DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendment filed 10/29/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Election/Restrictions
As noted in the filing of the amendment on 4/8/26, the previous office action erred in noting the RCE filed 2/4/26 was informal or non-responsive. It is correct that the elected figure is figure 2A and the RCE claim amendments, were proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al., JP 2009-272494, in view of Lee et al., US 11,037,888.
Regarding claim 1, Aoki (see marked up figures 1-2 below) teaches a chip arrangement, comprising:
a chip 1 comprising a first main surface, wherein the first main surface comprises an active area 2, a chip termination portion 3, and at least one contact pad 6;
a first dielectric layer 10 covering the chip termination portion 3 and at least partially covering the active area 2, and at least partially exposing the at least one contact pad 6; and
a second dielectric layer 11 covering all of the first main surface [paragraph 0015] including covering the first dielectric layer 10 and the at least one contact pad 6.
Though Aoki fails to teach formed by atomic layer deposition, this is a process limitation in a product claim and therefore isn’t given patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Aoki, which teaches the first dielectric layer 10 only covers a portion of the chip termination portion 3, fails to teach the first dielectric layer covers all of the chip termination portion.
Lee (figure 1) teaches a first dielectric layer 50 covering all of the chip termination portion (region between 30 and edge), at least partially covering the active area 20, and at least partially exposing the at least one contact pad 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the configuration of Lee in the invention of Aoki because Lee teaches it is an known equivalent to the structure of Aoki. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Lee (figure 3) teaches a similar structure to Aoki in that the first dielectric layer 50 does not cover the entire chip termination portion (region between 20 and the edge of the chip 11), and Lee (figure 1) teaches the first dielectric layer 50 does cover all of the chip termination portion (region between 20 and the edge of the chip 11). Therefore a skilled artisan would see the equivalence between the two configurations.
With respect to claim 2, Aoki (figures 1-2) teaches the first dielectric layer 10 has a larger thickness than the second dielectric layer 11.
As to claim 3, Aoki teaches a material of the first dielectric layer [paragraph 0026] is different from a material of the second dielectric layer [paragraph 0041].
In re claim 4, Aoki [paragraph 0026] teaches the first dielectric layer 10 includes or consists of at least one of a group of materials, the group comprising: an organic material; an oxide; and a nitride.
Concerning claim 5, Aoki [paragraph 0041] teaches the second dielectric layer includes or consists of at least one of a group of materials, the group comprising: Al2O3; SiO2; HfO2; ZrO2; TiO2; Ta205; AIN; BN; TiN; TaN; and Si3N4.
Pertaining to claim 8, Aoki (paragraph 0038 teaches equal to or less than 5 nm) teaches a thickness of the second dielectric layer is in a range from about 2 nm to about 100 nm.
In claim 21, Aoki (see marked up figures 1-2 above) teaches a chip arrangement, comprising:
a chip 1 having a first main surface, the first main surface including an active area 2, a chip termination portion 3, and at least one contact pad 6 disposed over the active area 2;
a first dielectric layer 10 covering the chip termination portion 3, a portion of the active area 2, and a portion of the contact pad 6, wherein a portion of the at least one contact pad 6 is exposed from the first dielectric layer 10; and
a second dielectric layer 11 covering the first dielectric layer 10 and the at least one contact pad 6, including covering the portion of the contact pad 6 exposed from the first dielectric layer 10.
Though Aoki fails to teach formed by atomic layer deposition, this is a process limitation in a product claim and therefore isn’t given patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Aoki, which teaches the first dielectric layer 10 only covers a portion of the chip termination portion 3, also fails to teach the first dielectric layer covers all of the chip termination portion.
Lee (figure 1) teaches a first dielectric layer 50 covering all of the chip termination portion (region between 30 and edge), at least partially covering the active area 20, and at least partially exposing the at least one contact pad 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the configuration of Lee in the invention of Aoki because Lee teaches it is an known equivalent to the structure of Aoki. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950). Lee (figure 3) teaches a similar structure to Aoki in that the first dielectric layer 50 does not cover the entire chip termination portion (region between 20 and the edge of the chip 11), and Lee (figure 1) teaches the first dielectric layer 50 does cover all of the chip termination portion (region between 20 and the edge of the chip 11). Therefore a skilled artisan would see the equivalence between the two configurations.
Conclusion
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 5/17/26