DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/22/2026. Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 13-14, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 2017/0182957 herein Watson), in view of Gorajala Chandra (US 2018/0332630 A1 herein Gorajala Chandra), and further in view of Bent et al. (US 2008/0132167 herein Bent).
Regarding claim 1, Watson teaches a method for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic device of a passenger with a passenger seat) (Watson – Figure 1, [0048]) with a cabin management system (read as on-board management system 102) (Watson – Figure 1, and [0048]) of an aircraft (Watson – [0037]) comprising:
moving the passenger smart device into proximity with an NFC tag (read as NFC terminal/tag detectable by the personal electronic device 120 located proximate each other) (Watson – [0073]);
to connect to or access a cabin management system user interface via a WiFi connection (read as pairing to the on-board management system 102 via the wireless communication link 125) (Watson – [0013], [0052]-[0053], and [0083]).
However, Watson fails to teach querying the NFC tag with an NFC device within the passenger smart device, receiving data from the NFC tag in response to the querying, the data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials, and (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat and/or access privilege level, and using the data received from the NFC tag to connect to or access the cabin management system user interface via the WiFi connection.
In the related art, Gorajala Chandra teaches querying the NFC tag with an NFC device within the passenger smart device (read as NFC tag 150 is placed at a location that is convenient for NFC enabled WiFi clients to scan wherein WiFi client device 140 such as smartphone, is equipped with an NFC module; when WiFi client device 140 is placed in close proximity with NFC tag 150 the client security application reads data from NFC tag 150 though its NFC module) (Gorajala Chandra – [0031]), receiving data from the NFC tag in response to the querying (read as WiFi profile created may be retrieved from the data and may be stored within a WiFi profile repository of WiFi client device 140) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]), the data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials (read as credentials included in the WiFi profile) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]) the data comprising access privilege level (read as list of guests who may access the WiFi network during a certain time period) (Gorajala Chandra – [0041], and [0044]), and using the data received from the NFC tag to connect to or access system user interface via the WiFi connection (read as when a guest needs to access a WiFi network, he/she may launch the client security application at his/her mobile device and place the mobile device near the NFC tag; client security application may then obtain the data in the WiFi profile to connect to the WiFi network) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gorajala Chandra into the teachings of Watson for the purpose of obtaining a profile data and credentials from an NFC tag and establishing a WiFi connection with the WiFi network using the profile data and credentials obtained via near-field communication.
However, Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra fails to teach the data comprising (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat.
In the related art, Bent teaches the data comprising (b) application URLs (read as NFC tag transfers its data to the NFC-capable communication device; data for display to the user which may include one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that identify websites) (Bent – [0017]) and/or scripts associated with a particular seat (read as each NFC tag 46 is located proximate a “target” (read as particular seat or location), as well-recognized symbol on image 44 that readily identifies the location of the NFC tag 46 for the user; information or data for a particular image 44 that is associated with the target (read as particular seat/location) can be obtained when coming in close physical proximity or physical contact with the NFC-capable device 10 to the associated NFC tag 46) (Bent – [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bent into the teachings of Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra for the purpose of providing an NFC tag that stores data and information such as URLs that identify websites that can be transferred to a user’s personal device to be used to connect or access resources or networks and/or to proceed to websites to make purchases or download files.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the cabin management system user interface enables the passenger smart device to display status of and/or control at least one of cabin audio, cabin displays, cabin cameras, cabin lavatories, cabin chargers, cabin window shades, cabin temperature, cabin lights, and cabin media (read as allowing the personal electronic device to control passenger in-seat functions and features) (Watson – Abstract, and [0048]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the received data comprises a URL and the using comprises using the received URL to access a cabin management web page (read as NFC tag transfers its data to the NFC-capable communication device; data for display to the user which may include one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that identify websites) (Bent – [0017]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches further including: moving the passenger smart device into proximity with another NFC tag, querying the another NFC tag with the passenger smart device, receiving further data from the another NFC tag in response to the querying, and using the further data to display a cabin management input display (read as passengers may wish to switch to another seat) (Watson – [0103]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein using comprises using the received data to establish a wireless network connection over the WiFi connection (read as when a guest needs to access a WiFi network, he/she may launch the client security application at his/her mobile device and place the mobile device near the NFC tag; client security application may then obtain the data in the WiFi profile to connect to the WiFi network) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the received data comprises a password, and the using comprises using the received password to connect to an access point (read as WiFi client may be brought in close proximity to an NFC tag that contains guest WiFi profile data created by an access point controller of the WiFi network; then, responsive to detection of the NFC tag, profile management module 402 may set the NFC device 401 to reader mode and read out data from the NFC tag and establish an NFC connection with the access point controller) (Gorajala Chandra – [0049]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the NFC tag comprises a passive NFC tag (read as passive NFC tag) (Bent – Figure 1, [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the NFC tag specifies data associated with cabin control for a particular seat in a cabin of the aircraft (read as allowing the personal electronic device to control passenger in-seat functions and features) (Watson – Abstract, [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Watson teaches a system for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic device of a passenger with a passenger seat) (Watson – Figure 1, [0048]) with a cabin management system (read as on-board management system 102) (Watson – Figure 1, and [0048]) of an aircraft (Watson – [0037]) comprising:
an NFC tag configured to provide data to the passenger smart device when the passenger smart device is moved into proximity with the NFC tag (read as NFC terminal/tag detectable by the personal electronic device 120 located proximate each other) (Watson – [0073]);
cabin management equipment that is accessible by the passenger smart device over the WiFi connection (read as on-board display system 802 may be an in-flight entertainment or IFE, or other on-board entertainment system for providing video and audio entertainment to the passengers at each passenger seat 130; on-board management system 102 and in-seat display system 804 are in operable communication with each other via a communication network such as Wi-Fi network) (Watson – [0013], [0052]-[0053], and [0083]).
However, Watson fails to teach the NFC tag configured to be queried by the passenger smart device and to provide data to the passenger smart device in response to a query, the provided data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials, and (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat and/or access privilege level, the provided data configuring the passenger smart device to establish a WiFi connection with an access point; and equipment that is accessible by the passenger smart device over the WiFi connection based on the data the NFC tag provides to the passenger smart device.
In the related art, Gorajala Chandra teaches the NFC tag configured to be queried by the passenger smart device (read as NFC tag 150 is placed at a location that is convenient for NFC enabled WiFi clients to scan wherein WiFi client device 140 such as smartphone, is equipped with an NFC module; when WiFi client device 140 is placed in close proximity with NFC tag 150 the client security application reads data from NFC tag 150 though its NFC module) (Gorajala Chandra – [0031]) and to provide data to the passenger smart device in response to a query (read as WiFi profile created may be retrieved from the data and may be stored within a WiFi profile repository of WiFi client device 140) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]), the provided data comprising (a) Wi-Fi credentials (read as credentials included in the WiFi profile) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]), and/or access privilege level (read as list of guests who may access the WiFi network during a certain time period) (Gorajala Chandra – [0041], and [0044]), the provided data configuring the passenger smart device to establish a WiFi connection with an access point (read as WiFi client may be brought in close proximity to an NFC tag that contains guest WiFi profile data created by an access point controller of the WiFi network; then, responsive to detection of the NFC tag, profile management module 402 may set the NFC device 401 to reader mode and read out data from the NFC tag and establish an NFC connection with the access point controller) (Gorajala Chandra – [0049]); and equipment that is accessible by the passenger smart device over the WiFi connection based on the data the NFC tag provides to the passenger smart device (read as when a guest needs to access a WiFi network, he/she may launch the client security application at his/her mobile device and place the mobile device near the NFC tag; client security application may then obtain the data in the WiFi profile to connect to the WiFi network) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gorajala Chandra into the teachings of Watson for the purpose of obtaining a profile data and credentials from an NFC tag and establishing a WiFi connection with the WiFi network using the profile data and credentials obtained via near-field communication.
However, Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra fails to teach the provided data comprising (b) application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat.
In the related art, Bent teaches teach the provided data comprising (b) application URLs (read as NFC tag transfers its data to the NFC-capable communication device; data for display to the user which may include one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that identify websites) (Bent – [0017]) and/or scripts associated with a particular seat (read as each NFC tag 46 is located proximate a “target” (read as particular seat or location), as well-recognized symbol on image 44 that readily identifies the location of the NFC tag 46 for the user; information or data for a particular image 44 that is associated with the target (read as particular seat/location) can be obtained when coming in close physical proximity or physical contact with the NFC-capable device 10 to the associated NFC tag 46) (Bent – [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bent into the teachings of Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra for the purpose of providing an NFC tag that stores data and information such as URLs that identify websites that can be transferred to a user’s personal device to be used to connect or access resources or networks and/or to proceed to websites to make purchases or download files.
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is configured to enable the passenger smart device to display status of and/or control at least one of cabin audio, cabin displays, cabin cameras, cabin lavatories, cabin chargers, cabin window shades, cabin temperature, cabin lights, and cabin media (read as allowing the personal electronic device to control passenger in-seat functions and features) (Watson – Abstract, [0048]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the received data comprises a URL and the cabin management equipment provides access to a cabin management web page based on the URL (read as NFC tag transfers its data to the NFC-capable communication device; data for display to the user which may include one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that identify websites) (Bent – [0017]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches further including: another NFC tag providing further data identifying a cabin management input display (read as passengers may wish to switch to another seat) (Watson – [0103]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment comprises the access point that uses the received data to establish a wireless WiFi network connection with the passenger smart device (read as WiFi client may be brought in close proximity to an NFC tag that contains guest WiFi profile data created by an access point controller of the WiFi network; then, responsive to detection of the NFC tag, profile management module 402 may set the NFC device 401 to reader mode and read out data from the NFC tag and establish an NFC connection with the access point controller) (Gorajala Chandra – [0049]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the received data further comprises a password, and the access point uses the password to establish a network connection with the passenger smart device (read as WiFi client may be brought in close proximity to an NFC tag that contains guest WiFi profile data created by an access point controller of the WiFi network; then, responsive to detection of the NFC tag, profile management module 402 may set the NFC device 401 to reader mode and read out data from the NFC tag and establish an NFC connection with the access point controller) (Gorajala Chandra – [0049]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the NFC tag comprises a passive NFC tag (read as passive NFC tag) (Bent – Figure 1, [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 9, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the NFC tag is configured to specify data associated with cabin control for a particular seat in a cabin of the aircraft (read as allowing the personal electronic device to control passenger in-seat functions and features) (Watson – Abstract, [0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Watson teaches a system for connecting a passenger smart device (read as personal electronic device of a passenger with a passenger seat) (Watson – Figure 1, [0048]) with a cabin management system (read as on-board management system 102) (Watson – Figure 1, and [0048]) of an aircraft (Watson – [0037]) comprising:
a first NFC tag configured to the passenger smart device (read as NFC terminal/tag detectable by the personal electronic device 120 located proximate each other) (Watson – [0073]); and
cabin management equipment (read as pairing the personal electronic device 120 to the on-board management system 102 via the wireless communication link 125) (Watson – [0013], [0052]-[0053], and [0083]).
However, Watson fails to teach the first NFC tag configured to provide first data to the passenger smart device; a second NFC tag configured to provide second data to the passenger smart device, the provided first data and/or the provided second data comprising application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat and/or access privilege level; and the cabin management equipment that provides a page to the passenger smart device based on the first data the passenger smart device receives from the first NFC tag and second data the passenger smart device receives from the second NFC tag.
In the related art, Gorajala Chandra teaches the first NFC tag configured to provide first data to the passenger smart device (read as WiFi profile created may be retrieved from the data and may be stored within a WiFi profile repository of WiFi client device 140) (Gorajala Chandra – [0032]); a second NFC tag configured to provide second data to the passenger smart device (read as smartphones with NFC can read data from NFC tags (read as second NFC tag or more than one NFC tag) or exchange information with other NFC devices; WiFi profile created may be retrieved from the data and may be stored within a WiFi profile repository of WiFi client device 140) (Gorajala Chandra – [0016], and [0032]), the provided first data and/or the provided second data comprising access privilege level (read as list of guests who may access the WiFi network during a certain time period) (Gorajala Chandra – [0041], [0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gorajala Chandra into the teachings of Watson for the purpose of obtaining a profile data and credentials from an NFC tag and establishing a WiFi connection with the WiFi network using the profile data and credentials obtained via near-field communication.
However, Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra fails to teach the provided first data and/or the provided second data comprising application URLs and/or scripts associated with a particular seat; and the equipment that provides a page to the passenger smart device based on the first data the passenger smart device receives from the first NFC tag and second data the passenger smart device receives from the second NFC tag.
In the related art, Bent teaches the provided first data and/or the provided second data comprising application URLs (read as NFC tag transfers its data to the NFC-capable communication device; data for display to the user which may include one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) that identify websites) (Bent – [0017]) and/or scripts associated with a particular seat (read as each NFC tag 46 is located proximate a “target” (read as particular seat or location), as well-recognized symbol on image 44 that readily identifies the location of the NFC tag 46 for the user; information or data for a particular image 44 that is associated with the target (read as particular seat/location) can be obtained when coming in close physical proximity or physical contact with the NFC-capable device 10 to the associated NFC tag 46) (Bent – [0029]); and the equipment that provides a page to the passenger smart device based on the first data the passenger smart device receives from the first NFC tag and second data the passenger smart device receives from the second NFC tag (read as NFC tag that stores data such as one or more Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) (read as one or more URLs may be received from more than one NFC tags); NFC tag transfers the data relating to content to the NFC-capable wireless communication device via the NFC interface; user may then use this data from the NFC tag to select URL to launch a browser application to connect to a website) (Bent – [0005]-[0007], and [0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bent into the teachings of Watson as modified by Gorajala Chandra for the purpose of providing an NFC tag that stores data and information such as URLs that identify websites that can be transferred to a user’s personal device to be used to connect or access resources or networks and/or to proceed to websites to make purchases or download files.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 17, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is configured to establish a wireless connection in response to the first data (read as establish a wireless communication link 125 with personal electronic device 120) (Watson – [0052]), and to provide a user interface screen in response to the second data (read as display various control screens on personal electronic device 120; application 126 includes a user interface having one or more control screens for controlling the respective seat function 140) (Watson – [0060]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Watson as modifed by Gorajala Chandra and further modified by Bent further teaches wherein the cabin management equipment is further configured to provide different seat-specific user interface screens in response to different second data (read as display various control screens on personal electronic device 120; application 126 includes a user interface having one or more control screens for controlling the respective seat function 140) (Watson – [0060]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648