DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 17-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s newly added claims 17-21 are allowable except for the presence of claim objections to newly presented claims 20 and 21 (see below).
Claim Objections
1. Claims 20 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: “hydrocarbon lubricant” should be changed to “hydrocarbon” to be consistent with claim 17 OR alternatively, “hydrocarbon” in claim 17 should be changed to “hydrocarbon lubricant”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erdemir et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0314803) in view of Heidecker et al. (CN 104662300, of which reference is made to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Erdemir teaches a process for forming a low friction wear surface (abstract): comprising providing a seal having a bulk material and catalytically active additive (0030) and a reciprocating component to slidably reciprocate thereon (0030 and Figure 1); exposing the seal and reciprocating component to a PAO hydrocarbon lubricant (0033), which is a Group IV base oil; and forming a carbon tribolayer coating on one or both of the seal and reciprocating component by breaking down the hydrocarbon lubricant through catalytic interaction with the catalytically active additive in the seal (0033 and 0043). Erdemir fails to teach the additive selected from the group as claimed and the bulk material being selected from the group as claimed
However, Heidecker teaches forming a sealing material potentially from a combination of PTFE (0059) and tungsten trioxide (0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Erdemir’s process by substituting PTFE and tungsten trioxide for the bulk material and additive in Erdemir’s seal. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Heidecker teaches that the PTFE and tungsten trioxide can provide reinforcement and strengthening to the seal (0059).
3. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erdemir in view of Heidecker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN 103435947, of which reference is made to the previously provided English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Erdemir in view of Heidecker teach all the limitations of claim 1, but fail to teach the particle size of the additive particles. However, Ye teaches forming a sealing material from PTFE and including 30 micron sized particles as an additive (abstract and 0036). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Erdemir in view of Heidecker’s process by substituting 30 micron sized particles for the unspecified particle size of the additive in Erdemir in view of Heidecker’s process. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Ye teaches that a seal composition incorporating additive particles of this size provides wear resistance and low-creep deformation to provide long service life for the seal (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 17-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the process of claim 17. In particular, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the process wherein vanadium pentoxide is the additive in a seal and forming a carbon tribolayer coating on the seal and/or the reciprocating component.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 17-21 are pending.
Claims 1, 3 and 5-7 are rejected.
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to.
Claims 17-19 are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 13, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717