DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Argument 1; Remarks pg. 10 line 7) that the claims do not recite an abstract idea, (Argument 2; Remarks pg. 11 lines 7) the claims recite elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and (Argument 3 pg. 15 lines 4-8) that the cited prior art does not disclose the one or more resource comprising at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application and launching by the resource loading tool the cloud application comprising loading the at least one resource based on the location
With respect to applicant’s arguments examiner respectfully disagrees. As to argument 1, a claim can still be viewed as being directed to an abstract idea even if not every element of the claim is one that can be considered an abstract idea mental process element as long as the other additional elements are one that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims are viewed as reciting elements that are viewed as abstract idea mental process elements includes at least the identifying one or more resources referenced in source code for a cloud application, determining locations of the one or more resources within the one or more library files, generating a resource map for the cloud application and search the resource map to identify a location for the at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application. With the specifics of a human being able to search a resource map though a mental analysis, observation of a provided resource map viewed as a list of names or resource and corresponding location within the one or more library files as claimed. While the specifics of the receiving a request to launch the cloud application and launching the cloud application comprising loading the at least one resource based on location limitation are viewed as an additional element that is not an abstract idea mental process element it is viewed as an additional element that is not significantly more and does not integrate the abstract idea into the practical application as insignificant extra solution activity akin to sending and/or receiving data and loading and/or storing data in memory with a full analysis of this additional element seen below in the 101 rejection and thus additional elements that do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application, thus viewed that the claims do recite an abstract idea mental process.
As to argument 2, while limitations that integrate an abstract idea into a practical application are limitations that would show that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and while claim limitations that recite an improvement to the function of a computer or any other technology or technical field can be ones that show an integration into a practical application not any improvement/solution is viewed as one that are directed to an improvement to the function of a computer of technical field and there is also a difference between the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome which would not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. First it is noted that limitations directed to the generation the resource map and search the resource map are limitations that are viewed as abstract idea mental process elements and not additional elements as seen above and fully explained below in the 101 rejection thus not elements that can show integrating the abstract idea into a practical application as they are viewed as abstract idea elements it is also noted here that the resource map is not argued as a type of improved resource map and viewed as still a list of names corresponding to locations thus not a technical improvement similar to Enfish improved data structure. This leave the launching the cloud application limitation as an additional element. This element was not recited using the injection tool to perform just using the resource map generated from the injection tool to perform the launching comprising loading based on the resource map, which was viewed as insignificant extra solution activity information akin to loading/storing information in memory and not the argued improved injection tool used to perform the launching comprising a loading action. While the specification does provided many details of how and when the injection tool works to generate its specifics resource map at build time in a non-intrusive manner that could be viewed as showing an improvement the claims do not reflect/incorporate such language asides from claiming the injection tool being non-intrusive without claiming how it performs/acts/is non-intrusive viewed as claimed without the specifics to show it performing a technical improvement and thus viewed as a type of generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea elements of the claim and thus viewed as the claims being directed to the idea of the solution than actually covering the particular solution/improvement and thus not viewed as one that shows the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
As to argument 3, the specifics of launching the cloud application on a client device in response to a request from the client device is seen in the teachings of Zhang Col. 3 lines 37-55 and lines 62- Col. 4 lines 8, Col. 9 lines 34-43 and Col. 15 lines 26-36 showing the specifics of a user associated with a client device that can interact with a cloud provider network to request and receive associated cloud application in response to the request where the teachings of Bao [0017] lines 1-4, [0057] lines 1-26, [0059] lines 1-15, [0065] lines 1-4, [0066] lines 1-7, [0067] lines 1-10, [0069] lines 1-3, [0103] lines 1-8 and [0104] lines 1-5 are used to show that the launching comprises loading at least one resource based on the location identified from the resource map/index and there also showing an application resource associated with launching/deploying the cloud application, in is noted that the specifics of how the resource is associated with launching the cloud application is not claimed thus a resource associated with a cloud application being launched/deployed/installed would be viewed as being associated with launching the cloud application where the application resources seen in Bao an application installation resource, an application configuration file, an executable file, a code file or a different application package or other resources required for running an application, an application installation resource, an application plug-in, an application configuration file, database configuration file viewed as showing the application resources are associated with launch/install/deployment/loading of the application where it is further seen that through the use of a resource index/resource map with the address used to obtain/load the associated resources where for deployment/launching/installing/loading the associated application resource is obtained/loaded based on the associated resource address in the resource index where the deployed application can be seen as part of a cloud computing environment that provides the associated application for deployment/launching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea mental process, as it has not been integrated into a practical application and the claims further do no recite significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner has evaluated the claims under the framework provided in the 2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register 01/07/2019 and has provided such analysis below.
Step 1: Claims 1-20 are claims that are directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
In order to evaluate the Step 2A inquiry “Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?” we must determine, at Step 2A Prong 1, whether the claim recites a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea and further whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A Prong 1:
Claims 1, 10 and 17: The limitation of “identifying… one or more resources references in source code of a cloud application,” “determining,…, locations of the one or more resources within the one or more library files,” “generating, …, a resource map for the cloud application, the resource map comprising a list of names of the one or more resources and corresponding locations within the one or more library files,” and “in response to receiving the request, searching… the resource map to identify a location for the at least one resource based on the location” as drafted, are process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating and judging the source code of an application to identify resources referenced in the source code. Additionally, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating and judging the library files to determine the location of resources within the file information. Additionally, a person can mentally perform with the aid of pen and paper based on thinking, observing, evaluating and judging library file information and generate a map/list of the resources with name and associated location information. Additionally, a person can mentally perform with the based on thinking, observing, evaluating and judging the resource map to search/analyze it to find/identify location information for the associated resource Therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The claims have been identified to recite an abstract idea, Step 2A Prong 2 will evaluate whether the claims are directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2A Prong 2:
Claims 1, 10 and 17: The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the following additional element “injection tool on an application server,” “the application server hosting the injection tool, a resource loading tool and one or more cloud applications, the injection tool being non-intrusive to the one or more cloud application, the one or more resources being provided by one or more libraries comprising one or more library files, the one or more resources comprising at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application,“ “a client device,” “A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; a communications interface; and a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and the communications interface, the processor configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to,” and “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause one or more processors to”, which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions merely applying the abstract idea using the generic computing components and functions, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Additionally, the claims 1, 10 and 17 recite the following additional elements of “receiving, by the application server, a request to launch the cloud application from a client device via network communication” and “launching, by the resource loading tool, the cloud application on the client device comprising loading the at least one resource based on the location identified from the resource map” which are merely insignificant extra solution activity information and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application? No, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
After having evaluating the inquires set forth in Steps 2A Prong 1 and 2, it has been concluded that claims, 1, 10 and 17 not only recite an abstract idea but that the claims are directed to the abstract idea as the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application.
Step 2B:
Claims 1, 10 and 17: The claims do not include additional elements, alone or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount of element “injection tool on an application server,” “the application server hosting the injection tool, a resource loading tool and one or more cloud applications, the injection tool being non-intrusive to the one or more cloud application, the one or more resources being provided by one or more libraries comprising one or more library files, the one or more resources comprising at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application,“ “a client device,” “A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; a communications interface; and a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and the communications interface, the processor configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to,” and “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions configured to cause one or more processors to,” to no more than generic computing components merely apply the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional element of “receiving, by the application server, a request to launch the cloud application from a client device via network communication” and “launching, by the resource loading tool, the cloud application on the client device comprising loading the at least one resource based on the location identified from the resource map” which are merely insignificant extra-solution activity information. Further, the insignificant extra solution data activity is also WURC, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), where “the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity” i. receiving or transmitting data over a network and ii. storing and retrieving information in memory where the receiving a request to launch the cloud application limitation is akin to receiving the data/request over a network and the launching the cloud application comprising loading the at least one resource limitation is akin to loading and storing information.
Therefore, “Do the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea? No, these additional elements, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Having concluded analysis within the provided framework, claims 1, 10 and 17 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 2 it recite additional elements of “wherein: the resource map is a key-value map; the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values; the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the one or more resources; and the corresponding locations are library paths within the one or more library files” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, claim 2 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 2 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 2 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 3 it recite additional elements of “wherein the cloud application is a Java application, wherein the one or more library files are Java Archive (JAR) file” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, claim 3 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 3 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 3 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 4 and 18 it recite further abstract idea elements of “updating the resource map at a subsequent build time when the cloud application is updated” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can mentally perform with the aid of pen and paper by thinking, observing, evaluating and judging the updated source code of the cloud application to write/generated an updated form of the resource map. Moreover, claims 4 and 18 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 4 and 18 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 4 and 18 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 5, 12 and 19 they recite further abstract idea elements of “identifying… a location for a particular resource listed in the resource map associated with executing a particular functionality of the cloud application” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can mentally perform with by thinking, observing, evaluating, analyzing and judging the resource map to mentally identify/determine location for a particular resource. Further, claims 5, 12 and 19 recite additional elements of “the resource loading tool” which are merely recitations of generic computing components and functions merely applying the abstract idea using the generic computing components and functions which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Additionally, claims 5, 12 and 19 recite additional elements of “accessing, by the resource loading tool during a current runtime of the cloud application, the resource map,” and “accessing, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime of the cloud application, the particular resource based on the location identified in the resource map to execute the particular functionality of the cloud application” which are limitations that fail to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “accessing” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea which does not integrate the abstract idea into the practical application. Moreover, claims 5, 12 and 19 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 5, 12 and 19 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 5, 12 and 19 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 6 and 13 they recite further abstract idea elements of “determining, by the resource loading tool, that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map” and “searching, by the resource loading tool, the one or more library files in the one or more libraries for the particular resource in response to determining that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map” as drafted, is a process that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating, analysis and judging the resource map to determine that a particular resource is not listed in the resource map. Further, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating, analysis and judging the library file information to determine by searching for it if the resource is in a library file. Moreover, claims 6 and 13 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 6 and 13 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 6 and 13 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 7, 14 and 20 they recite further abstract idea elements of “prior to accessing the resource map during the current runtime, creating, by the resource loading tool during a previous runtime, a resource loading cache comprising a list of previously searched resources and corresponding search results,” “searching, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime, the resource loading cache for the particular resource,” and “identifying, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource as a previously searched resource listed in the resource loading cache,” and “” as drafted, are processes that, but for the recitation of generic computing components, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a person can with the aid of pen and paper and mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating, analysis and judging and writing a cache/list of previously searched resources and search results before other action is taken. Further, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating, analysis and judging to search the cache/list for a specific/particular resource and a later time for the cache creation. Additionally, a person can mentally perform by thinking, observing, evaluating, analysis and judging to determine/identify previously search resource and associated search results. Additionally, claims 7, 14 and 20 recite additional elements of “providing, by the resource loading tool, a search result corresponding to the previously searched resource in the resource loading cache” which is merely insignificant extra-solution activity information. Further, the insignificant extra solution data activity is also WURC, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), where “the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity” i. receiving or transmitting data over a network where the providing a search result limitation is akin to transmitting/providing the data/search resource information. Moreover, claims 7, 14 and 20 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 7, 14 and 20 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 7, 14 and 20does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 8 and 15 they recite additional elements of “wherein the search result is a library path corresponding to the previously searched resource” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, claims 8 and 15 recite additional elements of “accessing, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource via the library path to execute the particular functionality of the cloud application without searching the particular resource in the resource map” which are limitations that fail to meaningfully limit the claim because it does not require any particular application of the recited “accessing” and is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea which does not integrate the abstract idea into the practical application. Moreover, claims 8 and 15 do not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 8 and 15 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 8 and 15 do not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claims 9 and 16 they recite additional elements of “wherein the search result indicates that the previously searched resource is not found” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, claims 9 and 16 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claims 9 and 16 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claims 9 and 16 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
With regard to claim 11 it recite additional elements of “wherein: the cloud application is a Java application; the one or more library files are one or more Java Archive (JAR) files; the resource map is a key-value map; the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values; the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the one or more resources; and the corresponding locations are library paths within the one or more JAR files” which is merely a field of use/technological environment which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, claim 11 does not recite any other additional elements and for the same reasons as above with regard to the integration into a practical application and whether the additional elements amount to significantly more, claim 11 also fail both Step 2A prong 2, thus the claims are directed to the abstract idea as it has not been integrated into practical application, and fails Step 2B as not amounting to significantly more. Therefore, claim 11 does not recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Patent No. 12,020,025 B1), in view of Fortune et al. (Patent No. US 8,495,570 B2), in view of Sadov et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0111589 A1) and further in view of Bao et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0218528 A1).
As to claims 1 and 17, Zhang discloses a method, comprising: identifying, by an injection tool on an application server one or more resources referenced in source code of a cloud application, the application server hosting the injection tool, a resource loading tool and one or more cloud applications, (Zhang Col. 3 lines 62- Col. 4 lines 8, Col. 9 lines 34-43 Col. 10 line 43-Col. 11 line 1; which shows being able to access an automation server in the user computer environment, where the automation server that represent any tool that helps automate various software build, testing, development and deployment process where the software application are viewed as including cloud applications and thus seen as accessing source code, by an injection tool on the application/user server during the build time of the cloud application where the automation sever can be any type of tool that helps automate various software development, build, testing deploying process thus viewed as also including type of resource loading tools and one or more cloud application where the automation server is able to perform analysis of the provided application source code information and determine/identify resources associated with the analyzed information)
receiving, by the application server, a request to launch the cloud application, from a client device via network communication (Zhang Col. 3 lines 37-55 and lines 62- Col. 4 lines 8, Col. 9 lines 34-43 and Col. 15 lines 26-36; which show the user associated with a client device using the compute services to launch the software application, where the automation server is viewed as part of the providing these tool/services used to launch the specifics of the cloud application when requested by the user and their associated client device through network communication).
Zhang does not specifically disclose determining, by the injection tool, locations of one or more resources within the one or more library files; generating, by the injection tool a resource map for the cloud application, the resource map comprising a list of names of the one or more resources and corresponding location within the one or more library files; in response to receiving the request searching, by the resource loading tool, the resource map to identify a location for the at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application.
However, Fortune discloses determining, by the injection tool, locations of one or more resources within the one or more library files (Fortune Col. 1 lines 47-51, Col. 4 lines 28-36, Col. 5 lines 43-52 and Col. 8 lines 14-21; which shows the ability to determine the resources referenced by the application and create a resource index, viewed as a resource map, where the index includes the metadata for the resource that describes the resources and the resource location viewed as including name and location of the resource in the file information thus viewed as determining/identifying the locations of the resources within the file);
generating, by the injection tool a resource map for the cloud application, the resource map comprising a list of names of the one or more resources and corresponding location within the one or more library files (Fortune Col. 1 lines 47-51, Col. 4 lines 28-36, Col. 5 lines 43-52 and Col. 8 lines 14-21; which shows the ability to determine the resources referenced by the application and create/build/generate a resource index, viewed as a resource map, where the index includes the metadata for the resource that describes the resources and the resource location viewed as including name/metadata and location of the resource in the file information);
in response to receiving the request, searching, by the resource loading tool, the resource map to identify a location for the at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application (Fortune Col. 1 lines 47-51, Col. 3 lines 14-35 Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64, Col. 7 lines 5-9 and Col. 8 lines 14-21; which shows for the created index/resource map in response to a request associated with the resource being able to search/look up in the appropriate resources for the application, where the specifics showing a resources for launching/deploying application and the specific associated locations are specifically seen in the teachings of Bao below);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fortune showing the use of mapping resources for application to use during it build time into the application design, testing, build and deployment of Zhang for the purpose of improving the efficiency of development by having a single location of resource metadata that can be accessed for use in application development, as taught by Fortune Col. 1 lines 29-24 and Col. 3 lines 3-12.
Zhang as modified by Fortune does not specifically, the injection tool being non-intrusive to the one or more cloud application, the one or more resources being provided by one or more libraries comprising one or more library files.
However, Sadov discloses the specifics of the injection tool being non-intrusive to the one or more cloud application, the one or more resources being provided by one or more libraries comprising one or more library files (Sadov [0024] lines 5-9, [0025] lines 1-5, [0036] lines 1-8, [0105] lines 1-9, [0110] lines 1-6 and [0112] lines 1-7; which shows the specifics of a non-intrusive instrumentation that is used in the development of the code for jobs/applications, where the jobs/code being developed make refence to API and associated library, viewed as type of resource library and thus have associated resource files thus showing the code for the application referencing a resource the resource being provided by one or more libraries comprising one or more library files where the instrumentation/injection being performed on the application is done in a non-intrusive manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Sadov showing the specifics of performing non-intrusive code injection into the code injections of Zhang as modified by Fortune for the purpose of increase the safety of instrumentation by being able to perform it without changes to the underlying code, as taught by Sadov [0105] lines 1-9.
Zhang as modified by Fortune and Sadov do not specifically disclose the specifics of the one or more resources comprising at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application; launching, by the resource loading tool, the cloud application on the client device comprising loading the at least one resource based on the location identified from the resource map.
However, Bao discloses the specifics of the one or more resources comprising at least one resource associated with launching the cloud application; launching, by the resource loading tool, the cloud application on the client device comprising loading the at least one resource based on the location identified from the resource map (Bao [0017] lines 1-4, [0057] lines 1-26, [0059] lines 1-15, [0065] lines 1-4, [0066] lines 1-7, [0067] lines 1-10, [0069] lines 1-3, [0103] lines 1-8 and [0104] lines 1-5; which shows the use of a resource index, viewed as type of resource map with associated address/location associated with application resources, that are used in the deployment of the application so the application can obtain/retrieve/load the associated application resources for the to be deployed/launched application as part of its deployment/launch/install thus showing that specific application resources are associated with deploying/launching/installing an application where the application is launched/deployed by retrieving/obtaining/loading associated application resource from the associated address of the resource included in the resource index/map and store/load that application resource to the deployment device and then performs executions where the application deployment/installation takes place in cloud network environment and the application and associated resources are deployed/loaded and installed to a deployment apparatus device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Bao showing the specifics of identifying and using application resources in the deployment of the application, into the application analysis to determine resource and identify application resources of Zhang as modified by Fortune and Sadov for the purpose of reducing the complexity associated with launching and deploying an application, as taught by Bao [0005] lines 1-6 and [0007] lines 1-22.
As to claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the cloud application is a Java application, wherein the one or more library files are Java Archive (JAR) files (Zhang Col. 8 lines 52-64 and Col. 9 lines 3-19; which shows that the application, viewed as including the cloud application, can include a Java application and that the analysis of information can include JAR files, the specifics of the library being a resource library being seen specifically disclosed in Sadov above).
As to claims 5 and 19 Zhang does not specifically disclose, however, Fortune discloses accessing, by the resource loading tool during a current runtime of the cloud application, the resource map (Fortune Col. 2 lines 1-4, Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64; which shows at runtime for the application lookup into the indexes are performed, viewed as accessing the resource map, where the specifics of the cloud application of seen in Zhang above);
identifying, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime, a location for a particular resource listed in the resource map associated with executing a particular functionality of the cloud application (Fortune Col. 2 lines 1-4, Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64 and Col. 17 lines 22-28; which shows at runtime for the application lookup into the indexes are performed, viewed as accessing the resource map, and identifying/resolving the appropriate resources to use for the application based on relationship and conditions, viewed as types of functionality conditions where the specifics of the cloud application of seen in Zhang above); and
accessing, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime, the particular resource based on the location identified in the resource map to execute the particular functionality of the cloud application (Fortune Col. 2 lines 1-4, Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64 and Col. 17 lines 22-28; which shows at runtime for the application lookup into the indexes are performed, viewed as accessing the resource map, and identifying/resolving the appropriate resources to use for the application based on relationship and conditions viewed as the accessing/resolving the particular resources based on the information in the index/map where the specifics of the cloud application of seen in Zhang above).
As to claim 10, Zhang discloses a system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Zhang Col. 20 lines 9-34);
a communication interface (Zhang Col. 20 lines 9-34); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and the communication interface, the processor configured to execute processor-executable instructions stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium to (Zhang Col. 20 lines 9-34):
The remaining limitations of claim 10 are comparable to claim 1 above and rejected under the same reasoning
As to claim 12, it is comparable to claim 5 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Fortune, Sadov and Bao as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Desineni et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0132024 A1)
As to claim 2, Zhang does not specifically disclose, however, Fortune discloses the corresponding locations are library paths within the one or more library files (Fortune Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64, Col. 8 lines 14-21 and Col. 9 lines 39-63; which shows that the indexes built for the resources that include their location information can include path information, thus in light of the teachings of Sadov showing the specifics of the library of resources can be viewed as library path within the library files for the resource)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fortune showing the use of mapping resources for application to use during it build time into the application design, testing, build and deployment of Zhang for the purpose of improving the efficiency of development by having a single location of resource metadata that can be accessed for use in application development, as taught by Fortune Col. 1 lines 29-24 and Col. 3 lines 3-12.
Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao does not specifically disclose wherein: the resource map is a key-value map; the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values; the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the subset of the one or more resources.
However, Desineni discloses wherein: the resource map is a key-value map (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5, [0058] lines 1-7 and [0066] lines 1-8; which shows the specifics of key value map/store the stores/maps the breadcrumbs associated with the dvc and deep state information of the map, viewed as a type of resource map seen specifically disclosed in Fortune above);
the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5; which shows the use of the key value map/store thus viewed as including keys and corresponding values);
the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the one or more resources (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5, [0066] lines 1-8; which shows breadcrumbs that are mapped in a key value system for the application include name and other data information, where in light of the teachings of Fortune above showing the specifics of the name and location metadata of the resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Desineni showing the specifics of key value map relationships map into the resource mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing the adaptability for the storing of determine data/relationship of an application in specific relationship so that data can be retrieved more efficiently with the key information, as taught by Desineni [0075] lines 2-5.
As to claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the cloud application is a Java application, the one or more library files are one or more Java Archive (JAR) files (Zhang Col. 8 lines 52-64 and Col. 9 lines 3-19; which shows that the application, viewed as including the cloud application, can include a Java application and that the analysis of information can include JAR files, the specifics of the library being a resource library being seen specifically disclosed in Sadov above).
Zhang does not specifically disclose, the corresponding locations are library paths within the one or more Jar library files.
However, Fortune discloses the corresponding locations are library paths within the one or more Jar library files (Fortune Col. 5 lines 43-52 and 62-64, Col. 8 lines 14-21 and Col. 9 lines 39-63; which shows that the indexes built for the resources that include their location information can include path information, thus in light of the teachings of Sadov above showing the specifics of the library of resources can be viewed as library path within the library files for the resource)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fortune showing the use of mapping resources for application to use during it build time into the application design, testing, build and deployment of Zhang for the purpose of improving the efficiency of development by having a single location of resource metadata that can be accessed for use in application development, as taught by Fortune Col. 1 lines 29-24 and Col. 3 lines 3-12.
Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao does not specifically disclose the resource map is a key-value map; the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values; the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the one or more resources.
However, Desineni discloses the resource map is a key-value map (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5, [0058] lines 1-7 and [0066] lines 1-8; which shows the specifics of key value map/store the stores/maps the breadcrumbs associated with the dvc and deep state information of the map, viewed as a type of resource map seen specifically disclosed in Fortune above);
the key-value map comprises keys and corresponding values (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5; which shows the use of the key value map/store thus viewed as including keys and corresponding values);
the keys are the names of the one or more resources and the corresponding values are the corresponding locations of the one or more resources (Desineni [0057] lines 2-5, [0066] lines 1-8; which shows breadcrumbs that are mapped in a key value system for the application include name and other data information, where in light of the teachings of Fortune above showing the specifics of the name and location metadata of the resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Desineni showing the specifics of key value map relationships map into the resource mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing the adaptability for the storing of determine data/relationship of an application in specific relationship so that data can be retrieved more efficiently with the key information, as taught by Desineni [0075] lines 2-5.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Fortune, Sadov and Bao as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Chopra et al. (Patent No. US 10,067,836 B1)
As to claims 4 and 18 Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao do not specifically disclose updating the resource map at a subsequent build time when the cloud application is updated.
However, Chopra discloses updating the resource map at a subsequent build time when the cloud application is updated (Chopra Col. 5 lines 57-62; which shows that the resource map can be updated responsive to the occurrence or non-occurrence of one or more particular events, viewed as not limiting thus viewed as including at a subsequent build time when the cloud application is updated event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chopra showing the specifics of updating resource map into the creating resource map of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing the adaptable of resource map by being able to keep it up to date response to a plurality of conditions, as taught by Chopra Col. 5 lines 57-62.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Fortune, Sadov and Bao as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view Toal et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0233675 A1).
As to claim 6 and 13, Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao do not specifically disclose determining, by the resource loading tool, that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map; searching, by the resource loading tool, the one or more library files in the one or more libraries for the particular resource in response to determining that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map.
However, Toal discloses determining, by the resource loading tool, that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map (Toal [0058] lines 1-6 and [0059] lines 1-3; which shows being able to determine if the resource is not available, viewed as not listed in the group, where the specific of the resource map is seen disclosed above in Fortune above); and
searching, by the resource loading tool, the one or more library files in the one or more libraries for the particular resource in response to determining that the particular resource is not listed in the resource map (Toal [0059] lines 1-3; which shows in response to not finding the resource in first resource map/storage location being able to search the modules for the resource, viewed as searching one or more libraries in light of Sadov above showing the specifics of resource libraries).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Toal showing the ability to have a cache for prior search of resources into the resource usage and mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing efficiency by improving the loading time for resources as seen in Toal [0003] lines 3-12 and [0062] lines 1-5.
Claims 7-9, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Fortune, Sadov and Bao as applied to claims 5, 12 and 19 above, and further in view of Toal et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0233675 A1 and Fenyes et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0078182 A1)
As to claims 7, 14 and 20 Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao do not specifically disclose, prior to access the resource map during the current runtime, creating, by the resource loading tool during a previous runtime, a resource loading cache comprising a list of previously searched resources and corresponding search results; searching, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime, the resource loading cache for the particular resource; identifying, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource as a previously searched resource listed in the resource loading cache; and providing, by the resource loading tool, a search result corresponding to the previously searched resource in the resource loading cache.
However, Toal discloses searching, by the resource loading tool during the current runtime, the resource loading cache for the particular resource (Toal [0058] lines 1-6; which shows being able to search the cache for resources before/prior to other search, viewed in light of the teachings of Fortune above the specifics of the searching/accessing a resource map/index for specific information);
identifying, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource as a previously searched resource listed in the resource loading cache (Toal [0044] lines 4-8, [0046] lines 1-4, [0047] lines 1-10 and [0050] lines 1-11; which shows that the cache contains the identifying information of the resources and as the resources are including in the cache based on a search/finding the resources in the classpath viewed as them being including in the cache as a form of identifying the particular resources as a previously searched resource based on it being included in the cache without other claimed information for the specific of how resources are identified as being previously searched); and
providing, by the resource loading tool, a search result corresponding to the previously searched resource in the resource loading cache (Toal [0044] lines 4-8, [0046] lines 1-4, [0047] lines 1-10, [0050] lines 1-11 and [0058] lines 1-6; which shows that the cache contains the identifying information of the resources and as the resources are including in the cache based on a search/finding the resources in the classpath and being able to search the cache to identify availability resources viewed as a form of identifying/provide a search result corresponding to the previously search/found resources as they are now include in the cache and thus a result of the search/found resources without further detail on the specifics of how a search result corresponding to the previously search results are provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Toal showing the ability to have a cache for prior search of resources into the resource usage and mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing efficiency by improving the loading time for resources as seen it Toal [0003] lines 3-12 and [0062] lines 1-5.
Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov, Bao and Toal do not specifically disclose prior to access the resource map during the current runtime, creating, by the resource loading tool during a previous runtime, a resource loading cache comprising a list of previously searched resources and corresponding search results.
However, Fenyes discloses prior to access the resource map during the current runtime, creating, by the resource loading tool during a previous runtime, a resource loading cache comprising a list of previously searched resources and corresponding search results (Fenyes [0025] lines 1-11; which shows a searching process that is able to search for resources and add the previous searches and search results into a storage database/cache that can be accessed later, which in light of the teachings of Toal above showing the specifics of generating a resource cache for search for searched/found software resources for a particular application, can be viewed as making that cache/database persistent so that previous searches and results can be found again thus viewed as happening at different runtimes.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fenyes showing the persistent search result database, into the search database cache of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov, Bao and Toal for the purpose of increasing the ease of finding previous search for and retrieved data for use, as taught by Fenyes [0025] lines 9-11
As to claims 8 and 15 Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao do not specifically disclose, however, Toal discloses wherein the search result is a library path corresponding to the previously searched resource, wherein the method further comprises accessing, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource via the library path to execute the particular functionality of the cloud application without searching the particular resource in the resource map (Toal [0050] lines 1-11 and [0052] lines 1-8; which shows that the resource identification for the previously searched resource can first search a cache of previously identified resources before going on to a further search, where it is seen specifically in Fortune above the specifics of a further search with an index/resource map the use of path information associated with the identified/determined/search for resource that can perform/execute a specific functionality, where it is seen in the teaching of Fenyes above the specifics of the database that can include previous search and results for later use and thus together would show wherein the search result is a library path corresponding to the previously searched resource, wherein the method further comprises accessing, by the resource loading tool, the particular resource via the library path to execute the particular functionality of the cloud application without searching the particular resource in the resource map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Toal showing the ability to have a cache for prior search of resources into the resource usage and mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing efficiency by improving the loading time for resources as seen in Toal[0003] lines 3-12 and [0062] lines 1-5.
As to claims 9 and 16 Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao do not specifically disclose, however, Toal discloses wherein the search result indicates that the previously searched resource is not found (Toal [0058] lines 1-6 and [0059] lines 1-3; which shows where the classloader that search determine that a resource is not available/found in the cache viewed as a search result that indicates that the previously search resource is not found ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Toal showing the ability to have a cache for prior search of resources into the resource usage and mapping of Zhang as modified by Fortune, Sadov and Bao for the purpose of increasing efficiency by improving the loading time for resources as seen in Toal [0003] lines 3-12 and [0062] lines 1-5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADFORD F WHEATON/Examiner, Art Unit 2193