DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US 20180183018 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses a secondary battery (100), comprising:
a case (11, container body);
an electrode assembly (20, electrode assembly), accommodated in the case (11, Fig. 2 shows 20 accommodated in 11) and comprising a main body (middle section of 20) and a tab (left end or right end of 20) connected to the main body (middle section of 20; Fig. 2 shows 20 comprising middle section of 20 and left or right end of 20 connected to the middle section of 20);
a cap plate (12, lid body), coupled to the case (11; Fig. 2 and [0041] regarding 11 and 12 are fixed to each other) and comprising an electrode lead-out hole (hole on 12; Fig. 3 shows two holes on 12 on either the left side or right side of 12);
an electrode terminal (31, positive electrode terminal, or 41, negative electrode terminal), covering the electrode lead-out hole (two holes on 12) of the cap plate (12) and provided with a first through hole (41a, through hole or through hole of 31 shown in Fig. 3, for mapping purposes will label as 31a); and
a current collecting member (34, positive-electrode current collecting member, or 44, negative-electrode current collecting member), connected between the tab (left end of 20 or right end of 20) and the electrode terminal (31 or 41), wherein the current collecting member (34 or 44) comprises an extending portion (34c, shaft portion, or 44c, shaft portion, or 47, shaft member) extending toward the electrode terminal (31 or 41) and protruding into the first through hole (31a or 41a), the extending portion (34c, or 44c, or 47) is connected to the electrode terminal (31 or 41) and is exposed to a side (top side) of the electrode terminal (31 or 41) facing away from the cap plate (12; Figs. 2-9 show 34 or 44, connected between left end or right end of 20 and 31 or 41, wherein 34 or 44 comprises 34c or 44c extending toward 31 or 41 and protruding into 31a or 41a, 34c or 44c is connected to 31 or 41 and is exposed to top side of 31 or 41 facing away from 12), wherein the secondary battery further comprises a connecting member (42, upper insulating member) abutting against the electrode terminal (41) from a side away from the cap plate (12, lid body; Figs), the connecting member (42) is directly connected with the cap plate (12) and is configured to fix the electrode terminal (41) to the cap plate (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9, 17-19, 22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al. (US 20180183018 A1) in view of Oda et al. (US 20150086867 A1, cited in IDS filed on 19 January 2023).
Regarding claim 2, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal (31 or 41) comprises a first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41; [0049], [0051], & [0075]) and a second metal layer (conductive coating; [0075] regarding conductive coating such as nickel plating on 41; [0048] regarding 31 and 41 having conductivity, and similar configuration except that sealing member, 45, is disposed at 41, thus, configuration of 41 is described and configuration of 31 is omitted. Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that 31 also is provided with conductive coating) disposed one on top of another ([0075] regarding conductive coating provided to cover a contact portion), and the first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41) and the second metal layer (conductive coating of 31 or 41; [0075] regarding conductive coating) are made of different materials ([0046] regarding electrode substrate of 20 made of metal such as aluminum or copper; [0049] regarding 31 or 41 similar metal material to electrode substrate of 20; [0075] regarding conductive coating such as nickel plating on 41), and wherein the first through hole (31a or 41a) is a stepped hole (outline of 31a or 41a) and the stepped hole (outline of 31a or 41a) comprises a first hole segment (bottom portion of 31a or 41a) penetrating through the first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41) and a second hole segment (top portion of 31a or 41a) penetrating through the second metal layer (conductive coating of 31 or 41; [0075] regarding conductive coating) and extending into the first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41), the extending portion (34c or 44c or 47) protrudes into the first hole segment (bottom portion of 31a or 41a) and is directly connected to the first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41), and the first metal layer (metal material of 31) is made of the same material as the current collecting member (34; [0051] regarding 34 is made of an identical metal material to that of 31).
Maeda does not directly disclose the second metal layer is located on a side of the first metal layer away from the cap plate, because it is silent on the location of the conductive coating.
However, Oda teaches a secondary battery comprising an electrode terminal (8) comprising a first metal layer (81, Cu layer / first metal layer / second metal layer) and second metal layer (80, Al layer / second metal layer / first metal layer) disposed one on top of another ([0074] regarding stacked), wherein the second metal layer (80) is located on a side of the first metal layer (81) away from the cap plate (2, cover member).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the modify the second metal layer which is represented via conductive coating of the electrode terminal of Maeda ([0075]) with the second metal layer located on a side of the first metal layer away from the cap plate of the electrode terminal of Oda, in order to improve the mass productivity of electrode terminal ([0006]-[0007], [0009], & [0082] regarding mass productivity).
Regarding claim 3, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 2, wherein, Oda discloses both of the first metal layer (81) and the current collecting member (51, current collecting portion) are made of copper ([0033] regarding metal materials and [0070] & [0083] regarding Cu), and the second metal layer (80) is made of aluminum ([0074] regarding Al layer).
Regarding claim 4, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 2, wherein, Oda discloses both of the first metal layer (81) and the current collecting member (51, current collecting portion) are made of aluminum (Oda teaches Al and Cu can be used interchangeably [0074], therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to exchange the Al for Cu and vice versa, as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent metals recognized in the art), and the second metal layer (80) is made of copper (Fig. 24 show another embodiment of 1080b as first metal layer and 1081 as second metal layer. Additionally, Oda teaches Al and Cu can be used interchangeably [0074], therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to exchange the Al for Cu and vice versa, as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent metals recognized in the art).
Regarding claim 5, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 2, wherein Maeda discloses the second hole segment (top portion of 31a) has a diameter larger than that of the first hole segment (bottom portion of 31a; [0048] regarding 31 and 41 having similar configurations; Fig. 5A shows top portion of 41a similar to 31a has a diameter larger than that of bottom portion of 41a similar to 31a), and Oda discloses the extending portion (52, electrode columnar portion) is welded to the first metal layer (81; [0079] regarding welded 52 and 81; Figs. 6, 10, 13, 15, 18-19, 21-22 show 52 and 81 welded to each other).
Regarding claim 6, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 5, wherein the second hole segment (bottom portion of 31a or 41a) includes a sink portion (41b, groove or 31b similar configurations of 41b) disposed in the first metal layer (metal material of 31 or 41), and a top surface (44ca, swaged projecting portion, or 34ca similar configurations of 44ca) of the extending portion (34c or 44c or 47) is flush (level) with a bottom surface (top surface of 41ac, stepped portion) of the sink portion (41b, groove).
Regarding claim 7, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 5, wherein Oda discloses the extending portion (52) and the first metal layer (81) are welded to each other ([0079] regarding 52 and 81 are welded to each other), by which an annular welding seam (bonding surfaces H; [0134] regarding laser welding along circumference, thereby rendering the annular welding seam limitation obvious) is formed so as to connect the extending portion (52) and the first metal layer (81 via 689a, inner peripheral surface of 81) in a sealed manner ([0079] regarding bonding surfaces; Fig. 18 shows 52 and 81 annular welding seam so that 52 and 81 via 689a, inner peripheral surface of 81 are welded to each other in a sealed manner).
Regarding claim 8, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 2, wherein Oda discloses a composite connection interface (82a, intermetallic compound interface) is formed between the first metal layer (81) and the second metal layer (80), and the connecting member (101, bus bar) is disposed to abut against the second metal layer (80) and form a contact interface (bonding surface B) together with the second metal layer (80), wherein the contact interface (bonding surface B) is located above the composite connection interface (82a; Fig. 6 shows 82a is formed between 81 and 80, and 1 further comprises 101 abutting against 80 and forming bonding surface B together with 80, wherein bonding surface B is located above 82a).
Regarding claim 9, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the current collecting member (34 or 44) further comprises a connecting portion (34b or 44b, leg portions) connected to the extending portion (34c or 44c), the connecting portion is located on an inner side (bottom side) of the cap plate (12) and directly connected to the tab (left end or right end of 20; Figs. 2-3 show 34b or 44b is located on bottom side of 12 and directly connected to left end or right end of 20), the connecting portion (34b or 44b) is formed in a sheet-like shape ([0052] regarding rectangular plate shape) and is made of the same material as the tab (left end or right end of 20; [0051] regarding 34 or 44 are made of similar metal material to that of the positive electrode substrate and the negative electrode substrate of 20; [0046] regarding positive electrode substrate of 20 made of a metal such as aluminum or an aluminum alloy, and negative electrode substrate of 20 made of a metal such as copper or copper alloy).
Regarding claim 17, modified Maeda further discloses a battery module (one unit), comprising: a plurality of secondary batteries (100) according to claim 1 ([0115] regarding one unit is a plurality of 100).
Regarding claim 18, modified Maeda further discloses a battery pack (energy storage apparatus), comprising: at least one battery module (one unit) according to claim 17 ([0115] regarding energy storage apparatus includes one unit).
Regarding claim 19, modified Maeda further discloses an apparatus (energy storage apparatus/ electric vehicle) using a secondary battery (100) as a power source (power source), wherein, the secondary battery (100) is a secondary battery according to claim 1 ([0115] regarding 100 as power source for electric vehicles).
Regarding claim 22, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 9, wherein the current collecting member (34 or 44) further a projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) connected between the extending portion (34c or 44c) and the connecting portion (34b or 44b; Fig. 5A shows 34 or 44 further comprises L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a connected to 34c or 44c and 34b or 44b), a recess (opening on bottom of L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) is formed on a side (bottom side) of the projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) away from the electrode terminal (31 or 41) by forming the projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a; Fig. 5A shows opening on bottom of L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a is formed on a bottom side of L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a away from 41 by forming L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a).
Maeda does not directly disclose a top surface of the projection is configured to be in contact with a bottom surface of the electrode terminal, however Maeda does teach various contacts of the projection and with the electrode terminal.
Additionally, Oda teaches a secondary battery comprising an electrode terminal (8) and a projection (52(5), electrode columnar portion) connected between the extending portion (L-shape of 487, protrusion portion) and the connecting portion (482, clad plate material). Oda further discloses a top surface (top surface) of the projection (52(5)) is configured to be in contact with a bottom surface (bottom surface) of the electrode terminal (8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to the modify the contact of the projection and electrode terminal of Maeda (Figs. 5A-15) with the contact of the projection and electrode terminal of Oda (Fig. 13; [0070] regarding electrically connects), in order to improve the mass productivity of electrode terminal ([0006-0007], [0009], & [0082] regarding mass productivity).
Regarding claim 24, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 22, wherein the projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) is provided with a second through hole (43b, through hole), and the extending portion (34c, 44c, or 47) is adapted to pass through the second through hole (43b); and the current collecting member (34 or 44) further comprises a support portion (34a or 44a, base) connected with the extending portion (34c, 44c, or 47), and the support portion (34a or 44a) is accommodated in the recess (opening on bottom of L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a).
Regarding claim 25, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 24, wherein the support portion (34a or 44a) is adapted to extend beyond an inner wall of the second through hole (43b) in a radial direction ([0052] regarding cylindrical shape) of the second through hole (43b; Fig. 5A shows 44a is adapted to extend beyond an inner wall of 43b in cylindrical shape of 43b).
Regarding claim 26, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 25, wherein the projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) is clamped by the support portion (34a or 44a) and the electrode terminal (31 or 41) together (Fig. 5A shows L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a is clamped by 44a and 41 together).
Regarding claim 27, modified Maeda further discloses the secondary battery according to claim 22, wherein the secondary battery (100) further comprises an insulating member (33 or 43, lower insulating member) disposed on the inner side (bottom side) of the cap plate (12), the insulating member (33 or 43) is located between the connecting portion (34b or 44b) of the current collecting member (31 or 41) and the cap plate (12) and surrounds the projection (L-shaped outline of 44c + 44a) of the current collecting member (34 or 44) in a circumferential direction ([0052] regarding cylindrical shape), so as to electrically insulate the current collecting member (34 or 44) from the cap plate (12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 February 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that “neither of Maeda and Oda disclose the connecting member as recited in the current claim 1,” is not persuasive. The secondary battery of Maeda comprises a connecting member (42, upper insulating member) abutting against the electrode terminal (41) from a side away from the cap plate (12, lid body; Figs), the connecting member (42) is directly connected with the cap plate (12) and is configured to fix the electrode terminal (41) to the cap plate (12), as described in the rejection of claim 1 above. Therefore, Maeda meets the limitations of claim 1 and applicant’s arguments do not overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728