ETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed January 2, 2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) /35 U.S.C. 103 as being clearly anticipated over BOOTMAN et al (2015/034476) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 inserting the polyethylene glycol-based ligands.
Any bold text indicates new language in the Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claimed invention now recites the following:
BOOTMAN et al discloses the claimed invention by disclosing a composition comprising a nanoparticles comprising a first core/shell nanocrystal comprising a first coating layer comprising a plurality of organic molecules and a polymethyl methacrylate polymer formulated in the layer, see Example 3 and 4 in para. [0108] – [00109] starting from page 12-13:
The content of the nanoparticles and the polymer are dissolved in the solvent toluene wherein the nanocrystal content in a content of 95 wt% in the Example 3 based on the addition of 100mL of 100 mg/mL added to 5mL of 10% (w/v).
Example 4 includes a photoinitiator with poly (pentaerythritol tetraacrylate) meeting claims 2 and 6.
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOOTMAN et al in view of SMITH et al (2018/0370800) in view of CHEN et al (2021/0389670) and ARNEY et al (6,329,058).
The claimed invention has been recited above and is included by reference.
BOOTMAN et al lacks a working example using poly (hexanediol diacrylate) as recited in claim 6, however the monomer is reported in para. [0038] as an equivalent polymer forming the polymer matrix.
The content of the nanoparticles is disclosed in with a range of at least about 60% preferably 75% to 90%
SMITH et al report the use of conventional photoinitiators as seen in Example 2, para. [0412] below:
CHEN et al disclose photoresist compositions comprising metal oxide nanoparticles having a first and second ligand, (page 7, para. [0077]). CHEN et al to disclose metal cores and the various ligands that can pair with the metal oxides, such as ether group ligands as recited in page 7, para. [0080] to [0084]. The composition is also disclosed to contain surfactants such as polyethylene glycol as reported in page 4, para. [0066]. The formulation of the surfactants when mixed with the metal oxide in equilibrium bond to the metal core, giving a polyethylene glycol-based ligand upon selecting that surfactant.
ARNEY et al (6,329,058) disclose nano size metal oxide particles for transparent colloids and ceramers. Suitable dispersing agents are disclosed in col. 6, lines 44 – 67 and report polyethylene glycols, organic acid which are condense to the metal particle, see the highlighted portion of col. 7, lines 1-19 below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of quantum dot containing to use known photoinitiators, 2,4,6-Trimethylbenzoylphenyl phosphinate as reported in SMITH et al in the examples of BOOTMAN composition and to add known ligands to the metal oxide particles wherein surfactants/dispersing agents in formulation can complex to the surface of metal particles as reported in ARNEY et al with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for high conductivity and low-cost deposition techniques.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZI et al (2021/0349391)) disclose photoresist underlayers having metal oxide particles formulated with surfactants which can be complexed to the surface of the metal particles.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
April 18, 2026