DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, 12-17, 19, and 20 are pending. Claims 2, 9-11, and 18 have been canceled. Note that, Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed February 24, 2026, have been entered.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 26, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 11/24/25 have been withdrawn:
The rejection of claims 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-4 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al (US2020/0255770), has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 9-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamboli (US2019/0390139) in view Das et al (US2020/0255770), has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 6-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamboli (US2019/0390139) in view Das et al (US2020/0255770) as applied to claims 1-5 and 9-16 above, and further in view of Lee (US2009/0133716), Lee (US2009/0130849), or Andreas (US2003/0089891), has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to instant claim 3, it is vague and indefinite in that it is unclear as to how “potassium acetate” is an acid. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamboli (US2019/0390139).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Tamboli teaches Post Chemical Mechanical Planarization (CMP) cleaning composition which comprises water, an organic acid, a fluoride compound, a polymeric additive, and optionally, a surfactant, corrosion inhibitors, biological preservatives (i.e., biocides), etc. The one or more organic acids or salts are selected from the group comprising dicarboxylic acid, hydroxycarboxylic acid, polycarboxylic acid, salts, and combinations thereof. The fluoride compound is selected from the group comprising hydrofluoric acid, ammonium fluoride, ammonium bifluoride, quaternary ammonium fluoride and combinations. The one polymeric additive is selected from a group comprising anionic polymer, non-ionic polymer and cationic polymer and combinations thereof. The surfactant is selected from the group consisting of non-ionic surfactants, anionic surfactants, cationic surfactants, ampholytic surfactants, and mixtures thereof, where composition has a pH of between 1-7. See Abstract and para. 7. Suitable acids include oxalic acid, citric acid, acetic acid, glycine, alpha-alanine, cystine, etc., which may be used in amounts from 1% to 30% by weight. In some embodiments formulations comprises one or more anionic polymer or copolymers. Preferred anionic polymer is acrylic acid-acrylamido propane sulfonic acid copolymer (AA-AMPS). In preferred embodiments the molecular weight of the polymer may be between 100-1,000,000, or more preferably between 200 and 100,000 or most preferable between 1000 and 10,000. In some more preferred embodiments, the acrylic acid (x): 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid (y) mole ratio (x:y) in the copolymer is between 90:10 to 70:30. An example of preferred AA-AMPS copolymer that is used in the working examples is Dequest® P9300 available Italmatch Chemicals (Genova, Italy). Polymers or mixtures thereof can be added in concentrations from 0.01 to 10 wt. % to the cleaning formulations. Addition of the polymers to post CMP formulations with appropriate bases leads to great improvement in cleaning performance. Without binding to any particular mechanism, one of the possible mechanism may be physical adsorption on surfaces, which would prevent re-deposition of removed particles and other residues. Another likely mechanism is the strong affinity towards the residues (organics) thereby increasing the driving force on lift-off during the cleaning process. See paras. 51-58.
Tamboli does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, s second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, s second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of Tamboli suggest a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, s second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3,599,633 in view of Tamboli (US2019/0390139).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘633 teaches aqueous compositions used to remove photoresist, etch and ash residue and contaminants from semiconductor substrates without attacking to any undesired extent-metal, low-k dielectric, and/or high-k dielectric materials that might also be exposed to the composition. See para. 8. In a cleaning method involving articles such as substrates useful for microelectronic devices, typical contaminants to be removed may include, for example, organic compounds such as exposed and ashed photoresist material, ashed photoresist residue, UV- or X-ray-hardened photoresist, C-F-containing polymers, low and high molecular weight polymers, and other organic etch residues; inorganic compounds such as metal oxides, ceramic particles from chemical mechanical planarization (CMP) slurries and other inorganic etch residues; metal containing compounds such as organometallic residues and metal organic compounds; ionic and neutral, light and heavy inorganic (metal) species, moisture, and insoluble materials, including particles generated by processing such as planarization and etching processes. In one particular embodiment, residues removed are processing residues such as those created by reactive ion etching. See para. 25.
The cleaning composition comprises water; oxalic acid, and two or more types of corrosion inhibitors selected from the following three types of corrosion inhibitors: (a) amino acids; (b) non-phenolic-type organic acids, non-phenolic-type organic acid salts or other derivatives of non-phenolictype organic acids, and (c) phenol and derivatives of phenol. In another aspect of the invention, the cleaning composition comprises one or more of said type (a) corrosion inhibitors and one or more of said type (b) corrosion inhibitors. See paras. 8 and 9. Suitable amino acids include glycine, lysine, alanine, etc. The cleaning composition comprises from about 20% to about 99.5% water; from about 0.1 to about 10% of oxalic acid, and from about 0.1 % to about 15% of one or more corrosion inhibitors. See para. 10. The cleaning composition, alone or with other aspects of the invention, has a pH from 0.1 to 7, or from 0.5 to 3. The compositions of this invention may comprise additional organic acids (different from the types of corrosion inhibitors listed above), including, glycolic acid, lactic acid, hydroxybutyric acid, glyceric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, formic acid, citric acid, etc., in amounts from 0.1 to 10% by weight. See para. 42. The composition may be free of fluorine-containing compounds, etc. See para. 56.
‘633 does not teach the use of an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer or a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, a second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims.
Tamboli is relied upon as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer in the composition taught by ‘633, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Tamboli teaches that the use of a polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer leads to great improvement in cleaning performance and prevents re-deposition of removed particles and other residues and allows that residues may be lifted off easier and further, such properties would be desirable in the composition taught by ‘633.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, s second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘633 in view of Tamboli suggest a composition having a pH from about 0.1 to about 7, said composition containing a first organic acid, s second organic acid different from the first organic acid, an anionic polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, water, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent instant claim 1 and the respective dependent instant claims.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamboli (US2019/0390139); or EP 3,599,633 in view of Tamboli (US2019/0390139) as applied to the rejected claims above, and both further in view of Lee (US2009/0133716), Lee (US2009/0130849), or Andreas (US2003/0089891).
Tamboli and ‘633 are relied upon as set forth above. However, neither reference teaches the use of an acid which is a dienoic acid in addition to the other requisite components of the composition as recited by the instant claims.
‘716 teaches a method for the removal of residues and contaminants from metal or dielectric surfaces and to a method for chemical mechanical polishing of a copper or aluminum surface. The methods of the invention include using an aqueous amidoxime complex agent. Optionally, the pH of the solution can be adjusted with an acid or base. The method includes applying the above composition to the copper or aluminum surface and polishing the surface in the presence of the composition. See Abstract. Acids may be used in amounts from 0.001% to 15% by weight and include 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid), citric acid, alanine, cysteine, glutamic acid, etc. See paras. 540-575.
‘849 teaches semiconductor processing compositions comprising water and at least one compound containing at least one amidoxime functional group. It a preferred embodiment the at least one amidoxime functional groups are derived from a nitrile compound. See para. 79. In use in CMP applications, the cleaning agent may further include one or more oxidizers and one or more surface-active agents, such as a surfactant in the classes disclosed herein include anionic surfactants, zwitterionic surfactants, multi-ionic surfactants, or combinations thereof. Examples of such surfactants are: sodium salts of polyacrylic acid, potassium oleate, sulfosuccinates, sulfosuccinate derivatives, sulfonated amines, sulfonated amides, sulfates of alcohols, alkylaryl sulfonates, carboxylated alcohols, alkylamino propionic acids, alkyliminodipropionic acids, and combinations thereof and wherein the surfactant comprises between about 0.001 to about 10 percent by weight of the composition. See para. 81. Acids may be used in amounts from 0.001% to 15% by weight and include 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid), 9t,12t-octadecadienoic acid (linolaidic acid), citric acid, alanine, cysteine, glutamic acid, etc. See paras. 500-509.
Andreas teaches an antimicrobial cleaning composition and methods for cleaning semiconductor substrates, particularly after chemical mechanical planarization or polishing, are provided. In one embodiment, the cleaning composition combines a solvent, a cleaning agent such as a hydroxycarboxylic acid or salt thereof, and at least one antimicrobial agent resulting in a cleaning composition in which microbial growth is inhibited. Examples of suitable antimicrobial agents include a benzoic acid or salt such as potassium or ammonium benzoate, and sorbic acid or salt such as potassium sorbate. See Abstract. An antimicrobial agent is included in the cleaning composition to inhibit growth of Bacillus sp. and other bacteria, mold and other microbes, within the cleaning composition and on the surface of the cleaned substrate and planarized features. Suitable antimicrobial agents include sorbic acid (i.e., 2,4-hexadienoic acid), etc., which may be used in amounts from 0.005 to about 0.3% by weight. See paras. 25-36.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use an acid such as sorbic acid (i.e., 2,4-hexadienoic acid) or 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid)in the composition taught by Tamboli or ‘633, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘716 or ‘849 teach the equivalence of 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid) to citric acid in a similar composition and further, Tamboli or ‘633 teaches the use of citric acid and organic acids in general; and Andreas teaches that the use of sorbic acid (i.e., 2,4-hexadienoic acid) in a similar composition inhibit a growth of Bacillus sp. and other bacteria, mold and other microbes, within the cleaning composition and on the surface of the cleaned substrate and further, Tamboli teaches the use of biocides in general and such properties would be desirable in the composition taught by Tamboli or ‘633.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 USC 103 using Tamboli (US2019/0390139), Applicant states that Tamboli does not teach the use of a polymer and does also not teach the use of a combination of a first organic acid and a second organic acid as recited in amended claim 1.
In response, note that, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of a reference are not limited to the preferred embodiments and that the broad teachings of Tamboli suggests compositions containing the same components in the same amounts as recited by the instant claims. Note that, the fact that a specific embodiment is taught to be preferred is not controlling, since all disclosures of the prior art, including unpreferred embodiments, must be considered. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of the disclosed alternatives. See In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004). "[a] reference must be considered for everything that it teaches, not simply the described invention or a preferred embodiment." CRFD Research, Inc. v. Matal, 876 F.3d 1330, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (quoting In re Applied Materials, Inc., 692 F.3d 1289, 1298 (Fed. Cir. 2012)); see also In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (explaining that "[t]he use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions". Additionally, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971); a known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use. In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994); See MPEP 2123(II). The fact that a reference discloses a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs, 874 R.2d 804, 808 (Fed. Cir. 1989). See also, In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (obviousness rejection of claims affirmed in light of prior art teaching that “hydrated zeolites will work” in detergent formulations even though “the inventors selected the zeolites of the claims from amount thousands of compounds”); In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 445 (CCPA 1971) (obviousness rejection affirmed where the disclosure of the prior art was huge, but it undeniably included at least some of the compounds recited in appellant’s generic claims and was a class of chemicals to be used for the same purpose as appellant’s additives).
For example, Tamboli teaches that suitable acids include oxalic acid, citric acid, acetic acid, glycine, alpha-alanine, cystine, etc., which may be used in amounts from 1% to 30% by weight and would clearly suggest compositions containing, for example, citric acid and glycine and would fall within the scope of the instant claims (See para. 48 of Tamboli). Additionally, Tamboli clearly teaches the use of a polymer such as 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propanesulfonic acid-acrylic acid copolymer (See paras. 51-58 of Tamboli) which would clearly fall within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of Tamboli are sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious under 35 USC 103.
With respect to the rejection of claims 6-8 under 35 USC 103 using Tamboli (US2019/0390139), further in view of Lee (US2009/0133716), Lee (US2009/0130849), or Andreas (US2003/0089891), Applicant states that the teachings of Tamboli are not sufficient to suggest the claimed invention and that the teachings of ‘716, ‘849, or Andreas are not sufficient to remedy the deficiencies of Tamboli. In response, note that the Examiner asserts that the teachings of Tamboli are sufficient to suggest the claimed invention for the reasons set forth above. Additionally, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of ‘716, ‘849, or Andreas are analogous prior art relative to the claimed invention and Tamboli and that one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would have looked to the teachings of ‘716, ‘849, or Andreas to cure the deficiencies of Tamboli with respect to instant claims 6-8. ‘716, ‘840, or Andreas are secondary references relied upon for their teaching of an acid which is a dienoic acid. The Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art clearly would have been motivated to use an acid such as sorbic acid (i.e., 2,4-hexadienoic acid) or 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid)in the composition taught by Tamboli, with a reasonable expectation of success, because ‘716 or ‘849 teach the equivalence of 9c,12c-octadecadienoic acid (linoleic acid) to citric acid in a similar composition and further, Tamboli teaches the use of citric acid and organic acids in general; and Andreas teaches that the use of sorbic acid (i.e., 2,4-hexadienoic acid) in a similar composition inhibit a growth of Bacillus sp. and other bacteria, mold and other microbes, within the cleaning composition and on the surface of the cleaned substrate and further, Tamboli teaches the use of biocides in general and such properties would be desirable in the composition taught by Tamboli. Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of Tamboli (US2019/0390139), further in view of Lee (US2009/0133716), Lee (US2009/0130849), or Andreas (US2003/0089891), are sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious under 35 USC 103.
Further, Applicant states that data has been provided in the instant specification which is sufficient to show the unexpected and superior properties of the claimed invention in comparison to compositions falling outside the scope of the instant claims. Specifically, Applicant states that Table 1 of the instant specification provides data showing that the claimed provides unexpected and superior cleaning efficacy in comparison to compositions falling outside the scope of the instant claims.
In response, note that, the Examiner asserts that the data provided in the instant specification is not sufficient to show the unexpected and superior properties of the claimed invention in comparison to compositions falling outside the scope of the instant claims. The data provided in the instant specification is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. For example, the instant claims are open to any monocarboxylic acid or polycarboxylic acid in any amounts, a broad group of second organic acids in any amount, and a broad group of anionic polymers in any amount, while the instant specification provides data with respect to only several specific embodiments which is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Note that, whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980); See MPEP 716.02(d)(I). Applicant has not provided on this record a sufficient basis for concluding that the generic scope of protection sought by claim 1 is reasonably commensurate with the showing of alleged unexpected results. See In re Greenfield, 571 F.2d 1185, 1189 (CCPA 1978) (obviousness rejection affirmed because evidence establishing that one (or a small number of) species gives unexpected results is inadequate proof); In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1344 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (Even assuming that the results were unexpected, Harris needed to show results covering the scope of the claimed range. Alternatively, Harris needed to narrow the claims). Given the very broad range of components and compositions which can fall within the scope of claim 1, the limited showing provided by Applicant is not commensurate in scope with those claims. Note that, the evidence in the Specification is not commensurate in scope with the appealed claims. In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 743 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (concluding that unexpected results “limited to sodium only” were not commensurate in scope with claims to a catalyst having an “alkali metal”. Appellants have not established that the results using the single embodiment in (Example 3) is representative of the results which would be obtained over the broad scope of compositions covered by the claims).
Additionally, the Examiner asserts that it is unclear from Example 1 as to how much of each component is present in the Control/Comparative composition and Cleaner A-D; therefore, it is unclear if the superior cleaning of Cleaners A-D rises to the level of unexpected or is merely what one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect based on the amounts of components present in the composition. Thus, the Examiner that the data provided in the instant specification is not sufficient to show the unexpected and superior properties of the claimed invention in comparison to compositions falling outside the scope of the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/March 26, 2026