DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1-13 are currently pending and rejected.
Claim 14 is canceled.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0011788), in view of Malhotra et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0262819) and Yao et al. (CN 107230068 B) and CryptoExchange (CryptoExchange, What is CryptoExchange’s Escrow, https://cryptoexchange.com/escrow, 07/24/2021) and Key et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0005038) and Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0325407).
As per claim 1, 4, and 7, Wong teaches a method for providing a digital + bitcoin (d +b) wallet comprising (see paragraph 0052, “The digital asset wallet may be a cryptocurrency wallet”; also see paragraph 0119, “User can transfer bitcoin, Ethereum to other cryptocurrency wallet”):
receiving a user registration for the d + b wallet, the d + b wallet associated with a customer (see paragraph 0056, “a new user may not have a digital wallet 106…the DAEM 104 may be able to generate a new digital wallet 106 for the user on request”, request to generate a new digital wallet is the same as request to register for the digital wallet; see paragraph 0057, “the DAEM may also undergo a specific account opening procedures…the DAEM may be arranged to receive the identification details or other information as required from the new user before the DAEM can establish an account for a new user”);
configuring the user registration with a partner cryptocurrency provider (see paragraph 0056, “a new user may not have a digital wallet 106…the DAEM 104 may be able to generate a new digital wallet 106 for the user on request”; also see paragraph 0108, 0118-0119);
receiving a value allocation from the customer to the d + b wallet (see paragraph 0055, user may allocation value to the wallet by purchasing cryptocurrencies with cash or credit/debit card; also see paragraph 0198, “to use the system 600, a user 601 may transfer his digital asset holdings natively living on other blockchains 611 to the system operator’s custodian 602 through the user device 610 (e.g. a crypto wallet)”);
storing the value allocation in an account associated with a payment card (see paragraph 0052, “The digital asset wallet may be a cryptocurrency wallet 106 which record the transactions of the digital asset for a specific unique account”; see paragraph 0058, “the ixWallet 106 is a distributed ledger wallet and allows a user to maintain their digital assets holdings…including an interactive function to allow users to perform transactions with their digital assets as well as to check their balances of different digital assets”; see paragraph 116-121, “Registered users can real time received update on their digital asset account”; see paragraph 0213, “mobile payment instruments such as a RFID/NFC cards and/or applications being installed in the mobile devices may be implemented to facilitate cryptocurrency-based transaction via mirror coins or the ixPoints allocated to the suer’s account”; prior art teaches the digital asset wallet account is associated with a RFID/NFC card, and the digital asset wallet stores cryptocurrency values allocated by user);
converting the value allocation stored on the account into cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0055-0056, user purchases cryptocurrency using fiat currency according to a conversion rate; also see paragraph 0088-0093);
receiving from the customer a request for a cryptocurrency transaction with a d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see paragraph 0004-0005, 0047, 0074-0075, 0192, and 0196; DAEM is a d + b wallet supporting vendor);
receiving a consent to transact from the d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see paragraph 0004, 0020, 0024, 0047, “allow digital transaction requests to be made by users…the digital asset exchange systems 104 may communicate with the exchange 102 to execute the transaction”; also see paragraph 0074-0075 and 0107; the gateway is arranged to process transaction request, implying that the digital wallet vendor has agreed to transact according to user’s request);
exchanging Quick Response (QR) codes between the customer and the d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see paragraph 0196, “users may scan the QR codes of the merchants or show their QR codes to merchants to finish the payment in purchasing goods and services”),
in response to a scan of a first QR code being received by the customer and in response to a scan of a second QR code being received by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, prompting the customer to provide a biometric characteristic to confirm the cryptocurrency transaction (see paragraph 0017-0019, “verify the user based on at least one of biometric information authentication”; see paragraph 0196, “users may scan the QR codes of the merchants or show their QR codes to the merchants to finish the payment in purchasing goods and services”; even though prior art teaches either customer scanning a first QR code of merchant, or merchant scanning a second QR code of customer, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to require scanning of both QR codes to reduce error or enhance security; also see paragraph 0049-0050);
receiving, at the d + b wallet supporting vendor, the biometric characteristic from the customer (see paragraph 0017-0019, “verify the user based on at least one of biometric information authentication”; also see paragraph 0049-0050; DAEM is a d + b wallet supporting vendor);
accepting the cryptocurrency transaction at the d + b wallet supporting vendor, the cryptocurrency transaction being recorded as a QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record (see paragraph 0030, “a distributed ledger wallet has at least a private key and public key for recording the transaction of digital assets”; see paragraph 0047, “the exchanges 102 are arranged to communicate with at least one digital asset exchange systems 104 which are arranged to allow digital asset transaction requests to be made by users, and preferably, after validation, the digital asset exchange systems 104 may communicate with the exchange 102 to execute the transaction; see paragraph 0052, “The digital asset wallet may be a cryptocurrency wallet 106 which record the transactions of the digital asset for a specific unique account”; also see paragraph 0189-0190);
in response to the d + b wallet supporting vendor accepting cryptocurrency transaction, procuring the amount of cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0049-0050);
transferring, in the form of cryptocurrency, the amount of cryptocurrency to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see paragraph 0071-0072, 0109, 0184, and 0197); and
receiving from the d + b wallet-supporting vendor a confirmation of receipt of the cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0052, “all the completed transaction are recorded in the blockchain ledger, and the wallet 106 may simply display the recorded transaction in the blockchain upon request”; information of completed cryptocurrency transaction is recorded in blockchain and this record can serve as a transaction confirmation receipt; also see paragraph 0054, “once cleared, the user will be notified of the completion of the transaction 120 and their digital wallet 106 will be updated”);
generating user records including: a first record for the amount of cryptocurrency transferred to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; storing the first record unliked to the second record; and maintaining agnostic user records (see paragraph 0052, “all the completed transaction are recorded in the blockchain ledger”; prior art appears to teach only maintaining record of payment transactions without record for the purchased product or service).
Wong teaches using dynamic QR code (see paragraph 0051, dynamic QR code implies QR code is encoded with payment amount and/or product/service information). Examiner notes however, Wong does not explicitly teach each of the QR codes encoded with: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor to the customer.
Malhotra teaches each of the QR codes encoded with: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor to the customer (see paragraph 0048, “in implementations where the QR code 118a is used for billing purposes (and potentially included on invoices for a merchant, instead of a credit card or other payment device), it may also contain, for example (and without limitation), an invoice ID and/or product identifier, an invoice amount, and a currency code”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify Wong with teaching from Malhotra to include each of the QR codes encoded with: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor to the customer. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., encoding transaction amount and purchase product/service in the QR code) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance QR code security by making it dynamic).
Examiner further notes, the combination of Wong and Malhotra does not teach the payment card including a transmitter and a receiver; initiating a cryptocurrency transaction, via the transmitter included in the payment card; receiving a consent, via the receiver included in the payment card; withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the account; storing the cryptocurrency in a second location; and transferring from the second location, in the form of cryptocurrency, the amount of cryptocurrency to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor.
Yao teaches the payment card including a transmitter and a receiver (see page 3, “The payment card is used as an important payment tool…the user can directly inquire the balance on the card through the LCD display screen on the visible bank card”, prior art teaches using a smart payment card to implement a cryptocurrency transaction; see page 14, “after the user receives the D-RMB chip card in a safe manner, it can store the D coin to the D-RMB chip card” and “For example, D-RMB chip car can be in the following shapes: visible Bluetooth IC card form”, Examiner points out that Bluetooth IC card implies the payment card has a transmitter and a receiver; also see page 15);
initiating a cryptocurrency transaction, via the transmitter included in the payment card (see page 3, “payment visible currency chip card…sending request of digital currency to the collection terminal device, the payment request comprises digital currency and transaction amount to be paid”);
receiving a consent, via the receiver included in the payment card (see page 15, “payment visual D-RMB chip card sends payment request of digital currency to the receiving terminal device through the close communication connection…the mobile phone APP receives the transaction amount input by the user and the identity verification information reserved by the collection user, then initiating the request (such as card reading request); the payment visible D-RMB chip establishes short distance communication connection with the mobile phone, the mobile phone is successfully read, then the payment visual D-RMB chip card sends the payment request to the mobile phone”; Examiner points out that when the terminal/mobile phone receives the payment card’s payment request and responds with a card reading request to the payment card, the payment card receives a consent from the terminal/mobile phone to perform the digital currency transaction).
CryptoExchange teaches withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the account; and storing the cryptocurrency in a second location; and transferring from the second location, in the form of cryptocurrency, the amount of cryptocurrency to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see entire prior art, “The Buyer sends the cryptocurrency from their account to the cryptoexchange.com escrow service, where it is immediately transferred to a USD stablecoin and store in a no-interest escrow account. The value of the cryptocurrency is protected from volatility until both parties agree the transaction is complete”, and “When this happens, CryptoExchange will convert the stablecoin to the original cryptocurrency and release it to the Seller”; the escrow account in CryptoExchange is the second location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination Wong and Malhotra with teaching from Yao and CryptoExchange to include the payment card including a transmitter and a receiver; initiating a cryptocurrency transaction, via the transmitter included in the payment card; receiving a consent, via the receiver included in the payment card; withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the payment card; storing the cryptocurrency in a second location; and transferring from the second location, in the form of cryptocurrency, the amount of cryptocurrency to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., using a smart payment card as carrier to implement cryptocurrency transaction, and using an escrow account to hold the cryptocurrency temporarily until transaction is settled) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., make cryptocurrency transaction more convenient, and make transaction more secured).
Examiner further notes the combination of Wong, Malhotra, Yao, and CryptoExchange still does not teach a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record.
Key teaches a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record (see paragraph 0033, “A particular transaction record 200 may include only a subset of item parameters 201 and/or purchase parameters 202. Moreover, multiple transaction records 200 may be generated for the same transaction, which can later be cross-correlated or combined into single transaction record…The vendor may also generate a transaction record 200 that includes a different set of parameters (e.g., item name, cost, tax, item description, date and time of sale). Further, the credit card company may also generate a transaction record 200 that includes yet a set of parameters (e.g., purchaser identity, data and time transaction, credit card number, total cost, personal details of the buyer, etc.)” and “The transaction database 101 may store these records separately, but identify them as related”; prior art teaches transaction record may be stored separately from purchased product/service record, and user could decide whether to combine the records into a single transaction record or keep them separate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination Wong, Malhotra, Yao, and CryptoExchange with teaching from Key to include a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., storing purchased product/service record separately from transaction record) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance data security).
Examiner further notes the combination of Wong, Malhotra, Yao, CryptoExchange, and Key still does not teach the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer.
Zhou teaches accepting the cryptocurrency transaction at the d + b wallet supporting vendor, the cryptocurrency transaction being recorded as a QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record (see paragraph 0052, “Each payment in the crypto digital currency may be permanently written into the Blockchain”; see paragraph 0060 for biometric authentication; see paragraph 0097, “The method may further include the user of a crypto digital currency…The authorization may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data”),
the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer (see paragraph 0043, “A user identity associated with the user may be invisible to publicly visible transactions”; see paragraph 0130, “CDCPAY cryptocurrency may be pseudonymous rather than anonymous in that the CDCPAY cryptocurrency within a wallet may be not tied to people, but rather to one or more specific keys or CDCPAY addresses. Thereby, CDCPAY cryptocurrency owners may not be identifiable, but all transactions may be publicly available in the BLOCKCHAIN. Still CDCPAY cryptocurrency exchanges may be required by law to collect the personal information of their users”; prior art clearly teaches cryptocurrency transaction record does not contain any identifiable information that can be linked to the customers, and any collection of personal information is independent from the transaction records; also see paragraph 0032 and 0106, Zhou teaches QR-encoded cryptocurrency transactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Wong, Malhotra, Yao, CryptoExchange, and Key with teaching from Zhou to include the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., keeping personal identifiable information independent from the transaction records) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance data security).
Claim 4 additional recites activating a Quick Response (QR) code feature on the d + b wallet at the customer device for an amount that is less than or equal to the value allocation. Wong teaches this feature in paragraph 0126 and 0196, “users may scan the QR codes of the merchants or show their QR codes to merchants to finish the payment in purchasing goods and services”; user must activate the QR code feature on the wallet in order to show the QR code to the merchant).
As per claim 2, 5, and 8, Wong teaches receiving from the d + b wallet-supporting vendor a confirmation of receipt of the cryptocurrency and receiving a confirmation from the d + b wallet-supporting vendor that the cryptocurrency has been auto-converted to a second currency (see paragraph 0054, “once cleared, the user will be notified of the completion of the transaction 120 and their digital wallet 106 will be updated”; also see paragraph 0183, upon successful transfer, transferred points may then be converted to a cryptocurrency or local fiat currency; also see paragraph 0005).
As per claim 3, 6, and 9, Wong teaches temporarily storing the confirmation of the receipt of the cryptocurrency pending receipt by the customer of the product or service (see paragraph 0189-0190, “record all the IOU transactions to the blockchain system”, prior art records the cryptocurrency transaction as IOU temporarily and settle the pending transaction at a later time).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0011788), in view of Yao et al. (CN 107230068 B) and CryptoExchange (CryptoExchange, What is CryptoExchange’s Escrow, https://cryptoexchange.com/escrow, 07/24/2021) and Malhotra et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0262819) and Key et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0005038) and Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0325407) and Joyce et al. (Pub. No.: US 2002/0052754).
As per claim 10, Wong teaches a method for transferring a good or service from a d + b wallet-supporting vendor to a customer registered with a digital + bitcoin (d +b) wallet, the customer being further registered with a cryptocurrency provider and a value allocation, the method comprising:
receiving, at d + b wallet-supporting the vendor, a user request, the payment card associated with an account, the account storing a value allocation, the user request configured for a cryptocurrency-based transaction with the d + b wallet-supporting vendor (see paragraph 0004-0005, 0047, 0074-0075, 0192, and 0196 for receiving payment request; see paragraph 0055, user may allocation value to the wallet by purchasing cryptocurrencies with cash or credit/debit card; also see paragraph 0198, “to use the system 600, a user 601 may transfer his digital asset holdings natively living on other blockchains 611 to the system operator’s custodian 602 through the user device 610 (e.g. a crypto wallet)”; see paragraph 0052, “The digital asset wallet may be a cryptocurrency wallet 106 which record the transactions of the digital asset for a specific unique account”; see paragraph 0058, “the ixWallet 106 is a distributed ledger wallet and allows a user to maintain their digital assets holdings…including an interactive function to allow users to perform transactions with their digital assets as well as to check their balances of different digital assets”; see paragraph 116-121, “Registered users can real time received update on their digital asset account”; see paragraph 0213, “mobile payment instruments such as a RFID/NFC cards and/or applications being installed in the mobile devices may be implemented to facilitate cryptocurrency-based transaction via mirror coins or the ixPoints allocated to the suer’s account”; prior art teaches the digital asset wallet account is associated with a RFID/NFC card, and the digital asset wallet stores cryptocurrency values allocated by user);
converting the value allocation stored on the account into cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0055-0056, user purchases cryptocurrency using fiat currency according to a conversion rate; also see paragraph 0088-0093);
transmitting, from the d + b wallet-supporting vendor to the customer device, a consent to transact the cryptocurrency-based transaction (see paragraph 0004, 0020, 0024, 0047, “allow digital transaction requests to be made by users…the digital asset exchange systems 104 may communicate with the exchange 102 to execute the transaction”; also see paragraph 0074-0075 and 0107; the gateway is arranged to process transaction request, implying that the digital wallet vendor has agreed to transact according to user’s request);
in response to the transmitting of the consent to transact, receiving, from the customer device, a Quick Response (QR) code (see paragraph 0196, “users may scan the QR codes of the merchants or show their QR codes to merchants to finish the payment in purchasing goods and services”);
receiving, at the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, the biometric characteristic from the customer, the biometric characteristic confirming the transaction (see paragraph 0017-0019, “verify the user based on at least one of biometric information authentication”; also see paragraph 0049-0050);
in response to receiving the biometric characteristic, accepting the cryptocurrency transaction at the d + b wallet supporting vendor, the cryptocurrency transaction being recorded as a QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record (see paragraph 0030, “a distributed ledger wallet has at least a private key and public key for recording the transaction of digital assets”; see paragraph 0047, “the exchanges 102 are arranged to communicate with at least one digital asset exchange systems 104 which are arranged to allow digital asset transaction requests to be made by users, and preferably, after validation, the digital asset exchange systems 104 may communicate with the exchange 102 to execute the transaction; see paragraph 0052, “The digital asset wallet may be a cryptocurrency wallet 106 which record the transactions of the digital asset for a specific unique account”; also see paragraph 0189-0190);
in response to the d + b wallet-supporting vendor accepting the cryptocurrency transaction, receiving the amount of cryptocurrency from the cryptocurrency provider via the d+ b wallet (see paragraph 0071-0072, 0109, 0184, and 0197); and
transmitting to the customer device a confirmation of receipt of the cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0052, “all the completed transaction are recorded in the blockchain ledger, and the wallet 106 may simply display the recorded transaction in the blockchain upon request”; information of completed cryptocurrency transaction is recorded in blockchain and this record can serve as a transaction confirmation receipt; also see paragraph 0054, “once cleared, the user will be notified of the completion of the transaction 120 and their digital wallet 106 will be updated”).
Examiner notes Wong does not teach receiving, at the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, a user request from a payment card associated with the customer; and transmitting, from the d + b wallet supporting vendor to the payment card, a consent to transact the cryptocurrency-based transaction; in response to transmitting the consent to transact, withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the account and storing the cryptocurrency in a second location.
Yao teaches receiving, at the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, a user request from a payment card associated with the customer (see page 3, “payment visible currency chip card…sending request of digital currency to the collection terminal device, the payment request comprises digital currency and transaction amount to be paid”); and
transmitting, from the d + b wallet supporting vendor to the payment card, a consent to transact the cryptocurrency-based transaction (see page 15, “payment visual D-RMB chip card sends payment request of digital currency to the receiving terminal device through the close communication connection…the mobile phone APP receives the transaction amount input by the user and the identity verification information reserved by the collection user, then initiating the request (such as card reading request); the payment visible D-RMB chip establishes short distance communication connection with the mobile phone, the mobile phone is successfully read, then the payment visual D-RMB chip card sends the payment request to the mobile phone”; Examiner points out that when the terminal/mobile phone receives the payment card’s payment request and responds with a card reading request to the payment card, the payment card receives a consent from the terminal/mobile phone to perform the digital currency transaction).
CryptoExchange in response to transmitting the consent to transact, withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the account and storing the cryptocurrency in a second location (see entire prior art, “The Buyer sends the cryptocurrency from their account to the cryptoexchange.com escrow service, where it is immediately transferred to a USD stablecoin and store in a no-interest escrow account. The value of the cryptocurrency is protected from volatility until both parties agree the transaction is complete”, and “When this happens, CryptoExchange will convert the stablecoin to the original cryptocurrency and release it to the Seller”; the escrow account in CryptoExchange is the second location)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify Wong with teaching from Yao and CryptExchange to include receiving, at the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, a user request from a payment card associated with the customer, the payment card storing a value allocation; and transmitting, from the d + b wallet supporting vendor to the payment card, a consent to transact the cryptocurrency-based transaction; and in response to transmitting the consent to transact, withdrawing the cryptocurrency from the account and storing the cryptocurrency in a second location. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., using a smart payment card as carrier to implement cryptocurrency transaction, and using an escrow account to hold the cryptocurrency temporarily until transaction is settled) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., make cryptocurrency transaction more convenient, and make transaction more secured).
Wong teaches using dynamic QR code (see paragraph 0051, dynamic QR code implies QR code is encoded with payment amount and/or product/service information). Examiner notes however, Wong does not explicitly teach wherein the QR code specifies: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction and less than or equal to the value allocation; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet- supporting vendor to the user in exchange for the amount of cryptocurrency;
Malhotra teaches wherein the QR code specifies: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction and less than or equal to the value allocation; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet- supporting vendor to the user in exchange for the amount of cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0048, “in implementations where the QR code 118a is used for billing purposes (and potentially included on invoices for a merchant, instead of a credit card or other payment device), it may also contain, for example (and without limitation), an invoice ID and/or product identifier, an invoice amount, and a currency code”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination Wong, Yao, and CryptoExchange with teaching from Malhotra to include wherein the QR code specifies: a) an amount of cryptocurrency greater than or equal to a value necessary for the cryptocurrency transaction and less than or equal to the value allocation; and b) a product or a service to be provided by the d + b wallet- supporting vendor to the customer in exchange for the amount of cryptocurrency. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., encoding transaction amount and purchase product/service in the QR code) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance QR code security by making it dynamic).
Examiner further notes the combination of Wong, Malhotra, Yao, and CryptoExchange still does not teach the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer.
Zhou teaches accepting the cryptocurrency transaction at the d + b wallet supporting vendor, the cryptocurrency transaction being recorded as a QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record (see paragraph 0052, “Each payment in the crypto digital currency may be permanently written into the Blockchain”; see paragraph 0060 for biometric authentication; see paragraph 0097, “The method may further include the user of a crypto digital currency…The authorization may include a password, a PIN code, and biometric data comprising a face of the sender. Based on the receiving, the sender may be authorized to provide the transfer request when the authorization data provided for the transfer request matches previously registered corresponding authorization data”),
the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer (see paragraph 0043, “A user identity associated with the user may be invisible to publicly visible transactions”; see paragraph 0130, “CDCPAY cryptocurrency may be pseudonymous rather than anonymous in that the CDCPAY cryptocurrency within a wallet may be not tied to people, but rather to one or more specific keys or CDCPAY addresses. Thereby, CDCPAY cryptocurrency owners may not be identifiable, but all transactions may be publicly available in the BLOCKCHAIN. Still CDCPAY cryptocurrency exchanges may be required by law to collect the personal information of their users”; prior art clearly teaches cryptocurrency transaction record does not contain any identifiable information that can be linked to the customers, and any collection of personal information is independent from the transaction records; also see paragraph 0032 and 0106, Zhou teaches QR-encoded cryptocurrency transactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Wong, Malhotra, Yao, and CryptoExchange, with teaching from Zhou to include the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., keeping personal identifiable information independent from the transaction records) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance data security).
Examiner further notes that the combination of Wong, Yao, CryptoExchange, Malhotra, and Zhou still does not teach transmitting to the customer device a confirmation of scheduled delivery for the good or service.
Joyce teaches transmitting to the customer device a confirmation of scheduled delivery for the good or service (see paragraph 0243, “to contact merchant 1160 and merchant 1170 to provide delivery of services to the user device 1130 or confirmation of delivery of goods to the user device 1130”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify Wong with teaching from Joyce to include transmitting to the customer device a confirmation of scheduled delivery for the good or service. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., providing conformation of delivery) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., reduce user anxiety by providing delivery confirmation).
Examiner further notes the combination of Wong, Yao, CryptoExhcange, Malhotra, Zhou, and Joyce still does not teach a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record.
Key teaches a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record (see paragraph 0033, “A particular transaction record 200 may include only a subset of item parameters 201 and/or purchase parameters 202. Moreover, multiple transaction records 200 may be generated for the same transaction, which can later be cross-correlated or combined into single transaction record…The vendor may also generate a transaction record 200 that includes a different set of parameters (e.g., item name, cost, tax, item description, date and time of sale). Further, the credit card company may also generate a transaction record 200 that includes yet a set of parameters (e.g., purchaser identity, data and time transaction, credit card number, total cost, personal details of the buyer, etc.)” and “The transaction database 101 may store these records separately, but identify them as related”; prior art teaches transaction record may be stored separately from purchased product/service record, and user could decide whether to combine the records into a single transaction record or keep them separate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Wong, Yao, CryptoExchange, Malhotra, Zhou, and Joyce with teaching from Key to include a second record for the product or service to be provided by the d + b wallet-supporting vendor; and in response to selection from the customer not to link the first record to the second record: storing the first record unliked to the second record. The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e., storing purchased product/service record separately from transaction record) to a known method (i.e., providing a digital + bitcoin wallet) ready to provide predictable results (i.e., enhance data security).
As per claim 11, Wong teaches transmitting a confirmation of receipt of the cryptocurrency (see paragraph 0052, “all the completed transaction are recorded in the blockchain ledger, and the wallet 106 may simply display the recorded transaction in the blockchain upon request”; information of completed cryptocurrency transaction is recorded in blockchain and this record can serve as a transaction confirmation receipt; also see paragraph 0054, “once cleared, the user will be notified of the completion of the transaction 120 and their digital wallet 106 will be updated”).
As per claim 12, Wong teaches transmitting a confirmation that the cryptocurrency has been auto-converted to a second currency (see paragraph 0054, “once cleared, the user will be notified of the completion of the transaction 120 and their digital wallet 106 will be updated”; also see paragraph 0183, upon successful transfer, transferred points may then be converted to a cryptocurrency or local fiat currency; also see paragraph 0005).
As per claim 13, Wong teaches temporarily storing the confirmation of the receipt of the cryptocurrency pending receipt by the customer of the product or service (see paragraph 0189-0190, “record all the IOU transactions to the blockchain system”, prior art records the cryptocurrency transaction as IOU temporarily and settle the pending transaction at a later time).
Response to Remarks
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103
In the response filed on 09/30/2025, Applicant amended all independent claims by adding a new limitation – “in response to receiving the biometric characteristic, accepting the cryptocurrency transaction at the d + b wallet-supporting vendor, the cryptocurrency transaction being recorded as a QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record, the QR-encoded cryptocurrency transaction record being independent of any record of a financial transaction from the customer”. Examiner cites a new prior art, Zhou et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0325407), to address the new limitation. Updated rejection is provided in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAO FU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3695
OCT-2025