DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed March 3, 2026. Claims 1, 6-8, 16, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 21-26 have been added. Claims 4-5, 9-15, and 17 have been canceled. Claim 7 stands withdrawn. Currently, claims 1-3, 6, 8, 16, and 18-26 are pending.
Applicant’s Amendments to claims 1, 6, and 16 overcome the 112(b) rejection outlined in the previous Office Action. The 112(b) rejection of claims 6, and 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo et al. (US 20240413179 A1) herein after “Ohkubo” in view of Li et al. (US 20210288090 A1) herein after “Li”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 33 of Ohkubo discloses an image sensor (Fig. 1, imaging device 1, ¶ [0116]) comprising:
a first pixel (Fig. 1, plurality of unit pixels P, ¶ [0117]);
a second pixel (P) disposed adjacent to the first pixel (P);
a pixel separation structure (Fig. 1, element separator 13, ¶ [0136]) disposed between the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P);
a rear anti-reflection layer (Fig. 1, fixed electric charge layer 14, ¶ [0137]) disposed on the first pixel (P), the second pixel (P), and the pixel separation structure (13) (Fig. 1, “The fixed electric charge layer 14 also serves to prevent reflection”, ¶ [0138]); and
a fence structure (Fig. 1, light-blocking section 22, separation wall 23, ¶ [0139]) disposed on the rear anti-reflection layer (14) and positioned to overlap the pixel separation structure (13) in a plan view,
a microlens (Fig. 1, lens layer 24, ¶ [0139]) disposed on the fence structure (22, 23),
wherein the fence structure (22, 23) comprises a barrier metal layer (Fig. 1, “the light-blocking section 22 include an electrically conductive material”, ¶ [0144]) and an air fence (Fig. 33, “the separation wall 23 including an air gap”, ¶ [0214]), a height of the barrier metal layer (22) is less than a height of the air fence (23).
Ohkubo fails to disclose a width of the barrier metal layer is less than a width of the air fence, and
wherein the fence does not contact the microlens, and is in contact with upper surface and side surfaces of the barrier metal layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state image sensors, Fig. 13 of Li discloses a width of the barrier metal layer (Fig. 14, metal grids 111, ¶ [0041]) is less than a width of the air fence (Fig. 14, “the first grid structure 121… may include a transparent dielectric material that has a low refractive index in a range from about 1.0 to about 1.99”, ¶ [0043]), and
wherein the air fence (121) does not contact the microlens (Fig. 14, condensing structures 119, ¶ [0052]) and is in contact with upper surface and side surfaces of the barrier metal layer (111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the width and arrangement as disclosed by Li, to improve signal quality (see Li, ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 2, Ohkubo and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 1 of Ohkubo further discloses wherein the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P) include at least one photoelectric conversion element (Fig. 1, photoelectric converter 12, ¶ [0128]).
Regarding claim 16, Figs. 1 and 33 of Ohkubo discloses an image sensor (1) comprising:
a first pixel (P);
a second pixel (P) disposed adjacent to the first pixel (P);
a pixel separation structure (13) disposed between the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P);
a rear anti-reflection layer (14) disposed on the first pixel (P), the second pixel (P), and the pixel separation structure (13);
a fence structure (22, 23) disposed on the rear anti-reflection layer (14) and positioned to overlap the pixel separation structure (13) in a plan view;
a color filter (Fig. 1, color filters 21, ¶ [0117]) disposed at both sides of the fence structure (22, 23) on the rear anti-reflection layer (14),
and a microlens (24) disposed on the color filter (Fig. 1, color filters 21, ¶ [0117]),
wherein the fence structure (22, 23) comprises a barrier metal layer (22) disposed on the rear anti-reflection layer (14) and an air fence (23) disposed on the barrier metal layer (22), wherein a height of the barrier metal layer (22) is less than a height of the fence (23).
Ohkubo fails to disclose a width of the barrier metal layer is less than a width of the air fence, and
the barrier metal layer is buried in the fence,
wherein the fence does not contact the microlens and is in contact with upper surface and side surfaces of the barrier metal layer, and the color filter separates the microlens from at least a portion of the fence.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state image sensors, Fig. 13 of Li discloses a width of the barrier metal layer (111) is less than a width of the air fence (121), and
the barrier metal layer (111) is buried in the air fence (121),
wherein the air fence (121) does not contact the microlens (119) and is in contact with upper surface and side surfaces of the barrier metal layer (111), and the color filter (Fig. 14, color filter layers 115G, 115B, ¶ [0040]) separates the microlens (119) from at least a portion of the air fence (121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the width and arrangement as disclosed by Li, to improve signal quality (see Li, ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Ohkubo and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 16 as applied above, and Figs. 1 and 4A of Ohkubo further disclose the barrier metal layer (22) is a connection type pattern completely surrounding circumferences of the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P) in the fence (23) planarly (Fig. 4A, “the light-blocking section 22 is provided in a lattice pattern”, “The separation wall 23 is provided, for example, on the light-blocking section 22”, ¶ [0142] and [0145]);
the barrier metal layer is a separation type pattern partially surrounding the circumferences of the first pixel and the second pixel in the fence planarly; or
the barrier metal layer is a dot type pattern surrounding the circumferences of the first pixel and the second pixel in a dot form in the fence planarly.
Claims 3, 8, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo (US 20240413179 A1) and Li (US 20210288090 A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20180286896 A1) herein after “Kim”.
Regarding claim 3, Ohkubo and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, but Ohkubo and Li fail to disclose wherein the pixel separation structure includes a conductive layer and an insulating liner, wherein the barrier metal layer is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 3 of Kim discloses wherein the pixel separation structure (Fig. 3, pixel separation structure 110, ¶ [0028]) includes a conductive layer (Fig. 3, conductive layer 113, ¶ [0028]) and an insulating liner (Fig. 3, sidewall insulating layer 111, ¶ [0028]), wherein the barrier metal layer (Fig. 3, back side contact 120, ¶ [0018]) is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect (Fig. 3, “The back side contact 120 is disposed on the back side of the substrate 101 and connected to the conductive layer 113 of the pixel separation structure 110, thereby effectively preventing an electrostatic discharge (ESD) bruise effect”, ¶ [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pixel separation structure of Ohkubo with the conductive layer and insulating liner as disclosed by Kim, to prevent image defects (see Kim, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 8, Ohkubo, Chang, and Kim025 together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, and Figs. 1 and 4A of Ohkubo further discloses wherein the barrier metal layer (22) is surrounding circumferences of the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P) in the fence (23) planarly.
Ohkubo and Chang fail to disclose the barrier metal layer is a dot type pattern.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 1 of Kim discloses the barrier metal layer (120) is a dot type pattern (Fig. 1, “the back side contact 120 is disposed in a grid point portion”, ¶ [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the barrier metal layer of Ohkubo with the dot type pattern as disclosed by Kim, to increase quantum efficiency (see Kim, ¶ [0043]).
Regarding claim 19, Ohkubo, Chang, and Kim025 together disclose the image sensor of claim 16 as applied above, but Ohkubo, Chang and Kim025 fail to disclose wherein the pixel separation structure includes a conductive layer and an insulating liner, wherein the barrier metal layer is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 3 of Kim discloses wherein the pixel separation structure (Fig. 3, pixel separation structure 110, ¶ [0028]) includes a conductive layer (Fig. 3, conductive layer 113, ¶ [0028]) and an insulating liner (Fig. 3, sidewall insulating layer 111, ¶ [0028]), wherein the barrier metal layer (Fig. 3, back side contact 120, ¶ [0018]) is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect (Fig. 3, “The back side contact 120 is disposed on the back side of the substrate 101 and connected to the conductive layer 113 of the pixel separation structure 110, thereby effectively preventing an electrostatic discharge (ESD) bruise effect”, ¶ [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pixel separation structure of Ohkubo with the conductive layer and insulating liner as disclosed by Kim, to prevent image defects (see Kim, ¶ [0035]).
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo (US 20240413179 A1) and Li (US 20210288090 A1) in further view of Chang et al. (US 20170092684 A1) herein after “Chang”.
Regarding claim 6, Ohkubo and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 1 as applied above, Ohkubo discloses that the fence is an air fence (Fig. 33, “the separation wall 23 including an air gap”, ¶ [0214]) but Ohkubo and Li fail to disclose wherein:
the fence is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensor devices, Fig. 5 of Chang discloses wherein:
the fence (Fig. 5, dielectric grid 186, ¶ [0034]) is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer (Fig. 5, anti-reflective layer 126, ¶ [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the barrier metal as disclosed by Chang, to optimize resolution and signal-to-noise ratio (see Chang, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 18, Ohkubo and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 16 as applied above, Ohkubo discloses that the fence is an air fence (Fig. 33, “the separation wall 23 including an air gap”, ¶ [0214]) but Ohkubo and Li fail to disclose wherein:
the fence is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer; and
the barrier metal layer is disposed in a central portion of the fence.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensor devices, Fig. 5 of Chang discloses wherein:
the fence (186) is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer (126); and
the barrier metal layer (Fig. 5, metal grid 180, ¶ [0029]) is disposed in a central portion of the fence (186).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the barrier metal as disclosed by Chang, to optimize resolution and signal-to-noise ratio (see Chang, ¶ [0025]).
Claims 21-22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo (US 20240413179 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20200227455 A1) herein after “Lee” and Li (US 20210288090 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Figs. 1-2 of Ohkubo discloses an image sensor (1) comprising:
an active pixel block (Fig. 2, pixel section 100A, ¶ [0116]) including a first pixel (P), a second pixel (P) disposed adjacent to the first pixel (P), a pixel separation structure (13) disposed between the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P), a rear anti-reflection layer (14) disposed on the first pixel (P), the second pixel (P), and the pixel separation structure (13), and
a fence structure (22, 23) disposed on the rear anti-reflection layer (14) and positioned to overlap the pixel separation structure (13) in a plan view; and
wherein the fence structure (22, 23) comprises a barrier metal layer (22) and a fence (23), a height of the barrier metal layer (22) is less than a height of the fence (23).
Ohkubo fails to disclose an optical black block around the active pixel block,
and a width of the barrier metal layer is less than a width of the fence, and
the barrier metal layer is electrically connected to the optical black block.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Figs. 4-5 of Lee disclose an optical black block (Fig. 4, light-shield pattern 410, ¶ [0048]) around the active pixel block (Fig. 4, first section 2, ¶ [0026]),
the barrier metal layer (Fig. 5, first pattern 401, ¶ [0050]) is electrically connected to the optical black block (410).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the image sensor of Ohkubo with the optical black block as disclosed by Lee, to reduce cross-talk and increase efficiency (see Lee, ¶ [0055]).
Lee fails to disclose a width of the barrier metal layer is less than a width of the fence.
In the similar field of endeavor of solid-state image sensors, Fig. 13 of Li discloses a width of the barrier metal layer (111) is less than a width of the fence (121).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the width as disclosed by Li, to improve signal quality (see Li, ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 22, Ohkubo, Lee and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 21 as applied above, and Fig. 1 of Ohkubo further discloses wherein the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P) include at least one photoelectric conversion element (12).
Regarding claim 24, Ohkubo, Lee and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 21 as applied above, and Fig. 33 of Ohkubo further discloses wherein the fence (23) is an insulator fence or an air fence (Fig. 33, “the separation wall 23 including an air gap”, ¶ [0214]).
Regarding claim 26, Ohkubo, Lee and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 21 as applied above, and Figs. 1 and 4A of Ohkubo further disclose the barrier metal layer (22) is a connection type pattern completely surrounding circumferences of the first pixel (P) and the second pixel (P) in the fence (23) planarly (Fig. 4A, “the light-blocking section 22 is provided in a lattice pattern”, “The separation wall 23 is provided, for example, on the light-blocking section 22”, ¶ [0142] and [0145]);
the barrier metal layer is a separation type pattern partially surrounding the circumferences of the first pixel and the second pixel in the fence planarly; or
the barrier metal layer is a dot type pattern surrounding the circumferences of the first pixel and the second pixel in a dot form in the fence planarly.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo (US 20240413179 A1), Lee (US 20200227455 A1) and Li (US 20210288090 A1) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20180286896 A1) herein after “Kim”.
Regarding claim 23, Ohkubo, Lee and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 21 as applied above, but Ohkubo, Lee and Li fail to disclose wherein the pixel separation structure includes a conductive layer and an insulating liner, wherein the barrier metal layer is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 3 of Kim discloses wherein the pixel separation structure (110) includes a conductive layer (113) and an insulating liner (111), wherein the barrier metal layer (120) is a metal layer that prevents a bruising defect (Fig. 3, “The back side contact 120 is disposed on the back side of the substrate 101 and connected to the conductive layer 113 of the pixel separation structure 110, thereby effectively preventing an electrostatic discharge (ESD) bruise effect”, ¶ [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pixel separation structure of Ohkubo with the conductive layer and insulating liner as disclosed by Kim, to prevent image defects (see Kim, ¶ [0035]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkubo (US 20240413179 A1), Lee (US 20200227455 A1) and Li (US 20210288090 A1) in further view of Chang (US 20170092684 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Ohkubo, Lee and Li together disclose the image sensor of claim 21 as applied above, but Ohkubo, Lee and Li fail to disclose wherein:
the fence is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer; and
the barrier metal layer is buried in the fence.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensor devices, Fig. 5 of Chang discloses wherein:
the fence (186) is disposed in direct contact with the rear anti-reflection layer (126); and
the barrier metal layer (180) is buried in the fence (186).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the fence structure of Ohkubo with the barrier metal as disclosed by Chang, to optimize resolution and signal-to-noise ratio (see Chang, ¶ [0025]).
Conclusion
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893