Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Parkhe (US Pub. No. 2022/0270906)
Regarding claim 1, Parkhe discloses a substrate support carrier for use in a processing chamber, the substrate support carrier comprising: an electrostatic chuck (ESC) assembly comprising: a top ceramic disc (108) having a recess formed from a lower surface of the top ceramic disc; a bottom ceramic disc (102) having a hole through the bottom ceramic disc (figure 1); an upper bonding layer (114) interposed between the lower surface of the top ceramic disc (108) and an upper surface of the bottom ceramic disc (102); and a porous plug (116) within at least one of the recess of the top ceramic disc and the hole of the bottom ceramic disc (figure 1); a temperature control base (122); and a lower bonding layer (121) interposed between a lower surface of the bottom ceramic disc (102) and an upper surface of the temperature control base (122)(figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YE et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0118716) and as evidenced by Parkhe (US Pub. No. 2022/0270906).
Regarding claim 1, YE et al. discloses a substrate support carrier for use in a processing chamber, the substrate support carrier comprising: an electrostatic chuck (ESC) (100) assembly comprising: a top ceramic disc (130) having a recess (131) formed from a lower surface of the top ceramic disc; a bottom ceramic disc (110) having a hole (112) through the bottom ceramic disc (figures 1 and 2); an upper bonding layer (120) interposed between the lower surface of the top ceramic disc (130) and an upper surface of the bottom ceramic disc (110); and a porous plug (1110/1313: paragraph 66, lines 13-15) within at least one of the recess (131) of the top ceramic disc (130) and the hole (112) of the bottom ceramic disc (110) (figures 2 and 4-14); a temperature control base (500) (figure 1); and a lower bonding layer interposed between a lower surface of the bottom ceramic disc and an upper surface of the temperature control base.
Regarding claim 2, YE et al. discloses wherein the porous plug (1110) includes an in-situ sleeve (1114) at least partially encapsulating the porous plug (1110) (figure 8 and paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 3, YE et al. discloses wherein the porous plug (1110) extends within the hole of the bottom ceramic disc and does not extend within the recess
of the top ceramic disc (figures 4-7).
Regarding claim 4, YE et al. discloses 4.
(Original)
The substrate support carrier of claim 1, wherein the porous plug
extends within the recess of the top ceramic disc and does not extend within the hole of
the bottom ceramic disc.
Regarding claim 5, YE et al. discloses wherein the porous plug comprises a top porous plug (1312/1313/1314) extending within the recess of the top ceramic disc (130) and a bottom porous plug (1111) extending within the hole of the bottom ceramic disc (110) (figures 11-14).
Regarding claim 6, YE et al. discloses wherein the top porous plug is manufactured monolithically as a part of the top ceramic
disc, and the bottom porous plug is manufactured monolithically as a part of the bottom
ceramic disc.
Regarding claim 7, YE et al. discloses wherein wherein the porous plug
further comprises a center porous plug between the top porous plug and the bottom
porous plug, extending within an opening of the upper bonding layer.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 5/14/26