solution between the first component contact and the second component contact to change the device from a first circuit state (e.g. open state before separator is dissolved) to a second circuit state (e.g. closed state after separator is dissolved) indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraphs [0051],[0046],[0007]); printed circuit board (e.g. paragraph [0119]). (See, paragraphs [0044] to [0129]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the first component contact and the second component contact configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board.
Beguin et al. discloses a system for detecting liquid comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-16B, a system 200 (e.g. sensor system; paragraph [0091]) having a device 216 (e.g. fluid detection element acting like a switch; paragraphs [0091],[0094]) for leak detection comprising a first component contact 218a (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a second component contact 218b (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a selectively conductive material 208,214a (e.g. -phobic or -philic porous medium; paragraph [0090]) disposed between and in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact (e.g. paragraph [0092]; Figure 1A); at a first electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when dry; paragraph [0092]) of the selectively conductive material, the device has a first circuit state (e.g. open state; paragraph [0094]); the selectively conductive material is configured to change from the first electrical conductivity to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when wet; paragraph [0092]) in an instance in which a predetermined amount of fluid is absorbed by the selectively conductive material; at the second electrical conductivity of the selectively conductive material, the device has a second circuit state (e.g. closed state; paragraph [0094]) indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraph [0096]); the first component contact 218a and the second component contact 218b configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board 222 (e.g. PCB; paragraphs [0094],[0097]; Figure 4). (See, paragraphs [0089] to [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the first component contact and the second component contact configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board as suggested by Beguin et al. to the system of Furuuchi et al. to have the ability to maintain close contact with the conductive porous material and to direct changes from the first and second component contacts to be processed by a processing device 226. (See, paragraphs [0094],[0097] of Beguin et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the first electrical conductivity of the solid, soluble material is non-conductive, and the first circuit state is an open circuit. (See, paragraphs [0062] to [0065]).
With regards to claim 3, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the solid, soluble material 14 comprises salt (e.g. NaCl; paragraph [0063]).
With regards to claim 4, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the insulative casing 6 at least partially surrounds the first component contact 2,11 and the second component contact 3,12 (e.g. observed in Figure 1) such that the first component contact and the second component contact are configured to engage corresponding contacts on the printed circuit board (e.g. connection terminals formed on circuit board; paragraph [0119]).
With regards to claim 5, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the insulative casing 6 comprises a ceramic material (e.g. ceramic; paragraph [0094]).
With regards to claim 10, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the device is configured to be electrically connected to a printed circuit board (e.g. connection terminals formed on circuit board; paragraph [0119]).
With regards to claim 11, Furuuchi et al. discloses a system in response to an abnormality like leaking from a battery comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-31, a system for detecting fluid (e.g. liquid leaking from battery; paragraph [0051]) comprising a device 1 (e.g. switch device; paragraph [0044]; Figures 1,7) having a first circuit state (e.g. open state before separator is dissolved); the device is configured to change from the first circuit state to a second circuit state (e.g. closed state after separator is dissolved); a first component contact 2,11 (e.g. conductor or fuse element; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]); a second component contact 3,12 (e.g. conductor or electrode; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]); an insulative casing 6 (e.g. housing formed of electrically insulating material; paragraphs [0044],[0094]) comprising an electrically insulative material such that the insulative casing defines a cavity (e.g. observed in Figure 1); a selectively conductive material 14 (e.g. separator made of insulating material having solubility property; paragraphs [0062],[0064],[0065]) disposed within the cavity of the insulative casing between and in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact; the selectively conductive material 14 is configured to change from a first electrical conductivity (e.g. when in open state) to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. when in closed state) when a predetermined amount of fluid is absorbed by the selectively conductive material (e.g. paragraphs [0062] to [0065],[0051],[0011]); the first electrical conductivity corresponds to the first circuit state (e.g. open state) of the device and the second electrical conductivity corresponds to the second circuit state (e.g. closed state) of the device; the device is in electrical communication with the detection component (e.g. transmitting signals; paragraph [0006]); the detection component is configured to detect a change from the first circuit state of the device to the second circuit state of the device (e.g. paragraph [0006]); the change from the first circuit state to the second circuit state is indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraphs [0051],[0046],[0007]); printed circuit board (e.g. paragraph [0119]). (See, paragraphs [0044] to [0129]).
The only differences between the prior art and the claimed invention are the device is configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board; and a detection component configured for surface mounting to the printed circuit board.
Beguin et al. discloses a system for detecting liquid comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-16B, a system 200 (e.g. sensor system; paragraph [0091]) having a device 216 (e.g. fluid detection element acting like a switch; paragraphs [0091],[0094]) for leak detection comprising a first component contact 218a (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a second component contact 218b (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a selectively conductive material 208,214a (e.g. -phobic or -philic porous medium; paragraph [0090]) disposed between and in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact (e.g. paragraph [0092]; Figure 1A); at a first electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when dry; paragraph [0092]) of the selectively conductive material, the device has a first circuit state (e.g. open state; paragraph [0094]); the selectively conductive material is configured to change from the first electrical conductivity to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when wet; paragraph [0092]) in an instance in which a predetermined amount of fluid is absorbed by the selectively conductive material; at the second electrical conductivity of the selectively conductive material, the device has a second circuit state (e.g. closed state; paragraph [0094]) indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraph [0096]); the device 216 is configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board 222 (e.g. PCB; paragraphs [0094],[0097]; Figures 1A,4); the first component contact 218a and the second component contact 218b configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board 222 (e.g. PCB; paragraphs [0094],[0097]; Figure 4). (See, paragraphs [0089] to [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the device is configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board, and a detection component configured for surface mounting to the printed circuit board as suggested by Beguin et al. to the system of Furuuchi et al. to have the ability to maintain close contact with the conductive porous material and to direct changes from the first and second component contacts to be processed by a processing device 226. (See, paragraphs [0094],[0097] of Beguin et al.).
With regards to claim 13, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the selectively conductive material comprises salt (e.g. NaCl; paragraph [0063]); the first electrical conductivity is non-conductive and the first circuit state is an open circuit (e.g. open state before separator is dissolved); the second electrical conductivity is conductive and the second circuit state is a closed circuit (e.g. open state before separator is dissolved).
With regards to claim 18, Furuuchi et al. discloses a system in response to an abnormality like leaking from a battery comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-31, a method of manufacturing a leak detection device 1 (e.g. switch device; paragraphs [0044],[0051]; Figures 1,7) comprising providing an insulative material 6 (e.g. housing formed of electrically insulating material; paragraphs [0044],[0094]); forming a reservoir (e.g. open region; Figure 1) in the insulative material; applying a first component contact 2,11 (e.g. conductor or fuse element; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]) and a second component contact 3,12 (e.g. conductor or electrode; paragraphs [0044],[0050],[0062]) to the insulative material; disposing a selectively conductive material 14 (e.g. separator made of insulating material having solubility property; paragraphs [0062],[0064],[0065]) in the reservoir such that the selectively conductive material is in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact; at a first electrical conductivity (e.g. when in open state) of the selectively conductive material, the device has a first circuit state (e.g. open state); the selectively conductive material is configured to change from the first electrical conductivity to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. when in closed state) in an instance in which a predetermined amount of fluid is absorbed by the selectively conductive material (e.g. paragraphs [0062] to [0065],[0051],[0011]); at the second electrical conductivity of the selectively conductive material, the device has a second circuit state indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraphs [0051],[0046],[0007]); printed circuit board (e.g. paragraph [0119]). (See, paragraphs [0044] to [0129]).
The only difference between prior art and the claimed invention is the first component contact and the second component contact are configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board.
Beguin et al. discloses a system for detecting liquid comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-16B, a system 200 (e.g. sensor system; paragraph [0091]) having a device 216 (e.g. fluid detection element acting like a switch; paragraphs [0091],[0094]) for leak detection comprising a first component contact 218a (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a second component contact 218b (e.g. electrode; paragraph [0091]); a selectively conductive material 208,214a (e.g. -phobic or -philic porous medium; paragraph [0090]) disposed between and in electrical communication with the first component contact and the second component contact (e.g. paragraph [0092]; Figure 1A); at a first electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when dry; paragraph [0092]) of the selectively conductive material, the device has a first circuit state (e.g. open state; paragraph [0094]); the selectively conductive material is configured to change from the first electrical conductivity to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. electrical conductivity when wet; paragraph [0092]) in an instance in which a predetermined amount of fluid is absorbed by the selectively conductive material; at the second electrical conductivity of the selectively conductive material, the device has a second circuit state (e.g. closed state; paragraph [0094]) indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. paragraph [0096]); the first component contact 218a and the second component contact 218b configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board 222 (e.g. PCB; paragraphs [0094],[0097]; Figure 4). (See, paragraphs [0089] to [0124]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the first component contact and the second component contact configured for surface mounting to a printed circuit board as suggested by Beguin et al. to the system of Furuuchi et al. to have the ability to maintain close contact with the conductive porous material and to direct changes from the first and second component contacts to be processed by a processing device 226. (See, paragraphs [0094],[0097] of Beguin et al.).
With regards to claim 21, Furuuchi et al. further discloses mounting a first electrical contact 11a,11b (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) to a first end (e.g. bottom-side end) of the insulative material 6; mounting a second electrical contact 12a (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) to a second end (e.g. top-side end) of the insulative material 6; electrically connecting the first component contact 11 with the first electrical contact 11a,11b (e.g. paragraph [0058]); electrically connecting the second component contact 12 with the second electrical contact 12a (e.g. paragraph [0058]).
With regards to claim 22, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the first electrical contact 11a,11b and the second electrical contact 12a at least partially surround the first and second ends of the insulative material 6, respectively (e.g. observed in Figure 5).
With regards to claim 24, Furuuchi et al. further discloses the insulative material 6 comprises a ceramic material (e.g. ceramic; paragraph [0094]).
With regards to claim 25, Furuuchi et al. further discloses a first electrical contact 11a,11b (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) and a second electrical contact 12a (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) at least partially surrounding respective ends (e.g. bottom-side end and top-side end) of the insulative casing 6 (e.g. observed in Figure 5).
With regards to claim 26, Furuuchi et al. further discloses a first electrical contact 11a,11b (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) and a second electrical contact 12a (e.g. terminal; paragraph [0058]; Figure 5) at least partially surrounding respective ends (e.g. bottom-side end and top-side end) of the insulative casing 6 (e.g. observed in Figure 5).
Claim 9, 15-17, 23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0301302 (Furuuchi et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0381921 (Beguin et al.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2007/0259469 (Santagato).
With regards to claim 9, Furuuchi et al. does not disclose a protective film covering the solid, soluble material such that the protective film is configured to be removed upon installation of the device.
Santagato discloses a liquid detection system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-9, a device for leak detection 200 (e.g. liquid sensor; paragraph [0027]; Figure 2) comprising an insulative casing 202,102 (e.g. a non-conductive housing base with a non- conductive plastic surround material; paragraphs [0023],[0026]) defines a cavity (e.g. a recess; paragraph [0024]; observed in Figures 2,3A); a printed circuit board (e.g. the component contacts, like the wires, connected and disposed to printed circuit board of an alarm module and external controlled environment like a data processing system; paragraphs [0031],[0032]; Figures 4A,4B); a first component contact 106,304A,612A (e.g. conductive material with wire and conductive extension; paragraphs [0029],[0030],[0038]-[0039]; Figures 2,3A,7) and a second component contact 106,304B,612B (e.g. conductive material with wire and conductive extension; paragraphs [0029],[0030],[0038]-[0039]; Figures 2,3A,7) disposed within the cavity (e.g. observed in Figures 2,3A; a selectively conductive material 104 (e.g. absorbing material; paragraph [0029]) disposed within the cavity of the insulative casing between and in electrical communication with the first component contact 106,304A,612A and the second electrical contact 106,304B,612B; at a first electrical conductivity (e.g. no electric charge) of the selectively conductive material, the device has a first circuit state (e.g. open state; paragraph [0029]; Figure 3A); the selectively conductive material 104 is configured to change from the first electrical conductivity to a second electrical conductivity (e.g. when electric charge flow to wire 304A; paragraph [0030)]) in an instance in which a predetermined amount of fluid 302 (e.g. liquid, water; paragraph [0029]) is absorbed by the selectively conductive material (e.g. paragraph [0030]); at the second electrical conductivity of the selectively conductive material, the device has a second circuit state (e.g. closed state; paragraph [0030]; Figure 3B) indicative of a fluid leak (e.g. leak; paragraph [0003]); a protective film 204 (e.g. cover; paragraph [0024]; Figure 2) covering the selectively conductive material 104 such that the protective film is configured to be removed upon installation of the device (e.g. cover is removable; paragraphs [0008],[0024]). (See, paragraphs [0023] to [0042)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the concept of a protective film to cover the selectively conductive material such that the protective film is configured to be removed upon installation of the device as suggest by Santagato to instead cover the solid, soluble material such that the protective film is configured to be removed upon installation of the device in the system of Furuuchi et al., as modified by Beguin et al., to have the ability to provide a protection to the solid, soluble material of Furuuchi et al. or the selectively conductive material of Santagato and to provide an open-state circuit of the device before the protection cover is removed for the solid, soluble material or the selectively conductive material to be functional, like absorbing the fluid present in the cavity to form an electrical conductivity. (See, paragraphs [0040],[0031] of Santagato).
With regards to claim 15, Santagato, modifying Furuuchi et al., further discloses the device comprises a plurality of devices such that the plurality of devices 504A-504N is disposed on the printed circuit board proximate liquid-sensitive components of the printed circuit board (e.g. paragraphs [0033]-[0035]; Figures 5A-5B).
With regards to claim 16, Santagato, modifying Furuuchi et al., further discloses the plurality of devices 504A-504N is electrically connected in series (e.g. series of wires; paragraphs [0033]-[0034]) to the detection component 402. (See, paragraphs [0033]-[0034]; Figures 5A-5B).
With regards to claim 17, Santagato, modifying Furuuchi et al., further discloses each of the plurality of devices is individually electrically connected to the detection component. (See, paragraphs [0033]-[0034]; Figures 5A-5B)
With regards to claim 23, the claim is commensurate in scope with claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claim 27, the claim is commensurate in scope with claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 9-11, 13, 15-18 and 21-27 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855