DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are pending. Claim 6 has been canceled.
The foreign priority application No.2022-018704 filed on February 09, 2022 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sezi et al. (US 2003/0150557).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Sezi et al. teach the compound of Formula (I):
wherein a, b, and d may be 0, and c may be 1(par.0012-0013).
When a and d are 0, the groups X may be represented by the formula:
, wherein R3 may be H (par.0036-0038).
Y3 may be represented by the formula:
(par.0047), and Z2 and Z3 are preferably represented by the formulas:
(par.0061).
Sezi et al. fail to specifically teach the bismaleimide compound of formula (1) in claims 1 and 2.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the bismaleimide compound of formula (1) in claims 1 and 2, because Sezi et al. teach a compound of Formula (I) and provide examples for the coefficients a-d, and for the groups X, Y3, Z2, and Z3.
The compound of Formula (I) of Sezi et al. wherein a=0, b=0, c=1, d=0, X is
, R3 are hydrogen atoms, Y3 is
, and the groups Z2 and Z3 are
is a bismaleimide compound of formula (1) in claims 1 and 2, wherein n=1, Y is divalent linking group of formula –(CH2)e-, A1s are groups of formula (1-1), a is a benzene ring, X is represented by the formulas (c) or (d), r=0, and A2 is a divalent linking group obtained by removing two carboxy groups from an aromatic dicarboxylic acid compound.
With regard to claim 5, the compounds above comprise as group A2 a divalent linking group obtained by removing two carboxylic groups from phthalic acid.
With regard to claim 7, the compounds above comprise as group Y a group of formula –(CH2)e-, wherein e may be up to 10 (alkylene group with up to 10 carbon atoms)(par.0036-0037).
With regard to claim 9, Sezi et al. teach a composition comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a crosslinker (par.0063). A crosslinker is capable of reacting with a maleimide group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 8, and 10-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Sezi et al. (US 2003/0150557) fail to teach the bismaleimide compound in claim 3, the composition in claim 8, the polymers in claims 10 and 17.
There are no prior art teachings that would motivate one of ordinary skill to modify Sezi et al. and obtain the bismaleimide compound in claim 3, the composition in claim 8, and the polymers in claims 10 and 17 of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner would like to note that the objection to the disclosure is withdrawn after the filing of a new abstract.
The applicant argues that Sezi et al. (US 2003/0150557) fail to teach the bismaleimide compound in the amended claim 1.
However, the examiner would like to note that Sezi et al. teach the compound of Formula (I):
wherein a, b, and d may be 0, and c may be 1(par.0012-0013).
When a and d are 0, the groups X may be represented by the formula:
, wherein R3 may be H (par.0036-0038).
Y3 may be represented by the formula:
(par.0047), and Z2 and Z3 are preferably represented by the formulas:
(par.0061).
The compound of Formula (I) of Sezi et al. wherein a=0, b=0, c=1, d=0, X is
, R3 are hydrogen atoms, Y3 is
, and the groups Z2 and Z3 are
is a bismaleimide compound of formula (1) in the amended claim 1, wherein n=1, Y is divalent linking group of formula –(CH2)e-, A1s are groups of formula (1-1), a is a benzene ring, X is represented by the formulas (c) or (d), r=0, and A2 is a divalent linking group obtained by removing two carboxy groups from an aromatic dicarboxylic acid compound.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722