DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrara et al. (US Pub. 2021/0312156 A1 (on IDS)) in view of Leem et al. (US Pub. 2014/0070189 A1 (on IDS)).
Regarding independent claim 1, Ferrara teaches (Fig. 1; para. 0064+) a detection device comprising an optical sensor arranged on a substrate (11), wherein
in each of the optical sensors:
a lower electrode (12), an electron transport layer (13), an active layer (14), a hole transport layer (15), and an upper electrode (16), and a sealing layer (17) are stacked in a direction orthogonal to a surface of the substrate in the order as listed;
the active layer includes an organic semiconductor (para. 0088);
the hole transport layer includes a metal oxide layer (para. 0152-0155) and is provided on the active layer so as to be in contact with the active layer (Fig. 1);
the sealing layer covering the optical sensor (Fig. 1) and the sealing layer including aluminum oxide (para. 0166).
Ferrara is silent with respect to an intermediate layer including indium tin oxide (ITO) is disposed between the upper electrode and the sealing layer.
Leem teaches a detection device (Fig. 3) including forming a light transmission auxiliary layer (20b) including indium tin oxide (ITO) (para. 0105) formed above the upper electrode (20a) (para. 0102) for the purpose of improved light absorbance of the active layer (para. 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the light transmission auxiliary layer of Leem within the device of Ferrara such that it was between the upper electrode and the sealing layer for the purpose of improving the light absorbance of the detection device.
Ferrara is silent with respect to the detection device comprising a plurality of the optical sensors; however, this limitation amounts to a mere duplication of parts that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing; for example, a multi-pixel detecting device. A mere duplication of parts is not considered to have a patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04, VI, B).
Re claim 2, Ferrara teaches wherein the upper electrode contains silver (para. 0076), and
the active layer contains a p-type organic semiconductor (para. 0088)and an n-type fullerene derivative that is an n-type organic semiconductor (para. 0088, 0133).
Re claim 5, Ferrara teaches the electron transport layer contains polyethylenimine ethoxylated (PEIE) (para. 0082).
Re claim 7, Ferrara teaches wherein the metal oxide layer is made of molybdenum oxide or tungsten oxide (para. 0154).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrara et al. (US Pub. 2021/0312156) in view of Leem et al. (US Pub. 2014/0070189) and further in view of Liang et al. (US Pub. 2015/0060773).
Re claims 3 and 4, Ferrara teaches wherein a thickness of the active layer is usually 600nm or more (outside of the claimed range); however, Ferrara recognizes that the thickness of the active layer has an effect on the device performance (para. 0092).
Liang teaches a similar device (Fig. 11) wherein the thickness of the active layer (38) is about 120nm to about 150nm (para. 0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the thickness of the active layer such that it was 500 nm or smaller and/ or from 140 nm to 500 nm as claimed for the purpose of finding an appropriate thickness for the specific materials used and/or the desired light spectrum being detected for optimum absorption. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05, II).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/08/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOLLY K REIDA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899