DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 8, 9, 11-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 8, 9, 11-13, and 15, t he term "surface-etching material" is vague and unclear and leave s in doubt as to the meaning of the technical features to which it refers . Further clarification is needed . Regarding c laim s 9 and 16, the term "Binding energy" is indefinite. The term is not a generally accepted term as such but is always placed in a context. In the application such a definition is missing. Further clarification is needed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (EP 3819354) (hereafter “Kim”) . Regarding claims 1-20, Kim teaches a core shell quantum dot (and the method of making the quantum dot) comprising an InP core with a ratio of 1:0.8 of In to P and a shell of ZnSe and ZnS (paragraphs [0269]-[0280]). Kim teaches that the where the shell is being added the core is exposed of AlCl 3 (which is a surface etching material taught by the applicant and forms on the second semiconductor agent with P on the sure of the core) ( paragraphs [0269]-[0280] ). The second semiconductor would be composed of Al-P which as a greater binding that In-P. Kim teaches that the quantum dots can be made to emit blue light (wavelength between 440nm and 470 nm) (paragraph [0076]) . Kim teaches that the quantum dots can be used in electronic apparatus as either the emitting layer in an light emitting device or a color conversion member in the path of light emitted from a light source (paragraph [0198]-[0205]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chow et al. (US 2020/0325396) teaches InP/ZnSe/ZnS core shell quantum dots where the core can be etched. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANDREW K BOHATY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1148 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 7am-4pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Curtis Mayes can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1234 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW K BOHATY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759