DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 14-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaccardi et al. (2019/0078452) in view of Weisse (2013/0108470A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zaccardi discloses a process of brazing one single cover 32b to an open body 32a for a hollow vane assembly comprising: forming the open body (fabricated, paragraph 0057), the open body including an interior (where internal passages 50a, b are located) (paragraph 0058, figures 3-6), wherein the open body comprises a single piece design; forming at least one cover support structure 78 in said open body proximate the interior; forming the single cover 32b (fabricated, paragraph 0057), the single cover being configured to attach to the open body to form at least one flow passage 50a, b; and brazing only the one single cover to the open body (figures 3-6, paragraph 0057-0058).
Zaccardi discloses that the open body and the single cover comprises a different material from the matrix, but is silent to the at least one open body and the single cover being composed of a rigid material, the rigid material selected form the group consisting of a metal alloy composition, a heat-resistant super alloy composition, a nickel-based composition, and a cobalt based composition. However, Weisse discloses a turbine blade with a cover bonded to an open body. Weisse discloses that the open body 12 can be a cobalt or nickel-based superalloy (paragraph 0024). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to use a known material for at turbine as taught by Weisse because Weisse discloses that the material is light and durable for increased strength and impact resistance (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 2, Zaccardi discloses forming the at least one flow passage 50a,b between the at least one cover support structure and an interior wall of the open body (figures 3-6, paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 3, Zaccardi discloses that the at least one flow passage 50a,b is configured as multiple cooling channels that allow for cooling fluid to flow through the interior (paragraph 0058, figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, Zaccardi discloses forming an airfoil from the combination of the open body brazed together with the single cover (figure 6).
Regarding claim 14, Zaccardi discloses a process for joining one single cover 32b to an open body 32a comprising: forming the open body (fabricated, paragraph 0057), the open body includes a leading edge 64 opposite a trailing edge 62, the open body includes a pressure side (top of open body) and suction side (bottom of open body) opposite the pressure side (figure 3-6), the open body including an interior (where internal passages 50a, b are located) (paragraph 0058, figures 3-6); forming at least one cover support structure 78 in said open body proximate the interior; forming the single cover (fabricated 0057), the single cover being configured to couple with the open body proximate the pressure side to form at least one flow passage 50a,b (paragraph 0058, figures 3-6); and brazing only the one single cover to the open body (figures 3-6, paragraph 0057-0058).
Zaccardi discloses that the open body and the single cover comprises a different material from the matrix, but is silent to the at least one open body and the single cover being composed of a rigid material, the rigid material selected form the group consisting of a metal alloy composition, a heat-resistant super alloy composition, a nickel-based composition, and a cobalt based composition. However, Weisse discloses a turbine blade with a cover bonded to an open body. Weisse discloses that the open body 12 can be a cobalt or nickel-based superalloy (paragraph 0024). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to use a known material for at turbine as taught by Weisse because Weisse discloses that the material is light and durable for increased strength and impact resistance (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 15, Zaccardi discloses forming structural joints (at indentations 77, paragraph 0062, figure 3) along the union between the cover support structure and the cover (figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Zaccardi discloses forming the at least one flow passage 50a,b between the at least one cover support structure and an interior wall of the open body (figures 3-6).
Regarding claim 18, Zaccardi discloses that the at least one flow passage 50a,b is configured as multiple cooling channels that allow for cooling fluid to flow through the interior (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 19, Zaccardi discloses forming an airfoil from the combination of the open body brazed together with the single cover (figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Zaccardi discloses that at least one cover support structure 78 comprises raised surface features (each sidewall and top surface are considered raised surface features as they are all extend up from the open body) of the open body that extend from the open body distally (figures 3-6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Zaccardi discloses that the matrix can be made from an alloy based on aluminum or titanium and thus one of ordinary skill in the art can understand that Zaccardi discloses that the cover and body are not made of a material based on an alloy of aluminum or titanium.
The Examiner disagrees. The Examiner does not understand how this argument pertains to the claim as currently written. The claims do not state that the cover and body are made of aluminum or titanium alloys. With that being said, Zaccardi states that the matrix can be made from an alloy based on aluminum or titanium. Zaccardi doesn’t state that it is made from an alloy based on aluminum or titanium. Therefore, it would be understood that the matrix may be made from an alloy based on aluminum or titanium or it may be made of different material. Furthermore, there are a plurality of alloys of aluminum and titanium. Even if the matrix was made from an alloy based on aluminum or titanium, the cover and body can be made of a different alloy of the same metal.
The Applicant argues that Weisse clearly teaches a two-component configuration for the cover and does not disclose a single cover as claimed. The Applicant argues that Weisse teaches away from the single cover.
The Examiner disagrees. The Examiner was not using Weisse to teach the single cover. The single cover was taught in the Zaccardi reference. Weisse was used to show that it is known to make the cover and body of a hollow vane assembly from a cobalt or nickel-based superalloy because the materials are light and durable for increased strength and impact resistance (paragraph 0024). While Weisse does teach a two component cover, one skilled in the art would understand that these materials can be used in a single cover assembly as taught by Zaccardi for the same properties as stated in Weisse.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735