Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, i.e., Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “a plurality of lateral members provided perpendicular to a longitudinal direction the bridge girder part, the plurality of lateral members connecting the bridge girder parts of the plurality of the air bridges provided at a predetermined interval along a longitudinal direction the bridge girder parts to form a mesh structure” in lines 6-10.
Firstly, the phrase “perpendicular to a longitudinal direction the bridge girder part” should read as perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the bridge girder parts to be grammatically correct. Secondly, the same phrase “a longitudinal direction the bridge girder parts” has been cited twice, once in lines 6-7 and then in lines 9-10. The second citation in lines 9-10 causes ambiguity as to whether it is referring to the same longitudinal direction of the bridge girder parts cited in lines 6-7 or a different one. For examination purpose, they will be interpreted as same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al. (US 20210265261 A1; hereinafter “Chan”).
In re claim 1, Chan discloses an airbridge (figs. 3-4) comprising:
first and second bridge abutments 301, 302 contacted with first and second conductors 104, 105 (¶42-43), respectively,
the first and second conductors 104, 105 opposing each other via a gap (“first superconductive area 104 and a second superconductive area 105, which are separated from each other by a discontinuity”; hereinafter “G”. ¶37),
wherein a third conductor 111 is provided extending in the gap (¶34),
the first to third conductors 104, 105, 111 each provided on a substrate (¶17; hereinafter “Subx);
first and second bridge piers (e.g., intermediate portions between the planar end portions 301, 302 and the top portion of the middle portion 303. Hereinafter “Br_P1” and “Br_P2”) rising from the first and second bridge abutments 301, 302, respectively; and
a bridge girder part (e.g., top portion of the middle portion 303; hereinafter “Br_G”) having both ends supported by the first and second bridge piers (Br_P1, Br_P2) in air, the bridge girder part Br_G striding over the third conductor 111,
wherein a first intersection edge 304 (¶45), at which the first bridge abutment 301 intersects with a base of the first bridge pier Br_P1, is of a convex shape protruded against a first virtual straight line connecting end points of the first intersection edge at which the first intersection edge intersects with both sides of the first bridge abutment 301 (see fig. 4(c) annotated below), and
a second intersection edge 305 (¶45), at which the second bridge abutment 302 intersects with a base of the second bridge pier Br_P2, is of a convex shape protruded against a second virtual straight line connecting end points of the second intersection edge at which the second intersection edge intersects with both sides of the second bridge abutment 302 (see fig. 4(c) annotated below).
In re claim 2, Chan discloses in figs. 3-4, the airbridge according to claim 1, wherein the first intersection edge 304 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the first virtual straight line toward a direction opposite to a side of the first bridge abutment 301 opposing the first virtual straight line, and the second intersection edge 305 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the second virtual straight line toward a direction opposite to a side of the second bridge abutment 302 opposing the second virtual straight line (see fig. 4(c) annotated above).
In re claim 3, Chan discloses in figs. 3-4, the airbridge according to claim 1, wherein the first intersection edge 304 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the first virtual straight line toward a side of the first bridge abutment 301 opposing the first virtual straight line, and the second intersection edge 305 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the second virtual straight line toward a side of the second bridge abutment 302 opposing the second virtual straight line (see fig. 4(g)).
In re claim 4, Chan discloses in figs. 3-4, the airbridge according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second bridge piers has a configuration in which a convex degree of the convex shape corresponding to each of the first and second intersection edges at the bases of the first and second bridge piers is gradually mitigated toward a top of each of the first and second bridge piers (see fig. 4(c) annotated above).
In re claim 5, Chan discloses in figs. 3-4, the airbridge according to claim 1, wherein the bridge girder part Br_G located at the tops of the first and second bridge piers Br_P1, Br_P2, has a transverse cross section with flat top and bottom edges.
In re claim 7, Chan discloses superconducting circuit apparatus (figs. 1-4) (FIG. 3 illustrates an airbridge 113 for making connections on a superconducting chip; ¶42) comprising:
first and second conductors 104, 105 arranged opposing each other (¶37);
a third conductor 111 extended in a gap between the first and second conductors 104, 105 (“first superconductive area 104 and a second superconductive area 105, which are separated from each other by a discontinuity”; hereinafter “G”. ¶34-37),
the first, second and third conductors 111, 104, 105 each made of a superconducting material (¶33-37); and
an airbridge 113 striding over the third conductor 111 to bridge first and second conductors 104, 105 (¶36, 42),
wherein the airbridge includes: first and second bridge abutments 310, 302 contacted with first and second conductors 104, 104, respectively (¶42-43),
the first and second conductors 104, 105 opposing each other via a gap (G),
wherein a third conductor 111 is provided extending in the gap (G), the first to third conductors 104, 105, 111 each provided on a substrate (¶17; hereinafter “Subx);
first and second bridge piers (e.g., intermediate portions between the planar end portions 301, 302 and the top portion of the airbridge 113. Hereinafter “Br_P1” and “Br_P2”) rising from the first and second bridge abutments 301, 302, respectively; and
a bridge girder part (e.g., top portion of the airbridge 113; hereinafter “Br_G”) having both ends supported by the first and second bridge piers (Br_P1, Br_P2) in air, the bridge girder part (Br_G) striding over the third conductor 111,
wherein a first intersection edge, at which the first bridge abutment intersects with a base of the first bridge pier, is of a convex shape protruded against a first virtual straight line connecting end points of the first intersection edge at which the first intersection edge intersects with both sides of the first bridge abutment, and
a second intersection edge, at which the second bridge abutment intersects with a base of the second bridge pier, is of a convex shape protruded against a second virtual straight line connecting end points of the second intersection edge at which the second intersection edge intersects with both sides of the second bridge abutment.
wherein a first intersection edge 304 (¶45), at which the first bridge abutment 301 intersects with a base of the first bridge pier Br_P1, is of a convex shape protruded against a first virtual straight line connecting end points of the first intersection edge at which the first intersection edge intersects with both sides of the first bridge abutment 301 (see fig. 4(c) annotated below), and
a second intersection edge 305 (¶45), at which the second bridge abutment 302 intersects with a base of the second bridge pier Br_P2, is of a convex shape protruded against a second virtual straight line connecting end points of the second intersection edge at which the second intersection edge intersects with both sides of the second bridge abutment 302 (see fig. 4(c) annotated below).
In re claim 8, Chan discloses in figs. 1-4, the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the first intersection edge 304 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the first virtual straight line toward a direction opposite to a side of the first bridge abutment 301 opposing the first virtual straight line, and the second intersection edge 305 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the second virtual straight line toward a direction opposite to a side of the second bridge abutment 302 opposing the second virtual straight line (see fig. 4(c) annotated above).
In re claim 9, Chan discloses in figs. 1-4, the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the first intersection edge 304 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the first virtual straight line toward a side of the first bridge abutment 301 opposing the first virtual straight line, and the second intersection edge 305 takes a shape of a convex curve protruded against the second virtual straight line toward a side of the second bridge abutment 302 opposing the second virtual straight line (see fig. 4(g)).
In re claim 10, Chan discloses in figs. 1-4, the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7, wherein each of the first and second bridge piers has a configuration in which a convex degree of the convex shape corresponding to each of the first and second intersection edges at the bases of the first and second bridge piers is gradually mitigated toward a top of each of the first and second bridge piers (see fig. 4(c) annotated above).
In re claim 11, Chan discloses in figs. 1-4, the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the bridge girder part Br_G located at the tops of the first and second bridge piers Br_P1, Br_P2, has a transverse cross section with flat top and bottom edges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, respectively and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20220216390 A1; hereinafter “Zhang”).
In re claim 6, Chan discloses in figs. 3-4, the airbridge according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein at least the bridge girder part includes a mesh structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses an airbridge (figs.1-3) wherein at least the bridge girder part (i.e., the top part pf the airbridge 232) includes a mesh structure (¶32).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form mesh structure on the bridge girder part of Chan’s airbridge and arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so as Zhang teaches by having openings like a mesh structure on the airbridge, a complete release of the bridge brace material is ensured, and bridge brace material residues are prevented from being left inside the bridge hole, thereby improving the overall device quality of the air bridge and the fabrication accuracy of the air bridge (¶11 of Zhang).
In re claim 12, Chan as modified by Zhang discloses the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7, but does not expressly disclose wherein at least the bridge girder part includes a mesh structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Chang discloses an airbridge (figs.1-3) wherein at least the bridge girder part (i.e., the top part pf the airbridge 232) includes a mesh structure (¶32).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form mesh structure on the bridge girder part of Chan’s airbridge and arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so as Zhang teaches by having openings like a mesh structure on the airbridge, a complete release of the bridge brace material is ensured, and bridge brace material residues are prevented from being left inside the bridge hole, thereby improving the overall device quality of the air bridge and the fabrication accuracy of the air bridge (¶11 of Zhang).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Adiga et al. (US 20190089033 A1; hereinafter “Adiga”).
In re claim 13, Chan discloses in figs. 1-4, the superconducting circuit apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the superconducting circuit apparatus includes:
a plurality of the air bridges 112, 113 separately provided in parallel and striding over the third conductor 111 to bridge first and second conductors 104 (¶36-38).
Chan does not expressly disclose a plurality of lateral members provided perpendicular to a longitudinal direction the bridge girder part, the plurality of lateral members connecting the bridge girder parts of the plurality of the air bridges provided at a predetermined interval along a longitudinal direction the bridge girder parts to form a mesh structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Adiga discloses superconducting circuit apparatus (figs. 1-3), wherein a plurality of the air bridges separately provided in parallel (“the pattern is designed such that the bridge will be multiple substantially parallel bridges. For example, the bridge could actually be two bridges with crossbeams connecting the two bridges”; ¶56),
a plurality of lateral members provided perpendicular to a longitudinal direction the bridge girder part, the plurality of lateral members connecting the bridge girder parts of the plurality of the air bridges provided at a predetermined interval along a longitudinal direction the bridge girder parts to form a mesh structure (“the pattern is designed such that the bridge will be multiple substantially parallel bridges. For example, the bridge could actually be two bridges with crossbeams connecting the two bridges. In an embodiment, the etching could form the bridge into a mesh shape with multiple hole” ¶56).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to form a plurality of bridges with lateral connecting members to form a mesh in the airbridge of Chan and arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so as Chan teaches the holes between multiple airbridges are formed such that the base material can be etched through the one or more holes, and where the set of one or more holes is sized such that metal cannot be deposited through the set of one or more holes (¶56).
Conclusion
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893