DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitation "The FMCW LIDAR system of claim 18" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim appears to depend from claim 1; Examiner has interpreted the claim accordingly. Clarification and correction are required.
Claims 7 and 14, and 8 dependent on claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 7 and 14 recite, “a portion of a surface that comprises a first refractive index that is less than a second refractive index external to the multi-sided scanner”. This appears to be an error; for a typical scanner material such as plastic or glass (as claimed in claims 10 and 17 for example) the refractive index is greater than the second refractive index external to the scanner, which is typically air. Examiner has interpreted these claims as reading “a portion of a surface that comprises a first refractive index that is greater than a second refractive index external to the multi-sided scanner.” Clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-15, 17-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schanz (US2004/0240020).
With regard to claims 1 and 18, Schanz discloses a LIDAR system (para. [0009]) comprising (see Fig. 1 and para. [0013]):
a multi-sided scanner (prism 10) comprising a plurality of sides, wherein the multi-sided scanner is configured to rotate in a same direction at a plurality of different times to produce a plurality of rotational positions; and
an optical source (radiation source 11) configured to: transmit, at a first angle relative to a field of view (FOV) window at a first rotational position of the multi-sided scanner, an optical beam (beam “T”) towards a first side (lowest side) of the plurality of sides to cause a first portion of the optical beam to traverse the first side to produce a first adjusted beam transmitted within the multi-sided scanner towards a second side (left side) of the plurality of sides to produce a second adjusted beam, wherein a trajectory of the second adjusted beam traverses a third side (right side) of the plurality of sides to exit the multi-sided scanner to produce a first FOV portion; and
transmit, at the first angle at a second rotational position of the multi-sided scanner (not shown, but the following limitations are inherent to the normal optical path of a beam in the prism when it is rotated from the position shown in the Fig. and as described), the optical beam (“T”) towards the first side (lowest side) to cause a second portion of the optical beam to traverse the first side to produce a third adjusted beam transmitted within the multi-sided scanner towards the second side (left side) to produce a fourth adjusted beam, wherein a trajectory of the fourth adjusted beam traverses the third side (right side) of the plurality of sides to exit the multi-sided scanner to produce a second FOV portion; and
a window (12) positioned adjacent to the multi-sided scanner and configured to directly receive the second adjusted beam to form the first FOV portion and the second FOV portion
Note: Schanz does not specifically mention FMCW LIDAR; however, this phrase is part of the preamble of the claim and since no additional structure further limiting the type of LIDAR appears in the body of the claim, the phrase is given no patentable weight by the Examiner (see MPEP § 2111.02).
With regard to claim 11, Schanz discloses a method of producing a field of view (FOV) in a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) light detection and ranging (LIDAR) system (para. [0009]), the method comprising (see Fig. 1 and para. [0013]):
rotating a multi-sided scanner (10) in a same direction at a plurality of different times to produce a plurality of rotational positions, wherein the multi-sided scanner comprises a plurality of sides;
transmitting (from optical source 11), at a first angle relative to a FOV window at a first rotational position of the multi-sided scanner, an optical beam (“T”) towards a first side (lower side) of the plurality of sides to cause a first portion of the optical beam to traverse the first side to produce a first adjusted beam transmitted within the multi-sided scanner towards a second side (left side) of the plurality of sides to produce a second adjusted beam, wherein a trajectory of the second adjusted beam traverses a third side (right side) of the plurality of sides to exit the multi-sided scanner to produce a first FOV portion; and
transmitting (not shown, but the following limitations are inherent to the normal optical path of a beam in the prism when it is rotated from the position shown in the Fig. and as described) at the first angle at a second rotational position of the multi-sided scanner, the optical beam towards the first side (lower side) to cause a second portion of the optical beam to traverse the first side to produce a third adjusted beam transmitted within the multi-sided scanner towards the second side (left side) to produce a fourth adjusted beam, wherein a trajectory of the fourth adjusted beam traverses the third side (right side) of the plurality of sides to exit the multi-sided scanner to produce a second FOV portion.
Note: Schanz does not specifically mention FMCW LIDAR; however, this phrase is part of the preamble of the claim and since no additional structure further limiting the type of LIDAR appears in the body of the claim, the phrase is given no patentable weight by the Examiner (see MPEP § 2111.02).
With regard to claims 2-4, the limitations are merely the beams resulting from bending the light in the multi-sided scanner.
With regard to claim 5-6 , 12-13, and 19, the window (5) for receiving the adjusted beams is positioned adjacent to the multi-sided scanner, is on the opposite side of the source (11) and receives the adjusted beams to form the FOV portions (30).
With regard to claims 7, 10, 14, 17, 20, and 23 Schanz cites the prism as being of the same type as in DE 41 15 747 C2, German patent by inventor Johann Hipp (translation cited). In that patent, the prism is made of glass (Description, 16th paragraph). The refractive index of glass is greater than that of air; hence the limitation of claims 7, 14 and 20 are satisfied when the prism is placed in air or vacuum.
With regard to claims 8 and 15, the surface is proximate to a window adjacent to the multi-sided scanner and configured to form the first FOV and second FOV.
With regard to claim 22, the multi-sided scanner is a triangular prism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schanz as applied to claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Sano et al. (US 5,574,592).
Schanz does not specifically disclose that the multi-sided scanner is a pentagon shape. However, in the same field of endeavor, Sano teaches a rotating, multi-sided scanner that adjusts the direction of laser beams to a field of view by similar means as Schanz (e. g. Figs. 1(a) & (b) showing the light beam adjusted by internal refraction in the multi-sided scanner. While the polygon of Fig. 1 is shown as having eight sides, this is merely exemplary and it would have been clear to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, from the specification that the number of sides is a design choice depending on pulse and rotation rate, maximum angle of field of view. Therefore, the limitation that the multi-sided scanner of Schanz is a pentagon shape would have been obvious as a design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Weiger discloses a pentagonal scanner, Howard et al. disclose rotating reflectors for FMCW Lidar.
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645