Detailed Action
The present application was filed on 01/31/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
Claim 1:
a step function configured to determine a relevance score.
Clam 10:
a step function configured to determine a relevance score
Upon a review of the Specification, each bolded generic placeholder in the claims A review of the specification shows that the corresponding structure is not described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations:
Regarding the above-noted step function recited in claims 1 and 10, aside from merely repeating the claim language in paragraphs 4-6 and mentioning examples in paragraphs 76, 78 and 80, the corresponding structure of the claimed step function capable of performing the claimed determining of “a relevance score” is not described in applicant’s specification.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (“FILM: A Fast, Interpretable, and Low-rank Metric Learning Approach for Sentence Matching”) in view of Du (“A faster path-based algorithm with Barzilai-Borwein step size for solving stochastic traffic equilibrium models”).
Claim 1.
Tang teaches a system, comprising: a non-transitory memory configured to store a training dataset comprising a plurality of anchor items, a plurality of recommended item sets, and ground truth data (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” teaches a system comprising Memory Usage “on CPU”; 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (ground truth data) and negative samples (recommended sets));
a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory memory, wherein the processor is configured to read a set of instructions to (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” teaches run on GPU):
obtain, from the non-transitory memory, the training dataset (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” a system comprising Memory Usage “on CPU”; 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples” and 3 Our Approach & Page 2 “Given a training set with triplet labels, FILM learns a low-dimensional representation of the high-dimensional samples, such that in the low-dimensional space, samples originally more similar to one another are closer to one another in terms of some user-specified metric or similarity measure” teaches obtain dataset comprising anchor, positive (ground truth data) and negative samples (recommended sets));
obtain a base machine learning model including a step function configured to determine a relevance score (Step 2 (Rewrite everything in terms of matrices) and Page 4 “
” teaches obtain a step function to determine a score and 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 7 “Apart from FILM, we design a deep neural network with loss function similar to the average hinge loss of FILM” teaches FILM design with a deep neural network model corresponds to base machine learning model);
iteratively train the base machine learning model to generate a trained ranking model, wherein the plurality of anchor items and the plurality of recommended item sets are provided as an input to the base machine learning model and the ground truth data is provided as a target output (3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples. Here, anchor sample refers to a sentence s, positive sample refers to a sentence s+ similar to s, and negative sample refers to a sentence s− dissimilar to s. The generation of such triplets {s, s+, s−} is the same as in Step 3 of the Execution of FILM in the previous Subsection” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (recommended sets) and negative samples (ground truth data) wherein the anchor sample and positive samples are provided as input and negative samples are as targeted output and Algorithm 1
teaches generate a trained rank constraint model),
and wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to a first order Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process (3.2 FILM Algorithm & Page 5 “we apply the Cayley transformation method with Barzilai-Borwein step size” and
teaches the model is iteratively train on step function Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process);
and store the trained ranking model in the non-transitory memory (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” and Algorithm 1
teaches model is updated corresponds to storing values in the CPU and GPU).
Tang does not explicitly teach and wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…line search process.
However, in the same field, analogous art, Du teaches and wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…line search process (2. Review of the BB step size determination scheme & Page 985 “The steepest descent method takes more time per iteration than the BB method due to the frequent function evaluations required by the exact/inexact line search schemes” teaches step function is trained using a line search process and Barzilai and Borwein).
Tang and Du are analogous art because they are both directed to a Barzilai-Borwein step size in gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme”, as suggested by Du (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Claim 2.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Tang further teaches wherein the base machine learning model includes a gradient descent model (3.2 FILM Algorithm & Page 5 “The BB method is a “looking back” approach that accelerates gradient methods at nearly no extra cost, unlike traditional “looking back” line search approaches (e.g., the Armijo and Wolfe condition” teaches machine learning model includes a gradient learning).
Claim 4.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Du further teaches wherein the base machine learning model comprises a multinomial logit model, and wherein the trained ranking model comprises a multinomial logit choice model (4. A faster path-based traffic assignment algorithm with the BB step size scheme & Page 989 “the SUE problem can be equivalently represented as a fixed-point problem in Eq. (29). Specifically, based on the MNL and CNL path choice models in Eq. (12) and Eqs. (17)–(19), respectively, the network flow pattern defined by the MNL and CNL SUE models can be written as
” teaches machine learning model comprising multinomial logit model).
Tang and Du are analogous art because both are directed Barzilai-Borwein process incorporated into the gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme” (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Claim 5.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Tang further teaches wherein the adaptive step size is determined based on a difference between optimized parameter points and a gradient information vector at a prior iteration and a current iteration (3.2 FILM Algorithm & Page 5 “Since AP is the gradient of the Lagrangian, a natural idea is to consider the following update: Pk+1(τ ) = Pk − τAPk, (22) where τ is a step size to be chosen later. However, Eq. (22) doesn’t guarantee Pk+1(τ ) ∈ St(d, r), and so an additional projection back to St(d, r) is required if we wish to preserve the constraint at each iterate” teaches determine difference between a prior iteration and a current internation).
Claim 6.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Tang further teaches wherein the relevance score is determined based on a set of features related to a recommended item in one of the plurality of recommended item sets, a set of features related to a corresponding anchor item in the plurality of anchor items, and features related to a seller of the recommended item (3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples. Here, anchor sample refers to a sentence s, positive sample refers to a sentence s+ similar to s, and negative sample refers to a sentence s− dissimilar to s. The generation of such triplets {s, s+, s−} is the same as in Step 3 of the Execution of FILM in the previous Subsection” and Step 2 (Rewrite everything in terms of matrices) and Page 4 “
” teaches obtain a step function to determine a score teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (ground truth data) and negative samples (recommended sets) wherein the anchor sample and positive samples are provided as input and negative samples are as targeted output).
Claim 7.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Tang further teaches wherein the base machine learning model is trained to optimize a log-likelihood of an interaction with a first recommended item in one of the plurality of recommended item sets given a related anchor item in the plurality of anchor items (4 Results & Page 7 “Submissions are evaluated on the log loss between the predicted values and the ground truth. By applying our FILM, we obtain a log loss score of 0.32141 from a single classifier (trained less than 20 minutes)” and 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples. Here, anchor sample refers to a sentence s, positive sample refers to a sentence s+ similar to s, and negative sample refers to a sentence s− dissimilar to s. The generation of such triplets {s, s+, s−} is the same as in Step 3 of the Execution of FILM in the previous Subsection” teaches machine learning model trained a log loss score based on the positive and anchor item).
Claim 8.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Tang further teaches wherein iteratively training the base machine learning model includes converting the training dataset to a n-dimensional matrix (3.1 Formalization & Page 3 “a smooth optimization problem with the variable being a lowdimensional matrix lying on the Stiefel manifold” and Algorithm 1
teaches iteratively training the machine learning model includes converting dataset to dimensional matrix).
Claim 9.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 1,
Du further teaches wherein the BB process and line search process are performed iteratively with different frequencies (C. ACCELERATING GD ALGORITHMS & Page 14-15 “A non-exhaustive list of tricks include step size-based approaches including fixed step size, adaptive step size, optimal step sizes including line search, BB methods, etc. Here we show how our abstractTion can be applied to implement BGD5 using backtracking line search. Backtracking line search chooses the step size in each iteration of GD as follows: αki = β ∗ αki−1 , where k is the iteration step of BGD and I is the iteration step of the line search” teaches iteratively run BB and line search process).
Tang and Du are analogous art because both are directed Barzilai-Borwein process incorporated into the gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme”, as suggested by Du (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Claim 10.
Tang teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising: obtaining, from a first database, a training dataset comprising a plurality of anchor items, a plurality of recommended item sets, and ground truth data (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” teaches a system comprising Memory Usage “on CPU”; 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples” and 4 Results & Page 7 “we focus on a recent dataset published by the QA website Quora.com” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (ground truth data) and negative samples (recommended sets) coming from quora.com corresponding to first database);
obtaining a base machine learning model including a step function configured to determine a relevance score (Step 2 (Rewrite everything in terms of matrices) and Page 4 “
” teaches obtain a step function to determine a score and 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 7 “Apart from FILM, we design a deep neural network with loss function similar to the average hinge loss of FILM” teaches FILM design with a deep neural network model corresponds to base machine learning model);
training the base machine learning model to generate a trained ranking model, wherein the plurality of anchor items and the plurality of recommended item sets are provided as an input to the base machine learning model and the ground truth data is provided as a target output (3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples. Here, anchor sample refers to a sentence s, positive sample refers to a sentence s+ similar to s, and negative sample refers to a sentence s− dissimilar to s. The generation of such triplets {s, s+, s−} is the same as in Step 3 of the Execution of FILM in the previous Subsection” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (recommended sets) and negative samples (ground truth data) wherein the anchor sample and positive samples are provided as input and negative samples are as targeted output and Algorithm 1
teaches generate a trained rank constraint model),
and wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to a first order Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process and a line search function (3.2 FILM Algorithm & Page 5 “we apply the Cayley transformation method with Barzilai-Borwein step size” and
teaches the model is iteratively train on step function Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process);
and storing the trained ranking model in a second database (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” and Algorithm 1
teaches model is updated corresponds to storing values in the CPU and GPU corresponding to a second database).
Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…a line search function.
However, in the same field, analogous art, Du teaches wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…a line search function (2. Review of the BB step size determination scheme & Page 985 “The steepest descent method takes more time per iteration than the BB method due to the frequent function evaluations required by the exact/inexact line search schemes” teaches step function is trained using a line search process and Barzilai and Borwein).
Tang and Du are analogous art because they are both directed to a Barzilai-Borwein step size in gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme”, as suggested by Du (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Claim 12.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 4, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 4.
Claim 13.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 5, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 5.
Claim 14.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 6, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 6.
Claim 15.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 7, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 7.
Claim 16.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 8, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 8.
Claim 17.
Tang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, cause a device to perform operations comprising (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” teaches a system comprising Memory Usage “on CPU”):
obtaining, from a first database, a training dataset comprising a plurality of anchor items, a plurality of recommended item sets, and ground truth data (3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples” and 4 Results & Page 7 “we focus on a recent dataset published by the QA website Quora.com” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (ground truth data) and negative samples (recommended sets) coming from quora.com corresponding to first database);
obtaining a base machine learning model including a step function configured to determine a relevance score (Step 2 (Rewrite everything in terms of matrices) and Page 4 “
” teaches obtain a step function to determine a score and 3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 7 “Apart from FILM, we design a deep neural network with loss function similar to the average hinge loss of FILM” teaches FILM design with a deep neural network model corresponds to base machine learning model);
training the base machine learning model to generate a trained ranking model, wherein the plurality of anchor items and the plurality of recommended item sets are provided as an input to the base machine learning model and the ground truth data is provided as a target output (3.4 Deep metric learning with BERT & Page 6-7 “The setup consists of three separate feedforward networks, which take in anchor samples, positive samples and negative samples. Here, anchor sample refers to a sentence s, positive sample refers to a sentence s+ similar to s, and negative sample refers to a sentence s− dissimilar to s. The generation of such triplets {s, s+, s−} is the same as in Step 3 of the Execution of FILM in the previous Subsection” teaches dataset comprising anchor, positive (recommended sets) and negative samples (ground truth data) wherein the anchor sample and positive samples are provided as input and negative samples are as targeted output and Algorithm 1
teaches generate a trained rank constraint model),
and wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to a first order Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process (3.2 FILM Algorithm & Page 5 “we apply the Cayley transformation method with Barzilai-Borwein step size” and
teaches the model is iteratively train on step function Barzilai-Borwein (BB) process);
and storing the trained ranking model in a second database (5 Analysis & Page 8 “FILM is executable on a CPU, but we had to run the black box model on a GPU” and Algorithm 1
teaches model is updated corresponds to storing values in the CPU and GPU corresponding to a second database).
Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…a line search function.
However, in the same field, analogous art, Du teaches wherein the step function is trained using an adaptive step size according to…a line search function (2. Review of the BB step size determination scheme & Page 985 “The steepest descent method takes more time per iteration than the BB method due to the frequent function evaluations required by the exact/inexact line search schemes” teaches step function is trained using a line search process and Barzilai and Borwein).
Tang and Du are analogous art because they are both directed to a Barzilai-Borwein step size in gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme”, as suggested by Du (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Claim 19.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claims 5 and 6, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 5 and 6.
Claim 20.
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 8, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 8.
Claims 3, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (“FILM: A Fast, Interpretable, and Low-rank Metric Learning Approach for Sentence Matching”) in view of Du (“A faster path-based algorithm with Barzilai-Borwein step size for solving stochastic traffic equilibrium models”) and further in view of Kaoudi (“A Cost-based Optimizer for Gradient Descent Optimization”).
Claim 3.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the system of claim 2,
Tang in view of Du does not explicitly teach wherein iteratively training the base machine learning model includes implementing a plurality of parallel gradient descent steps, wherein each of the plurality of parallel gradient descent steps operates on a chunk of the training dataset.
However, Kaoudi teaches wherein iteratively training the base machine learning model includes implementing a plurality of parallel gradient descent steps, wherein each of the plurality of parallel gradient descent steps operates on a chunk of the training dataset (7.1 Operator Cost Model & Page 7 “For example, consider a compute cluster of 10 nodes, each being able to process 2 partitions in parallel. Given this setup, we could parallelize the processing of a given dataset composed of 85 partitions in 5 waves: each wave processing 20 partitions in parallel, except the last wave that processes the remaining 5 partitions” and 7. GD COST MODEL and Page 6 “To estimate the overall cost of a GD plan, it uses a cost model that is composed of the cost per iteration and the number of iterations of the GD plan” teaches iteratively training machine learning model includes a parallel processing for an input datasets).
Tang, Kaoudi and Du are analogous art because they are all directed Barzilai-Borwein process incorporated into the gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Kaoudi into the disclosed invention of Tang in view of Du.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Extensive experiments on real and synthetic datasets show that our optimizer not only chooses the best GD plan but also allows for optimizations that achieve orders of magnitude performance speed-up”, as suggested by Kaoudi (Kaoudi, Abstract, Page 2).
Claim 11,
This claim recites limitations that are similar to the limitations of claim 3, thus is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 3.
Claim 18.
As discussed above, Tang in view of Du teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17,
Du further teaches wherein the base machine learning model comprises a multinomial logit model, and wherein the trained ranking model comprises a multinomial logit choice model (4. A faster path-based traffic assignment algorithm with the BB step size scheme & Page 989 “the SUE problem can be equivalently represented as a fixed-point problem in Eq. (29). Specifically, based on the MNL and CNL path choice models in Eq. (12) and Eqs. (17)–(19), respectively, the network flow pattern defined by the MNL and CNL SUE models can be written as
” teaches machine learning model comprising multinomial logit model).
Tang and Du are analogous art because both are directed Barzilai-Borwein process incorporated into the gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Du into the disclosed invention of Tang.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Numerical experiments are conducted on two real transportation networks to demonstrate the computational efficiency and robustness of the BB step size. The results show that the BB step size outperforms the current step size strategies, i.e., the Armijo rule and the self-regulated averaging scheme” (Du, Abstract, Page 982).
Tang in view of Du does not explicitly teach and wherein iteratively training the base machine learning model includes implementing a plurality of parallel gradient descent steps, wherein each of the plurality of parallel gradient descent steps operates on a chunk of the training dataset.
However, Kaoudi teaches and wherein iteratively training the base machine learning model includes implementing a plurality of parallel gradient descent steps, wherein each of the plurality of parallel gradient descent steps operates on a chunk of the training dataset (7.1 Operator Cost Model & Page 7 “For example, consider a compute cluster of 10 nodes, each being able to process 2 partitions in parallel. Given this setup, we could parallelize the processing of a given dataset composed of 85 partitions in 5 waves: each wave processing 20 partitions in parallel, except the last wave that processes the remaining 5 partitions” and 7. GD COST MODEL and Page 6 “To estimate the overall cost of a GD plan, it uses a cost model that is composed of the cost per iteration and the number of iterations of the GD plan” teaches iteratively training machine learning model includes a parallel processing for an input datasets).
Tang, Kaoudi and Du are analogous art because all are directed Barzilai-Borwein process incorporated into the gradient method.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation(s) above as taught by Kaoudi into the disclosed invention of Tang in view of Du.
One of ordinary skill in the arts would have been motivated to make this modification because of the following, “Extensive experiments on real and synthetic datasets show that our optimizer not only chooses the best GD plan but also allows for optimizations that achieve orders of magnitude performance speed-up” (Kaoudi, Abstract, Page 2).
Conclusion
/LOKESHA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2125
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125