Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAKOYAMA (Pub. No.: US 2020/0135126) in view of SONG (Pub. No.: US 2020/0022263).
Re claim 4, YAKOYAMA, FIG. 5 teaches a method for manufacturing a display module, the method comprising:
forming a thin film transistor (TFT) layer (Pixel-Structure, Step 2) on a front surface of a glass substrate;
arranging a plurality of first connection pads (input electrode, step 4) on a portion of the front surface of the glass substrate adjacent to a side surface of the glass substrate,
arranging a plurality of second connection pads (Step 5) on a portion of a rear surface of the glass substrate adjacent to the side surface of the glass substrate;
forming a plurality of side wirings (Step 7) respectively connecting the plurality of first connection pads to the plurality of second connection pads; and
transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes to the TFT layer (FIGS. 7-8),
wherein each side wiring of the plurality of side wirings (30 of FIG. 1) has a width greater than widths of a respectively connected first connection pad (37) and second connection pad (31).
YAKOYAMA fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
SONG teaches wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking pattern (S10 of FIG. 1) from between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of first connection pads through the side surface (S30) of the glass substrate (30, FIG. 4) to between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads; and
wherein the forming of the masking pattern comprises:
clamping the glass substrate by a jig (FIG. 4, [0042]-[0044]) such that the side surface of the glass substrate faces upward (FIG. 2); and
continuously forming the masking pattern on the front surface, the side surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate by discharging a material for the masking pattern (S30 of FIG. 2) while a nozzle from which the material for the masking pattern is discharged is moved in a straight line and in a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of forming the wiring with low resistance as taught by SONG, ¶ [0002].
Re claim 5, in the combination, SONG teaches wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking layer such that the masking layer (S10 of FIG. 1) covers the front surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate (30, FIG. 4) and exposes the plurality of first connection pads and the plurality of second connection pads;
forming a metal thin film layer (S30/90, FIGS. 1/3), connecting each of the plurality of first connection pads (60) to respective connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads (80); and
removing the masking pattern and the masking layer (S50) from the glass substrate.
Re claim 12, in the combination, SONG, FIG. 5 teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the metal thin film layer is formed by a deposition process (sputtering, [0045]).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAKOYAMA in view of SONG and further in view of KUNDALIYA (Pub. No.: US 2022/0254760).
Re claim 6, YAKOYAMA/SONG teaches all the limitation of claim 5 and SONG further teaches wherein the masking pattern is formed by ink printing [0024],
SONG fails to teach wherein the masking pattern is formed by electrohydrodynamic (EHD) jet printing.
KUNDALIYA teaches wherein the masking pattern is formed by electrohydrodynamic (EHD) jet printing [0006].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of creating high-resolution patterns as taught by KUNDALIYA, [0006].
Re claim 7, in the combination, YAKOYAMA, FIG. 2 teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the masking pattern comprises a plurality of straight lines parallel to each other, and
wherein each straight line of the plurality of straight lines has a width (horizontal width in the middle of 30) less than a distance between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of first connection pads (horizontal width of 37) and less than a distance between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads (horizontal width of 31).
Re claim 9, in the combination, SONG, FIGS. 1-4 teaches the method of claim 6, wherein, in the clamping of the glass substrate by the jig [0015], the glass substrate (30) is provided in a direction perpendicular to a movement direction of the nozzle (coming out from 130, [0038]).
Re claim 10, in the combination, SONG, FIGS. 1-4 teaches the method of claim 6, wherein, in the forming of the masking pattern, two or more glass substrates are clamped by the jig [0015], and adjacent glass substrates (30) of the two or more glass substrates are spaced apart by a distance from each other by a spacer.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG (Pub. No.: US 2020/0013803) in view of SONG.
Re claim 4, JANG, FIG. 2 teaches a method for manufacturing a display module, the method comprising:
forming a thin film transistor (TFT) layer (110, [0075]) on a front surface of a glass substrate;
arranging a plurality of first connection pads (121) on a portion of the front surface of the glass substrate adjacent to a side surface of the glass substrate,
arranging a plurality of second connection pads (123) on a portion of a rear surface of the glass substrate adjacent to the side surface of the glass substrate;
forming a plurality of side wirings (170) respectively connecting the plurality of first connection pads to the plurality of second connection pads; and
transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes (130, FIG. 1A) to the TFT layer,
wherein each side wiring of the plurality of side wirings (170) has a width (vertical width) greater than widths of a respectively connected first connection pad (121) and second connection pad (123),
wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking pattern (550, FIG. 8B, [0126]) from between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of first connection pads through the side surface (560, FIG. 8A, [0121]) of the glass substrate to between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads.
JANG fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
SONG teaches wherein the forming of the masking pattern comprises:
clamping the glass substrate by a jig (FIG. 4, [0042]-[0044]) such that the side surface of the glass substrate faces upward (FIG. 2); and
continuously forming the masking pattern on the front surface, the side surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate by discharging a material for the masking pattern (S30 of FIG. 2) while a nozzle from which the material for the masking pattern is discharged is moved in a straight line and in a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of forming the wiring with low resistance as taught by SONG, ¶ [0002].
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Pub. No.: US 2020/0259056) in view of SONG.
Re claim 4, HONG teaches a method for manufacturing a display module, the method comprising:
forming a thin film transistor (TFT) layer on a front surface of a glass substrate (¶ [0010]);
arranging a plurality of first connection pads (111, FIG. 14B, [0164]) on a portion of the front surface of the glass substrate adjacent to a side surface of the glass substrate,
arranging a plurality of second connection pads (113) on a portion of a rear surface of the glass substrate adjacent to the side surface of the glass substrate;
forming a plurality of side wirings (239, FIG. 14C) respectively connecting the plurality of first connection pads to the plurality of second connection pads; and
transferring a plurality of light emitting diodes to the TFT layer (152, FIGS. 2-3, [0083]),
wherein each side wiring of the plurality of side wirings (239c/239e, FIG. 14C) has a width greater than widths (vertical width) of a respectively connected first connection pad (111) and second connection pad (113).
wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking layer such that the masking layer (400a/400b of FIG. 16C) covers the front surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate (100) and exposes the plurality of first connection pads and the plurality of second connection pads.
HONG fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
SONG teaches wherein the forming of the masking pattern comprises:
clamping the glass substrate by a jig (FIG. 4, [0042]-[0044]) such that the side surface of the glass substrate faces upward (FIG. 2); and
continuously forming the masking pattern on the front surface, the side surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate by discharging a material for the masking pattern (S30 of FIG. 2) while a nozzle from which the material for the masking pattern is discharged is moved in a straight line and in a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of forming the wiring with low resistance as taught by SONG, ¶ [0002].
Re claim 12, in the combination, HONG teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the metal thin film layer is formed by a deposition process (sputtering, [0155]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In the claim 8 that is written, the prior arts fail to show or fairly suggest the process steps of: “wherein the forming of the masking pattern further comprises increasing a thickness of each straight line of the plurality of straight lines by stacking material used for the masking pattern on the masking pattern while the nozzle is reciprocally moved” in context with the other limitation as stated in claims 4, 6 and 7.
In the claim 11 that is written, the prior arts fail to show or fairly suggest the process steps of: “wherein the masking pattern is formed on edge areas of the two or more glass substrates by the nozzle discharging a liquid material while being moved above the two or more glass substrates” in context with the other limitation as stated in claims 4, 6 and 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because SONG teaches wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking pattern (S10 of FIG. 1) from between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of first connection pads through the side surface (S30) of the glass substrate (30, FIG. 4) to between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads; and
wherein the forming of the masking pattern comprises:
clamping the glass substrate by a jig (FIG. 4, [0042]-[0044]) such that the side surface of the glass substrate faces upward (FIG. 2); and
continuously forming the masking pattern on the front surface, the side surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate by discharging a material for the masking pattern (S30 of FIG. 2) while a nozzle from which the material for the masking pattern is discharged is moved in a straight line and in a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of forming the wiring with low resistance as taught by SONG, ¶ [0002].
JANG teaches wherein the forming of the plurality of side wirings comprises:
forming a masking pattern (550, FIG. 8B, [0126]) from between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of first connection pads through the side surface (560, FIG. 8A, [0121]) of the glass substrate to between adjacent connection pads of the plurality of second connection pads.
JANG fails to teach the limitation as listed right immediately below.
SONG teaches wherein the forming of the masking pattern comprises:
clamping the glass substrate by a jig (FIG. 4, [0042]-[0044]) such that the side surface of the glass substrate faces upward (FIG. 2); and
continuously forming the masking pattern on the front surface, the side surface and the rear surface of the glass substrate by discharging a material for the masking pattern (S30 of FIG. 2) while a nozzle from which the material for the masking pattern is discharged is moved in a straight line and in a horizontal direction.
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejections should be sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893