DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa et al. (JP2019-63168A, found in IDS, citations taken from English translation attached with previous office action) in view of Moran et al. (US 4,874,385).
With regard to claim 1 and 13, Tachikawa discloses A prefilled syringe (Fig. 3-5) comprising:
a hollow main body part (2, Fig. 3), and a flange part (24) comprising: an outer cylinder flange (24) at a proximal end part of the hollow main body part (see Fig. 3), and an attachment member (6, better seen in Fig. 5) that is attached to a proximal side of the outer cylinder flange (Fig. 3-5), the attachment member comprising a plunger insertion cutout part (Fig. 7, element 62) that extends from a side part to a center part of the attachment member (as shown in Fig. 7); a gasket (31) that is slidably housed in the outer cylinder, the gasket comprising a plunger distal end part attachment part (Fig. 3, within 33), ;a plunger (4) that is attached to the gasket and configured to press the gasket the plunger comprising: a gasket pressing part (Fig. 8, at 71) at a distal end part of the plunger, a shaft part (41) comprising: a flat plate part (46) extending in a proximal end direction from the gasket pressing part, and a pressing operation part (47) at a proximal end part of the shaft part; a sealing member (52) that seals a distal end part of the outer cylinder (Fig. 3); and a drug (9) that is housed in the outer cylinder.
However, Tachikawa does not disclose the indicator parts.
Moran teaches a syringe device (Fig. 1) and a plurality of indicator parts (each of notches 57 located on the four radial wings 26 of the plunger shaft) arrayed so as to be spaced from each other along a circumferential direction of the shaft part on a proximal side of the gasket pressing part (as shown in Fig. 1)
wherein: when the plunger is in an initial position in which the plurality of indicator parts are aligned with the flange part all of the plurality of indicator parts are covered by the flange part of the outer cylinder and are not visually recognizable by checking an external appearance of the prefilled syringe (The plunger shaft moves distally and proximally within the hollow main body, therefore at a point the notches 57 will be aligned with the flange part of the outer cylinder and would therefore be not visually seen), when the plunger is in a displaced position in which the plunger has moved proximally from the initial position and the plurality of indicator parts are aligned with the attachment member (if the plunger is moved proximally the shaft including the notches 57 would thus come into view if aligned with the attachment member that is taught in Tachikawa because the attachment part of Tachikawa is open on one side), at least one of the plurality of indicator parts is visually recognizable through the plunger insertion cutout part by checking the external appearance of the prefilled syringe (as described above), and a remainder of the plurality of indicator parts are covered by the attachment member and not visually recognizable by checking the external appearance of the prefilled syringe (because the opening of the attachment member of Tachikawa is only open on side and because the notches 57 of Moran are located circumferentially around the entire plunger shaft, not all the notches will be visible, only the notches that are on the side with the open part of the attachment member).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tachikawa to have indicators that may be moved distally or proximally within the outer cylinder such that moving them proximally from a first position would allow a user to view the indicators as taught by Moran for the purpose of providing a visual indication to a user for operation of the syringe device (Col 4, line 66 to Col 5, line 28).
With regard to claim 5 and 16, Tachikawa discloses an indicator part (46). However, neither Tachikawa nor Janish teach the indicator part are in a range of 1 to 6 mm. However, it would be prima facie obvious to optimize the size of the indicator part as doing so would not alter the overall function of the device of allowing a user to visualize the indicator.
With regard to claim 6 and 17, Tachikawa discloses that the indicator part comprises a part that has a shape different from that of another anchor portion of the shaft (46 is a protrusion from the shaft part and thus has a different shape than the cylindrical shaft).
With regard to claim 7 and 18, Tachikawa discloses wherein: the indicator part (46) comprises a part that has a surface state different from that of another portion of the shaft part (46 is considered a protrusion that would have a surface state that extends from the surface of the rest of the shaft).
With regard to claim 8 and 19, Tachikawa discloses wherein the indicator part (46) is a protrusion part formed on an outer surface of the shaft part.
With regard to claim 20, Tachikawa discloses the claimed invention except for the indiator part being of a different color.
Moran teaches wherein each indicator part (57) comprises a part that is a different pattern from that of the flat plate part (57 is a notch and thus considered a different pattern than the flat plate part).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tachikawa to have indicators that may be moved distally or proximally within the outer cylinder such that moving them proximally from a first position would allow a user to view the indicators as taught by Moran for the purpose of providing a visual indication to a user for operation of the syringe device (Col 4, line 66 to Col 5, line 28).
With regard to claim 10, Tachikawa discloses the claimed invention except for a surface roughness of the indicator part.
Moran teaches wherein each indicator part (57) comprises a part (57) that has a roughness higher than that of the flat plate part (57 is a notch or cutout and therefore would be rougher than the smooth flat plate).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tachikawa to have indicators that may high a higher roughness as taught by Moran for the purpose of providing a visual indication to a user for operation of the syringe device (Col 4, line 66 to Col 5, line 28).
With regard to claim 11 and 20, Tachikawa discloses wherein: the indicator part comprises a patterned part that has a pattern different from that of another portion of the shaft part (protrusion 46 can be considered a pattern as it breaks from the normal part of the shaft).
With regard to claim 12, Tachikawa discloses wherein: the indicator part comprises a part (46) that has a surface state and a shape different from those of another portion of the shaft part (46 protrudes from the surface of the shaft and thus creates a different surface state and shape that is different than the rest of the shaft).
With regard to claim 14, Tachikawa discloses wherein: the flange comprises a plurality of recesses (Fig. 6, elements 26a-d), and the prefilled syringe comprises an attachment member (6) that is attached to a proximal side of the flange and comprises: a plate shaped part (body of 6), and a plurality of protrusions (63a-d) that fit into the recesses of the flange (as shown in Fig. 4 and 5).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa et al. (JP2019-63168A, found in IDS, citations taken from English translation attached with previous office action) in view of Moran et al. (US 4,874,385) and in further view of Ogawa (US 2016/0001017 A1).
With regard to claim 2, Tachikawa/Moran teach the claimed invention except for a label.
Ogawa teaches a syringe having a label ([0011]) that is pasted on an outer surface of the outer cylinder, wherein the gasket is not visually recognizable by checking an external appearance of the prefilled syringe due to the label (label has opaque portions and thus the gasket would not be able to be viewed at these portions, [0050]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tachikawa/Moran to have a label as taught by Ogawa for the purpose of be able to provide information to the user via the label ([0050]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa et al. (JP2019-63168A, found in IDS, citations taken from English translation attached with previous office action) in view of Moran et al. (US 4,874,385) and in further view of Jones (US 9,566,388 A1).
With regard to claim 9, Tachikawa/Moran teaches the claimed invention except for an indicator part with different colors.
Jones teaches a syringe having indicators that can be color-coded (Col 1, lines35-56). The notches of Tachikawa could also be colored in order to more distinctly provide a visual indication.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tachikawa/Moran to have colored indicia as taught by Jones for the purpose of ease of reference (Col 1, line 35-56).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) s 1-2, 5-14, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It appears the indicators are the inventive concept. Further description of the significance of the indicators may help to overcome the current rejection or to specifically choose what type of indicator is part of the invention and the specific structure of the indicator may help to overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783