DETAILED ACTION
Election Acknowledged
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 01/07/2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
Eight (8) information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted on 03/05/2023, 08/08/2023, 08/28/2023, 11/07/2023, 12/22/2023, 02/29/2024, 01/16/2025, and 03/04/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Objection to the Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
With respect to claim 14, the limitation reciting that the first mode is greater than 25 percent by weight to less than 40 percent by weight of the sintered cemented carbide body is not found in the specification as originally filed. At para. [0028], the specification states that the first mode particles may be present in the powder composition in an amount of greater than 60 weight percent. This range exceeds the upper limit of the claimed range. At para. [0035], the specification states that second mode particles may be greater than 25 percent by weight of the powder composition. Note that this range is associated with the second mode particles, not first mode particles. It should further be noted that the aforementioned powder particle proportions are associated with the powder composition, not a sintered cemented carbide body. Thus, the specification fails to provide antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the sintered cemented carbide body” in the claim. Parent claim 1 is directed to a powder composition, not a sintered body, and claim 1 does not mention a sintered body.
Further regarding claim 13, the claim is indefinite because it recites numerically mutually exclusive ranges. The claim recites that the first mode is “greater than 60 to less than 40” percent by weight of the sintered cemented carbide body. However, the first mode particles cannot be simultaneously greater than 60% and less than 40% because these ranges are opposite one another.
For examination purposes, the first mode particles will be interpreted to be present in amounts of (i) less than 40%; (ii) greater than 60%; or (iii) between 40% and 60% inclusive of endpoints. However, appropriate correction is still required.
Regarding claim 14, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the sintered cemented carbide body” in the claim. Parent claim 1 is directed to a powder composition, not a sintered body, and claim 1 does not mention a sintered body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0346365 (A1) to Wang et al. (“Wang”).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 12, Wang discloses a cemented carbide powder composition comprising sintered cemented carbide particles having at least a bimodal particle size distribution (powder composition comprising sintered cemented carbide particles comprising a first mode and a second mode). Abstract; para. [0001], [0003].
One mode is a first mode (corresponds to claimed first mode) of sintered cemented carbide particles having a D50 particle size of 25 µm to 50 µm (para. [0016]), which overlaps the claimed range. The first mode particles are spherical. Para. [0020].
The other mode is a second mode (corresponds to claimed second mode) of sintered cemented carbide particles having a D50 of less than 10 µm (para. [0017]), which overlaps the claimed range. The second mode particles have a non-spherical or irregular-shaped particle morphology. Para. [0021].
The metallic binder is present in the sintered cemented carbide particles in an amount of 0.1-15 weight percent (para. [0024]), which encompasses the claimed range.
The overlap between the ranges taught in the prior art and recited in the claims creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select from among the prior art ranges because there is utility over an entire range disclosed in the prior art.
With respect to the limitation “for binding jet printing,” this limitation will not be accorded patentable weight because it is merely an intended use of the powder composition and does not structurally or chemically limit the powder. See MPEP § 2111.02(II). In any case, Wang discloses that the powder may be used in binder jetting build processes. Para. [0008], [0028].
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses that the carbide may be tungsten carbide. Para. [0022]. The metallic binder can be cobalt. Para. [0024].
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses that the metallic binder is present in the sintered cemented carbide particles in an amount of 0.1-15 weight percent (para. [0024]), which encompasses the claimed range. A specific sub-range is 5-12 wt.% (Table IV), which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses example D10 values of 29.1 µm and 8.1 µm for GU1 and GU2 spherical powders (first mode) in Table IV. Since both are powders used in embodiments of Wang’s invention (Table V – Batch numbers 1-4), these D10 values reasonably imply a D10 range of 8.1 µm to 29.1 µm, which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses example D90 values of 49.5 µm and 50.0 µm for powders GU1 and GU2, respectively, of spherical powders (first mode) (Table IV), which fall within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the first mode as having an average individual particle porosity of less than 5 vol. % (para. [0004], [0006], [0016], [0018]), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses example D10 values of 1.8 µm and 0.9 µm for powders CT1 and CT2, respectively, of non-spherical powders (second mode) (Table IV), which fall within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses example D90 values of 14.0 µm and 13.5 µm for powders CT1 and CT2, respectively, of non-spherical powders (second mode) (Table IV), which fall within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the second mode as having an average individual particle porosity of less than 5 vol. % (para. [0004], [0006], [0016], [0018]), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses that the first mode is present in the powder composition (and therefore in the sintered body made from the powder composition) in an amount of 60-80 weight percent (para. [0017], [0031]; claims 9 and 14), which overlaps the claimed range (“greater than 60 weight percent”).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses an example where first mode particles (GU1 or GU2) is 35% of the powder composition (and therefore in the sintered body made from the powder composition) (Table V – Batch number 4; para. [0031]), which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses example tap densities that meet or exceed 6.5 g/cm3. Table V – Batch numbers 2, 3, and 4.
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses that the powder composition has an apparent density ranging from 3.5 g/cm3 to 8 g/cm3 (abstract; para. [0026]), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses example tap densities of 6.1 g/cm3, 8.4 g/cm3, 6.5 g/cm3, and 7.2 g/cm3 in Table V (Batch numbers 2, 3, and 4). The apparent density ranges from 3.5 g/cm3 to 8 g/cm3 (abstract; para. [0026]), with some embodiments being 5 g/cm3 to 6 g/cm3 (para. [0015]). It follows that an example calculated Hausner ratio (ratio of tap density to apparent density) is 1.22, which falls within the claimed range, when the tap density is 6.1 g/cm3 and the apparent density is 5 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses that the powder, when sintered, exhibits densities greater than 98% theoretical full density (para. [0031]; claims 25 and 32), which encompasses the claimed range.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, alone, with evidence from US 2017/0189960 (A1) to Ibe (“Ibe”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang does not explicitly disclose the claimed density range. However, Wang discloses that the powder, when sintered, exhibits densities greater than 98% theoretical full density. Para. [0031]; claims 25 and 32. The density of WC/12% by mass Co is 14.31 g/mL (14.31 g/cm3). Ibe at para. [0119]. Example powders in Wang are WC-12Co. Thus, Wang discloses that the sintered density of at least the WC-12Co powders is at least 14.02 g/cm3, which overlaps the claimed range.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0161837 (A1) to Maderud et al. (“Maderud”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang does not explicitly disclose the claimed D10 range.
Maderud is drawn to cemented carbide particles comprising particles with different median (D50) sizes (multi-modal). Abstract; para. [0011], [0012]. The powder mixture is suited for making a three-dimensional printed cermet or cemented carbide with a homogeneous composition with a minimum of pores. Para. [0008]. For the spherical-shaped particles, example D10 values are 22.7 µm and 10.9 µm for PP1 and PP2 (Table 1), respectively, which fall within the claimed range.
Wang discloses that the milling step for producing the cemented carbide particles can be conducted until a desired particle size distribution is reached. Para. [0020]. This suggests that particle size distribution can be selected or modified as needed. Given that theoretical full density and uniform microstructure of sintered articles are concerns (Wang at para. [0031]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have looked to documents within the field of cemented carbide particles, such as Maderud, and incorporated the D10 particle size distribution therein for the spherical particles (first mode) of Wang because it would satisfy Wang’s objectives of homogeneous and dense articles.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0236687 (A1) to Prichard et al. (“Prichard”).
Regarding claim 17, Wang does not explicitly disclose the claimed Hausner ratio range (ratio of tap density to apparent density).
Prichard is directed to powder particle compositions for additive manufacturing processes. Abstract; para. [0001]. The powders are cemented carbide powders that can be used in binder jetting processes. Para. [0004], [0019]. The tap density is at least 7 g/cm3. Para. [0011]. The apparent density is at least 6 g/cm3. Para. [0010]. The Hausner ratio of the sintered cemented carbide particles is 1.05 to 1.25. Para. [0011].
Wang discloses that the densification treatments for making sintered cemented carbide particles can be administered any number of times to reach desired tap and apparent densities. Para. [0019]. This suggests that tap and apparent densities, and therefore Hausner ratio, can be selected or modified as needed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have looked to documents within the field of cemented carbide particles, such as Prichard, and incorporated the Hausner ratio for the powder composition of Wang because it would satisfy Wang’s objectives of making powders useable in an additive manufacturing process.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 15-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/102,484 in view of Wang.
The limitations, including ranges, of instant claim 1 are disclosed in at least overlapping amounts in copending claim 1. The claims differ in that copending claim 1 does not specify the shape of the first mode and second mode particles.
Wang is directed to bimodal sintered cemented carbide powder particles. Abstract; para. [0001], [0003]. The first mode particles are spherical. Para. [0020]. The second mode particles have a non-spherical or irregular-shaped particle morphology. Para. [0021]. The bimodal size and shape distribution appears to produce low-porosity printed articles. Table VI – Samples 1-6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the first and second mode particle morphologies according to Wang in order to improve the densities and properties of the finished article.
With respect to instant claims 2-11 and 15-18, each limitation is recited verbatim or in overlapping amounts in copending claims 2-11 and 15-18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
February 05, 2026