DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearden et al. (US 2022/0304251) in view of Lefers et al. (WO 2020/026039), Looije et al. (US 2016/0157440), and Lansu (WO 2021/091372).
Regarding claim 1, Rearden et al. discloses a process (200) to grow plants in a growing space (102) of a greenhouse (100), with the greenhouse including a separate mixing space (256) that is separated from the growing space, the process comprising: supplying conditioned cooled air to the growing space of the greenhouse (Fig. 11, “treated air”), wherein:(a) ambient air (through (210) and air from the growing space (air through ((242)/(272)) are collected and mixed in the mixing space to obtain a mixed feed air (mixed in (256)), (b) cooled air is obtained (through running through (220)), and (c) another part of the mixed feed air that is not cooled is increased in temperature by passing through one or more heating units having an inlet side for air fluidly connected to the mixing space and an outlet side for air fluidly connected to a space for conditioned air that is separate from the mixing space ((220) can heat, cool, or a combination), and then mixed with the cooled air in the space for conditioned air to obtain the conditioned air (the mixed cooled and heated air is mixed in (258)) and the conditioned air is discharged to the growing space via multiple parallel positioned ventilation conduits (250), wherein the greenhouse has a roof (216), a floor (see Fig. 11), two end walls and two side walls (Figs. 1 and 11, at least wall (214) is shown), wherein the mixing space is defined by part of the roof of the greenhouse (roof (216) of greenhouse), an end wall or a side wall (wall (214)), and a vertical partition wall (222) spaced apart from the end wall or side wall and running substantially parallel to the end wall or side wall and the floor or a substantially horizontal and elevated partition floor spaced apart from the floor (Fig. 11), and wherein the air from the growing space enters the mixing space via one or more openings in the partition wall (through opening (236) in (222)).
Rearden et al. does not explicitly disclose the cooled air is obtained by directly contacting part of the mixed feed air against water in one or more vertical cooling pads where water flows downwardly via an open structure and in which open structure the part of the mixed feed air directly contacts the water to obtain cooled air, evaporated water, and non-evaporated water, with part of the non-evaporated water being used as irrigation water for the plants in the growing space and part of the non-evaporated water being reused in the one or more cooling pads, the greenhouse is rectangular, wherein the ambient air enters the mixing space via one or more openings in the roof.
Lefers et al., like Rearden et al., teaches a process to grow plants in a growing space of a greenhouse (Figs. 5-9, paragraph [0038], wherein the plants grow would be considered a growing space), and further teaches the cooled air is obtained by directly contacting part of the mixed feed air against water in one or more vertical cooling pads (302)(402) where water flows downwardly via an open structure (Fig. 5, paragraphs [0038]-[0039], from (406) to top of (402), step 608) and in which open structure the part of the mixed feed air directly contacts the water to obtain cooled air evaporated water, and non-evaporated water (Fig. 5, paragraphs [0038]-[0039], from (406) to top of (402), step 608, air stream AA), with part of the non-evaporated water being used as irrigation water for the plants in the growing space (through tanks S1 and S2 into tank T, then into (510) for irrigation of the plants (P)) and part of the non-evaporated water being reused in the one or more cooling pads (see paragraph [0039]), and wherein the greenhouse is rectangular (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. to include one or more cooling pads as taught by Lefers et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the collection of irrigation water, and the reuse of the additional water back into the cooling pads for extended use.
Looije et al., like Rearden et al. modified by Lefers et al., teaches a process to grow plants in a growing space of a greenhouse wherein cooled air is obtained by directly contacting part of a feed air against water in one or more cooling pads (through (50)) and another part of the feed air that is not directly contacted to the water in the one or more cooling pads (through (50)) as it is entering a space for conditioned air that is separate from the mixing space is increased in temperature (increase by (16) as shown in Fig. 5) and then mixed with the cooled air to obtain the conditioned air (Fig. 5, area (7) has the cooled and heated air mixed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al. provide the cooling and heating as separate pathways to decrease and increase the temperature of a portion of the feed air with two discrete heat exchangers, as is taught by Looije et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide more freedom and options to control and condition the incoming air going to the growing space (Looije et al.: paragraph [0061]). Please note in the combination, the mixing space is taught by Rearden et al. and the positioning of the heating and cooling portions of the separate pathways of Looije et al. are provided along the location as noted in Rearden et al.
Lansu, like Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al. and Looije et al., teaches a process to grow plants in a growing space of a greenhouse, and further teaches the ambient air enters the mixing space via one or more openings in the roof ((40), abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al. and Looije et al. to move the location of the ambient air access as taught by Lansu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a direct access for the ambient air to enter the mixing space without affecting change in environment of the mixing space itself (as it does in Fig.11 of Rearden et al. by having the ambient air directly enter from the side wall).
Regarding claim 2, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 1, and teaches (references to Lefers et al.) wherein more than 5% of the non- evaporated water is supplied (Fig. 5, paragraph [0039]) to one or more water reservoirs (S1, S2, T) and irrigation water is supplied from the one or more water reservoirs to the plants (first and second storage tanks (S1, S2) are water reservoirs that supply water to tank (T) for the plant irrigation).
Regarding claim 3, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 2, and teaches (references to Lefers et al.) wherein between 20% and 50% of the non- evaporated water is supplied to the one or more water reservoirs (Fig. 5, paragraph [0039]) to one or more water reservoirs (S1, S2, T).
Regarding claim 4, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 3, and teaches (references to Lefers et al.) wherein make-up water is supplied from the one or more reservoirs and/or from a source of fresh water to the one or more cooling pads to compensate at least in part for the evaporating water and for the part of the non-evaporated water that is used as irrigation water (Fig. 5, paragraph [0039] notes fresh water is supplied to the one or more cooling pads ((302), (402)).
Regarding claim 7, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 1, and teaches (references to Lefers et al.) wherein more than 5% of the non- evaporated water is supplied (Fig. 5, paragraph [0039]) to one or more water reservoirs (S1, S2, T) and irrigation water is supplied from the one or more water reservoirs to the plants (first and second storage tanks (S1, S2) are water reservoirs that supply water to tank (T) for the plant irrigation), wherein the cooling pads (302)(402) have a horizontal length and the one or more water reservoirs (S1, S2, T) has a total volume (Figs. 2B, 5, paragraph [0026] notes that the size of the reservoir is larger than the length of the cooling pad, i.e. oversized).
Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al. and Lansu does not explicitly teach a total volume of the one or more water reservoirs is more than 0.4 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to provide a total volume of the one or more water reservoirs that is greater than 0.4 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads based on the Figures of Lefers et al. (Fig. 5 shows S1, S2, T would have a total volume that is greater than 0.4 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads).
Regarding claim 8, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 7, and teaches (references to Lefers et al.) wherein the total volume of the one or more water reservoirs (S1, S2, T) is more than 0.5 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads (302)(402).
As mentioned above in the rejection for claim 7, Lefers et al. does not explicitly note the total volume of the one or more water reservoirs is more than 0.5 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to provide a total volume of the one or more water reservoirs is more than 0.5 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads based on the Figures of Lefers et al. (Fig. 5 shows S1, S2, T would have a total volume that is greater than 0.5 m3 per meter horizontal length of the one or more cooling pads).
Regarding claim 9, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 2, as discussed above, however, does not explicitly teach wherein a volume of water as supplied in a period of 7 days to the plants as irrigation water from the one or more water reservoirs is greater than the volume of non-evaporated water supplied to the one or more water reservoirs in the same period of days. However, as paragraph [0035] of Lefers et al. notes, a controller system (520) controls the pumps that move the water to irrigate the plants, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to allow the volume of water supplied in a period of 7 days to the plants as irrigation water from the one or more water reservoirs is greater than the volume of non-evaporated water supplied to the one or more water reservoirs in the same period of days based on the initial volumes in the one or more water reservoirs prior to the initiation of the process to make sure the one or more reservoirs do not overflow.
Regarding claim 15, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 1, and teaches wherein the mixing space is a continuous space running along an end wall or a side wall of the greenhouse (Rearden et al.: Fig. 1), which is rectangular (Lefers et al.: Fig. 9).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearden et al. (US 2022/0304251) in view of Lefers et al. (WO 2020/026039), Looije et al. (US 2016/0157440), and Lansu (WO 2021/091372) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Joe (JOE, Michelle,. Signs that your plants may be struggling with incorrect EC. The art of growing blog, [online], [retrieved on 2024-09-12]. Retrieved from the Internet <URL: https://blog.bluelab.com/signs-of-incorrect-ec-plants>).
Regarding claim 5, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 4, as discussed above, however, does not explicitly teach wherein the electrical conductivity (EC) of the water in the one or more water reservoirs is below 0.1 S/m.
Joe teaches details about the process of growing plants, signs of decreased plant health, and ways to improve growth which include that EC is an essential measurement of food or nutrients available to plants, and that preferred EC ranges can be as low as 0.03 S/m (see chart on pgs. 4-5, w/ 1 mS/cm = 1 EC as scale).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to provide an EC range that is below 0.1 S/m as taught by Joe, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a preferred EC for a particular plant based on desired plant type.
Regarding claim 6, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., Lansu, and Joe teaches the process of claim 5, and teaches (references to Joe) wherein the electrical conductivity (EC) of the water in the one or more water reservoirs is between 0.01 and 0.1 S/m (see chart on pgs. 4-5, w/ 1 mS/cm = 1 EC as scale showing a range that can be between 0.01 and 0.1 S/m based on the plant being cultivated).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearden et al. (US 2022/0304251) in view of Lefers et al. (WO 2020/026039), Looije et al. (US 2016/0157440), and Lansu (WO 2021/091372) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (KR 20200094292).
Regarding claim 10, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 2, as discussed above, however, does not explicitly teach wherein a volume of water in the one or more reservoirs is maintained within a lower and upper limit by supplying fresh water to the one or more reservoirs.
Kang et al. teaches an apparatus for growing vegetation wherein a volume of water in the one or more reservoirs is maintained within a lower and upper limit by supplying fresh water to the one or more reservoirs (paragraph [0032] of the machine translation notes that water level sensors detect water levels and a supply pump is provided for resupplying fresh water).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to include a lower and upper limit to the volume as taught by Kang et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the right amount of water to the system at all times.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rearden et al. (US 2022/0304251) in view of Lefers et al. (WO 2020/026039), Looije et al. (US 2016/0157440), and Lansu (WO 2021/091372) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu (US 2023/0180687).
Regarding claim 11, Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu teaches the process of claim 1, as discussed above, however, does not explicitly teach wherein the irrigation water is first subjected an UV treatment, filtration, membrane filtration, and/or thermal treatment before being supplied to the plants.
Fu teaches a plant growing system wherein the irrigation water is first subjected to filtration before being supplied to the plants (paragraph [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Rearden et al. as modified by Lefers et al., Looije et al., and Lansu to include a filtration of the water prior to supplying to the plants as taught by Fu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid contaminants in the water that might hurt or destroy the plants being cultured.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, applicant argued that Looije et al. does not teach the separate heating of the air prior to entering the space for conditioned air. Therefore, applicant argued that the rejection should be withdrawn and was not obvious to make.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Loojie et al. has been brought into the rejection to show that a configuration that allows for cooling and heating can be provided as separate paths versus the same path as shown in Readen et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the unit in order to have more finite control over the temperature as it enters the space for conditioned air as noted in the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643