DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 07/23/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-23 remain pending within the application.
The amendments filed 07/23/2026 are sufficient to overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/24/2025. The objections have been withdrawn.
The amendments filed 07/23/2026 are sufficient to the 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/24/2025. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 includes the steps of:
A system for providing implicit feedback using multi-factor behavior monitoring, the system comprising: a computing system comprising at least one first processor and at least one first memory having a first plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one first processor, causes the computing system to:
receive a transcript of a conversation between an agent and a user;
provide at least one suggestion to the agent via an agent application based on the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user;
evaluate data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning,
including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion; and
update a knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the following limitations falls within the mental process groupings of abstract ideas because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III. The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“provide at least one suggestion to the agent via an agent application based on the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because providing a suggestion based on a conversation encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
“evaluate data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components, such as machine learning. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
“including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating interactions and determining usage scores encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
“including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating interactions and time stamp data to determine usage scores encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
“update a knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because updating a knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning, with models and machine learning recited at a high level of generality encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, The claim(s) recite(s) in part:
“A system for providing implicit feedback using multi-factor behavior monitoring, the system comprising: a computing system comprising at least one first processor and at least one first memory having a first plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one first processor, causes the computing system to: ”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites additional elements which amount to generic computer components recited at a high level of generality, with merely the words “apply it” or an equivalent with the judicial exception, merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on the additional elements, or merely using the additional elements as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).
“receive a transcript of a conversation between an agent and a user”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites receiving input data, which is mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05.
“including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites displaying suggestions and data transmitted, which are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05.
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they integrates the exception into a practical application. Therefore, no meaningful claim limits are imposed practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed, the claim limitations reciting generic computer elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The claim reciting the additional elements of “display[ing]” amount to outputting information. The claim reciting the additional elements of “receiving” and/or “transmitting” amount to receiving/transmitting information.
“Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)) MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II)(i).
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they warrant significantly more consideration. Thus, the claim does not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 2, which depends upon claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“analyze the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user to find suggestion content related to the transcript”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because analyzing the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user to find suggestion content related to the transcript encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
“wherein to provide the at least one suggestion to the agent comprises to provide at least one suggestion to the agent that references the suggestion content related to the transcript.”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because providing at least one suggestion to the agent that references the suggestion content related to the transcript encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application.
The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 3, which depends upon claim 2 (and thus the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“further comprising an agent device having a display, at least one second processor, and at least one second memory having a second plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one second processor, causes the agent device to execute the agent application to present the at least one suggestion to the agent on the display via a graphical user interface”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites additional elements which amount to generic computer components recited at a high level of generality, with merely the words “apply it” or an equivalent with the judicial exception, merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on the additional elements, or merely using the additional elements as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).
“present the at least one suggestion to the agent on the display via a graphical user interface”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites presenting output data, which is mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim reciting the additional elements of generic computers and mere data gathering do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they integrates the exception into a practical application.
The claim limitations reciting generic computer elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The claim reciting the additional elements of “providing” amount to outputting information. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they warrant significantly more consideration. The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 6, which depends upon claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“wherein evaluating the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning comprises evaluating times at which the at least one suggestion were displayed and times of the agent interactions with the agent application”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating times at which the at least one suggestion were displayed and times of the agent interactions with the agent application encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application.
The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 7, which depends upon claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“wherein updating the knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agents with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning comprises ranking each of the at least one suggestion based on the evaluation”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because ranking each of the at least one suggestion encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B.
The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application.
The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 8, which depends upon claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“wherein to receive the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user comprises receiving transcribed messages of the conversation between the agent and the user in real time”. As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites receiving data, which is mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05.
The claim reciting the additional elements of mere data gathering do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they integrates the exception into a practical application.
The claim reciting the additional elements of “receiving” amount to receiving input information. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in order to determine whether they warrant significantly more consideration. The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claim 21, which depends upon claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated), recite(s) in part:
“evaluate the at least one interaction of the agent with the at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion through evaluation of one or more of cursor position, time focusing on each graphical user interface element, cursor events, mouse over, one or more clicks to open articles, copying and pasting of content, or selecting or highlighting text.” As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating interactions such as various cursor positions and activity, or time spent on various activities, encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. Even if most humans would use a physical aid, like a pen and paper, to make such evaluations, the use of a physical aid would not negate the mental nature of this limitation. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.B. For example, a human could reasonably evaluate how long an interaction takes place or various details relating to the interaction, such as making note of clicks and positions and etc.
The claim does not integrate the judicial exception into practical application.
The claim limitations do not recite additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim is ineligible.
Claims 9-11 and 14-16 are substantially similar to claims 1-3 and 6-8, and thus are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-3 and 6-8.
Claims 17, 18, 19, and 20 are substantially similar to claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 respectively and thus are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 2, 6, and 8 respectively.
Claims 22 and 23 are substantially similar to claim 21 and thus are rejected on the same basis as claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clodore et al. (WO 2021/173611 A1), as cited in the IDS dated 06/26/2024, hereafter Clodore, in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0188366 A1), hereafter Song.
Regarding claim 1, Clodore discloses:
A system for providing implicit feedback using multi-factor behavior monitoring, the system comprising: a computing system comprising at least one first processor and at least one first memory having a first plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one first processor, causes the computing system to (Clodore, Fig. 15, Fig. 1, and ¶[0125]),
receive a transcript of a conversation between an agent and a user (Clodore, Fig. 4 and ¶[0076] teaches receiving conversation transcripts between agents and clients as a transcript of a conversation between an agent and a user),
provide at least one suggestion to the agent via an agent application based on the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user (Clodore, Fig. 4, ¶[0076] and ¶[0089] teaches providing recommendations as suggestions to the agent via an agent application, i.e. agent training system, based on the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user),
evaluate data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning (Clodore, ¶[0090]) teaches evaluating data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning),
update … based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning (Clodore, Fig. 5 and ¶[0094] teaches generating predictions as updates based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning).
While Clodore teaches evaluate data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning, they do not teach –
including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion.
Song discloses:
including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion (Fig. 2, Fig. 9, ¶[0130] and ¶[0059] teaches evaluating interactions of the agent, i.e. user, with an interface element of the users application that displays the suggestion, i.e. recommended articles),
including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion (Fig. 6 and ¶[0059-0062] teaches evaluating data indicative of a timestamp that defines when the suggested article was displayed and viewed by the user and a second timestamp of when a user has interacted with, i.e. clicked, a suggested article, and Fig. 6 teaches determining usage scores for the suggestion),
While Clodore teaches update … based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning, they do not explicitly teach updating a knowledge base model.
Song discloses:
update a knowledge base model … with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning (¶[0035] and ¶[0100] teaches updating a recommendation database, i.e. a knowledge base model, with respect to at least one suggestion using machine learning).
Clodore and Song are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, suggestion models and machine learning.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Clodore to include including evaluation of at least one interaction of the agent with at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion including evaluation of data transmitted from the agent application and indicative of a first time stamp that defines when the at least one suggestion was displayed in the graphical user interface and a second time stamp that defines when the interaction of the agent with the graphical user interface element occurred to determine a usage score for the corresponding suggestion, and update a knowledge base model … with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning, based on the teachings of Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the freshness of the recommended items, as suggested by Song (¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated). Clodore further discloses:
wherein the first plurality of instructions further causes the computing system to analyze the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user to find suggestion content related to the transcript (Clodore, Fig. 4, ¶[0086] and ¶[0089] teaches analyzing transcripts to find suggestion content related to the transcript),
wherein to provide the at least one suggestion to the agent comprises to provide at least one suggestion to the agent that references the suggestion content related to the transcript (Clodore, Fig. 4 and ¶[0089] teaches providing recommendations to the agent that references the suggestion content related to the transcript).
Regarding claim 3, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 2 (and thus the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated). Clodore further discloses:
an agent device having a display, at least one second processor, and at least one second memory having a second plurality of instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one second processor, causes the agent device to execute the agent application to present the at least one suggestion to the agent on the display via a graphical user interface (Clodore, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶[0027] and ¶[0169] teaches multiple devices, including agent terminal devices and presenting suggestions to the agent via the device displays).
Regarding claim 6, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated). Clodore further discloses:
wherein evaluating the data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning comprises evaluating times at which the at least one suggestion were displayed and times of the agent interactions with the agent application (Clodore, ¶[0041] teaches evaluating times at which the at least one suggestion were displayed and times of the agent interactions with the agent application by analyzing communication sessions or transcripts to check whether the agent has followed the suggestion).
Regarding claim 7, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated). Song further discloses:
wherein updating the knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agents with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning comprises ranking each of the at least one suggestion based on the evaluation (Fig. 7 and ¶[0009] teaches ranking the suggested recommendations based on the evaluation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Clodore to include wherein updating the knowledge base model based on the evaluation of the data indicative of behaviors of the agents with respect to the at least one suggestion using machine learning comprises ranking each of the at least one suggestion based on the evaluation, based on the teachings of Song. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the freshness of the recommended items, as suggested by Song (¶[0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated). Clodore further discloses:
wherein to receive the transcript of the conversation between the agent and the user comprises receiving transcribed messages of the conversation between the agent and the user in real time (Clodore, ¶[0041] and ¶[0076] teaches receiving transcribed messages of the conversation between the agent and the user in real time).
Regarding claim 21, Clodore, in view of Song, discloses the system of claim 1 (and thus the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated). Clodore further discloses:
evaluate the at least one interaction of the agent with the at least one graphical user interface element of the agent application that displays the at least one suggestion through evaluation of one or more of cursor position, time focusing on each graphical user interface element, cursor events, mouse over, one or more clicks to open articles, copying and pasting of content, or selecting or highlighting text (Clodore, ¶[0108] discloses evaluation of cursor events).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, and 22 are substantially similar to claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, and 21 respectively, and thus are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, and 21.
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 7 and thus is rejected on the same basis as claim 7.
Claims 17, 18, 19, 20, and 23 are substantially similar to claims 1, 2, 6, 8, and 21 respectively and thus are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 2, 6, 8, and 21 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered with regards to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts on pages 11-12 of the remarks “The Applicant respectfully submits that is the case with at least those limitations of independent claim 1. The features of independent claim 1 simply cannot practically be performed in the human mind and the claim recitations quoted in the Office Action clearly indicate that the operations are performed using machine learning. Those skilled in the art would readily appreciate that the human mind does not perform machine learning nor is machine learning performed with "pen and paper" as suggested on page 6 of the Office Action.”.
The examine respectfully disagrees, as page 6 of the office action filed 04/23/2026 recites “As drafted and under its broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation recites an abstract idea of a mental process because evaluating data indicative of behaviors of the agent with respect to the at least one suggestion encompasses mental evaluations that are practically performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components, such as machine learning [emphasis added]”. The office action also addresses this in the response to 101 arguments in page 22 of the office action filed 04/23/2026. To reiterate, the claim simply recites using generic machine learning to perform the abstract idea. Thus, the recited machine learning is at best directed to additional elements which amount to generic computer components recited at a high level of generality, with merely the words “apply it” or an equivalent with the judicial exception, merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on the additional elements, or merely using the additional elements as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). While the applicant recites from paragraphs [0064] and [0087] of the disclosure to demonstrate that the “complex algorithms” of machine learning cannot be performed mentally, none of the “complex algorithms” described in these passages are shown in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant asserts on page 13-14 of the remarks ”The features of claim 1 are recited with specificity and impose meaningful limits… claim 1 expressly recites specific details on how the system evaluates data transmitted from an agent application that is specifically indicative of time stamps defining when a suggestion was displayed with a graphical user interface element and when the agent interacted with the graphical user interface element to determine a usage score using machine learning, to enable updates to the knowledge base model.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, as the amended claim 1 does not describe how the system evaluates data transmitted from an agent application, but rather what data is being evaluated. The claim does not impose specific and meaningful limits on how the evaluation is carried out, beyond the recitation of “evaluating…using machine learning”. Thus, the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The applicant asserts on page 14 of the remarks “As will be appreciated, by utilizing machine learning and evaluation of interactions with graphical user interface elements, based on data transmitted from an agent application, the recitations of claim 1 represent an improvement in the operation of the computing system itself, by enabling the computing system to more efficiently update the knowledge base.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, as the claim does not recite steps detailing how machine learning is utilized to evaluate interaction to more efficiently update a knowledge base, or any other steps required to reflect a disclosed improvement. The MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) discloses the evaluation of claimed improvements in the functioning of a computer or improvement to a technical field in step 2A prong two. The MPEP section discloses - "if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. Second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. That is, the claim includes the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification... ".
The applicant asserts on page 15 of the remarks “The prior art of record does not teach or suggest each of the features recited in any of the pending claims, as described in more detail with reference to the rejections under § 103. The Applicant further submits that the amended features of the claims likewise recite "additional features" that are not taught by the prior art of record when each claim is interpreted as a whole. The Applicant respectfully submits that at least those features not taught, when read in view of the claim as a whole, constitute significantly more than the alleged abstract idea.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Step 2B does not look to whether prior art teaches the claim, but rather whether the claim includes additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed in the 101 rejection above, the claim limitations reciting generic computer elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The claim reciting the additional elements of “display[ing]” amount to outputting information. The claim reciting the additional elements of “receiving” amount to receiving information.
In response to applicant’s request on page 16 of the remarks, examiner confirms that claims have been examined in light of Ex Parte Desjardins but are still found to be ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered with regards to the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 14-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
U.S. Pub No. 20130346234 A1: Hendrick et al. teaches machine learning, suggestions, and user interaction timestamps.
/H.Z.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141