DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/09/2026. Claims 1, 5, 8-9, 11, and 16-17 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2014/0282727 A1 herein Keen), and further in view of Alkasimi (US 9,355,396 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Keen teaches a method for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic devices (PEDs) 130) (Keen – Figure 1, [0089], [0101]) with a cabin management system (read as aircraft IFE system 400 comprises an IFE video entertainment source 402, a plurality of IFE passenger seat displays 404, at least one IFE wireless transceiver 406, and at least one IFE controller 408) (Keen – Figure 1, [0168]) of an aircraft (read as aircraft 120) (Keen – Figure 1, Figure 11, [0089]), comprising:
moving the passenger smart device into proximity with an NFC tag (read as aircraft IFE system 1400 comprises a plurality of IFE passenger seat displays 1404 and a respective IFE NFC device 1422 associated with each of the IFE passenger seat displays) (Keen – Figures 11-16, Figure 45-46, [0282]-[0284]), querying the NFC tag with an NFC device within the passenger smart device (read as each PED 1430 comprises a PED NFC device 1432 for receiving the respective registration ID 1410 associated with one of the IFE NFC devices 1422 when in proximity thereto) (Keen – [0287]),
receiving data from the NFC tag in response to the querying (read as each respective registration ID 1410 allows the PED controller 1438 to register with the IFE controller 1408 upon communicating therewith; the PED 1430 that sensed the registration ID 1410 is assigned to and associated with the IFE passenger seat display 1404 that is associated with the IFE NFC device 1422 that transmitted the registration ID) (Keen – [0288]), the data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials (read as IFE system could authenticate the NFC request before granting access to the IFE system) (Keen – [0382]), and (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a seat location and/or privilege level (read as data memory cache 155 is for storing common data accessible by the PEDs 130 during flight of the aircraft 120 as well as caching web pages for web browsing by a PED 130; each network selection controller 192, 194 may determine to send requests for at least one of the static and dynamic web pages from the PEDs 130) (Keen – [0096], [0107], [0128], [0133]).
However, Keen fails to teach using the Wi-Fi credentials received from the NFC tag to connect to WiFi, and using the application URLs and/or scripts received from the NFC tag to access, via the WiFi connection, a cabin management system user interface that enables different control inputs and/or displays based on the seat location and/or privilege level.
In the related art, Alkasimi teaches using the Wi-Fi credentials received from the NFC tag to connect to WiFi (read as at step 46, in response to the receipt of the seat, flight and user identifiers at step 44, the computer server 14 then transmits to the IFE device 16 data, such as instructions to authenticate and activate a communication link between the portable device 20 and the IFE device 16) (Alkasimi – Figure 2B, column 19-44), and using the application URLs and/or scripts received from the NFC tag to access, via the WiFi connection, a cabin management system user interface that enables different control inputs and/or displays based on the seat location and/or privilege level (read as at step 48, the portable user device 20 remotely controls the IFE device 16; the portable user device 20 remotely controls the IFE device 16; at step 50, the portable user device 20 and/or the IFE device 16 control cabin functions associated with the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part) (Alkasimi – Figure 2B, column 6 lines 19-44, column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Alkasimi into the teachings of Keen for the purpose of establishing a communication link between a portable user device and an NFC tag which is connected to a seat arm within an airplane, to allow the portable user device the capability to control cabin functions associated with the airplane seat of which the seat arm is a part.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the cabin management system user interface enables the passenger smart device to display status of and/or control at least one of cabin audio, cabin displays, cabin cameras, cabin lavatories, cabin chargers, cabin window shades, cabin temperature, cabin lights, and cabin media (read as cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the received data comprises a URL and the using comprises using the received URL to access a cabin management web page (read as IFE 16 is operably coupled to the computer server 14 via an in-flight network 18; portable user device 20 is adapted to communicate with the IFE device 16; computer server 14 is a web application server which includes and/or executes one or more web-based programs) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 24-44).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches further including: moving the passenger smart device into proximity with another NFC tag, querying the another NFC tag with the passenger smart device, receiving further data from the another NFC tag in response to the querying, and using the further data to display a cabin management input display (read as establishing a communication link with the NFC tag 34 using the portable user device 20 to identify the seat of which the seat arm 36 is part; the application is then used to establish a communication link with the NFC tag 34 by placing the portable user device 20 in relatively close physical proximity to the NFC tag 34, thereby establishing the communication link and reading the seat identifier of the NFC tag 34; therefore, read as if the portable user device 20 moves to another seat or is in proximity to another seat, the portable user device communicates with the respective NFC tag associated with the another seat) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 8-18).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein using comprises using the received data to establish a wireless network connection over the WiFi (read as network 18 includes the Internet) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the received data comprises a password, and the using comprises using the received password to connect to an access point (read as the network 18 includes one or more access points, each of which may be a router, wireless access point, or any other device or module, or a combination thereof, which enables communication between electronic devices) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the NFC tag comprises a passive NFC tag (read as passive data storage) (Alkasimi – column 12 lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the NFC tag specifies data associated with cabin control associated with a particular seat in a cabin of the aircraft (read as establishing a communication link with the NFC tag using the portable user device to identify the seat of which the seat arm is a part; portable user device and/or IFE device control cabin functions associated with the seat of which the seat arm is a part; cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 8-17, column 6 lines column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Regarding claim 9, Keen teaches a system for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic devices (PEDs) 130) (Keen – Figure 1, [0089], [0101]) with a cabin management system (read as aircraft IFE system 400 comprises an IFE video entertainment source 402, a plurality of IFE passenger seat displays 404, at least one IFE wireless transceiver 406, and at least one IFE controller 408) (Keen – Figure 1, [0168]) of an aircraft (read as aircraft 120) (Keen – Figure 1, Figure 11, [0089]) comprising:
an NFC tag configured to provide data to the passenger smart device when the passenger smart device is moved into proximity with the NFC tag (read as each PED 1430 comprises a PED NFC device 1432 for receiving the respective registration ID 1410 associated with one of the IFE NFC devices 1422 when in proximity thereto) (Keen – [0287]), the NFC tag configured to be queried by the passenger smart device and to provide data to the passenger smart device in response to a query (read as each respective registration ID 1410 allows the PED controller 1438 to register with the IFE controller 1408 upon communicating therewith; the PED 1430 that sensed the registration ID 1410 is assigned to and associated with the IFE passenger seat display 1404 that is associated with the IFE NFC device 1422 that transmitted the registration ID) (Keen – [0288]), the provided data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials (read as IFE system could authenticate the NFC request before granting access to the IFE system) (Keen – [0382]), and (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a seat location and/or privilege level of the passenger (read as data memory cache 155 is for storing common data accessible by the PEDs 130 during flight of the aircraft 120 as well as caching web pages for web browsing by a PED 130; each network selection controller 192, 194 may determine to send requests for at least one of the static and dynamic web pages from the PEDs 130) (Keen – [0096], [0107], [0128], [0133]).
However, Keen fails to teach the NFC tag-provided Wi-Fi credentials configuring the passenger smart device to establish a WiFi connection with an access point, the NFC tag-provided application URLs and/or scripts configuring the passenger smart device to access, via the WiFi connection, a cabin management equipment user interface enabling different control inputs and/or displays based on the seat location and/or privilege level of the passenger; and cabin management equipment that is accessible by the passenger smart device over the WiFi connection based on the data the NFC tag provides to the passenger smart device.
In the related art, Alkasimi teaches the NFC tag-provided Wi-Fi credentials configuring the passenger smart device to establish a WiFi connection with an access point (read as the network 18 includes one or more access points, each of which may be a router, wireless access point, or any other device or module, or a combination thereof, which enables communication between electronic devices) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 1-3), the NFC tag-provided application URLs and/or scripts configuring the passenger smart device to access, via the WiFi connection, a cabin management equipment user interface enabling different control inputs and/or displays based on the seat location and/or privilege level of the passenger (read as at step 48, the portable user device 20 remotely controls the IFE device 16; the portable user device 20 remotely controls the IFE device 16; at step 50, the portable user device 20 and/or the IFE device 16 control cabin functions associated with the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part) (Alkasimi – Figure 2B, column 6 lines 19-44, column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34); and cabin management equipment that is accessible by the passenger smart device over the WiFi connection based on the data the NFC tag provides to the passenger smart device (read as establishing a communication link with the NFC tag using the portable user device to identify the seat of which the seat arm is a part; portable user device and/or IFE device control cabin functions associated with the seat of which the seat arm is a part; cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 8-17, column 6 lines column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Alkasimi into the teachings of Keen for the purpose of establishing a communication link between a portable user device and an NFC tag which is connected to a seat arm within an airplane, to allow the portable user device the capability to control cabin functions associated with the airplane seat of which the seat arm is a part.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is configured to enable the passenger smart device to display status of and/or control at least one of cabin audio, cabin displays, cabin cameras, cabin lavatories, cabin chargers, cabin window shades, cabin temperature, cabin lights, and cabin media (read as cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the received data comprises a URL and the cabin management equipment provides access to a cabin management web page based on the application URL and/or scripts (read as IFE 16 is operably coupled to the computer server 14 via an in-flight network 18; portable user device 20 is adapted to communicate with the IFE device 16; computer server 14 is a web application server which includes and/or executes one or more web-based programs) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 24-44).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches further including: another NFC tag providing further data identifying a cabin management input display (read as portable user device 20 supplies at least a portion of the content displayed on the IFE device 16 and controls the display of the content on the IFE device 16) (Alkasimi – column 4 lines 9-29).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment comprises the access point that uses the received data to establish a wireless WiFi network connection with the passenger smart device (read as the network 18 includes one or more access points, each of which may be a router, wireless access point, or any other device or module, or a combination thereof, which enables communication between electronic devices) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the received data further comprises a password, and the access point uses the password to establish a network connection with the passenger smart device (read as the network 18 includes one or more access points, each of which may be a router, wireless access point, or any other device or module, or a combination thereof, which enables communication between electronic devices) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 59-67, column 3 lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the NFC tag comprises a passive NFC tag (read as passive data storage) (Alkasimi – column 12 lines 14-25).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 9, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the NFC tag is configured to specify data associated with cabin control associated with a particular seat in a cabin of the aircraft (read as establishing a communication link with the NFC tag using the portable user device to identify the seat of which the seat arm is a part; portable user device and/or IFE device control cabin functions associated with the seat of which the seat arm is a part; cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 8-17, column 6 lines column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Regarding claim 17, Keen teaches a system for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic devices (PEDs) 130) (Keen – Figure 1, [0089], [0101]) with a cabin management system (read as aircraft IFE system 400 comprises an IFE video entertainment source 402, a plurality of IFE passenger seat displays 404, at least one IFE wireless transceiver 406, and at least one IFE controller 408) (Keen – Figure 1, [0168]) of an aircraft (read as aircraft 120) (Keen – Figure 1, Figure 11, [0089]) comprising:
a first NFC tag configured to provide first data to the passenger smart device (read as each PED 1430 comprises a PED NFC device 1432 for receiving the respective registration ID 1410 associated with one of the IFE NFC devices 1422 when in proximity thereto) (Keen – [0287]);
a second NFC tag configured to provide second data to the passenger smart device (read as a plurality of IFE passenger seat displays 1404, and a respective IFE NFC device 1422 associated with each of the IFE passenger seat displays for transmitting a respective registration ID 1410;each IFE NFC device 1422 is preferably adjacent an IFE passenger seat display 1404 within the seatback of a passenger seat 1401) (Keen – Figures 45-46, [0283]-[0284]), the provided first and second data comprising application URLs and/or scripts associated with a seat location and/or privilege level of a passenger (read as when aircraft 120 lands at a different airport, the web pages can be updated or refreshed over the ground data link interface 180; once the web pages are stored in the data memory cache 155, a passenger using their Wi-Fi or WiMax enabled PED 13 can access and browse the web pages) (Keen – [0117]-[0118]).
However, Keen fails to teach cabin management equipment that provides a cabin control page to the passenger smart device based on a combination of both (a) the first data the passenger smart device receives from the first NFC tag and (b) second data the passenger smart device receives from the second NFC tag.
In the related art, Alkasimi teaches cabin management equipment that provides a cabin control page to the passenger smart device (read as IFE 16 is operably coupled to the computer server 14 via an in-flight network 18; portable user device 20 is adapted to communicate with the IFE device 16; computer server 14 is a web application server which includes and/or executes one or more web-based programs) (Alkasimi – column 2 lines 24-44) based on a combination of both (a) the first data the passenger smart device receives from the first NFC tag and (b) second data the passenger smart device receives from the second NFC tag (read as establishing a communication link with the NFC tag 34 using the portable user device 20 to identify the seat of which the seat arm 36 is part; the application is then used to establish a communication link with the NFC tag 34 by placing the portable user device 20 in relatively close physical proximity to the NFC tag 34, thereby establishing the communication link and reading the seat identifier of the NFC tag 34; therefore, read as if the portable user device 20 moves to another seat or is in proximity to another seat, the portable user device communicates with the respective NFC tag associated with the another seat) (Alkasimi – column 6 lines 8-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Alkasimi into the teachings of Keen for the purpose of establishing a communication link between a portable user device and an NFC tag which is connected to a seat arm within an airplane, to allow the portable user device the capability to control cabin functions associated with the airplane seat of which the seat arm is a part.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 17, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is configured to establish a wireless connection in response to the first data, and to provide a user interface screen in response to the second data (read as portable user device 20 supplies at least a portion of the content displayed on the IFE device 16 and controls the display of the content on the IFE device 16) (Alkasimi – column 4 lines 9-29).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Keen as modified by Alkasimi further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is further configured to provide different seat-specific user interface screens in response to different second data (read as portable user device 20 supplies at least a portion of the content displayed on the IFE device 16 and controls the display of the content on the IFE device 16; cabin functions may include the brightness of the overhead lighting, the direction of the overhead lighting, one or more positions of the seat of which the seat arm 36 is a part, the amount of air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, the direction of the air exiting the air nozzle above the seat, and/or any combination thereof) (Alkasimi – column 4 lines 9-29, column 6 lines 63-67, column 7 lines 1-34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648