DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach or disclose the determination of a safety problem is made before the beam generating apparatus generates the therapeutic neutron beam and starts to irradiate the therapeutic neutron beam into the first irradiation chamber. Specifically, Applicant argues that Hollebeek uses the measured dose is compared with the expected dose as the basis for determination of a safety problem. Examiner disagrees as the cited sections are mere examples of determination of safety problems. Hollebeek further discloses different examples of safety problems before a beam is generated to include, for example, mechanical issues (components being physically damaged/deformed, blocked beam path, issues with end-of-life cycle for different components, power supply failures, etc., see col. 12, lines 45-57), and software issues (sub-optimal performance of control/monitoring sub-systems, communication protocols, or software bugs, see col. 12, lines 57-66) that can be addressed before a beam is generated.
Regarding the arguments directed to amended independent claim 12, the amended limitations are similar to the recited amended limitations of claim 1 and are not persuasive for the same reasons above.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: beam control module, system control module, etc. in claim 1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/6/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because US PGPub 20200155871 has already been considered in a previously filed IDS. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US PGPub 2020/0155871, hereinafter Liu) in view of Hollebeek et al. (US Pat. 10,471,279, hereinafter Hollebeek).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 2 of Liu discloses a radiotherapy system (neutron capture therapy system, see abstract) comprising:
a first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B, see paragraph [0060]);
a beam generating apparatus, comprising a charged particle beam generating apparatus (accelerator 10) and a first neutron beam generating portion (neutron beam generating device 30) interacting with a charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) generated by the charged particle beam generating apparatus (accelerator 10) to generate a therapeutic neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) to irradiate into the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B, see paragraph [0060]);
a beam control module (control room), capable of controlling the charged particle beam generating apparatus to generate the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) and receiving operating data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus (see paragraph [0066]); and
a system control module (control mechanism configured to control the accelerator, beam transmitting device, treatment table, and control and manage the entire irradiation process, see paragraph [0066]), capable of controlling, by the beam control module, the charged particle beam generating apparatus to generate the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) and receiving operation data of the radiotherapy system comprising the operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus (see paragraph [0066]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus or the radiotherapy system is configured to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam, whether there is a safely problem, before the beam generating apparatus generates the therapeutic neutron beam and starts to irradiate the therapeutic neutron beam into the first irradiation chamber.
Hollebeek discloses a controller 110 (e.g. control module) that monitors a predetermined tolerance for system parameters and/or delivery parameters of the particle beam source (see col. 15, lines 9-21). Hollebeek further teaches if the controller 110 determines the one or more system/delivery parameters is outside a clinical safely tolerance range due to mechanical issues, hardware issues and/or software issues (discussed in col. 12, lines 38-66 to include before the beam is generated), the delivery beam is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-28). While the specifics of how the delivery beam is aborted are not present, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that aborting the delivery beam includes preventing, by the controller 110, the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam.
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam and to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam when a safety problem is determined.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the charged particle beam generating apparatus comprises a charged particle beam generating portion (accelerator 10) and a beam transmission portion comprising a beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) (see paragraph [0061]), and the charged particle beam generating portion (accelerator 10) generates the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) to selectively interact with the first neutron beam generating portion (neutron beam generating device 30) through the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet), to generate the therapeutic neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) to irradiate into the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraphs [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the beam generating apparatus (accelerator 10) irradiates the neutron beam (neutron beam N) into the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) and the beam control module (control room) or the system control module is capable of controlling, through the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) to switch the neutron beam away from the first irradiation chamber (see paragraph [0061]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus, whether there is a safely problem, the radiotherapy system is configured to control the charged particle beam generating apparatus to switch the neutron beam away from the first irradiation chamber.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus comprises operation data of the charged particle beam generating portion (accelerator 10) or operation data of the beam transmission portion comprising operation data of the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet, see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses a charged particle beam generating chamber (accelerator room 1021) accommodating the charged particle beam generating portion (accelerator 10), a beam transmission chamber (beam transmission room 1022) accommodating the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet), a shielding door (shielding door D4) of the charged particle beam generating chamber (accelerator room 1021) and a shielding door (shielding door D6) of the beam transmission chamber (beam transmission room 1022), the operation data of the radiotherapy system further comprises operation data of the shielding door (shielding door D4) of the charged particle beam generating chamber (accelerator room 1021) or operation data of the shielding door (shielding door D6) of the beam transmission chamber (beam transmission room 1022, see paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the charged particle beam generating apparatus comprises a charged particle beam monitoring component (current monitor), and the operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus comprises operation data of the charged particle beam monitoring component (current monitor, see paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu fails to disclose the beam generating apparatus further comprises a neutron beam monitoring component, and the operation data of the radiotherapy system comprises operation data of the neutron beam monitoring component.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module monitors the beam.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses a shielding door (shielding door D2) of the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B, see paragraph [0063]).
A difference between Liu and the claim invention is a radiation monitoring component arranged in the first irradiation chamber. Liu fails to disclose the beam generating apparatus further comprises a beam monitoring component, and the operation data of the radiotherapy system comprises operation data of the beam monitoring component.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module monitors the beam.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 10, while Liu does not explicitly disclose a patient state monitoring component, Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the processing checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses a treatment plan module (treatment plan) and the operation data of the radiotherapy system comprises treatment plan data retrieved by the system control module (control room) from the treatment plan module (see paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses a method for controlling safety interlock of a radiotherapy system (neutron capture therapy system, see abstract) comprising:
providing the radiotherapy system comprising:
a first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B, see paragraph [0060]);
a beam generating apparatus, comprising a charged particle beam generating apparatus (accelerator 10) and a first neutron beam generating portion (neutron beam generating device 30) interacting with a charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) generated by the charged particle beam generating apparatus (accelerator 10) to generate a therapeutic neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) to irradiate into the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B, see paragraph [0060]);
a system control module (control mechanism configured to control the accelerator, beam transmitting device, treatment table, and control and manage the entire irradiation process, see paragraph [0066]), capable of controlling, by the beam generating apparatus to generate the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) and receiving operation data of the radiotherapy system comprising the operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus (see paragraph [0066]); and
a beam control module (control room), capable of controlling the charged particle beam generating apparatus to generate the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) and receiving operating data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus (see paragraph [0066]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus or the radiotherapy system is configured to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam, whether there is a safely problem, before the beam generating apparatus generates the therapeutic neutron beam and starts to irradiate the therapeutic neutron beam into the first irradiation chamber.
Hollebeek discloses a controller 110 (e.g. control module) that monitors a predetermined tolerance for system parameters and/or delivery parameters of the particle beam source (see col. 15, lines 9-21). Hollebeek further teaches if the controller 110 determines the one or more system/delivery parameters is outside a clinical safely tolerance range due to mechanical issues, hardware issues and/or software issues (discussed in col. 12, lines 38-66 to include before the beam is generated), the delivery beam is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-28). While the specifics of how the delivery beam is aborted are not present, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that aborting the delivery beam includes preventing, by the controller 110, the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam.
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses the charged particle beam generating apparatus comprises a charged particle beam generating portion (accelerator 10) and a beam transmission portion comprising a beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet), and the charged particle beam generating portion generates the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) to selectively interact with the first neutron beam generating portion (neutron beam generating device 30) to irradiate into the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraph [0060]), and controlling, by the beam control module (control room) the charged particle beam (charged particle beam P) generated by the charged particle beam generating apparatus to stop interacting with the first neutron beam generating portion (neutron beam generating device 30), by the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) to switch the neutron beam away from the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraph [0061]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus or the radiotherapy system is configured to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam, whether there is a safely problem, before the beam generating apparatus generates the therapeutic neutron beam and starts to irradiate the therapeutic neutron beam into the first irradiation chamber.
Hollebeek discloses a controller 110 (e.g. control module) that monitors a predetermined tolerance for system parameters and/or delivery parameters of the particle beam source (see col. 15, lines 9-21). Hollebeek further teaches if the controller 110 determines the one or more system/delivery parameters is outside a clinical safely tolerance range due to mechanical issues, hardware issues and/or software issues (discussed in col. 12, lines 38-66 to include before the beam is generated), the delivery beam is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-28). While the specifics of how the delivery beam is aborted are not present, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that aborting the delivery beam includes preventing, by the controller 110, the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam.
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses the radiotherapy system further comprises a second irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101C, see paragraph [0060]), further comprising before controlling, by the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) to switch the neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) away from the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraph [0060]),
wherein the controlling, by the beam control module (control room) the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet), the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) away from the first irradiation chamber comprises:
controlling, by the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam from the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) to the second irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101C) (see paragraphs [0060-0061]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus, whether there is a safely problem.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam and to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam when a safety problem is determined.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses the radiotherapy system further comprises a beam collecting apparatus (beam dump), wherein the controlling, by the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) to switch the neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) away from the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraph [0060]), comprises:
controlling, by the beam control module (control room), the beam direction switching component (switch electromagnet) to switch the neutron beam (therapeutic neutron beam N) from the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) to the beam collecting apparatus (beam dump) (see paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the charged particle beam generating apparatus further comprises a charged particle beam monitoring component (current monitor), and the operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus further comprises operation data of the charged particle beam monitoring component (current monitor) (see paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu fails to disclose the beam control module comprises a beam monitoring component.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam and to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam when a safety problem is determined.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam and to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam when a safety problem is determined.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the radiotherapy system further comprises a shielding door (shielding door D2) of the first irradiation chamber (irradiation room 101B) (see paragraph [0063]) and a treatment plan module (treatment plan) (see paragraph [0066]).
Liu fails to disclose the beam control module determines, according to the received operation data of the charged particle beam generating apparatus, whether there is a safely problem, the radiotherapy system is configured to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam.
Hollebeek discloses a particle therapy system (see abstract). Hollebeek teaches that if a measured dose of the incident beam does not match the expected dose, the treatment plan is not approved for use. Hollebeek further teaches that a variety of failures may be monitored or detected as the source for the treatment plan to not be approved for use. Such examples may be mechanical issues (e.g. device damaged/deformed/warped, radiation beam is blocked), hardware issues (e.g. components reach end of life cycle, failing components need recalibration/replacement), or software issues (e.g. error conditions, software bugs), all of which lead to safety problems that need to be addressed before the treatment plan can be approved and continued (see col. 12, lines 38-66). Hollebeek further discloses if the system parameter cannot be adjusted, the radiation delivery is aborted (see col. 15, lines 22-29).
Hollebeek modifies Liu by suggesting the beam control module determines a safety problem to control the beam and to prevent the charged particle beam generating apparatus from generating the charged particle beam when a safety problem is determined.
Since both inventions are drawn to particle therapy devices, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu with the control module processes checks of all the systems, whether mechanical or software in nature, to ensure the treatment plan is implemented as expected for the purpose of delivering a precise dosage in the intended location within safety parameters as taught by Hollebeek.
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses a second irradiation chamber, wherein the radiotherapy system is configured to control, by the beam control module, the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam away from the first irradiation chamber (second irradiation room 101C, see paragraph [0060]; deflection electromagnet for deflecting the charged particle beam P, see paragraph [0061]) by:
controlling, by the beam control module, the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam from the first irradiation chamber to the second irradiation chamber (deflection electromagnet for deflecting the charged particle beam P, see paragraphs [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 22, Liu discloses a beam collecting apparatus (beam dump, not shown), wherein the radiotherapy system is configured to control, by the beam control module, the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam away from the first irradiation chamber (deflection electromagnet for deflecting the charged particle beam P, see paragraphs [0060-0061]) comprises:
controlling, by the beam control module, the beam direction switching component to switch the neutron beam from the first irradiation chamber to the beam collecting apparatus (deflection electromagnet for deflecting the charged particle beam P to a beam dump, see paragraphs [0060-0061]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hollebeek and in further view of Natori et al. (US PGPub 2006/0022152, hereinafter Natori).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the charged particle beam generating portion comprises an accelerator (accelerator 10) and an accelerator auxiliary device (beam transmitting device 20) (see paragraph [0057]), operation data of the charged particle beam generating portion comprises operation data of the accelerator (see paragraph [0060]).
A difference between Liu and the claimed invention is the charged particle beam generating portion includes an ion source. While Liu is silent on the source of the charged particles, Natori discloses a particle beam therapy system with multiple treatment rooms and utilization of a charged particle beam (see abstract). Natori discloses the charged particle beam generator comprises an ion source and a plurality of accelerators (see paragraph [0063]). Natori teaches that the various accelerators (e.g. pre-stage and main accelerator) energizes the ion beam to a preset level of energy (e.g. 100-200 MeV) through the use of the various accelerators (see paragraph [0063]). In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Liu by using a known source for charged particles and energize the beam to a desired level for use (e.g. particle therapy or neutron beam formation) as taught by Natori.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878