DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on:
February 10th 2023
July 27th 2023
March 18th 2024
November 1st 2024
February 12th 2025
June 25th 2025
December 15th 2025
December 15th 2025
have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kishima teaches a battery charger (1A) for a battery pack (5), the battery charger comprising:
a housing (2, 3; ¶[22] “The charging device 1A includes a case combining an upper case 2 and a lower case 3”) including a battery interface having a battery pack attachment portion (2a) (¶[22] “The upper case 2 has a battery pack attachment portion 2a on an upper surface for removably attaching (sliding attaching) the battery pack 5”),
a battery-facing opening (7) defined in the battery interface and at least partially surrounding the battery pack attachment portion (¶[23] “the upper case 2 has a predetermined number of wind windows 7 opening to the battery pack attachment portion 2a”),
a front opening (10) defined in the housing, the front opening in fluid communication with the battery-facing opening (see Fig. 12, “The second air stream k2 is drawn from the wind window 10, flows toward the wind window 7 without passing through the charging circuit component on the board 4, and is exhausted from the wind window 7”),
a rear opening (8) defined in the housing,
a lateral opening (6) defined in the housing, the lateral opening in fluid communication with the rear opening (8) (see Fig. 12, ¶[34] “The first air stream k1 is sucked from the wind window 6, passes through the charging circuit component on the board 4 (cools the charging circuit component), flows toward the wind window 8, and is exhausted from the wind window 8”),
the lateral opening disposed at a location along a length of the housing between the front opening and the rear opening (see Fig. 12, ¶[23] “As shown in FIG. 6, the lower case 3 has a wind window 6 that opens on the lower surface”);
a battery-cooling fan (15) disposed between the battery-facing opening and the front opening (see Fig. 12);
a duct (area formed by rib 12, see Fig. 12) forming a discrete flow path (k2) between the battery-facing opening (7) and the front opening (10);
charging electronics (4) disposed in the housing between the rear opening (8) and the lateral opening (6) (see Fig. 12),
the charging electronics (4) including a printed circuit board assembly (¶[24] “the internal space formed by the upper case 2 and the lower case 3 is provided with a substrate 4, a charging circuit component provided on the substrate 4”); and
an electronics-cooling fan (16) disposed in the housing between the rear opening (8) and the lateral opening (6).
Regarding Claim 2, Koch in view of Qin teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Koch further teaches a backing plate (top of charger 1A, see Fig. 1), the backing plate disposed at least partially in the duct (see Fig. 12, where the top of the charger forms part of the duct area).
Regarding Claim 4, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 2.
Kishima further teaches wherein the backing plate is sealed and water is directed from the backing plate into the duct (see Fig. 12, ¶[24] “The space between the space below the fan 15 and the accommodating space for the substrate 4 is partitioned by the rib 14 of the lower case 3 so that liquid such as water entering from the wind window 7 does not flow out into the accommodating space of the substrate 4”, see also ¶[34] “Further, in the waterproof surface, the same effect as in the first embodiment can be obtained”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Kishima further teaches wherein the duct (formed by rib 12) separates the battery-cooling fan (15) from the charging electronics (4).
Regarding Claim 7, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Kishima further teaches wherein a rotational axis of the battery-cooling fan (15) is parallel to a pack (5) insertion direction (see Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Kishima further teaches wherein a rotational axis of the electronics-cooling fan (16) is parallel to the printed circuit board assembly (4) (see Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Kishima (Fig. 12) teaches a battery charger (1A) for a battery pack (5), the battery charger comprising:
a housing (2, 3) having a front (10), a rear (8), a lateral side (6), and a battery interface (2a);
a duct (formed by rib 12) configured to direct a battery-cooling airflow (k2) through the front of the housing and through the battery interface (2a) (¶[34] “The second air stream k 2 is drawn from the wind window 10, flows toward the wind window 7 without passing through the charging circuit component on the board 4, and is exhausted from the wind window 7”);
a battery-cooling fan (15) disposed in the housing along a flow path of the battery-cooling airflow (k2),
wherein the housing is configured to direct an electronics-cooling airflow (k1) through the lateral side of the housing and through the rear of the housing (¶[34] “The first air stream k 1 is sucked from the wind window 6, passes through the charging circuit component on the board 4 (cools the charging circuit component), flows toward the wind window 8, and is exhausted from the wind window 8”);
and charging electronics (4) disposed in the housing along the flow path of the electronics- cooling airflow (k1),
wherein the duct (formed by rib 12, see Fig. 12) separates the battery-cooling airflow (k2) from the electronics-cooling airflow (k1) (see Fig. 12); and
an electronics-cooling fan (16) disposed in the housing along a flow path of the electronics- cooling airflow (k1);
Regarding Claim 13, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12.
Kishima further teaches wherein the battery-cooling airflow (k2) is directed from the front of the housing (via wind window 10) to the battery interface (2a, via wind window 7, see Fig. 12; ¶[34] “According to the present embodiment, in order to cool the charging circuit components on the battery pack 5 and the board 4 with a powerful and fresh air current generated by the two fans 15, 16”).
Regarding Claim 14, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12.
Kishima further teaches wherein the electronics-cooling airflow (k1) is directed from the lateral side of the housing (via wind window 6) to the rear of the housing (via wind window 8, see Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 15, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12,
Kishima further teaches the charging electronics (4) including a printed circuit board assembly (¶[24] “the internal space formed by the upper case 2 and the lower case 3 is provided with a substrate 4, a charging circuit component provided on the substrate 4”) and a cooling fin (25-27, ¶[24] “The charging circuit component includes … heat radiation fins 25 to 27”) extending upward from the printed circuit board assembly (see Fig. 12) in the flow path of the electronics-cooling airflow (k1).
Regarding Claim 16, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12,
Kishima further teaches wherein the duct is sealed to the housing at a sealing interface (¶[34] “the first air flow k 1 and the second air flow k 2 are guided by the ribs 12 and are separated (independent) from each other”), the sealing interface permitting less than a threshold of the battery-cooling airflow through the sealing interface, the threshold defining a seal efficiency (the airflows are independent; therefore the seal efficiency is 100%)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1,
Kishima does not teach wherein a rotational axis of the battery-cooling fan and a rotational axis of the electronics-cooling fan form skew lines; however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to offset one the fans to further separate the battery cooling airflow and the electronics cooling airflow.
Regarding Claim 20, Kishima teaches a battery charger (1A) for a battery pack (5), the battery charger comprising:
a housing (2, 3) including a battery interface (2a) having a battery pack attachment portion (1),
a battery-facing exhaust opening (7) defined in the battery interface and at least partially surrounding the battery pack attachment portion (),
a front intake (10) opening defined in the housing, the front intake opening in fluid communication with the battery-facing exhaust opening (airflow k2),
a rear exhaust opening (8) defined in the housing,
a lateral intake opening (6) defined in the housing, the lateral intake opening in fluid communication with the rear exhaust opening (airflow k1),
the lateral intake opening disposed on one side of the housing at a location along a length of the housing between the front intake opening and the rear exhaust opening;
a single battery-cooling fan (15) mounted to the housing;
a duct forming a discrete flow path from the front intake opening to the battery-facing exhaust opening;
charging electronics (4) disposed in the housing downstream from the lateral intake opening and upstream of the rear exhaust opening;
and a single electronics-cooling fan (16) disposed in the housing.
Kishima does not explicitly teach the battery-cooling fan is mounted the housing adjacent to the front intake opening or the electronics-cooling fan is disposed in the housing adjacent to the lateral intake opening; however, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the fans adjacent to the openings in the housing in order to more effectively draw in outside air for cooling the battery and electronics.
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1) and further in view of Namiki (US 20170331302 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Kishima does not teach wherein a battery-cooling fan speed is based on a temperature of the battery pack.
Namiki teaches wherein a battery-cooling fan (6) speed is based on a temperature of the battery pack (2) (¶[54] “the control board 5 adjusts the rotational speed of the cooling fan 6 according to the internal temperature of the battery pack 2”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Namiki to provide wherein a battery-cooling fan speed is based on a temperature of the battery pack in order to increase efficiency by lowering the fan speed when the battery temperature is low.
Regarding Claim 17, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12.
Kishima does not teach wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the battery pack.
Namiki teaches wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the battery pack (2) (¶[54] “the control board 5 adjusts the rotational speed of the cooling fan 6 according to the internal temperature of the battery pack 2”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Namiki to provide wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the battery pack in order to increase efficiency by lowering the fan speed when the battery temperature is low.
Regarding Claim 19, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12.
Kishima does not teach wherein a speed of the electronics-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the charging electronics.
Namiki teaches wherein a speed of the electronics-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the charging electronics (¶[44] “The control circuit 5A also controls the operations of the cooling fan 6 based on temperature information detected by the thermistors 11 and 21 in order to control the temperatures of the charging device 1 and battery pack 2”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Namiki to provide wherein a speed of the electronics-cooling airflow is based on a temperature of the charging electronics in order to increase the efficiency by only cooling the charging device when necessary.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US 20130249277 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 1.
Kishima does not teach wherein a battery-cooling fan speed is based on a state of charge of the battery pack.
Park teaches wherein a battery-cooling fan (131) speed is based on a state of charge of the battery pack (101) (¶[68] “the battery controller 103 may directly transmit data regarding a charge state of the battery 101 (i.e., data Sv regarding a voltage of the battery 101) to the fan controller 132. The fan controller 132 may determine that the battery 101 does not need to be cooled, based on the received data Sv”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide wherein a battery-cooling fan speed is based on a state of charge of the battery pack in order to increase efficiency by cooling the battery pack only when necessary.
Regarding Claim 18, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 12.
Kishima does not teach wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a state of charge of the battery pack.
Park teaches wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a state of charge of the battery pack (101) (¶[68] “the battery controller 103 may directly transmit data regarding a charge state of the battery 101 (i.e., data Sv regarding a voltage of the battery 101) to the fan controller 132. The fan controller 132 may determine that the battery 101 does not need to be cooled, based on the received data Sv”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Park to provide wherein a speed of the battery-cooling airflow is based on a state of charge of the battery pack in order to increase efficiency by cooling the battery pack only when necessary.
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1) and further in view of Nagahama (US 20210098757 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 4.
Kishima does not teach wherein the front opening is disposed at an angle relative to vertical to allow water to drain from the duct.
Nagahama teaches wherein the front opening (58a-58d) is disposed at an angle relative to vertical to allow water to drain from the duct (¶[66] “vents (drainage holes) 58a-58d are provided in the tilted surface 17b of the lower-part case 15” ¶[70] “if any water enters the interior of the outer case 12, such water can flow into the spaces S1-S4 and be discharged via the vents 58a-58d”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Nagahama to provide wherein the front opening is disposed at an angle relative to vertical to allow water to drain from the duct in order to improve the waterproofing of the battery.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishima et al. (WO 2017208710 A1) and further in view of Koch (US 20170063116 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kishima teaches the battery charger of claim 2.
Kishima does not explicitly teach wherein the battery-facing openings are disposed on opposite sides of the backing plate.
Koch teaches wherein the battery-facing openings (14, 15) are disposed on opposite sides of the backing plate (see Fig. 1, where multiple openings are disposed both on the left and right side of the backing plate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kishima to incorporate the teachings of Koch to provide wherein the battery-facing openings are disposed on opposite sides of the backing plate in order to increase the airflow towards the battery.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859