DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed March 27, 2026. Claims 1, 11-15, and 19-20 have been amended. No claims have been added. Claim 7 has been canceled. Claim 4 stands withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-2, 5, 8, 11-15, and 18-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 11-12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (US 20230215901 A1) herein after “Yamashita” in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 20230143387 A1) herein after “Matsumoto” and Honda et al. (US 20200286937 A1) herein after “Honda”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1, 4, and 14 of Yamashita disclose an image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging element 1, ¶ [0073]) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 4, semiconductor layer 20, ¶ [0102]) including a pixel region (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, PX1), the substrate (20) extending in a first direction (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, D1) and a second direction (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, D2) intersecting the first direction (D1);
a first photoelectric conversion region (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, PD1) and a second photoelectric conversion region (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, PD2) which are disposed in the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and are adjacent to each other in the first direction (D1), the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) includes a first portion (Fig. 14, visible-light pixel PDc, ¶ [0126]) and a second portion (Fig. 14, infrared-light pixel PDw, ¶ [0126]), and the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) includes a third portion (PDw) and a fourth portion (PDc);
a deep device isolation pattern (Fig. 14, deep trench part 230, shallow trench part 231, ¶ [0133]) penetrating the substrate (20) in a third direction (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, D3) perpendicular to the first direction (D1) and the second direction (D2), and surrounding the pixel region (PX1), the deep device isolation pattern (230, 231) comprising first extensions (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, 230A) extending in the second direction (D2) between the first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and extending in the second direction (D2) between the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and the first extensions (230A) spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D2), and
second extensions (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, 230B) extending in the first direction (D1) between the first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region, and extending in the first direction (D1) between the third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), the second extensions (230B) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (D1);
a plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, TG1) disposed on the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and vertically overlapping with the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) in the third direction (D3); and
a plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (see Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita, TG2) disposed on the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and vertically overlapping with the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) in the third direction (D3),
wherein the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) extends in the second direction (D2) under the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1),
wherein the first extensions (230A) and the second extensions (230B) define an active pattern (“active regions”, ¶ [0135]) of the pixel region (PX1),
wherein a floating diffusion region (Fig. 14, floating diffusion region FD, ¶ [0128]) is disposed in the active pattern (“active regions”, ¶ [0135]) and is disposed between the first extensions (230A) and between the second extensions (230B),
wherein one of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) is configured to electrically connect the first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) to the floating diffusion region (FD),
wherein another of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) is configured to electrically connect the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) to the floating diffusion region (FD),
wherein the first portion (PDc) and the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) are continuously connected to each other under the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1).
Annotation 1, Fig. 14 of Yamashita
Yamashita fails to disclose wherein a first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions disposed directly between the first portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the third portion of the second photoelectric conversion region. and disposed directly between the second portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion of the second photoelectric conversion region is greater than a second length in the second direction of the active pattern disposed directly between the first extensions, and
wherein a third length, in the first direction, of each of the second extensions is less than the first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 14 of Matsumoto discloses wherein a first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions (Fig. 14, protruding portion 304, ¶ [0153]) disposed directly between the first portion (Fig. 14, pixels 300a, ¶ [0153]) of the first photoelectric conversion region and the third portion (Fig. 14, pixels 300b, ¶ [0153]) of the second photoelectric conversion region, and disposed directly between the second portion (Fig. 14, pixels 300c, ¶ [0199]) of the first photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion (Fig. 14, pixels 300d, ¶ [0199]) of the second photoelectric conversion region is greater than a second length in the second direction of the active pattern (Fig. 14, slit 312, ¶ [0153]) disposed directly between the first extensions (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the image sensor of Yamashita with the first extensions as disclosed by Matsumoto, to reduce deterioration of the captured image (see Matsumoto, ¶ [0269]).
Matsumoto fails to disclose wherein a third length, in the first direction, of each of the second extensions is less than the first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state imaging devices, Fig. 24C of Honda discloses wherein a third length (see Annotation 2, Fig. 24C of Honda, L3), in the first direction (horizontal in Fig. 24C), of each of the second extensions is less than the first length (see Annotation 2, Fig. 24C of Honda, L1), in the second direction (vertical in Fig. 24C), of each of the first extensions.
Annotation 2, Fig. 24C of Honda
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the image sensor of Yamashita with the first and second extensions as disclosed by Honda, to reduce color mixing and improve charge properties (see Honda, ¶ [0192]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita discloses wherein the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) extends in the second direction (D2) under the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2).
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, but Yamashita fails to explicitly disclose wherein a lower portion of each of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes extends into the substrate toward the first photoelectric conversion region in the third direction, and
wherein a lower portion of each of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes extends into the substrate toward the second photoelectric conversion region in the third direction.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 37 of Matsumoto discloses wherein a lower portion of each of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (400a) extends into the substrate (10) toward the first photoelectric conversion region in the third direction (vertical in Fig. 37), and
wherein a lower portion of each of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (400b) extends into the substrate (10) toward the second photoelectric conversion region in the third direction (vertical in Fig. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the transfer gate electrodes of Yamashita with the lower portion as disclosed by Matsumoto, to improve charge transfer (see Matsumoto, ¶ [0235]) and/or because the substitution of one known transfer gate structure for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (see MPEP 2143IB).
Regarding claim 8, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) and the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) are disposed adjacent to the floating diffusion region (FD).
Regarding claim 11, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein one of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) is configured to electrically connect the third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) to the floating diffusion region (FD), wherein another of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) is configured to electrically connect the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) to the floating diffusion region (FD).
Regarding claim 12, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 11 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein the third portion (PDw) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) are continuously connected to each other under the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2).
Regarding claim 15, Figs. 1, 4, and 14 of Yamashita disclose an image sensor (Fig. 1, solid-state imaging element 1, ¶ [0073]) comprising:
a substrate (20) having a first surface and a second surface which are opposite to each other, the substrate (20) comprising a pixel region (PX1), the substrate (20) extending in a first direction (D1) and a second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction (D1);
a first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and a second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) which are disposed in the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and are adjacent to each other in the first direction (D1), the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) includes a first portion (PDc) and a second portion (PDw), and the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) includes a third portion (PDw) and a fourth portion (PDc);
a deep device isolation pattern (230, 231) penetrating the substrate (20) in a third direction (D3) perpendicular to the first direction (D1) and the second direction (D2), the deep device isolation pattern (230, 231) surrounding the pixel region (PX1) along the first direction (D1) and second direction (D2), the deep device isolation pattern (230, 231) comprising first extensions (230A) extending in the second direction (D2) between the first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and extending in the second direction (D2) between the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and the first extensions (230A) spaced apart from each other in the second direction (D2);
second extensions (230B) extending in the first direction (D1) between the first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) and the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region, and extending in the first direction (D1) between the third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), the second extensions (230B) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (D1),
a plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) disposed on the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and on the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1); and
a plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) disposed on the pixel region (PX1) of the substrate (20) and on the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2),
wherein the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) extends in the second direction (D2) from a side of one of the first extensions (230A) to a side of another of the first extensions (230A),
wherein the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) extends in the second direction (D2) from another side of the one of the first extensions (230A) to another side of the another of the first extensions (230A),
wherein the first extensions (230A) and the second extensions (230B) define an active pattern (“active regions”, ¶ [0135]) of the pixel region (PX1),
wherein a floating diffusion region (FD) is disposed in the active pattern (“active regions”, ¶ [0135]) and is disposed between the first extensions (230A) and between the second extensions (230B),
wherein the first portion (PDc) and the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) are continuously connected to each other.
Yamashita fails to disclose wherein a first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions disposed directly between the first portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the third portion of the second photoelectric conversion region. and disposed directly between the second portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion of the second photoelectric conversion region is greater than a second length in the second direction of the active pattern disposed directly between the first extensions, and
wherein a third length, in the first direction, of each of the second extensions is less than the first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 14 of Matsumoto discloses wherein a first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions (304) disposed directly between the first portion (300a) of the first photoelectric conversion region and the third portion (300b) of the second photoelectric conversion region, and disposed directly between the second portion (300c) of the first photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion (300d) of the second photoelectric conversion region is greater than a second length in the second direction of the active pattern (312) disposed directly between the first extensions (304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the image sensor of Yamashita with the first extensions as disclosed by Matsumoto, to reduce deterioration of the captured image (see Matsumoto, ¶ [0269]).
Matsumoto fails to disclose wherein a third length, in the first direction, of each of the second extensions is less than the first length, in the second direction, of each of the first extensions.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state imaging devices, Fig. 24C of Honda discloses wherein a third length (L3), in the first direction (horizontal in Fig. 24C), of each of the second extensions is less than the first length (L1), in the second direction (vertical in Fig. 24C), of each of the first extensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the image sensor of Yamashita with the first and second extensions as disclosed by Honda, to reduce color mixing and improve charge properties (see Honda, ¶ [0192]).
Regarding claim 18, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 15 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) and the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) are disposed adjacent to the floating diffusion region (FD).
Regarding claim 19, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 18 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein one of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1) is disposed on a first portion (PDc) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1), and
wherein the first portion (PDc) and the second portion (PDw) of the first photoelectric conversion region (PD1) are continuously connected to each other under the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (TG1).
Regarding claim 20, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 19 as applied above, and Fig. 14 of Yamashita further discloses wherein one of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) is disposed on a third portion (PDw) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), wherein another of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2) is disposed on the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2), and
wherein the third portion (PDw) and the fourth portion (PDc) of the second photoelectric conversion region (PD2) are continuously connected to each other under the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (TG2).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (US 20230215901 A1), Matsumoto (US 20230143387 A1) and Honda et al. (US 20200286937 A1) in further view of Abe (US 20140284665 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, but Yamashita and Honda fail to disclose wherein each of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes includes: a lower portion extending into the substrate toward the first photoelectric conversion region in the third direction; and an upper portion protruding above the substrate, and
wherein the upper portions of adjacent first transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes are directly connected to each other and extend across the first portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the second portion of the first photoelectric conversion region.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 37 of Matsumoto discloses wherein each of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (400a) includes: a lower portion extending into the substrate (10) toward the first photoelectric conversion region in the third direction (vertical in Fig. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the transfer gate electrodes of Yamashita with the upper and lower portion as disclosed by Matsumoto, to improve charge transfer (see Matsumoto, ¶ [0235]) and/or because the substitution of one known transfer gate structure for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (see MPEP 2143IB).
Matsumoto fails to disclose wherein the upper portions of adjacent first transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes are directly connected to each other and extend across the first portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the second portion of the first photoelectric conversion region.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state imaging devices, Fig. 4 of Abe discloses wherein the upper portions of adjacent first transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes (Fig. 4, transfer gates 38, ¶ [0058]) are directly connected to each other and extend across the first portion of the first photoelectric conversion region and the second portion of the first photoelectric conversion region (Fig. 4, photodiodes (PDs) 337 separated by element separation region 61, ¶ [0058] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes of Yamashita with the structure as disclosed by Abe, to obtain the desired electric charge transfer characteristics (see Abe, ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 14, Yamashita, Matsumoto, and Honda together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, but Yamashita and Honda fail to disclose wherein each of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes includes: a lower portion extending into the substrate toward the second photoelectric conversion region in the third direction; and an upper portion protruding above the substrate, and
wherein the upper portions of adjacent second transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes are connected to each other.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 37 of Matsumoto discloses wherein each of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (400b) includes: a lower portion extending into the substrate (10) toward the first photoelectric conversion region in the third direction (vertical in Fig. 37); and an upper portion protruding above the substrate (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the transfer gate electrodes of Yamashita with the upper and lower portion as disclosed by Matsumoto, to improve charge transfer (see Matsumoto, ¶ [0235]) and/or because the substitution of one known transfer gate structure for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (see MPEP 2143IB).
Matsumoto fails to disclose wherein the upper portions of adjacent second transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes are directly connected to each other and extend across the third portion of the second photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion of the second photoelectric conversion region.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state imaging devices, Fig. 4 of Abe discloses wherein the upper portions of adjacent second transfer gate electrodes of the plurality of second transfer gate electrodes (38) are directly connected to each other and extend across the third portion of the second photoelectric conversion region and the fourth portion of the second photoelectric conversion region (Fig. 4, photodiodes (PDs) 337 separated by element separation region 61, ¶ [0058] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of first transfer gate electrodes of Yamashita with the structure as disclosed by Abe, to obtain the desired electric charge transfer characteristics (see Abe, ¶ [0086]).
Conclusion
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893