DETAILED ACTION
An amendment, amending claims 1 and 4-10, was entered on 11/25/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 each recite “methoxy pectin”. This term is not disclosed in the original specification, which only refers to “low methoxy pectin.”
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 each recite “methoxy pectin”. It is not clear what these material refers to. For the purposes of this action, it is understood to mean a pectin compound having methoxy groups.
Given the prosecution history of this case surrounding “low methoxy pectin” and “methoxy pectin,” the examiner suggests providing evidentiary sources that show that “low methoxy pectin” is a term which has a well understood meaning in the art if such sources exist. If such sources are not available, the examiner suggests either filing a continuation in part which defines low methoxy pectin or removing it from the claims. It does not appear that the filed specification provides support for “pectin” broadly or “methoxy pectin” as currently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchakalova et al. (US 2020/0238244) in light of Jiang et al. (US 2017/0216159).
Claim 1: Tchakalova teaches a hydrogel bead composition (Abst.) comprising: pectin, sodium alginate, glycerin and a hydrophobic coating liquid (¶¶ 0057-0059, 0084, 0122).
Tchakalova fails to disclose if the pectin includes methoxy groups. Jiang teaches a composition for forming hydrogel beads (Abst.) and explains that low methoxy pectin is a suitable form of pectin to use (¶ 0039). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected low methoxy pectin as the pectin in Tchakalova with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 2: Tchakalova teaches that the composition includes a pigment (i.e. claimed coloring agent) (¶ 0154). Tchakalova does not teach the amount of water included, but instead teaches that the amount of water used is proportional to the amount of solids (see, e.g., ¶ 0139). Therefore, the amount of water included is a result effective variable based on the amount of solids needed for the desired beads. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected 200 mL of water with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 3: Tchakalova teaches that the composition includes a pigment (i.e. claimed coloring agent) (¶ 0154), but is silent regarding whether it is natural or synthetic. However, it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143(I). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected either natural or synthetic dyes as the pigment with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 4: Tchakalova is silent regarding exact amounts of each component, but teaches that different amounts of each component can be selected depending on the desired concentration in the beads (see, e.g., ¶¶ 0135-0144, claim 5). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected the claimed amounts depending on the desired concentration of each material in the final beads with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tchakalova and Jiang in light of Podszun et al. (US 5,932,152).
Claim 5: Tchakalova teaches that the biopolymer (i.e. the pectin and alginate), the hydrophobic coating liquid and the emulsifier (i.e. the claimed glycerin) are mixed to form a first mixture (¶¶ 0057-0061, 0084, 0143-0144); and calcium chloride of 0.01-5% is mixed into the first mixture to form moist beads (¶¶ 0003, 0061, 0086). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected calcium chloride of 3% with the predictable expectation of success.
Tchakalova fails to teach a resting step to remove bubbles. Podszun teaches gel beads (Abst.; 1:5-16) and explains that it is desirable to remove entrapped air bubbles by resting the beads for a period of time (5:23-35, e.g.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have rested the beads of Tchakalova in order to have removed any trapped bubbles with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
While all claims have been rejected under § 112, as discussed above, the concepts claimed in claims 6-11 are not disclosed in the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712