Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 26-27 are pending in this application. Claims 1-6 are amended, claims 7 and 13-25 are canceled, and claims 26-27 are new by preliminary amendment filed 7 February 2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“A neural network contour generation mechanism” in claims 1-6, 8-12, and 26-27
“a neuron summer” in claim 2
“means for generating errors” in claim 5
All of the elements above are considered generic placeholders because they are only coupled with functional language and the claims do not recite sufficient structure to perform the functions. For example, claim 1 recites the neural network contour generation mechanism “comprising a device which perturbs analog neurons . . .” This recites a function of the mechanism, but only recites the generic structure of “a device,” which is not sufficient to perform the perturbation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites “an analog circuit sampling and holding an activation result of the perturbation to calculate σ’(z) a difference between the activation result of the perturbation.” It is unclear if “sampling and holding an activation result” are operations performed by the analog circuit or if they are part of the name of “an analog circuit.” And the term “σ’(z)” is indefinite because none of σ, σ’, or z are clearly defined by the claim. The phrase “a difference between the activation result of the perturbation” creates a run-on sentence. It is unclear if this phrase is intended to define σ’(z) or if it is an additional limitation. Furthermore, a difference requires two elements or values. For example, “a difference between A and B” means A-B. But the present phrase lists only a single element: “the activation result of the perturbation.” So, it cannot be determined what the difference is. Because of the indefinite terms, the examiner is unable to make a meaningful interpretation of the present limitation, and can only examine the limitation “a neuron summer to integrate a perturbation” with respect to prior art.
Regarding Claim 3, as in claim 2, the term “σ’(z)” is indefinite because the terms have not been defined. As such, the multiplication of “σ’(z)” by a curl of a cost function is also indefinite. Since the terms of the multiplication are indefinite, the examiner is unable to make a meaningful interpretation of the present claim for examination under prior art.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, they are rejected as being dependent on rejected base claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,604,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent includes all of the limitations of claims 1-3, as shown in the following table:
Present Application
U.S. Patent 11,604,996
1. A neural network error contour generation mechanism comprising:
a device which perturbs analog neurons to measure an error which results from perturbations at different points within the neural network; and
a neural network update circuit modifying analog weight values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to the error generated.
1. A neural network error contour generation mechanism comprising
a device which perturbs analog neurons to measure an error which results from perturbations at different points within the neural network,
wherein the device comprises:
a neuron summer circuit to integrate a perturbation formed of weighted and biased inputs of an error function;
an analog circuit coupled to the neuron summer sampling and holding an activation result of the perturbation to calculate σ′(z) defined as a difference between the activation result and the perturbation; and
a multiplier circuit multiplying σ′(z) by a curl of a cost function to generate output layer errors.
5. The neural network error contour generation mechanism of claim 1, comprising a neural network update circuit modifying analog weight values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to an error contour generated.
2. The neural network error contour generation mechanism of claim 1, comprising
a neuron summer to integrate a perturbation; and
an analog circuit sampling and holding an activation result of the perturbation to calculate σ′(z) a difference between the activation result of the perturbation,
From 1:
a neuron summer circuit to integrate a perturbation formed of weighted and biased inputs of an error function;
an analog circuit coupled to the neuron summer sampling and holding an activation result of the perturbation to calculate σ′(z) defined as a difference between the activation result and the perturbation;
3. The neural network error contour generation mechanism of claim 2, comprising a multiplier circuit multiplying σ'(z) by a curl of a cost function to generate output layer errors.
From 1:
a multiplier circuit multiplying σ′(z) by a curl of a cost function to generate output layer errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maliuk, Dzmitry, Haralampos-G. Stratigopoulos, and Yiorgos Makris (“An analog VLSI multilayer perceptron and its application towards built-in self-test in analog circuits,” 2010 IEEE 16th International On-Line Testing Symposium. IEEE, 2010; hereinafter “Maliuk”).
Regarding Claim 1, Maliuk teaches a neural network error contour generation mechanism (p. 72, section II. A. and p. 74, section II. E.—an error surface {contour} is generated for an analog neural network) comprising:
a device which perturbs analog neurons to measure an error which results from perturbations at different points within the neural network (p. 74, section II. E.—analog neuron weights are perturbed to measure an error); and
a neural network update circuit modifying analog weight values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to the error contour generated (p. 74, section II. E.—the training modifies weight values to direct the neural network towards target outputs in response to the error contour generated).
Regarding Claim 2, Maliuk teaches:
a neuron summer to integrate a perturbation (p. 72, section II. B., first paragraph—a neuron sums output values, thus integrating a perturbation an the neuron); and
an analog circuit sampling and holding an activation result of the perturbation to calculate σ’(z) a difference between the activation result of the perturbation (pp. 73-74, section II. D. and fig. 6(a)—the neuron circuit is an analog circuit that produces an activation result of the perturbation. As detailed above with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), only a general mapping for this limitation is possible because the examiner is unable to make a meaningful interpretation of the meaning of the limitation).
Regarding Claim 3, as explained above with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the examiner is unable to make a meaningful interpretation of the claim, so an art rejection cannot be applied.
Regarding Claim 4, Maliuk teaches wherein the neurons are comprised of one or more of: switched charge multipliers, division and current mode summation circuits, and decision circuits (p. 72, section II. C. and fig. 4—the neurons include multiplying DACs, which are switched charge multipliers).
Regarding Claim 6, Maliuk teaches wherein the error caused by a perturbation at each weighted input to a neuron is measured at a respective output of the neural network (pp. 73-74, section II. D. and fig. 6(a)—output Vout).
Regarding Claim 8, Maliuk teaches a neural network update circuit modifying analog weight values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to an error contour generated (p. 74, section II. E.—the training modifies weight values to direct the neural network towards target outputs in response to the error contour generated).
Regarding Claim 12, Maliuk teaches wherein the error is a quadratic difference (p. 74, section II. E., first paragraph—the mean squared error is a quadratic difference).
Regarding Claim 26, Maliuk teaches a neural network error contour generation mechanism (p. 72, section II. A. and p. 74, section II. E.—an error surface {contour} is generated for an analog neural network) comprising a device which perturbs analog neurons to measure an error which results from perturbations at different points within the neural network (p. 74, section II. E.—analog neuron weights are perturbed to measure an error), wherein the error is modified by a weighted value, the weighted value updated to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to the error generated (p. 74, section II. E.—the training modifies weight values to direct the neural network towards target outputs in response to the error contour generated. The error is modified by a temperature T, which is updated at different stages of the training).
Regarding Claim 27, Maliuk teaches a neural network error contour generation mechanism (p. 72, section II. A. and p. 74, section II. E.—an error surface {contour} is generated for an analog neural network) comprising a device which perturbs analog neurons to measure an error which results from perturbations at different points within the neural network (p. 74, section II. E.—analog neuron weights are perturbed to measure an error), wherein the neural network error contour generation mechanism uses a varying weighted value to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to the error generated (p. 74, section II. E.—the training modifies weight values to direct the neural network towards target outputs in response to the error contour generated. The temperature T is a varying weighted value which is changed at different stages of the training to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target in response to the error generated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maliuk, as applied to claims 1 and 8, above, in view of Kurokawa (U.S. 2017/0116512).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Maliuk does not explicitly teach wherein an error contour generated is stored in an analog memory. However, Kurokawa teaches an analog neural network wherein generated values updated by an error circuit are stored in an analog memory (fig. 7; ¶ [0092], [0106] – [0107], and [0129] – [0133]).
All of the claimed elements were known in Maliuk and Kurokawa and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the analog memory of Kurokawa with the error contour of Maliuk to yield the predictable result of a neural network error contour generation mechanism wherein the error contour generated is stored in an analog memory. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of reducing chip area and power consumption compared to digital implementations and DRAM-based analog memory structures (Kurokawa, ¶ [0014] and [0017]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maliuk, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Mirhassani, Mitra, Majid Ahmadi, and William C. Miller (“A feed-forward time-multiplexed neural network with mixed-signal neuron–synapse arrays,” Microelectronic engineering 84.2 (2007): 300-307; hereinafter “Mirhassani”).
Regarding Claim 11, Maliuk teaches analog bias values (section II. C, p. 73), but does not explicitly teach a circuit modifying analog bias values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target. However, Mirhassani teaches a circuit modifying bias values to direct the neural network error generation mechanism towards a target (p. 302 and fig. 3—training using perturbation based on the Madaline Rule III updates both weights and biases to direct the neural network error generation mechanism towards a target).
All of the claimed elements were known in Maliuk and Mirhassani and could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the applicant’s invention to combine the bias updating of Mirhassani with neural network error contour generation mechanism and analog bias values of Maliuk to yield the predictable result of a circuit modifying analog bias values to direct the neural network error contour generation mechanism towards a target. One would be motivated to make this combination for the purpose of improving the speed and accuracy of training.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art of record teaches “The neural network error contour generation mechanism of claim 3, comprising means for generating errors for layers below an output layer by using one of switched charge multipliers or division and current mode summation circuits to generate error values by backpropagation through the layers” as recited by claim 5. Maliuk does not generate error values by backpropagation. Instead, as described in section II. E, Maliuk applies a random perturbation to all neurons and updates weights of the neurons if an error decreases (or does not increase by more than a function of the error and a temperature value). This mechanism is incompatible with a backpropagation process, which propagates error values backwards through a neural network to determine how neuron weights should be updated. It would not be obvious to modify the training method of Maliuk with art that teaches backpropagation because such a combination would change the principle of operation of Maliuk.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. This art includes:
Baker (U.S. 2020/0143240) teaches a neural network that calculates an error cost function using mini-batches for training with backpropagation
Jabri et al. (U.S. Patent 5,640,494) teaches an analog neural network that perturbs neurons to generate an error
Taha et al. (U.S. 2017/0011290) teaches a neural network that stores weights in analog memristor memory and performs backpropagation training
Schaul, Tom, Ioannis Antonoglou, and David Silver (“Unit tests for stochastic optimization,” arXiv preprint arXiv:1312.6055 (2013)) teaches using the curl of a vector field to optimize machine learning
Flower, Barry, and Marwan Jabri (“Summed weight neuron perturbation: An O (n) improvement over weight perturbation,” Advances in neural information processing systems 5 (1992)) teaches a neural network that uses summed weight neuron perturbation
Montalvo, Antonio J., Ronald S. Gyurcsik, and John J. Paulos (“An analog VLSI neural network with on-chip perturbation learning,” IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits 32.4 (2002): 535-543) teaches an analog neural network with perturbation learning that stores weights in dynamic memory until training achieves convergence, and then stores the weights to floating gates in the neurons
/HAL SCHNEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129