Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 60-97116.
Regarding claim 1, JP 60-97116 discloses a transport arrangement for structural elements for packagings, comprising:
a holding device (4) with a group of holding elements (5, 14), each holding element of the group of holding elements being configured to receive a structural element (1) to be transported for holding; and
a lifting arrangement (3) configured to produce a relative movement in a vertical direction (B) between a group of structural elements and the holding device, the group of structural elements being in a transfer position at a beginning of the relative movement and being received by the group of holding elements at an end of the relative movement;
wherein the holding elements of the group of holding elements of the holding device are adjustable (Q, P1, P2) relative to each other between a receiving configuration and a dispensing configuration;
wherein, in the receiving configuration, the holding elements of the group of holding elements are arranged relative to each other such that a group of structural elements received by the group of holding elements is disposed in a first format in which the structural elements of the group of structural elements are arranged in a plan view in a first spacing grid relative to each other (Fig. 4, left, P1); and
wherein, in the dispensing configuration, the holding elements of the group of holding elements are arranged relative to each other such that a group of structural elements received by the group of holding elements is disposed in a second format in which the structural elements of the group of structural elements are arranged in the plan view in a second spacing grid relative to each other, the second spacing grid being different from the first spacing grid (Fig. 4, right, P2).
Regarding claim 2, JP 60-97116 further discloses wherein, in the transfer position, the group of structural elements is disposed in the first format (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, JP 60-97116 further discloses a provisioning device (sterilizer – not shown) configured to bring the group of structural elements into the transfer position.
Regarding claim 4, JP 60-97116 further discloses wherein the holding device comprises an adjustment arrangement configured to automatically adjust the holding elements of the group of holding elements relative to each other between the receiving configuration and the dispensing configuration (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, JP 60-97116 further discloses wherein the holding elements of the group of holding elements are displaceable relative to each other in a horizontal plane for adjustment between the receiving configuration and the dispensing configuration (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, JP 60-97116 further discloses a transport drive arrangement (15) configured to move the holding device for transporting a group of structural elements received by the holding elements as a whole.
Regarding claim 8, JP 60-97116 further discloses the lifting arrangement is configured to lift the group of structural elements from the transfer position along the vertical direction (B).
Regarding claim 9, JP 60-97116 discloses a method for transporting structural elements of packagings, comprising:
transferring a group of structural elements (1) to a holding device (4), wherein each structural element of the group of structural elements is received by an associated holding element (5, 14) of the holding device after the transfer; and
adjusting the holding elements relative to each other such that the structural elements of the group of structural elements received by the holding elements are disposed before the adjusting in a first format in which the structural elements of the group of structural elements are arranged in a plan view in a first spacing grid relative to each other (Fig. 4, left, P1), and are disposed after the adjusting in a second format in which the structural elements of the group of structural elements are arranged in the plan view in a second spacing grid relative to each other (Fig. 4, right, P2), the second spacing grid being different from the first spacing grid.
Regarding claim 10, JP 60-97116 further discloses the holding device is moved as a whole to transport the structural elements of the group of structural elements received by the holding elements (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 11, JP 60-97116 further discloses the structural elements of the group of structural elements are disposed in the first format when they are transferred to the holding device, and are dispensed from the holding device in the second format (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 12, JP 60-97116 further discloses the structural elements of the group of structural elements are received by the holding elements in a suspended configuration (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 15, JP 60-97116 discloses a method for operating a holding device (4) with holding elements (5, 14) movable relative to each other, the method comprising: transporting a group of structural elements for packagings by a translational movement of the holding device (4) as a whole (Fig. 4, left, P1); and changing positions of structural elements of the group of structural elements relative to each other by shifting the holding elements relative to each other ((Fig. 4, right, P2).
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bargel et al (US 3,209,923).
Regarding claim 15, Bargel discloses a method for operating a holding device with holding elements movable relative to each other (Fig.1), the method comprising: transporting a group of structural elements for packagings by a translational movement of the holding device (35) as a whole (Col.3, lines 30-60); and changing positions of structural elements of the group of structural elements relative to each other by shifting the holding elements relative to each other (Col.3, lines 30-60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 60-97116 in view of Muller (US 3,982,642).
Regarding claim 7, JP 60-97116 does not further specifically disclose the lifting arrangement is configured to deform the structural elements of the group of structural elements during the relative movement between the group of structural elements and the holding device.
Muller teaches a method and arrangement for storing and transporting paper sheets wherein a load is deformed during transport so that, when released, it will again expand in longitudinal direction (Col.4, lines 3-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified JP 60-97116 in view of Muller to allow for deformation of the structural elements during the relative movement between the group of structural elements and the holding device in order to reduce footprint and allow for passage through limited spaces.
Regarding claim 13, JP 60-97116 further discloses wherein, for transferring the structural elements of the group of structural elements to the holding device, a relative movement along a vertical direction is carried out between the structural elements of the group of structural elements and the holding device (B).
JP 60-97116 does not further specifically disclose the structural elements of the group of structural elements are deformed during the relative movement.
Muller teaches a method and arrangement for storing and transporting paper sheets wherein a load is deformed during transport so that, when released, it will again expand in longitudinal direction (Col.4, lines 3-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified JP 60-97116 in view of Muller to allow for deformation of the structural elements during the relative movement between the group of structural elements and the holding device in order to reduce footprint and allow for passage through limited spaces.
Regarding claim 14, JP 60-97116, as modified above, further discloses, wherein a distance between adjacent structural elements in the plan view of the group of structural elements increases during the deforming (enlarging the pitch, Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Austreim, Langen, Franceschi, Auf Der Maur, Sirocchi, Hahnel and Fischer further disclose elements of a method for operating a holding device.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652