DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s RCE dated 04/10/2026.
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14, 16-19, and 21 are currently pending.
5. Claims 1, 11, and 21 have been amended.
6. Claims 4, 6, 13, 15, and 20 have been cancelled.
7. Claim 21 has been added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, 18-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2004/0223579) in view of Choi (US 2019/0385814).
Regarding claim 1:
Lee teaches an antenna member (antenna structure) [fig 3 & 0033] comprising: a first coil (10) and a second coil (20) that are rotationally symmetrical with each other (see fig 3), wherein the first coil (10) includes a first supply terminal (P of 10) to which current is applied, a first ground terminal (G of 10) connected to a ground [fig 3 & 0034], the second coil (20) includes a second supply terminal (P of 20) to which current is applied, a second ground terminal (G of 20) connected to the ground [fig 3 & 0034], the first coil (10) includes an arc-shaped first portion (upper portion of 10) and an arc-shaped second portion (10a), and the first portion (upper portion of 10) and the second portion (10a) form a one-turn winding as a whole (see fig 3), the second coil (20) includes an arc-shaped first portion (upper portion of 20) and an arc-shaped second portion (20a), and the first portion (upper portion of 20) and the second portion (20a) form a one-turn winding as a whole (see fig 3), the second portion of each of the first coil and the second coil (10a/20a, respectively) has a height lower than a height of the first portion of each of the first coil and the second coil (upper portion of 10/20, respectively), the second portion of the second coil (20a) is disposed below the first portion of the first coil (upper portion of 10), the second portion of the first coil (10a) is disposed below the first portion of the second coil (upper portion of 20) [fig 3 & 0036], the first supply terminal (P of 10) is provided in the first portion of the first coil (upper portion of 10) and the second supply terminal (P of 20) is provided in the first portion of the second coil (upper portion of 20) [fig 3 & 0034].
Lee does not specifically teach the first coil includes a first shunt capacitor shunted between the first supply terminal and the first ground terminal, and the second coil includes a second shunt capacitor shunted between the second supply terminal and the second ground terminal, and the first shunt capacitor is provided in the second portion of the first coil and the second shunt capacitor is provided in the second portion of the second coil.
Choi teaches a coil includes a shunt capacitor (variable capacitor, C) shunted between the supply terminal and the ground terminal (see fig 8) [fig 8 & 0047], and the shunt capacitor (C) is provided in the second portion of the coil (see location depicted in fig 8 - variable capacitor, C, is disposed in a winding between the supply terminal and ground terminal) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the first coil and second coil of Lee to include a shunt capacitor shunted between the supply terminal and the ground terminal in the second portion of the coil, as in Choi, to improve the uniformity of the plasma density on the surface of a substrate by connecting the variable capacitor to the portion of the antenna coil in parallel to adjust its value [Choi – fig 9 & 0050].
Regarding claim 2:
Lee teaches the rotational symmetry is a 180° symmetry (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0036].
Regarding claim 3:
Lee teaches for each of the first coil (10) and the second coil (20), a center angle between the first portion (upper portion of 10/20) and the second portion (10a/20a) is 180° (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0036].
Regarding claim 5:
Lee teaches in each of the first coil (10) and the second coil (20), when a portion in which the second portion extends from the first portion is referred to as 0° (D-D’), the first supply terminal (P of 10) and the second supply terminal (P of 20) are provided in the first portion in a position of 90° (C-C’) with respect to 0° (D-D’) [fig 3 & 0036].
Regarding claim 7:
Modified Lee teaches in each of the first coil and the second coil, when a portion in which the second portion extends from the first portion is referred to as 0°, the first shunt capacitor and the second shunt capacitor are provided in the second portion in a position of 90° with respect to 0° (see location depicted in Choi - variable capacitor, C, is disposed in a winding between the supply terminal and ground terminal) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
Regarding claim 9:
Lee teaches the first supply terminal (P of 10) and the first ground terminal (G of 10) are provided to be adjacent to each other (see fig 3), and the second supply terminal (P of 20) and the second ground terminal (G of 20) are provided in positions adjacent to each other (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0034].
Regarding claim 10:
Modified Lee teaches the first shunt capacitor and the second shunt capacitor (C) are variable capacitors (variable capacitor) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
Regarding claim 11:
Lee teaches a substrate treatment apparatus (inductively coupled plasma generator) [fig 4 & 0033] comprising: a chamber (chamber, C) providing a treatment space [fig 4 & 0034]; a chuck member (see fig 4) provided in the treatment space to support a substrate [fig 4 & 0034]; a window (top wall of chamber, C) disposed above the chuck member [fig 4 & 0034]; and an antenna member (antenna structure) disposed above the window (top wall of chamber, C) [fig 3-4 & 0034], wherein the antenna member (antenna structure) includes: a first coil (10) and a second coil (20) that are rotationally symmetrical with each other (see fig 3), wherein the first coil (10) includes a first supply terminal (P of 10) to which current is applied, a first ground terminal (G of 10) connected to a ground [fig 3 & 0034], the second coil (20) includes a second supply terminal (P of 20) to which current is applied, a second ground terminal (G of 20) connected to the ground [fig 3 & 0034], the first coil (10) includes an arc-shaped first portion (upper portion of 10) and an arc-shaped second portion (10a), and the first portion (upper portion of 10) and the second portion (10a) form a one-turn winding as a whole (see fig 3), the second coil (20) includes an arc-shaped first portion (upper portion of 20) and an arc-shaped second portion (20a), and the first portion (upper portion of 20) and the second portion (20a) form a one-turn winding as a whole (see fig 3), the second portion of each of the first coil and the second coil (10a/20a, respectively) has a height lower than a height of the first portion of each of the first coil and the second coil (upper portion of 10/20, respectively), the second portion of the second coil (20a) is disposed below the first portion of the first coil (upper portion of 10), the second portion of the first coil (10a) is disposed below the first portion of the second coil (upper portion of 20) [fig 3 & 0036], the first supply terminal (P of 10) is provided in the first portion of the first coil (upper portion of 10) and the second supply terminal (P of 20) is provided in the first portion of the second coil (upper portion of 20) [fig 3 & 0034].
Lee does not specifically teach the first coil includes a first shunt capacitor shunted between the first supply terminal and the first ground terminal, and the second coil includes a second shunt capacitor shunted between the second supply terminal and the second ground terminal, and the first shunt capacitor is provided in the second portion of the first coil and the second shunt capacitor is provided in the second portion of the second coil.
Choi teaches a coil includes a shunt capacitor (variable capacitor, C) shunted between the supply terminal and the ground terminal (see fig 8) [fig 8 & 0047], and the shunt capacitor (C) is provided in the second portion of the coil (see location depicted in fig 8 - variable capacitor, C, is disposed in a winding between the supply terminal and ground terminal) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the first coil and second coil of Lee to include a shunt capacitor shunted between the supply terminal and the ground terminal in the second portion of the coil, as in Choi, to improve the uniformity of the plasma density on the surface of a substrate by connecting the variable capacitor to the portion of the antenna coil in parallel to adjust its value [Choi – fig 9 & 0050].
Regarding claim 12:
Lee teaches the rotational symmetry is a 180° symmetry (see fig 3) [fig 3 & 0036].
Regarding claim 14:
Lee teaches in each of the first coil (10) and the second coil (20), when a portion in which the second portion extends from the first portion is referred to as 0° (D-D’), the first supply terminal (P of 10) and the second supply terminal (P of 20) are provided in the first portion in a position of 90° (C-C’) with respect to 0° (D-D’) [fig 3 & 0036].
Regarding claim 16:
Modified Lee teaches in each of the first coil and the second coil, when a portion in which the second portion extends from the first portion is referred to as 0°, the first shunt capacitor and the second shunt capacitor are provided in the second portion in a position of 90° with respect to 0° (see location depicted in Choi - variable capacitor, C, is disposed in a winding between the supply terminal and ground terminal) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
Regarding claim 18:
Modified Lee teaches the first shunt capacitor and the second shunt capacitor (C) are variable capacitors (variable capacitor) [Choi - fig 8 & 0047].
Regarding claim 19:
The claim limitations “wherein the current flowing through the antenna member is adjusted before and after each of the first shunt capacitor and the second shunt capacitor, according to a change in capacitance of the first shunt capacitor or the second shunt capacitor” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 21:
Modified Lee teaches a first side of the first shunt capacitor is in electrical connection with the first supply terminal while a second side of the first shunt capacitor is in electrical connection with the first ground terminal (10 of Lee was modified to include variable capacitor C of Choi) [Lee – fig 3 & Choi – fig 8 & 0047], and a first side of the second shunt capacitor is in electrical connection with the second supply terminal while a second side of the second shunt capacitor is in electrical connection with the second ground terminal (20 of Lee was modified to include variable capacitor C of Choi) [Lee – fig 3 & Choi – fig 8 & 0047].
12. Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2004/0223579) in view of Choi (US 2019/0385814) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, 18-19, and 21 above, and further in view of Yamazawa (US 2012/0073757).
The limitations of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, 18-19, and 21 have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 8 and 17:
Modified Lee does not specifically teach a variable capacitor is connected to each of the first ground terminal and the second ground terminal.
Yamazawa teaches a variable capacitor (variable capacitor, 90) is connected to each of the first ground terminal (64(1)) and the second ground terminal (64(2)) [fig 17A-17B & 0139].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify each of the first ground terminal and second ground terminal of modified Lee to be connected to a variable capacitor, as in Yamazawa, to suppress sputtering on a dielectric window [Yamazawa – 0140].
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 21 under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 21 under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 21.
14. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-19 and 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the variable capacitor C of Choi is connected to an intermediate portion of the four-turn wound coil. Therefore, if Lee were to be modified using the teachings of Choi, the modification would not result in the shunt capacitor (C) being provided in the second portion of each coil.
In response, examiner disagrees with applicant’s conclusion. As applicant aptly notes, the variable capacitor C of Choi is connected to an intermediate portion of the coil [Choi - fig 7b & 8]. In other words, the variable capacitor C of Choi is connected midway between the supply terminal and ground terminal [Choi - fig 7b & 8]. Examiner notes that midway between the supply terminal and ground terminal on each coil (10 and 20) of Lee is the second portion (10a and 20a, respectively) of each coil [Lee – fig 3]. Therefore, the proposed modification results in the claimed structure.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KimHongSeub (KR 10-2007-0033222), Nakagami et al (US 2010/0066251), Jang (US 2012/0090785), and Jo et al (US 2020/0243301) teach a first coil and a second coil that are rotationally symmetrical with each other [fig 6, 2, 3, and 4a, respectively].
16. All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896