DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/22/2026 has been entered. New claims 21 and 22 have been added. Claims 4 and 11 have been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, on pages 10-12, the Applicant asserts that independent claims, as amended, includes additional elements including at least “[causing the] display the translated chat messages within the display section of the UI, wherein the plurality of translated chat messages are displayed simultaneously alongside the chat message within the display section of the UI” that do not recite a mental process and that integrate the alleged mental process into a practical application, when considered in the context of the claim as a whole. The Applicant asserts that this is an improvement to existing technologies that “[perform] a translation of the message separately for each participant within the channel”. They further assert that the amended claim 1 integrates the steps into a practical application which is the described improvement to automated translation technologies: simultaneous, real-time display of translations on each client device participating in a group communication session such as a chat channel.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The original claims, and the claims as amended, are merely utilizing computer devices, in this specific case “a client device”, “a user interface (UI)”, and “the display section”, as tools to perform a method which is directed to an abstract idea. The claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a method and a system for providing clients with information, receiving data (i.e. chat messages), analyzing the data to determine contexts associated with the data, determining languages associated with the contexts, determining a language associated with chat messages, matching the chat language with the context language, translating messages if no match is found, and providing the translated messages to each client. This is an abstract idea in the form of certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e. mental processes such as observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). The steps of receiving the data, analyzing the data, comparing the data, translating the data, and outputting and displaying the data could be performed by a human using pen and paper or by purely mental reasoning, save for the recitation of generic computing components. Further, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The recitation of “a client device”, “a user interface (UI)”, and “the display section” are generic instructions to perform the abstract idea on a computer or using computer devices and does not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The “a client device”, “a user interface (UI)”, and “the display section” are recited as such high-levels of generality and are merely used as tools to perform the abstract idea faster or more efficiently. With respect to the claim of technological improvement, it seems the Applicant is merely restating the premise without providing much more. While the claims do not need to explicitly recite improvements shown in the Specification, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvements. Based on the plain reading of the claim itself, there is no reasonable improvement to the functioning of the translation technologies, client devices, the user interfaces, or to any other technology or technical field. The claims do not include any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims, as written and amended, do not include more than mere instructions to perform the abstract method using generic computer components. Hence, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, on pages 12-13, of claims 1-17 and 20 under Lai et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0293230), hereinafter referred to as Lai, and to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, on pages 13-14, of claims 18-19 under Lai et al., in view of Orsini et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0337989), hereinafter referred to as Orsini, the Applicant asserts that Lai does not disclose or suggest the limitations of the newly amended claim 1, consistent “with the agreement reached during the Examiner interview”. Amendments made were not consistent with the amendments provided within the agenda for the Interview dated 06/03/2026.
In response to Lai not disclosing or suggesting the limitations of the newly amended claim 1, Lai Fig. 7-9 show block diagrams and UIs of group chat sessions that show receiving messages from all session members, which discloses “providing, to each client device of a plurality of client devices, information about a group communication session to cause each client device to display the group communication session, the UI comprising a display section for receiving chat messages associated with a plurality of participants of the group communication session”. Fig. 10 reference character 1016 and "The incoming electronic communication is translated into the desired display language using a translation service to form a translated incoming electronic communication responsive to a determination that the language differs from the desired display language," Lai para [0007] and Lai Fig. 13 reference character 1316 inherently implies that the message is being displayed in a different language for each participant, thereby translating into each non-matching target language discloses “if there is no match, generating a plurality of translated chat messages comprising translating, in real-time, the each non-matching target language of the plurality of target languages”. Fig. 10 reference character 1018 and "The translated incoming electronic communication is displayed in the session on a display device," Lai para [0007] and Lai Fig. 13 reference character 1316 inherently implies that the message is being displayed in a different language for each participant, therefore also displaying on their respective UIs discloses “and providing, to each client device of the plurality of client devices, the plurality of translated chat messages to cause each client device of the plurality of client devices to display messages within the display section of the UI”. “In this example, the user has set the display options to display the translated content in text box 804, with the original text available by hovering the mouse over the translated text,” Lai para [0087] discloses “wherein the plurality of translated chat messages are displayed simultaneously alongside the chat message within the display section of the UI ”. Hence, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 12-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 1, 13, and 20 recite “providing, to each client device of a plurality of client devices, information about a group communication session to cause each client device to display a plurality of target languages for translation”, “determining a source language”, “determining whether there is a match between the source language for the each target language”, “generating a plurality of translated chat messages comprising translating, in real-time, the providing, to each client device of the plurality of client devices, the plurality of translated chat messages to cause each client device of the plurality of client devices to display messages”. These limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the abstract idea of “mental processes” because they cover concepts performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Nothing in the claimed elements preclude the steps from practically being performed by a person receiving and reading a chat message from another person, determining a context of conversation based on a history of the group messages, and translating the message into a preferred language.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements “a client device”, “a user interface (UI)”, and “the display section” are all recited at a high- level of generality. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims as a whole are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, prong two).
Claims 1, 13, and 20 do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical applications, the additional elements of “a client device”, “a user interface (UI)”, and “the display section” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (Step 2B).
Dependent claims 1-3, 5-11, 12, 14-19, and 21-22 are directed to the communication session, the conversational context, the language for translation, and user preferences. That is, nothing in the claimed elements, preclude the steps from practically being performed by a person receiving and reading a chat message from another person, determining a context of conversation based on a history of the group messages, and translating the message into a preferred language. Even when considered individually and in combination, the additional elements in claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-22 represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept (Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (US Patent Application No. 20100293230), hereinafter Lai.
Regarding claim 1, Lai discloses a method, comprising: providing, to each client device of a plurality of client devices, information about a group communication session to cause each client device to display the group communication session, the UI comprising a display section for receiving chat messages associated with a plurality of participants of the group communication session (Fig. 7-9 show block diagrams and UIs of group chat sessions that show receiving messages from all session members);
receiving a plurality of chat messages sent by at least a subset of the plurality of participants (Fig. 9 shows a UI for a group chat session, reference character 903 shows where all text messages sent appear, which shows various types of information such as participants, languages being spoken, text editing tools, etc.);
determining one or more conversational contexts between two or more participants of the group communication session ("In illustrative embodiments, translation manager process 309 analyzes incoming electronic communication 311 and automatically identifies incoming communication language 312," Lai para [0054], this is done through an algorithm, such as tri-gram language modeling, which inherently determines the context of the conversation as well since it looks multiple words into the past of the conversation), wherein the one or more conversational contexts comprise a previous group communication session in which at least one participant of the two or more participants was a participant (“In an illustrative embodiment, once group chat session 706 is established, group chat server computer 703 or one or more participant computers 701 and 702 transmit group chat session history 714 to messaging client computer 704. Messaging client computer 704 passes group chat session history 714 to translation manager process 705. Translation manager process 705 analyzes group chat session history 714 and determines one or more group chat session history languages 721,” Lai para [0078]);
determining, based on at least one of the conversational contexts, a plurality of target languages for translation for the group communication session (Lai Fig. 13 reference characters 1310-1316 and “Next, the messaging client computer stores a language parameter set for each participant in the group chat session (1310). A language parameter set for each participant may comprise an incoming communication language and a desired display language. The messaging client computer then transmits a desired display language to each participant in the group chat session (1312). The transmission may be relayed to each participant by the group chat communication server. Likewise, the messaging client computer may then receive a desired display language from each participant in the group chat session (1314). Finally, the messaging client computer may display the desired display language received from each participant in the group chat session (1316),” Lai para [0106]);
and upon receiving the plurality of chat messages, for each chat message of the plurality of chat messages: determining a source language for the chat message (Fig. 10 reference character 1006 and "The messaging client computer then determines an incoming electronic communication language (1006). The determination may be made using well-known algorithms, such as the trigrams algorithm," Lai para [0091]);
determining whether there is a match between the source language for the each target language of the plurality of target languages (Fig. 10 reference character 1012 and "The incoming electronic communication is translated into the desired display language using a translation service to form a translated incoming electronic communication responsive to a determination that the language differs from the desired display language," Lai para [0007]);
if there is no match, generating a plurality of translated chat messages comprising translating, in real-time, the each non-matching target language of the plurality of target languages (Fig. 10 reference character 1016 and "The incoming electronic communication is translated into the desired display language using a translation service to form a translated incoming electronic communication responsive to a determination that the language differs from the desired display language," Lai para [0007] and Lai Fig. 13 reference character 1316, inherently implies that the message is being displayed in a different language for each participant, thereby translating into each non-matching target language);
and providing, to each client device of the plurality of client devices, the plurality of translated chat messages to cause each client device of the plurality of client devices to display messages within the display section of the UI (Fig. 10 reference character 1018 and "The translated incoming electronic communication is displayed in the session on a display device," Lai para [0007] and Lai Fig. 13 reference character 1316, inherently implies that the message is being displayed in a different language for each participant, therefore also displaying on their respective UIs), wherein the plurality of translated chat messages are displayed simultaneously alongside the chat message within the display section of the UI (“In this example, the user has set the display options to display the translated content in text box 804, with the original text available by hovering the mouse over the translated text,” Lai para [0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the group communication session is one or more of: chat-based, video-based, and audio-based ("Electronic communication 303 and electronic communication 306 may consist of text, audio, video, and/or some other suitable information," Lai para [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the conversational contexts relates to a language shared between the participants in the conversational context ("In one illustrative embodiment, a language is identified using a processor for an incoming electronic communication received from a sender computer in the session," Lai para [0007] and "The messaging client computer then identifies a desired display language (1008). The desired display language may be identified using, for example, user input or default settings of the system," Lai para [0091]).
Regarding claim 5, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the conversational contexts is inferred from one or more of: chat messages, audio messages, or video messages between two or more of the participants in the group communication session ("Electronic communication 303 and electronic communication 306 may consist of text, audio, video, and/or some other suitable information," Lai para [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of target languages for translation is further based on one or more preconfigured user preferences ("The messaging client computer then identifies a desired display language (1008). The desired display language may be identified using, for example, user input or default settings of the system," Lai para [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the plurality of target languages for translation is further based on one or more inferred user preferences ("The messaging client computer then identifies a desired display language (1008). The desired display language may be identified using, for example, user input or default settings of the system," Lai para [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Lai discloses the method of claim 7, wherein at least one of the inferred user preferences is inferred from analyzing one or more of: transcripts of past conversations, and determined conversational contexts of past group communication sessions (Fig. 13 reference characters 1310, 1312, 1314, and 1316).
Regarding claim 9, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the group communication session is a channel maintained on a communication platform, the plurality of target languages being prespecified for all chat messages received within the channel ("Each session 310 and 315 may contain desired display languages 314 and 319, respectively. Desired display language 314 and 319 may be set by the user on a per-session basis and may be changed at any time," Lai para [0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Lai discloses the method of claim 9, wherein for each received chat message, one translation is performed for all participants within the channel ("Translation service computer 413 performs machine translation on outgoing electronic communication 408 and returns translated outgoing electronic communication 412 to messaging client computer 404. Messaging client computer 404 transmits outgoing electronic communication 408 to communication server computer 403," Lai para [0067]; this only shows one translation occurring from messaging client compute to recipient computer).
Regarding claim 12, Lai discloses the method of claim 1, plurality of target languages may be displayed for each of the translated chat messages based on a setting of a language toggle UI element ("The user may also set display options in dropdown 908. In this example, the user has set the display options to display the translated content in text box 903, with the original text available by hovering the mouse over the translated text," Lai para [0090]).
As to claim 13, system claim 13 and method claim 1 are related as method and system of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the method step. Accordingly, claim 13 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to the method claim.
Regarding claim 14, Lai discloses the communication system of claim 13, the one or more processors being further configured to perform the operation of: displaying, on one or more additional client devices associated with one or more of the participants plurality of target languages ("The user may also set display options in dropdown 813. In this example, the user has set the display options to display the translated content in text box 807, with the original text available by hovering the mouse over the translated text," Lai para [0088], other display options in dropdown 813 could include notifications of translations, or displaying both the original message and translation and stating what the languages are).
Regarding claim 15, Lai discloses the communication system of claim 13, the one or more processors being further configured to perform the operation of: displaying, at an additional client device associated with a sending participant of each chat message, the translated chat messages in the plurality of target languages ("A session may be a chat between two or more users of a messaging system," Lai para [0027] and "Translated incoming electronic communications from all participants in list 905 are displayed in text box 903," Lai para [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, Lai discloses the communication system of claim 13, the one or more processors being further configured to perform the operation of: displaying, at each client device of the plurality of client devices, each chat message as originally sent alongside the translated chat messages within the display section of the UI ("The user may also set display options in dropdown 908. In this example, the user has set the display options to display the translated content in text box 903, with the original text available by hovering the mouse over the translated text," Lai para [0090]).
Regarding claim 17, Lai discloses the communication system of claim 13, wherein the translating is performed via one or more of: a translation Application Programming Interface (API) associated with a communication platform which maintains the group communication session, and a third-party translation API ("Translation manager process 309 may request incoming electronic communication 311 be translated by translation service computer 320 by using, for example, an application programming interface (API) call, remote procedure call (RPC), or a service-oriented architecture (SOA) request," Lai para [0055]).
As to claim 20, computer-readable medium (CRM) claim 20 and method claim 1 are related as method and CRM of using same, with each claimed element’s function corresponding to the method step. Accordingly, claim 20 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to the method claim.
Regarding claim 21, Lai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lai further discloses further comprising receiving an indication at a first client device of the plurality of client devices to toggle the translates chat messages between the source language and at least one target language of the plurality of target languages (Lai Fig. 8 reference character 808 and “The user sets the incoming communication language using dropdown field 808, and the desired display language using dropdown field 809,” Lai para [0087]).
Regarding claim 22, Lai discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Lai further discloses further comprising displaying, at each client device, adjacent to the translated chat messages, an indication of the source language from which the chat messages were translated (Lai Fig. 8 reference character 808 and “Likewise, Chinese incoming communications will be translated to English prior to display in text box 804,” Lai para [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai in view of Orsini et al. (US Patent Application No. 20140337989), hereinafter Orsini.
Regarding claim 18, Lai discloses the system of claim 13. Lai fails to disclose: upon the group communication session being terminated, providing a UI enable review a transcript of the translated chat messages within the group communication session.
Orsini teaches various forms of multi-lingual communications.
Orsini teaches the communication system of claim 13, the one or more processors being further configured to perform the operation of: upon the group communication session being terminated, providing a UI enable review a transcript of the translated chat messages within the group communication session (Fig. 33B reference character 3312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lai’s teachings of automatic understanding and translation of incoming and outgoing messages with Orisini’s teaching of a system for viewing a transcript of the translated chat messages that were sent and received during the messaging session. This would allow for all users to be able to catalog what was said in their own history for later review, allowing call-backs or written histories that are important or relevant to users. This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Lai discloses the system of claim 13. Lai fails to disclose: upon the group communication session being terminated, providing, at each client device of the plurality of client devices, a UI enable request translation of the chat messages from the group communication session into one or more additional languages different from the plurality of target languages; translating the chat messages from the group communication session into the one or more additional languages; and displaying, at the client device, a transcript of the translated chat messages in the one or more additional languages within the group communication session.
Orsini teaches the communication system of claim 13, the one or more processors being further configured to perform the operation of: upon the group communication session being terminated, providing, at each client device of the plurality of client devices, a UI enable request translation of the chat messages from the group communication session into one or more additional languages different from the plurality of target languages (Fig. 33B reference character 3314 and 3316);
translating the chat messages from the group communication session into the one or more additional languages (Fig. 33B reference character 3314 and 3316);
and displaying, at the client device, a transcript of the translated chat messages in the one or more additional languages within the group communication session ("The chat history module 3300 preferably performs the transformations and/or translations in real-time, as the user scrolls through the chat history," Orsini para [0345]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lai’s teachings of automatic understanding and translation of incoming and outgoing messages with Orisini’s teaching of a system for translating the transcript of the messages sent into various other languages of the user’s choice. This would allow for users to be able to review the chat history in any language of their choosing, helping to further understand what was said in the time of the messaging session. This would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM MICHAEL WEAVER/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658