DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has submitted the following:
Claims 1-21 are pending examination;
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 12, 14-15, 18, and 20-21 are newly amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach all of the limitations of newly amended independent claims 1, 12, and 20-21. Specifically, Applicant argues that cited Yoshino does not teach such limitations as:
a dedicated real-time handler interface, wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is operable to: provide a trigger signal to a handler coupled to the dedicated real-time handler interface to direct the handler to execute a temperature control function of the handler.
Applicant further argues that Yoshino’s feed-forward data does not teach the trigger signal to a handler to direct the handler to execute a temperature control function.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the previous Office Action, Yoshino teaches a combination of feed-forward and feedback data for directing the execution of a temperature control function. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the handler (handler 108) is provided signals from a dedicated (the interface serves no other function) real-time handler interface (Figs. 1 and 7; [0048] lines 6-10, “That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed.”). Further, the interface provides a trigger signal to the handler to execute a temperature control function ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the real time feedback data indicating the temperature is increasing that is provided to the handler, is the trigger signal; and the cooling system (which is controlled by the handler) adjusting the temperature by increasing the degree of cooling or making fine-tune steps in adjustment is the executed temperature control function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshino et al. (US 20190086468 A1, provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshino teaches Automated test equipment (ATE) (ATE 100) for testing a device under test (DUT) (DUT 105), the ATE comprising:
a processor (processor 101); and
a dedicated real-time handler interface (Figs. 1 and 7; [0048] lines 6-10, “That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed.”) , wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is operable to:
provide a trigger signal ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”) to a handler (handler 108) coupled to the dedicated real-time handler interface (Figs. 1 and 7) to direct the handler to execute([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”) a temperature control function of the handler ([0060] lines 12-16, “The handler's cooling system (e.g., ATC system) will use the control signals to respond to both expected temperature surges and unexpected temperature changes, as previously described herein.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.). The real time feedback data indicating the temperature is increasing that is provided to the handler, is the trigger signal; and the cooling system (which is controlled by the handler) adjusting the temperature by increasing the degree of cooling or making fine-tune steps in adjustment is the executed temperature control function.; and
provide an additional signal, other than the trigger signal ([0051] lines 3-10, “feed-forward control can achieve a stable thermal condition in the DUT 105 by starting cooling of the DUT before the temperature rise begins, suppressing the rapid thermal change. Because the synchronized temperature profile 210 identifies the cycle in the test pattern at which the temperature rise begins, it can be utilized as a reference for a predefined thermal control sequence.”), wherein the additional signal comprises at least one of: control information used to generate or modify a temperature control profile (Fig. 5); control information used to adjust temperature regulation performed by the handler ([0052] lines 1-7, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data. The feed-forward temperature profile aligns the cooling system 109 to the expected device (DUT) temperature.”); information pertaining to a measurement performed by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 504); information pertaining to a value extracted from a data stream by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 506 temperature profile); test state parameters ([0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”). The test pattern, used in determining the temperature profile, is the test state parameters; and alarm information.
Regarding claim 2, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the processor is operable to extract a value from a digital data stream of a DUT coupled to the handler ([0037] lines 2-8, “the ATE 100 synchronizes the temperature profile and the cycles of the test pattern 106 to produce a profile 210 of junction temperature versus cycle. The profile 210 may be referred to herein as a synchronized temperature profile. In an embodiment, power consumption measurements of the DUT 105 during execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT and the cycles of the test pattern are also synchronized.”), and wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is operable to transmit the value to the handler (Fig. 7; [0030] lines 1-3, “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105.”).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is operable to transmit a value measured by the ATE to the handler ([0048] lines 1-10, “FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating the ATE 100, DUT 105, and handler 108 in embodiments according to the present invention. In the FIG. 7 embodiments, during execution of a test pattern on the DUT 105, the junction temperatures determined by the second thermal sensor 206 are fed to the cooling (e.g., ATC) system 109. That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed.”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein a latency of said additional signal and a latency said trigger signal are less than a time constant ([0053] lines 3-10, “In FIG. 8A, a test pattern is executed and only feedback control is used. For example, only feedback control may be used when a particular test pattern is first executed, to accumulate temperature data that can be used to identify which parts/cycles of the test pattern cause temperature surges, the magnitude of the temperature surge, and to generate a synchronized temperature profile for that test pattern.”; [0054] lines 2-11, “at cycle N, where the temperature surge starts to increase to a level that may be unacceptable as indicated by the threshold in FIG. 8A, feed-forward control can be used to suppress the temperature surge as shown in FIG. 8B. Because the magnitude of the temperature surge is determined when only feedback control is used, the amount of cooling needed to suppress the temperature surge and maintain stable thermal control can also be determined in advance and applied at cycle N when the test pattern is subsequently executed.”) of a control loop that controls the temperature control function (Fig. 7; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”; [0060] lines 8-16, “the ATE feeds a thermal control signal that it has calculated based on the three inputs mentioned above (the previously determined synchronized temperature profile, real-time temperature data, and power measurement results). The handler's cooling system (e.g., ATC system) will use the control signals to respond to both expected temperature surges and unexpected temperature changes, as previously described herein.”). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the signals are provided with a latency less than a time constant of the control loop (time to cool anticipated at cycle N) would be necessary to achieve the recited result (Fig. 8B)).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the temperature control function comprises executing a control loop using the dedicated real-time handler interface, and wherein the temperature control function is operable to consider real-time information transmitted via the dedicated real-time handler interface (Fig. 7; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 6, wherein the control loop comprises the automated test equipment (Fig. 7, ATE 100), and wherein the processor is operable to regulate testing in concert with the handler ([0030] “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105. In embodiments, the handler 108 includes a cooling system 109 (e.g., an active thermal control, ATC, system) that can be used to cool the DUT 105 during testing.”).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is operable to provide said trigger signal and said additional signal for use by the temperature control function in real-time (Fig. 7; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the dedicated real-time handler interface is comprised in a temperature regulation loop (Fig. 7; [0030] “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105. In embodiments, the handler 108 includes a cooling system 109 (e.g., an active thermal control, ATC, system) that can be used to cool the DUT 105 during testing.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”). The thermal control, wherein the handler (and cooling system) receives the temperature profile, responds with cooling the DUT, and receives the real-time feedback data, is the temperature regulation loop.
Regarding claim 10, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the processor is operable to perform integrated ([0033] lines 4-12, “the ATE 100 includes a differential sampler 202, the DUT 105 is mounted on the load board 208 and includes a first thermal sensor 204, and the load board includes a relay 205 and a second thermal sensor 206. The first thermal sensor 204 is internal to the DUT 105 and can be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature, and the second thermal sensor 206 is external to the DUT and can also be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature.”) regulation (cooling system 109) distributed between the automated test equipment and the handler ([0048] “FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating the ATE 100, DUT 105, and handler 108 in embodiments according to the present invention. In the FIG. 7 embodiments, during execution of a test pattern on the DUT 105, the junction temperatures determined by the second thermal sensor 206 are fed to the cooling (e.g., ATC) system 109. That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, further comprising a pattern generator ([0031] “The processor 101 is configured to provide signals to the DUT 105 on the basis of a sequence of instructions that define and implement a test program 106 that can, for example, be stored or buffered in the memory 102. The instructions define test vectors that make up a test pattern. The processor 101 is configured to map a test vector into a set (waveform) of signal states or signal transitions (cycles) that are executed on or by the DUT 105 during testing. A cycle may correspond to a single test vector.”), wherein the processor is operable to control a regulation function for testing the DUT based on a pattern generated by the pattern generator ([0035] lines 1-12, “during testing of the DUT 105 (during execution of the test pattern 106), the ATE 100 uses a signal (e.g., voltage level) received from the first thermal sensor 204 and measured by the differential sampler 202 to determine temperature data of the DUT, specifically a temperature profile comprising junction temperatures of the DUT versus time. (A voltage level received from the first thermal sensor 204 is the voltage across that thermal sensor.) In an embodiment, the temperature data (profile) is stored in memory (e.g., the memory 102 of FIG. 1). In embodiments, the ATE 100 then correlates or synchronizes the temperature profile and the cycles of the test sequence.”; [0053] lines 3-10, “In FIG. 8A, a test pattern is executed and only feedback control is used. For example, only feedback control may be used when a particular test pattern is first executed, to accumulate temperature data that can be used to identify which parts/cycles of the test pattern cause temperature surges, the magnitude of the temperature surge, and to generate a synchronized temperature profile for that test pattern.”; [0054] lines 1-6, “[0054] In FIG. 8B, the same test pattern is executed and feed-forward control is also used. Thus, for example, at cycle N, where the temperature surge starts to increase to a level that may be unacceptable as indicated by the threshold in FIG. 8A, feed-forward control can be used to suppress the temperature surge as shown in FIG. 8B.”).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshino teaches A handler (handler 108) for testing a device under test (DUT) (DUT 105)), the handler comprising:
a circuit (processor 101; [0023] lines 16-18, “well-known methods, procedures, components, and circuits have not been described in detail so as not to unnecessarily obscure aspects of the present invention.”; [0025] lines 5-13, “it is appreciated that throughout the present disclosure, discussions utilizing terms such as “accessing,” “measuring,” “synchronizing,” “calibrating,” “applying,” “receiving,” “sending,” “determining,” “controlling,” “feeding,” “executing,” or the like, refer to actions and processes (e.g., the flowcharts 500 and 900 of FIGS. 5 and 9, respectively) of a computer system or similar electronic computing device or processor (e.g., the automated test equipment 100 of FIG. 1).”); and a dedicated real-time tester interface (Figs. 1 and 7; [0048 lines 6-10, “That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed.”), wherein the circuit is operable to:
receive a trigger signal ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”) and an additional signal ([0051] lines 3-10, “feed-forward control can achieve a stable thermal condition in the DUT 105 by starting cooling of the DUT before the temperature rise begins, suppressing the rapid thermal change. Because the synchronized temperature profile 210 identifies the cycle in the test pattern at which the temperature rise begins, it can be utilized as a reference for a predefined thermal control sequence.”) via the dedicated real-time tester interface (Fig. 7); and
execute a temperature control function for of a DUT site ([0052] lines 1-7, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data. The feed-forward temperature profile aligns the cooling system 109 to the expected device (DUT) temperature.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.), and wherein the additional signal comprises at least one of:
control information pertaining to a temperature control profile (Fig. 5); control information pertaining to temperature regulation performed by the handler ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-7, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data. The feed-forward temperature profile aligns the cooling system 109 to the expected device (DUT) temperature.”); information pertaining to a value determined by an automated test equipment (ATE) (Fig. 5, step 504, ATE 100); information pertaining to a value extracted from a data stream by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 506 temperature profile); test state parameters ([0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”). The test pattern, used in determining the temperature profile, is the test state parameters; and alarm information.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the circuit is further operable to:
determine a temperature parameter comprising at least one of a cooling amplitude ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”); a cooling duration; and a cooling strength (Fig. 8B; [0054] lines 6-11, “Because the magnitude of the temperature surge is determined when only feedback control is used, the amount of cooling needed to suppress the temperature surge and maintain stable thermal control can also be determined in advance and applied at cycle N when the test pattern is subsequently executed.; ”); and
use the temperature parameter to generate at least one of: another temperature control profile; and a temperature regulation profile (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the circuit executes the temperature control function based on real-time information received via the dedicated real-time tester interface (Figs. 1 and 7; [0030] “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105. In embodiments, the handler 108 includes a cooling system 109 (e.g., an active thermal control, ATC, system) that can be used to cool the DUT 105 during testing.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the temperature control function comprises a control loop that uses the circuit (Fig. 7; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”; [0060] lines 8-16, “the ATE feeds a thermal control signal that it has calculated based on the three inputs mentioned above (the previously determined synchronized temperature profile, real-time temperature data, and power measurement results). The handler's cooling system (e.g., ATC system) will use the control signals to respond to both expected temperature surges and unexpected temperature changes, as previously described herein.”). The synchronized temperature, wherein reference temperature data and real-time temperature (by way of high-speed differential sampler) are synchronized, anticipates the trigger signal (shown in Fig. 8 B), and thereby has a latency less than the time constant of the control loop, wherein the loop of Fig. 7 (ATE, feed-forward data, handler, thermal control, and feedback data) is the control loop,
and wherein the circuit is operable to perform integrated ([0033] lines 4-12, “the ATE 100 includes a differential sampler 202, the DUT 105 is mounted on the load board 208 and includes a first thermal sensor 204, and the load board includes a relay 205 and a second thermal sensor 206. The first thermal sensor 204 is internal to the DUT 105 and can be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature, and the second thermal sensor 206 is external to the DUT and can also be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature.”) regulation (cooling system 109) in concert with the ATE during testing of the DUT ([0048] “FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating the ATE 100, DUT 105, and handler 108 in embodiments according to the present invention. In the FIG. 7 embodiments, during execution of a test pattern on the DUT 105, the junction temperatures determined by the second thermal sensor 206 are fed to the cooling (e.g., ATC) system 109. That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the real time tester interface is operable to provide said trigger signal and said additional signal for use by the temperature control function in real-time (Fig. 7; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the circuit is further operable to perform the temperature control function during testing of the DUT (Fig. 7; [0030] “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105. In embodiments, the handler 108 includes a cooling system 109 (e.g., an active thermal control, ATC, system) that can be used to cool the DUT 105 during testing).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the dedicated real-time tester interface is accessed by a temperature regulation loop of the temperature control function (Fig. 7; [0030] “The ATE 100 can interface with a handler 108 that provides a test platform or device interface board for the DUT 105. In embodiments, the handler 108 includes a cooling system 109 (e.g., an active thermal control, ATC, system) that can be used to cool the DUT 105 during testing.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshino teaches The handler as described in Claim 12, wherein the circuit is further operable to perform integrated ([0033] lines 4-12, “the ATE 100 includes a differential sampler 202, the DUT 105 is mounted on the load board 208 and includes a first thermal sensor 204, and the load board includes a relay 205 and a second thermal sensor 206. The first thermal sensor 204 is internal to the DUT 105 and can be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature, and the second thermal sensor 206 is external to the DUT and can also be any type of device that can be used to determine a temperature.”) regulation (cooling system 109), wherein the temperature regulation is distributed between the ATE and the circuit ([0048] “FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating the ATE 100, DUT 105, and handler 108 in embodiments according to the present invention. In the FIG. 7 embodiments, during execution of a test pattern on the DUT 105, the junction temperatures determined by the second thermal sensor 206 are fed to the cooling (e.g., ATC) system 109. That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshino teaches A method of testing (Abstract, ATE 100) a device under test (DUT) (DUT 105) using a handler (handler 108), the method comprising:
providing a trigger signal ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”) to a handler (handler 108) via a dedicated real-time handler interface (Figs. 1 and 7) to direct the handler to execute ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”) a temperature control function of the handler ([0060] lines 12-16, “The handler's cooling system (e.g., ATC system) will use the control signals to respond to both expected temperature surges and unexpected temperature changes, as previously described herein.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.). The real time feedback data indicating the temperature is increasing that is provided to the handler, is the trigger signal; and the cooling system (which is controlled by the handler) adjusting the temperature by increasing the degree of cooling or making fine-tune steps in adjustment is the executed temperature control function.; and
providing an additional signal to the handler via the dedicated real-time handler interface ([0051] lines 3-10, “feed-forward control can achieve a stable thermal condition in the DUT 105 by starting cooling of the DUT before the temperature rise begins, suppressing the rapid thermal change. Because the synchronized temperature profile 210 identifies the cycle in the test pattern at which the temperature rise begins, it can be utilized as a reference for a predefined thermal control sequence.”), wherein the additional signal comprises at least one of: control information used to generate or modify a temperature control profile (Fig. 5); control information used to generate or modify temperature regulation performed by the handler ([0052] lines 1-7, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data. The feed-forward temperature profile aligns the cooling system 109 to the expected device (DUT) temperature.”); information pertaining to a value determined by an automated test equipment (ATE) (Fig. 5, step 504, ATE 100); information pertaining to a value extracted from a data stream of the DUT by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 506 temperature profile; [0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”); test state parameters ([0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”). The test pattern, used in determining the temperature profile, is the test state parameters; and alarm information.
Regarding claim 21, Yoshino teaches A method of testing (Abstract) a device under test (DUT) (DUT 105) using an automated test equipment (ATE) (ATE 100), the method comprising:
receiving a trigger signal from the ATE (Fig. 7, as indicated by feedback data arrow from ATE 100; [0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”) via a dedicated real-time handler interface (Figs. 1 and 7; [0048] lines 6-10, “That is, the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed.”) that directs a handler (handler 108) to execute ([0048] lines 6-13, “the handler 108 receives direct junction temperature readings in real time as feedback data that can be used to adjust the degree of cooling provided by the cooling system 109 while a test pattern is being executed. For example, if the feedback data indicates that the junction temperature is increasing during testing, then the cooling system 109 can increase the degree of cooling.”) a temperature control function of the handler ([0060] lines 12-16, “The handler's cooling system (e.g., ATC system) will use the control signals to respond to both expected temperature surges and unexpected temperature changes, as previously described herein.”; [0052] lines 1-5, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data.”, lines 7-11, “”Because the cooling system 109 is pre-aligned to the expected device temperature based on the feed-forward temperature profile, the real-time adjustments become fine-tuning steps that are inherently faster and more accurate.). The real time feedback data indicating the temperature is increasing that is provided to the handler, is the trigger signal; and the cooling system (which is controlled by the handler) adjusting the temperature by increasing the degree of cooling or making fine-tune steps in adjustment is the executed temperature control function.; and
receiving an additional signal from the ATE via the dedicated real-time handler interface ([0051] lines 3-10, “feed-forward control can achieve a stable thermal condition in the DUT 105 by starting cooling of the DUT before the temperature rise begins, suppressing the rapid thermal change. Because the synchronized temperature profile 210 identifies the cycle in the test pattern at which the temperature rise begins, it can be utilized as a reference for a predefined thermal control sequence.”), wherein the additional signal comprises at least one of: control information used to generate or modify a temperature control profile (Fig. 5); control information used to generate or modify temperature regulation performed by the handler ([0052] lines 1-7, “the cooling system 109 accepts both the feed-forward temperature profile information and real-time temperature measurement data, in order to respond to both the anticipated thermal profile as described above and real-time device-specific thermal data. The feed-forward temperature profile aligns the cooling system 109 to the expected device (DUT) temperature.”); information pertaining to a value determined by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 504); information pertaining to a value extracted from a data stream of the DUT by the ATE (Fig. 5, step 506 temperature profile; [0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”); test state parameters ([0044] “In block 504 of FIG. 5, with reference also to FIGS. 1 and 2, junction temperatures of the DUT 105 are measured. During execution of the test pattern 106 on the DUT 105, the voltage level of the first thermal sensor 204 is measured by the differential sampler 202 over time, and these voltage levels are used to determine junction temperatures.”). The test pattern, used in determining the temperature profile, is the test state parameters; and alarm information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haefner et al. (US 20160109485 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshino teaches The ATE as described in Claim 1, wherein the real-time handler interface is operable to transmit signals between the ATE and the handler (Fig. 7).
Yoshino does not teach the ATE, wherein the real-time handler interface is operable to transmit signals between the ATE and the handler with a latency below 1 ms.
Haefner teaches an analogous ATE (ATE 110), wherein the real-time handler interface is operable to transmit signals between the ATE and the handler ([0016] lines 3-10, “The test system includes automated test equipment (ATE) 110 and an interface board, probe card, load board, handler or the like 120. The term interface board 120 will be used hereinafter to refer to an interface board, probe card, load board, handler or the like device for coupling one or more devices under test (DUT) to the ATE 110. The interface board 120 is communicatively coupled between the ATE 110 and a device under test (DUT) 130.”) with a latency below 1 ms ([0003] lines 10-19, “The ATE system may be adapted to measure temperatures on the DUTs and/or interface board, and shut down testing if elevated temperatures are detected. However, there may be substantially latency in the ATE's ability to react to such conditions because it takes time for data related to temperatures on the DUT, probe card or the like to be captured, to be transmitted to the ATE, and for the ATE to perform the necessary calculations. Therefore, there is a continuing need for improved thermal overload detection and recovery techniques.”; [0036] “Embodiments of the present technology advantageously provide real time temperature feedback and protection to automatic test equipment, associated interface board and/or devices under test. The protection provided by embodiments of the present technology operate without the ATE having to make such temperature measurements. Accordingly embodiments of the present technology advantageously function autonomously to monitor and act on temperature boundary crossings to prevent equipment damage and possible bodily bard to operators thereof.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ATE of Yoshino to include the limiting latency of the signals of Haefner because it would yield predictable and advantageous results
Even if Haefner does not explicitly teach a latency below 1 ms, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the value of the latency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.B.G./ Examiner, Art Unit
2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857