DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 4/30/2026.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 2, 4 and 7-10 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are independent claims. Claims 1, 3 and 5-6 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
The objection to claim 4 is withdrawn because of its cancellation as suggested.
The rejections of claims 1 and 3-6 under 35 U.S.C 112(a) are withdrawn because of the amendment and the persuasive argument in the remarks (page 5).
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant is arguing in the remarks (pages 5-8) that Applicant respectfully submits that the references would not have been combined as alleged by the Examiner and that, even if combined, the alleged combination of references would not teach or suggest each and every feature of the claims, as amended. That is, the cited references, either alone or in combination (arguendo), fail to teach or suggest, "wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on an average value of a luminance of a person or an object detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit, and wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle include an exposure at which an average value of a luminance of each object that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and an object outside the vehicle across which the light from an outside the vehicle passes through becomes optimal, the respective objects being detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit," (emphasis added by Applicant) as recited in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 5 and 6, as amended.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Okada, Lee and Brunner does teach the features as claimed in claim 1, 5 and 6 as presented.
The Applicant further arguing that “In Okada, there are mere recitations of: "determines the first imaging condition with reference to a reference point on an image showing the scene outside the vehicle, " (paragraph 0032); and "The imaging condition determiner may determine an imaging condition defined with reference to the scene outside the vehicle such that an image area excluding an area that captures the road surface that the vehicle travels on or the sky is used as a reference. For example, the imaging condition determiner may determine the imaging condition with reference to an area that captures another vehicle, a pedestrian, a building, etc. around the vehicle" (paragraph 0038). At least Okada lacks disclosure or suggestion as to a configuration in which, using the "object that allows light from outside the vehicle to pass through," as described in claim 1 as amended as the detection target, determining the shooting conditions (exposure) appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle based on the brightness of the object. The same can be said for Lee in which there is no disclosure or suggestion as to the aforementioned feature as described in claim 1 as amended (i.e., determining an exposure based on a luminance of each of an object that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and a luminance of an object outside the vehicle across which the light from the outside the vehicle passes through). As for the other cited references cited by the Examiner, there is no concrete disclosure or suggestion defining the claimed feature…As described above, even by taking the cited documents cited by the Examiner solely or in combination, one skilled in the art cannot easily conceive of the invention according to claim 1 as amended (i.e., determining an exposure based on a luminance of each of an object that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and an object outside the vehicle across which the light from the outside the vehicle passes through). Indeed, the alleged combination of the references does not even recognize the problems addressed by the claims, let alone teach or suggest (and thus provides a much different structure than) a solution similar to that of the claims. Therefore, the alleged combination of the references fails to teach or suggest this feature of the claims. Moreover, Applicant respectfully submits that these references are unrelated and would not have been combined as alleged by the Examiner since the configuration defined in the claims is much more precise than the generic functional difference articulated by the Examiner in the rejection. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have considered combining these disparate references, absent impermissible hindsight. Further, Applicant submits that there is no motivation or suggestion in the references or elsewhere (and thus no predictability for one of ordinary skill in the art) to urge the combination as alleged by the Examiner. Indeed, these references clearly do not teach or suggest their combination. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have combined the references as alleged by the Examiner.”
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Okada does teach wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on conditions appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle include an exposure at which a reference point [84 and 86] or a reference area [A and C] on an image captured by the camera 42 and determines an imaging condition so that the condition such as exposure and color at the reference point or in the reference area is optimized”; The second reference point 86 is determined to be a position in the image that captures a scene inside the vehicle detected by the passenger detector 32; The first reference point 84 is determined to be a position in the image that captures a scene outside the vehicle passing though; para. 0043 further recites “imaging condition determiner may determine an imaging condition defined with reference to the scene outside the vehicle such that an image area excluding an area that captures the road surface that the vehicle travels on… determine the imaging condition with reference to an area that captures another vehicle, a pedestrian, a building, etc. around the vehicle” which suggests detecting a pedestrian by excluding an area that captures the road surface to determine an imaging condition for the detected pedestrian; para. 0018: “By capturing an image as illustrated by using the camera 42, it is possible to monitor the spaces inside and outside the vehicle 70 in a single image”). Okada is silent on utilizing average value of each detected object in an image captured by a camera to optimize imaging conditions for each detected object in the image. This is a conventional method which can be addressed by Brunner as presented in the rejection section below.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
For the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination is proper and does teach the features as claimed in claims 1, 5 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (WO 2019176391 A1; published date 09/12/2019; using US 20200412944 A1 for translation) in views of Lee (KR-101374211-B1) and Brunner (US 20110249961 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okada teaches A dashboard camera (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a processor coupled to a memory storing instructions for the processor to execute:
an event detection unit configured to detect an event that has occurred in an own vehicle (paras. 0030-0032);
an imaging control unit configured to detect brightness inside the vehicle and brightness outside the vehicle, and switch, when the event has been detected by the event detection unit, imaging conditions of an imaging apparatus that captures images of an area including an interior of the vehicle from imaging conditions appropriate for the brightness inside the vehicle to imaging conditions appropriate for the brightness outside the vehicle (Fig. 2; para. 0029; “For example, the imaging condition determiner 34 defines a first reference point 84 in a frontward area A in the image shown in FIG. 2 and determines the first imaging condition so as to optimize the brightness and chromaticity at the first reference point 84. Further, the imaging condition determiner 34 defines a second reference point 86 in the rearward area C in the image shown in FIG. 2 and determines the second imaging condition so as to optimize the brightness and chromaticity at the second reference point 86”; para. 0037: “The imaging condition determiner 34 determines the first imaging condition related to at least one of exposure and color of the camera 42 with reference to the scene outside the vehicle and determines the second imaging condition related to at least one of exposure of the and color camera 42 with reference to the scene inside the vehicle (S10). The imaging controller 14 causes the camera 42 to capture the first image, in which the first imaging condition is used, and the second image, in which the second imaging condition is used, in temporally different frames, and the image acquisition interface 22 captures the first image data and the second image data (S12). The image recorder 30 causes the recorder 54 to record moving image data based on the first image (S14)”; para. 0025: “The imaging controller 14 may cause the camera 42 to capture the first image and the second image alternately” to alternately switch between the first and the second imaging conditions; the switching is performed when a safety event has been detected and when not detected); and
a recording control unit configured to cause a recording apparatus to record video images captured by the imaging apparatus (paras. 0021, 0025, 0037),
wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on a reference point [84 and 86] or a reference area [A and C] on an image captured by the camera 42 and determines an imaging condition so that the condition such as exposure and color at the reference point or in the reference area is optimized”; The second reference point 86 is determined to be a position in the image that captures a scene inside the vehicle detected by the passenger detector 32; The first reference point 84 is determined to be a position in the image that captures a scene outside the vehicle passing though; para. 0043 further recites “imaging condition determiner may determine an imaging condition defined with reference to the scene outside the vehicle such that an image area excluding an area that captures the road surface that the vehicle travels on… determine the imaging condition with reference to an area that captures another vehicle, a pedestrian, a building, etc. around the vehicle” which suggests detecting a pedestrian by excluding an area that captures the road surface to determine an imaging condition for the detected pedestrian; para. 0018: “By capturing an image as illustrated by using the camera 42, it is possible to monitor the spaces inside and outside the vehicle 70 in a single image”),
but fails to teach
wherein, when an event is detected by the event detection unit, the imaging control unit switches an imaging direction of an in-vehicle imaging unit that has captured images in a rear area of the vehicle to an imaging direction appropriate for a content of the event that has occurred,
wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on an average value of a luminance of a person or an object detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit, and wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle include an exposure at which an average value of a luminance of each object that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and an object outside the vehicle across which the light from an outside the vehicle passes through becomes optimal, the respective objects being detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee teaches
wherein, when an event is detected by the event detection unit, the imaging control unit switches an imaging direction of an in-vehicle imaging unit that has captured images in a rear area of the vehicle to an imaging direction appropriate for a content of the event that has occurred (Figs. 1-5; col. 3, lines 5-11: “shooting 360 degrees through one camera, and can also be recorded and stored by changing the camera angle according to the event occurred in the vehicle”; col. 4, lines 23-42: “camera module 101 is installed at the lower portion of the room mirror RM to photograph the vehicle periphery from the front and the rear side, and at the same time, the interior of the vehicle can be simultaneously photographed…The sensor unit 120 outputs the sensing data according to the occurrence of the event to the controller 130, and the controller 130 controls the image capturing unit 110 to capture the generated event”; col. 7, lines 3-8: “By controlling the shooting angle of the camera module 101, when the event occurs, the camera module 101 automatically records the event occurrence site. In addition, when the driver parks the vehicle in the safety zone, the camera module 101 can be set to photograph only the orientation except the safety zone, thereby preventing unnecessary images from being stored in the memory unit”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Lee in Okada to have wherein, when an event is detected by the event detection unit, the imaging control unit switches an imaging direction of an in-vehicle imaging unit that has captured images in a rear area of the vehicle to an imaging direction appropriate for a content of the event that has occurred for utilizing a rotating camera to monitor the inside and the surroundings of a vehicle simultaneously enabling no blind spots and image distortion with improved resolution yielding a predicted result.
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor Brunner teaches
wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on an average value of a luminance of a person or an object (faces) detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit, and wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle include an exposure at which an average value of a luminance of each object (each face) that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and an object outside the vehicle across which the light from an outside the vehicle passes through becomes optimal, the respective objects being detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit (Brunner: Fig. 13; para. 0057: “process for face detection-assisted dynamic auto exposure using multiple qualifying faces begins at Step 1300… drive camera exposure parameters, e.g., exposure time or gain, based at least in part on a weighted average of the pixel values within the exposure metering regions that are inset over the "qualifying face(s)" (Step 1312).”; para. 0011: “the setting of the camera's exposure parameters, e.g., exposure time or gain, on a weighted average of exposure metering regions over each qualifying face.”; Okada already teaches optimizing exposure conditions of camera 42 to capture a super-wide angle image having an imaging range that covers all detected objects inside and outside the vehicle 70 where Brunner is to optimize exposure conditions of the camera based on average values of multiple objects/faces detected in one image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Brunner in the combination to have wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment inside the vehicle include an exposure based on an average value of a luminance of a person or an object detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit, and wherein imaging conditions appropriate for an environment outside the vehicle include an exposure at which an average value of a luminance of each object that allows light from the outside the vehicle to pass through and an object outside the vehicle across which the light from an outside the vehicle passes through becomes optimal, the respective objects being detected from the video images captured by the in-vehicle imaging unit for optimizing exposure of multiple faces/objects within a captured image improving obtained images of different faces yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 reciting features corresponding to claim 1 is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1. In addition, Okada teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig. 3; para. 0022) storing an imaging control program for causing a computer to execute: (features as claimed in claim 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (WO 2019176391 A1; using US 20200412944 A1 for translation) in views of Lee (KR-101374211-B1) and Brunner (US 20110249961 A1) as claimed in claim 1, and further in view of Kumagai et al (US 20190023241 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Okada, Lee and Brunner teaches everything as claimed in claim 1, but fails to teach
wherein the event detection unit detects occurrence of a misapplication prevention operation performed by a misapplication prevention apparatus that prevents misapplication of at least one of an accelerator and a brake as an event that has occurred in the own vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kumagai teaches
wherein the event detection unit detects occurrence of a misapplication prevention operation performed by a misapplication prevention apparatus that prevents misapplication of at least one of an accelerator and a brake as an event that has occurred in the own vehicle (para. 0023; “The automatic emergency braking may be performed when the driver fails to perform an action appropriate for avoiding the contact in spite of the foregoing warning made by the warning unit. Non-limiting examples of a case where the driver fails to perform the action appropriate for avoiding the contact may include a case where the driver fails to press down on a brake pedal, or a case where the driver fails to perform steering by means of a steering wheel”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Kumagai in the combination to have wherein the event detection unit detects occurrence of a misapplication prevention operation performed by a misapplication prevention apparatus that prevents misapplication of at least one of an accelerator and a brake as an event that has occurred in the own vehicle for enabling an automatic emergency braking capability improving vehicle safety yielding a predicted result.
Alternative Rejection
Xiao et al (CN-113761973-A) also teaches wherein, when an event is detected by the event detection unit, the imaging control unit switches an imaging direction of an in-vehicle imaging unit that has captured images in a rear area of the vehicle to an imaging direction appropriate for a content of the event that has occurred (page 4: “the camera in the vehicle can be a rotatable camera installed in the centre of the top of the vehicle; when the vehicle-mounted device activates the detection mode, the vehicle-mounted device according to the received parking, opening door, closing any data or parking, opening the door; closing the data of continuous action, rotating the camera to a predetermined position to collect the scene image in the vehicle. For example, the vehicle-mounted device receives the data of the right door opening, the vehicle-mounted device according to the data control camera rotates to the direction towards the right front door, so as to collect the target area of the right front door. it can save resource and improve the probability of effectively collecting”).
Xiao can be used in place of the above Lee (KR-101374211-B1) to teach the feature with the same reason and/or saving resource and improving the probability of effectively collecting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TOKUDA et al (JP-2018121104-A): A drive recorder device includes an imaging unit 40 for imaging the inside and the outside of a vehicle 1 simultaneously, and a control unit 50 for processing image signals. The control unit 50 has an area division section 54 for dividing the whole image area G into multiple areas A0-A13, a weight setting section 55 setting a weighting factor ci for each of the multiple areas A0-A13, a weighted average calculation section 56 for calculating the weighted average La across the whole image area G of average luminance Li based on the weighting factor ci, and an exposure control section 57 for controlling exposure when the imaging unit 40 performs imaging based on the weighted average La.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637