DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 13, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 each recite “the O lead frame includes a body portion and a cooling portion”. However, basis for these portions is already provided in claims 1 and 11, respectively. Examiner is treating the body and cooling portions recited in claims 3/13 to be the same as those recited in claims 1/11, respectively.
Claim 26 recites “the power system of claim 23.” However, claim 23 recites limitations for a “power card”. Examiner is interpreting claim 26 as being dependent upon “the power system of claim 25” as this is of an analogous form to that of claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, 21-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210327791 (Zhou).
As to Claim 1, Zhou teaches a power card for use in a vehicle (Zhou Fig 9), the power card comprising:
a N lead frame (bottom plate in Fig 9, see annotated Zhou Fig 9);
a P lead frame (top plate in Fig 9, see annotated Zhou Fig 9);
an O lead frame (806 in Fig 9, shown in greater detail in Fig 11) comprising a body portion and a cooling portion (1106/1108 respectively), wherein the cooling portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of the body portion (1108 shown thicker than 1106, also explicitly disclosed in ¶0137), and wherein the cooling portion comprises an embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor (1108 comprises graphite and copper ¶0146), part of the O lead frame being located between the N lead frame and the P lead frame;
a first power device being located on a first side of the O lead frame between the N lead frame and the O lead frame (device 202A); and
a second power device being located on a second side of the O lead frame between the O lead frame and the P lead frame (device 202B), the O lead frame configured to receive heat from the first power device and the second power device and transfer the heat for heat dissipation (thermally conductive O lead frame capable of receiving and transferring heat as claimed).
As to Claim 2, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 1, and further teaches wherein:
the N lead frame comprises a body portion (bottom plate below 202A) and a terminal portion (206), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion (206 extends away from bottom plate); and
the P lead frame comprises a body portion (top plate above 202B) and a terminal portion (208), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion (208 extends away from top plate).
As to Claim 3, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the O lead frame includes a body portion (806) and a cooling portion (808), the cooling portion extending from the body portion such that the body portion of the P lead frame and the body portion of the N lead frame are non-overlapping with the cooling portion (808 extends away from 806; 808 non-overlapping with P lead frame body and with N lead frame body).
As to Claim 4, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 3, and further teaches wherein:
the first power device being located between the body portion of the N lead frame and the body portion of the O lead frame (Fig 9 202A); and
the second power device being located between the body portion of the O lead frame and the body portion of the P lead frame (202B), the body portion of the O lead frame configured to receive the heat from the first power device and the second power device and transfer the heat for heat dissipation (body portion 806 capable of transferring heat generated from 202A/202B).
As to Claim 5, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 4, and further teaches wherein the terminal portion of the P lead frame (208) and the terminal portion of the N lead frame (206) lie along respective parallel planes, such that current flow through the P lead frame is parallel to current flow through the N lead frame (Fig 2A shows different view of Fig 9, showing 206/208 lying on parallel planes. Current flow through 206 necessarily flows parallel to that through 208).
As to Claim 6, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor comprises a plurality of axes, wherein a first axis of the plurality of axes comprises a first thermal conductivity, wherein a second axis of the plurality of axes comprises a second thermal conductivity, wherein a third axis of the plurality of axes comprises a third thermal conductivity, wherein the third thermal conductivity is lower than the first thermal conductivity and lower than the second thermal conductivity, and wherein the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis are perpendicular to each other (Fig 9 thermal conductivities axes kxx, kyy and kzz, respectively, where kyy has lower thermal conductivity than kxx and kzz ¶0135).
As to Claim 7, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 6, and further teaches wherein the first axis is a vertical axis, the second is a lengthwise axis, and the third axis is a widthwise axis (kxx, kyy, and kzz may reasonably be considered vertical, lengthwise, and widthwise axes, respectively).
As to Claim 11, Zhou teaches a power system comprising a power card (Zhou Fig 9) having:
a N lead frame (bottom plate in Fig 9, see annotated Zhou Fig 9);
a P lead frame (top plate in Fig 9, see annotated Zhou Fig 9);
an O lead frame (806 in Fig 9, shown in greater detail in Fig 11) comprising a body portion and a cooling portion (1106/1108 respectively), wherein the cooling portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of the body portion (1108 shown thicker than 1106, see also ¶0137), and wherein the cooling portion comprises an embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor (1108 comprises graphite and copper ¶0146), part of the O lead frame being located between the N lead frame and the P lead frame;
a first power device being located on a first side of the O lead frame between the N lead frame and the O lead frame (device 202A); and
a second power device being located on a second side of the O lead frame between the O lead frame and the P lead frame (device 202B), the O lead frame configured to receive heat from the first power device and the second power device and transfer the heat for heat dissipation (thermally conductive O lead frame capable of receiving and transferring heat).
As to Claim 12, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the N lead frame comprises a body portion (bottom plate below 202A) and a terminal portion (206), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion (206 extends away from bottom plate); and
the P lead frame comprises a body portion (top plate above 202B) and a terminal portion (208), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion (208 extends away from top plate).
As to Claim 13, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 12, and further teaches wherein the O lead frame includes a body portion (806) and a cooling portion (808), the cooling portion extending from the body portion such that the body portion of the P lead frame and the body portion of the N lead frame are non-overlapping with the cooling portion (808 extends away from 806; 808 non-overlapping with P lead frame body and with N lead frame body).
As to Claim 14, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 13, and further teaches wherein:
the first power device being located between the body portion of the N lead frame and the body portion of the O lead frame (Fig 9 202A); and
the second power device being located between the body portion of the O lead frame and the body portion of the P lead frame (202B), the body portion of the O lead frame configured to receive the heat from the first power device and the second power device and transfer the heat for heat dissipation (body portion 806 capable of transferring heat generated from 202A/202B).
As to Claim 15, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 14, and further teaches wherein the terminal portion of the P lead frame (208) and the terminal portion of the N lead frame (206) lie along respective parallel planes, such that current flow through the P lead frame is parallel to current flow through the N lead frame (Fig 2A shows different view of Fig 9, showing 206/208 lying on parallel planes. Current flow through 206 necessarily flows parallel to that through 208).
As to Claim 16, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor comprises a plurality of axes, wherein a first axis of the plurality of axes comprises a first thermal conductivity, wherein a second axis of the plurality of axes comprises a second thermal conductivity, wherein a third axis of the plurality of axes comprises a third thermal conductivity, wherein the third thermal conductivity is lower than the first thermal conductivity and lower than the second thermal conductivity, and wherein the first axis, the second axis, and the third axis are perpendicular to each other (Fig 9 thermal conductivities axes kxx, kyy and kzz, respectively, where kyy has lower thermal conductivity than kxx and kzz ¶0135).
As to Claim 17, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the first axis is a vertical axis, the second is a lengthwise axis, and the third axis is a widthwise axis (kxx, kyy, and kzz may reasonably be considered vertical, lengthwise, and widthwise axes, respectively).
As to claim 21, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 1, wherein the cooling portion has a greater surface area than the body portion (cooling portion has greater surface area than body portion ¶0137).
As to claim 22, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 1, wherein the embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor comprises an interior of graphite within a copper shell, wherein the copper shell defines an exterior encapsulating the interior of graphite (first material graphite coated by a second material copper in embodiment disclosed in ¶0146).
As to claim 24, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 11, wherein the cooling portion has a greater surface area than the body portion (cooling portion has greater surface area than body portion ¶0137).
As to claim 25, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 11, wherein the embedded copper-graphite thermal conductor comprises an interior of graphite within a copper shell, wherein the copper shell defines an exterior encapsulating the interior of graphite (first material graphite coated by a second material copper in embodiment disclosed in ¶0146).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claims 22 and 25 above, and further in view of US 20220271008 (Arora et al).
As to Claim 23, Zhou teaches the power card of claim 22, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the copper shell has a thickness of 0.2 mm.
Arora teaches a device similar to that of Zhou and explicitly teaches a copper layer (Arora Fig 2B, 122a copper ¶0022) on a lead frame (122a on 122b) wherein the thickness of the copper layer is 0.2 mm (122a may range from 35 µm to more than 200 µm ¶0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the leadframe having a general copper layer taught by Zhou with the copper shell having a thickness of 0.2mm taught by Arora in order to enhance heat dissipation from the device, improving performance of said device (Arora ¶0020).
As to Claim 26, as best understood by the examiner in light of the 35 USC §112 rejection above, Zhou teaches the power system of claim 25, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the copper shell has a thickness of 0.2 mm.
Arora, just as applied to claim 23 above, teaches a copper layer (Arora Fig 2B, 122a copper ¶0022) on a lead frame (122a on 122b) wherein the thickness of the copper layer is 0.2 mm (122a may range from 35 µm to more than 200 µm ¶0035).
It would have been obvious, for the same reasons as presented in the claim 23 rejection above, to combine Zhou and Arora.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant’s argument that Zhou fails to describe the cooling portion having a greater thickness than the body portion is incorrect, and is taught by Zhou in ¶0137 as stated in the updated rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Corbyn D Mellinger/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/EVAN G CLINTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899