DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on January 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, line 2, “the outlet” is confusing. Should this be “the outlet of the first reaction chamber”?
Claim 2, line 3, “the inlet” is confusing. Should this be “the inlet of the first reaction chamber”?
Claim 3, line 1, “the one or more second inlets” is confusing. Should this be “the one or more second inlets of the mixing chamber”?
Claim 4, line 2, “the one or more inlets” is confusing. Should this be “the one or more inlets of the mixing chamber”?
Claim 4, lines 2 and 3, the phrase “the side wall” may be unclear if the option “end wall” were selected in claim 3.
Claim 5, line 1, the phrase “the side wall” may be unclear if the option “end wall” were selected in claim 3.
Claim 6, lines 1, 2, the selection of “the side wall” and “the end wall” may be unclear if only one option was selected in claim 3.
Claim 7, line 2, the phrase “the outlet” should be “the outlet of the mixing chamber”.
Claim 10, line 3, the phrase “the inlet” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, lines 2 and 3, the phrase “the side wall” may be unclear if the option “end wall” were selected in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaplan (U.S. Pat. 5,282,861).
INDPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Kaplan teaches an apparatus in a chemical vapor infiltration process, the apparatus comprising a first reaction chamber having an inlet configured to receive a first gas and an outlet therefrom for a second gas reacted in the first reaction chamber; a mixing chamber having an inlet in fluid communication with the outlet of the first reaction chamber, the mixing chamber having one or more second inlets thereto configured to receive a third gas, the mixing chamber has an outlet therefrom; and a second reaction chamber having an inlet in fluid communication with the outlet of the mixing chamber to receive a mixture of the second gas and the third gas therein, the second reaction chamber is configured to hold a substrate therein that is coated by reaction of the second gas and the third gas within the second reaction chamber. (Column 9 lines 24-60; Fig. 4)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
Regarding claim 8, Kaplan teach an apparatus for use in a chemical vapor infiltration process, the apparatus 8. comprising: a first reaction chamber configured to receive a first precursor gas and hold a biocompatible material, wherein the first precursor gas and the biocompatible material react within the first reaction chamber to form a second precursor gas, a mixing chamber having at least a first inlet, a second inlet and an outlet, wherein the first inlet is in fluid communication with the first reaction chamber to receive the second precursor gas from the first reaction chamber and the second inlet is in fluid communication to receive a third precursor gas, wherein the second precursor gas and the third precursor gas mix within the mixing chamber before passing to the outlet; and a second reaction chamber configured to receive the second precursor gas and the third precursor gas mix and having a pedestal to hold a substrate therein, wherein the substrate receives a film deposition from reaction of the second precursor gas and the third precursor gas within the second reaction chamber. (Column 9 lines 24-60; Fig. 4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
Regarding claim 13, Kaplan teaches wherein the substrate comprises a reticulated carbon foam or porous metal. (See Abstract – A reticulated carbon foam substrate.)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
Regarding claim 14, Kaplan teaches wherein the second precursor gas includes tantalum. (Column 9 line 31)
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 3, 11:
Regarding claims 3, 11, Kaplan teach wherein the one or more second inlets include one or more inlets through a side wall of the mixing chamber and/or one or more inlet through an end wall of the mixing chamber. (These claims are interpreted as selecting the end wall of the mixing chamber – See Fig. 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan (U.S. Pat. 5,282,861) in view of Suemitsu (JP 2000-273634 A).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 2, 10:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the reaction chamber has a frustoconical shape with a first cross-sectional area adjacent the outlet that is relatively smaller as compared with a second cross-sectional area adjacent the inlet.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Suemitsu teaches wherein the reaction chamber has a frustoconical shape with a first cross-sectional area adjacent the outlet that is relatively smaller as compared with a second cross-sectional area adjacent the inlet. (See Fig. 1; Annotated Fig. 1)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Suemitsu is that it allows for safely obtaining various alloy films. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kaplan by utilizing the features Suemitsu because it allows for safely obtaining various alloy films.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan (U.S. Pat. 5,282,861) in view of Pagadala (DE 10 2013 113 817 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 4, 12:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the mixing chamber includes one or more vortex inducing features therein in fluid communication with the one or more inlets through the side wall.
Regarding claims 4, 12, Pagadala teaches a mixing chamber including one or more vortex inducing features therein in fluid communication with one or more inlets through the side wall. (See Figs. 1-21; Machine Translation - The 1 and 2 it can be seen that is between the ground 7 and the ceiling 20 first gas deflection elements 5 are located. These are web-like baffles, both with the ceiling 20 as well as with the ground 7 are connected. The baffles 5 extend obliquely to a radial direction relative to the center of the mixing chamber 1 , A gas flow flowing radially outward toward the center thus becomes a clockwise rotating vortex. With this vortex, the gas flow passes through a gas outlet opening 6 in one under the ground 7 arranged chamber 19 , To the chamber 19 closes a gas outlet pipe 2 at. The inner diameter of the opening 6 corresponds essentially to the diameter of the gas outlet pipe 2 ,)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein an interior of the side wall of the mixing chamber includes the one or more vortex features.
Regarding claim 5, Pagadala teaches wherein an interior of the side wall of the mixing chamber includes the one or more vortex features. (See Figs. 1-21; Machine Translation)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Pagadala is that it allows for effectively mixing gases. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kaplan by utilizing the features of Pagadala because it allows for effectively mixing gases.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan (U.S. Pat. 5,282,861) in view of Pagadala (DE 10 2013 113 817 A1) and Le Chang Joon (KR 20200092094 A).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the one or more inlets through the side wall of the mixing chamber and one or more inlets through the end wall of the mixing chamber are selectively closeable.
Regarding claim 6, Pagadala teaches an end wall inlet and side wall inlet to a mixing area. (See Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 6, Le Chang Joon teaches on/off valves for closing inlets to a mixing chamber. (See Machine Translation – The valve V may be selected from an on-off valve or a flow control valve.)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Suemitsu is that it allows for safely obtaining various alloy films. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Le Chang Joon is that it allows for mixing. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kaplan by utilizing the features of Suemitsu and Le Chang Joon because it allows for obtaining various alloy films and for mixing.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaplan (U.S. Pat. 5,282,861) in view of Le Chang Joon (KR 20200092094 A).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the outlet of the mixing chamber has a flange and is tapered to have reduced cross-sectional area at an exit of the outlet is not discussed.
Regarding claim 7, Le Chang Joon teaches wherein the outlet of the mixing chamber has a flange and is tapered to have reduced cross-sectional area at an exit of the outlet. (See Fig. 1; See machine translation - a second mixing portion 16 and a first neck portion 17 formed therein)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the mixing chamber adjacent the outlet is tapered with a flange and has a first cross-sectional area at an exit of the outlet that is relatively smaller than a second cross-sectional area spaced from the exit.
Regarding claim 9, Le Chang Joon teaches wherein the mixing chamber adjacent the outlet is tapered with a flange and has a first cross-sectional area at an exit of the outlet that is relatively smaller than a second cross-sectional area spaced from the exit. (See Fig. 1; See machine translation - a second mixing portion 16 and a first neck portion 17 formed therein)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Le Chang Joon is that it allows for mixing. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Kaplan by utilizing the features of Le Chang Joon is that it allows for mixing.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
January 21, 2026