DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending. Claim 12 has been canceled.
The foreign priority application No.10-2022-0051653 field on April 26, 2022 in the Republic of Korea has been received and it is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neal et al. (US Patent 2,283,336).
With regard to claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 21, Neal et al. teach zinc cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate, cadmium cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate, and lead cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate (page 5, left column, lines 27-29), but these compounds do not meet the limitations for the compound of Formula 1.
However, the compounds above are metal salts of dithiocarbamic acids of formula:
, wherein X is a metal (page 1, right column, lines 43-51), and Neal et al. further show that X may be silver, cadmium, zinc, or lead (see examples in the right column on page 4 and the left column on page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain silver cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate, because silver is functionally equivalent to cadmium, zinc, and lead as metal X in the metal salts of dithiocarbamic acids.
Silver cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate is a compound of Formula 1 in claims 1, 3,and 4, wherein A is NR2, R2 is hydrogen, and R1 is an aliphatic carbon ring group having 6 carbon atoms.
Neal et al. teach zinc diallyl dithiocarbamate and cadmnium diallyl dithiocarbamate (page 5, left column, lines 53-54), but these compounds do not meet the limitations for the compound of Formula 1.
However, the compounds above are metal salts of dithiocarbamic acids of formula:
, wherein X is a metal (page 1, right column, lines 43-51), and Neal et al. further show that X may be silver, cadmium, or zinc (see examples in the right column on page 4 and the left column on page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain silver diallyl dithiocarbamate, because silver is functionally equivalent to cadmium and zinc as metal X in the metal salts of dithiocarbamic acids.
Silver diallyl dithiocarbamate is a compound of Formula 1 in claims 1, 3, 6, and 21, wherein A is NR2, R2 and R1 are alkenyl groups having 3 carbon atoms.
The limitation “resist compound” in claims 1, 3, 4, and 21 show only an intended use and adds no patentable weight to the claims.
With regard to claim 5, silver diallyl dithiocarbamate is a compound of Formula 1 in claims, wherein A is NR2, R2 and R1 are alkenyl groups having 3 carbon atoms, and silver cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate is a compound of Formula 1, wherein A is NR2, R2 is hydrogen, and R1 is an aliphatic carbon ring group having 6 carbon atoms in par. 0008 of the instant application.
The specification teaches that a compound of formula 1 wherein R1 has 13 or less carbon atoms has reactivity to extreme ultraviolet (par.0031-0033).
Absent a record to the contrary, it is expected that silver diallyl dithiocarbamate and silver cyclohexyl dithiocarbamate have reactivity to extreme ultraviolet.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP 2112. I.SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 and 13-20 allowed.
Neal et al. (US Patent 2,283,336) fail to teach the resist composition in claim 8 and the method in claim 16.
There are no prior art teachings that would motivate one of ordinary skill to modify Neal et al. and obtain the resist composition in claim 8 and the method in claim 16 of the instant application.
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Neal et al. (US Patent 2,283,336) fail to teach the compounds in claims 2 and 7.
There are no prior art teachings that would motivate one of ordinary skill to modify Neal et al. and obtain the compounds in claims 2 and 7 of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examiner would like to note that:
-the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods et al. (“Ethyl xanthate chemisorption and Eh-pH diagrams for silver + water + ethyl xanthate system”) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (US Patent 4,036,650) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 12-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noglik et al. (US 2004/0081911) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1;
-the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 12-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iizuka et al. (WO 2021/200357 A1, with machine translation made of record on February 03, 2026) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1; and
-the rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (US Patent 4,036,650) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1, 3-6, and 21 are shown in paragraphs 4-5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722