Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. KR102111138 as cited in the English publication US 20210107826.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a method of manufacturing a foldable display [0003] comprising;
Providing a base glass substrate comprising a folding portion (portion F in Fig. 5 [0087]-[0088]) and non-folding portion (portion P in Fig. 5 [0087]-[0088]) which is disposed adjacent the folding portion and having a thickness greater than the folding portion as depicted in Fig. 5 and included below
Hwang discloses performing a chemical reinforcement process on the base substrate [0089]
Hwang discloses performing a chemical reinforcement process on the non-folding portion (P) comprising covering the top and bottom of the folding portion (F) with a heat-resistant member, or heat-resistant masking tape, providing an alkali metal cation slurry and removing the heat-resistant tape from the folded part [0095]-[0100], [0104].
Hwang discloses another chemical reinforcement process, corresponding to the claimed second chemical reinforcement process, where both the folding portion (F) and planar part (P) undergo a dipping chemical reinforcing process [0104] (last step of Fig. 5)
Hwang states the thickness of the compressive stress layer, or DOL, is deeper in the planar part (P) than the folded part (F) [0102]-[0104] to minimize the difference in the central tension across the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses a thickness of the planar portion (P) is 50-200 microns [0059].
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses chemical reinforcement to create compressive stresses this is known by a skilled artisan by replacing an alkali metal ion in the glass with an alkali metal ion with a larger radius as indicated by “ion substitution” [0099].
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses providing a slurry solution with the second alkali metal of potassium to the surface [0098] and heating to 350-480 deg. Celsius which has sufficient specificity to anticipate present claim 4.
MPEP 2131.03: thus a range within, overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipated if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with “sufficient specificity”.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses a second alkali ion of potassium.
Regarding claim 7, Hwang suggests a heat resistant member is a tape [0096]
Regarding claims 8-9, Hwang suggests a polyetherimide film and necessarily does not deform at a temperature less than or equal to 500 degrees Celsius.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. KR102111138 as cited in the English publication US 20210107826 as applied above and further in view of Yao (CN 104403306).
Regarding claims 10, Hwang discloses the heat-resistant tape being a polyamide tape [0096].
Yao discloses a polyamide tape thus it is heat resistant "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Yao discloses a heat resistant tape of polyamide has a glass fiber (0007)
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. KR102111138 as cited in the English publication US 20210107826 as applied above and evidenced by AstroAlloysInc. Silicone Rubber Fiberglass Heat Tape 2016 as provided herein and referred to AstroAlloysInc.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang discloses multiple heat-resistant tapes being a silicone based tape [0096].
AstroAlloysInc discloses a glass reinforced a silicone-based adhesive tape that is available for masking and is heat resistant at the temperatures necessary of Hwang [0099] "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. KR102111138 as cited in the English publication US 20210107826 as applied above and further in view of Hayashi (US 5698725).
Regarding claims 9-10, Hwang discloses the heat-resistant tape being a polyamide tape [0096].
Hayashi discloses a polyamide glass fiber reinforced tape (Col 1; lines 13-19) thus it is heat resistant "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Yao discloses a heat resistant tape of polyamide has a glass fiber (0007)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20190299542 [0070] heat resistant tapes with glass and/or cellulose fiber matrix
US 8618234 silicone based tape with heat-resistant material
CN 112071531 and glass fiber, paper tape. Paper has cellulose
Additional tape references are provided herein
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741