DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al. (US 2021/0359074).
Regarding claim 1, You discloses a display panel (figs. 1, 6), comprising a fan-out region (60, figs. 6, 8C and paragraph 0128), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines (60, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148), and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (W1, W2, W3, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148):
wherein three adjacent fan-out data lines in the at least three layers of fan-out lines do not overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the display panel (62, 63, 64, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148).
Regarding claim 9, You discloses a display panel (figs. 1, 6), comprising a fan-out region (60, figs. 6, 8C and paragraph 0128), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines (60, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148), and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (W1, W2, W3, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148);
wherein one of the following is satisfied:
among the at least three layers of fan-out data lines, fan-out data lines disposed in different layers are located in films having different sheet resistances (paragraphs 0138, 0150, 0106 note: sheet resistance is property of material, W1 is molybdenum and W3 is same as CE2, which can be aluminum or copper); and among any two of the fan-out data lines disposed in different layers, a fan-out data line having a larger sheet resistance has a larger line width (61, fig. 8C molybdenum) than a fan-out data line having a smaller sheet resistance (64, fig. 8C, copper or aluminum);
or
among the at least three layers of fan-out data lines, fan-out data lines disposed in different layers are located in films having different sheet resistances; and
among any two of the fan-out data lines disposed in different layers, a fan-out data line having a larger sheet resistance has a smaller extension length than a fan-out data line having a smaller sheet resistance.
Regarding claim 17, You discloses a display device, comprising a display panel (figs. 1, 6), wherein the display panel comprises a fan-out region (60, figs. 6, 8C and paragraph 0128), the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines (60, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148), and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (W1, W2, W3, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148):
wherein three adjacent fan-out data lines in the at least three layers of fan-out lines do not overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the display panel (62, 63, 64, fig. 8C and paragraph 0148).
Claims 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koo et al. (US 2023/0413625).
Regarding claim 9, Koo discloses a display panel (fig. 1 and paragraph 0054), comprising a fan-out region (FOP, fig. 1 and paragraph 0060), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines (371, 372, 373, fig. 4), and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (371, 372, 373, fig. 4 and paragraphs 0127-0129);
wherein one of the following is satisfied:
among the at least three layers of fan-out data lines, fan-out data lines disposed in different layers are located in films having different sheet resistances (paragraphs 0024-0028, 0104); and among any two of the fan-out data lines disposed in different layers, a fan-out data line having a larger sheet resistance has a larger line width than a fan-out data line having a smaller sheet resistance (paragraphs 0131-0136);
or
among the at least three layers of fan-out data lines, fan-out data lines disposed in different layers are located in films having different sheet resistances; and
among any two of the fan-out data lines disposed in different layers, a fan-out data line having a larger sheet resistance has a smaller extension length (FOP, center line, fig. 1) than a fan-out data line having a smaller sheet resistance (FOP, edge line, fig. 1, paragraphs 0131-0137).
Regarding claim 11, Koo further discloses wherein the fan-out region comprises an edge fan-out data line located at an edge of the fan-out region and a center fan-out data line located in a center of the fan-out region (FOP, fig. 1);
the fan-out data line having the larger sheet resistance comprises the center fan-out data line; and the fan-out data line having the smaller sheet resistance comprises the edge fan-out data line (fig. 1 and paragraphs 0131-0137).
Regarding claim 12, Koo further discloses further comprising a display region (DA, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region is located on one side of the display region (FOP, bottom side, fig. 1);
the display panel further comprises a plurality of data lines located in the display region, wherein the plurality of data lines extend in a first direction and are arranged in a second direction (171, fig. 1), a data line of the plurality of data lines is electrically connected to a fan-out data line of the plurality of fan-out data lines through a connection via (paragraph 0137); and
in the first direction, a connection via between the fan-out data line having the larger sheet resistance and a data line connected to the fan-out data line having the larger sheet resistance is located on one side of a connection via between the fan-out data line having the smaller sheet resistance and a data line connected to the fan-out data line having the smaller sheet resistance, wherein the one side faces the fan-out region (fig. 1 and paragraphs 0131-0137).
Regarding claim 13, Koo further discloses further comprising a display region (DA, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region is located on one side of the display region (FOP, bottom side, fig. 1); the display region further comprises a plurality of data lines (171, fig. 1) and a plurality of light-emitting sub-pixels (PX, fig. 1), and a fan-out data line of the plurality of fan-out data lines is electrically connected to a light-emitting sub-pixel of the plurality of light-emitting sub-pixels through a data line of the plurality of data lines; among the at least three layers of fan-out data lines, fan-out data lines disposed in different layers are located in films having different sheet resistances; and among any two of the fan-out data lines disposed in different layers, a fan-out data line having a larger sheet resistance is connected to a light-emitting sub-pixel having a luminescence efficiency larger than a luminescence efficiency of a light-emitting sub-pixel connected to a fan-out data line having a smaller sheet resistance (figs. 1, 4 and paragraphs 0131-0137).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US 2014/0117320) in view of Koo et al. (US 2023/0413625).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a display panel (fig. 1 and paragraph 0039), comprising a fan-out region (200, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines, and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (201, 202, 203, fig. 6 and paragraphs 0070-0079):
Jung further discloses wherein the third fan out data line (203, fig. 4 and paragraph 0075) may overlap with one or more of the first and second fan out lines for the purpose of reducing the width of the fan out area (paragraphs 0075-0077).
Jung does not explicitly disclose the amended limitation “three adjacent fan-out lines in the at least three layers of fan-out lines do not overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the display panel”.
Koo disclose a display panel comprising a fan-out region (FOP, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines, and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (371, 372, 373, fig. 4 and paragraphs 0131-0132). Koo further discloses wherein the adjacent fan-out wires may overlap or may not overlap (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0131-0132) for the purpose of reducing the area of the fan-out portion (paragraph 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have Jung’s fan out data lines not overlap or overlap depending on how much of an area reduction one is seeking, since Koo explicitly discloses both scenarios (paragraphs 0131-0132) and Jung discloses at least one partial overlap.
Regarding claim 4, Jung further discloses wherein the fan-out region comprises at least two fan-out data line groups, and each of the at least two fan-out data line groups comprises at least two layers of fan-out data lines; and in the thickness direction of the display panel, fan-out data lines in a same fan-out data line group of the at least two fan-out data line groups overlap, and fan-out data lines in different fan-out data line groups of the at least two fan-out data line groups are staggered (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 5, Jung discloses wherein for each of the at least two fan-out data line groups, a space between two layers of fan-out data lines adjacent to each other in the thickness direction of the display panel and comprised in a fan-out data line group of the at least two fan-out data line groups contains fan-out data lines in another fan-out data line group of the at least two fan-out data line groups (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 6, Jung further discloses further comprising a display region (DA, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region is located on one side of the display region (200, bottom side, fig. 1); the display panel further comprises a plurality of data lines located in the display region (DLr, DLg, DLb, figs. 1-2), wherein the plurality of data lines extend in a first direction and are arranged in a second direction; and among the plurality of data lines, data lines connected to the fan-out data lines in the same fan-out data line group are adjacent in the second direction (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Jung further discloses wherein a data line of the plurality of data lines is electrically connected to a fan-out data line of the plurality of fan-out data lines through a connection via; and
connection vias through which the fan-out data lines in the same fan-out data line group are connected to the data lines are staggered in the first direction (figs. 2-7 and paragraphs 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 8, Jung further discloses further comprising a display region (DA, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region is located on one side of the display region (200, bottom side, fig. 1);
the display panel further comprises a plurality of data lines located in the display region (DLr, DLg, DLb, figs. 1-2), wherein the plurality of data lines extend in a first direction and are arranged in a second direction; and among the plurality of data lines, data lines connected to the fan-out data lines in the same fan-out data line group are nonadjacent in the second direction (figs. 2-7 and paragraphs 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses a display device (fig. 1 and paragraph 0039), comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises a fan-out region (200, fig. 1 and paragraph 0046), the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines, and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (201, 202, 203, fig. 6 and paragraphs 0070-0079);
Jung further discloses wherein the third fan out data line (203, fig. 4 and paragraph 0075) may overlap with one or more of the first and second fan out lines for the purpose of reducing the width of the fan out area (paragraphs 0075-0077).
Jung does not explicitly disclose the amended limitation “three adjacent fan-out lines in the at least three layers of fan-out lines do not overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the display panel”.
Koo disclose a display panel comprising a fan-out region (FOP, fig. 1), wherein the fan-out region comprises a plurality of fan-out data lines, and the plurality of fan-out data lines comprise at least three layers of fan-out data lines disposed in different layers (371, 372, 373, fig. 4 and paragraphs 0131-0132). Koo further discloses wherein the adjacent fan-out wires may overlap or may not overlap (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0131-0132) for the purpose of reducing the area of the fan-out portion (paragraph 0132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have Jung’s fan out data lines not overlap or overlap depending on how much of an area reduction one is seeking, since Koo explicitly discloses both scenarios (paragraphs 0131-0132) and Jung discloses at least one partial overlap.
Regarding claim 20, Jung further discloses wherein the fan-out region comprises at least two fan-out data line groups, and each of the at least two fan-out data line groups comprises at least two layers of fan-out data lines; and in the thickness direction of the display panel, fan-out data lines in a same fan-out data line group of the at least two fan-out data line groups overlap, and fan-out data lines in different fan-out data line groups of the at least two fan-out data line groups are staggered (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0070-0079).
Regarding claim 14, Jung in view of Koo discloses the display panel according to claim 1, as mentioned above. Jung in view of Koo does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of fan-out data lines further comprise a fourth fan-out data line that are disposed in different layers. Koo’s example is that of a three color pixel configuration and that the number of fan-out wires may vary depending on the number of pixels (paragraph 0069). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate a fourth fan-out data line into Koo’s disclosure since 4 sub-pixel display configurations were well known at the time of filing and Koo explicitly states a one to one relationship between number of pixels and number of fan-out lines (paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 15, Koo further discloses wherein the display region comprises a plurality of pixel circuits, and a pixel circuit of the plurality of pixel circuits comprises a first thin-film transistor, a second thin-film transistor, and a storage capacitor; the first thin-film transistor comprises a polycrystalline active layer and a first gate, the second thin-film transistor comprises an oxide active layer and a second gate, and the storage capacitor comprises a capacitive substrate; and the second fan-out data line and the first gate are disposed in a same layer, the third fan-out data line and the capacitive substrate are disposed in a same layer, and the first fan-out data line is located on a side of the second fan-out data line facing a base substrate (fig. 3). Koo does not discloses a fourth fan-out data line and the second gate are disposed in the same layer. As mentioned above, a four sub-pixel configuration would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and therefore, such implementation would also be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 16, Koo renders obvious the display panel according to claim 15, as mentioned above. Koo does not explicitly disclose wherein the display region comprises a photosensitive display region; the photosensitive display region comprises a photosensitive aperture; and a film in which the first fan-out data line is located is the same as a film in which the photosensitive aperture is located. However, the incorporation of a photosensitive display region within a display was well known in the art at the time of filing and would be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, Applicant has amended the independent claims 1 and 17 to include the limitation, “three adjacent fan-out data lines in the at least three layers of fan-out data lines do not overlap with each other in a thickness direction of the display panel” and argues that Jung fails to disclose such because Jung teaches at least a partial overlap for the purpose of reducing dead space and it would not be obvious to eliminate the overlap as Applicant claims because Applicant does so to solve parasitic capacitance between fan-out layers and not to reduce space. This is not persuasive since the new “You” 102 rejection above explicitly discloses three fan-out lines in three different layers that do not overlap or they may overlap, all for the purpose of reducing space, as mentioned in the above rejection, which also renders obvious to modify Jung’s overlap since such is explicitly taught by “You” as mentioned above. It is irrelevant that Applicant’s purpose is different, the claims are properly rejected.
Second, Applicant argues that Koo’s compensation strategy is different than Applicant’s invention. This may be true, however, as mentioned in the above rejection, Koo discloses different decreasing sheet resistances, different conductive materials and different line widths corresponding to voltage range increases of the fan out wires. Furthermore, the new “You” reference explicitly discloses the limitations as mentioned above.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 1/30/26