DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicants arguments and amendments, filed on 6/24/26, have been fully considered but they do not confer patentability on all of the instantly filed claims. Applicants have amended independent claims 1 and 11 such that a1 and a3 are each an integer from 0 to 5 and a2 is 0. By limiting a2 to zero, the prior art rejections to Wang et al. (CN-113861040) and Wang et al. (CN-11465412) have been withdrawn. All of the compounds taught by these references include a linker ̶(L1)̶ a1 where a1 is a positive integer. Further search has led to a new prior art rejection and a new 112(b) rejection as described below.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to. The preamble of claim 20 should be amended simply to “An amine-containing compound selected from one of Compounds 1 to 217:”. By having all of the generic claim language prior to the specific compounds is unnecessary and adds confusion to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 14 and 15 includes further limitations to L2. However, because a2 is zero as recited in claim 11, L2 cannot be anything other than a single bond. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements. It is suggested that Applicants amend “wherein L1 to L3” as recited in each of claims 14 and 15 to “wherein L1, L3” (for claim 14) and to “wherein L1 and L3” (for claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN-114920720). Copies of the original and a machine translation are included with this Office action.
Claim 11: Zhou et al. teaches compound 259, which has the structure,
(page 11). Compound 259 anticipates Formula 1 of claim 11. As applied to Formula 1, compound 259 has Ar2 equal to phenyl, R5 and R6 equal to phenyl, a2 equal to zero, a1 equal to zero, Ar1 equal to phenyl, a3 equal to zero, b3 equal to zero, and Ar3 equal to deuterated dibenzothiophene.
Claim 12: Compound 259 does not comprise a carbazole group or a fluorene group, which anticipates claim 12.
Claim 13: All R10a groups in compound 259 are equal to deuterium, which anticipates claim 13.
Claim 14: In compound 259, Ar1 and Ar2 are equal to a benzene group and Ar3 is equal to a dibenzothiophene group.
Claim 15: Claim 15 serves to further limit L1-L3 since a1-a3 may all be equal to zero. As such, Zhou et al. may be relied upon to reject claim 15.
Claim 16: All Ar1-Ar3 satisfy the limitations of claim 16, as described in claim 11 above.
Claims 1-5: The rejection of claim 11 above is wholly incorporated into the rejection of claim 1. The compounds taught by Zhou et al., which includes compound 259, are taught to be employed as a hole transport material in organic electroluminescent devices. The exemplified devices are comprised of an anode, a hole transport region which comprises one of the inventive hole transport compounds taught therein, an emission layer, an electron transport region, and a cathode. The employment of any one of the explicitly taught compounds taught by Zhou et al. in the manner described in the working examples, including compound 259, is at once envisaged. A device comprising compound 259 in the hole transport layer anticipates all of the structural and device limitations of claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang A (CN-114685412) in view of Jung et al. (US 2016/0149141), as applied to claim 1 above.
Zhao et al. further teaches that a capping layer/covering layer is preferred. While Zhou et al. does not explicitly disclose employing the amine compounds disclosed therein as a capping layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ such amine compounds taught by Zhou et al. as a material for the capping layer/covering layer in the manner taught by Jung et al. Zhou et al. and Jung et al. are analogous art, as both pertain to the field of organic electroluminescent devices. Jung et al. teaches the use of first and second capping layers positioned, for example, above the cathode to improve external emission efficiency through constructive interference (see Fig. 4, paragraph 0312).
Furthermore, Jung et al. teaches that the same amine-based materials used in the hole transport region may be utilized as capping layers (see claims 19 and 20 of Jung et al.). Given that the amine-based materials in Zhou et al. are already selected for high thermal stability and transparency (see abstract of Zhou et al.), key requirement for both hole transport and outcoupling layers, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ these same compounds as the capping layer material. The motivation for this selection is rooted in manufacturing efficiency, as using the same material class reduces the number of deposition sources required in a vacuum chamber. Because the compounds of Zhou et al. possess the requisite physical and optical properties, their application as a capping layer represents a predictable use of a known material to achieve improved outcoupling.
Claim 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN-114920720).
Zhou et al. explicitly teaches that the organic electroluminescent devices taught therein can be applied to the field of illumination and display including computer and television displays to name a few. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to have prepared electronic devices which include those recited in claim 10. Such devices are themselves an electronic apparatus which also satisfies the limitation of claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (CN-114920720) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0073247) as applied to claim 1.
While Zhou et al. dose not explicitly teach that the electronic apparatus taught therein further comprises one of the elements recited in claim 9, it is submitted that the inclusion of at least a color filter layer to the electronic apparatus taught by Zhou et al. would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art given the teachings of Yamazaki et al. Zhou et al. and Yamazaki et al. are combinable as they are both from the same field of organic electroluminescent devices. Yamazaki et al. teaches light-emitting devices which comprise a color filter. Yamazaki et al. teaches that it is often the case that the spectrum of light emitted from a light-emitting element has a broad emission peak which means that the color purity is inferior. Applying a color filter serves to improve the color purity and also the reliability of the device as taught in paragraph 0017 of Yamazaki et al. For this reason, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have included a color filter to the electronic apparatus taught by Zhou et al. with the motivation to do so being rooted in the teachings of Yamazaki et al., thereby satisfying claim 9.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/110,622. At least compounds 32-34, 96-98 as shown in claim 20 of the ‘622 application fully satisfy all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 11. Additionally, the structural limitations of claims 12-18 of the instant application are satisfied by the compounds recited above in the ‘622 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766