This action is in response to the claims filed 3/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 (a method), 9 (a machine), and 17 (a non-transitory CRM) are independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, the claim 1 does not require cellular communications, nor a 3gpp compliant standard; therefore, all of the terms of 3gpp art in the claim i.e. “registration accept message” and “interworking function” are not required to be 3gpp registration accepts or interworking functions. The terms are therefore meaningless.
However, for the sake of argument say claim 1 requires 3gpp registration accepts, and 3gpp interworking functions. Even under such an interpretation, claim 1 does not require a second network.
Claim 1 is solely directed to communication between “a wireless device” and “a base station”. A single point to point communication over an air interface is a first network.
The wireless device does not communicate with “a second network”, the base station does not communicate with “a second network”; there is no second network.
Moreover, no definition of a second network is featured within the claim. Absent a definition, the second network may be any network that is in anyway distinct from the first network.
Additionally, the “indication” is undefined and does not require any particular structure or function – no action is performed or not performed based on the indication.
Applicant, on page 8 of the remark’s states: “the OA’s argument seems to be premised on the idea that network slices are distinct networks. However, there is no support in the cited references for such an assertion”.
Applicant has not defined what is required of a second network and a network slice is a network. See for example, Farmanbar, US 2017/0257870, disclosing in ¶ 42: “The communications network 502 comprises a first node 502, and a second node 504, upon which an SDRA module 314, a first network slice 332, a second network slice 332, a third network slice 342 are functionally deployed (i.e. instantiated or “built”). The first and second node 502, 504 are communicatively coupled through a physical link 580.” Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the network slices of TS 32.502 are different networks.
Moreover, as seen throughout TS 32.502 interworking functions (3NIWF) are accessible by the user equipment. Note additionally use case TS 32.502 4.9.2.3.2 showing a physically separate network.
On page 8 of the remarks, Applicant states: “The Office Action points out that there are references to ‘N3IWF’ …. But those references relate to steps 18, 19, and 19a, not step 21.”
This argument is not persuasive. Applicant’s own specification does not provide any description of the claimed indication featuring an interworking function. The indication is related to the first network, a property of said second network is the N3IWF. The concepts are distinct and unrelated. I.e. there is no indication of the N3IWF, only of a network.
On page 9 of the remarks, Applicant states: “… S2-2004235 p. 6 provides an indication of network support.’ Applicant respectfully requests that this alleged ‘indication of network support’ be pointed out with particularity.”
Note that the use case and functionality of S2-2004235 is similar to that outlined in Applicant’s Figure 23 (the claimed embodiment), and S2-2004235 p. 6 provides an indication of network support by communicating with a second network during the registration request/accept handshake. Thus, a failure would indicate non-support, and a successful “registration accept” indicates support.
Specifically, S2-2004235 p. 6 performing a registration over the PLMN with the SNPN: “Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session in PLMN to start second registration with SNPN’s AMF via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN. In this step, UE provides AMF with traffic split indication, as well as the previous allocated pairing code. With this code, AMF can associate this registration with the previous registration to identify the traffic split UE and skip some registration procedures if already conducted in step 1. After this step, AMF and UE establish NAS connection via N3IWF.”
The claim indication requires no particular data types/elements/structure nor does it require any special processing by any entity. No particular ‘indication’ is required and such may be evidenced by the terminals belief that underlay support is provided; i.e. the use cases outlined in S2-2004235. S2-2004235 discloses tunneling data over a PLMN to an SNPN in step 9 on page 7.
Whatever data is transmitted in the prior registration to the PLMN (“assume UE already registered in PLMN” S2-2004235 p. 6) constitutes the claimed ‘indication’ because the UE in S2-2004235 expects to be able to obtain the underlay support on S2-2004235 p. 7 steps 8-9.
When no structure or acts are associated with an ‘indication’ the disclosure of S2-2004235 is sufficient to anticipate an ‘indication.
Applicant’s further remarks are dependent on those addressed and are not persuasive for the reasons discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, 14, 15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TS 23.502 V16.4.0 (2020-03), hereafter referred to as TS23.502.
As to claims 1, 9, and 17, TS32.502 discloses a method/machine/CRM comprising:
sending, by a wireless device to a base station of a first network, a registration request; (see TS 32.502 p. 26 step 1. § 4.2.2.2.2-1 “UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type”)
receiving, by the wireless device from a mobility management function (“The procedures in clause 4.2 provides Connection, Registration and Mobility Management functionality.” TS 32.502 p. 23) of the first network, a registration accept message (“21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept” TS32.502 p. 35) indicating that the first network provides (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: See all the data elements listed in § 4.2.2.2.2-1 step 21.
among the multitude of datums in a registration accept message, see term definitions on p. 443 of TS 32.502:
“
Mobility Restrictions
Mobility Restrictions restrict mobility handling or service access of a UE. It consists of RAT restriction, Forbidden area, Service area restrictions and Core Network type restriction. It may also contain an Allowed CAG list and, optionally an indication whether the UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells.
Allowed NSSAI
Allowed NSSAI consisting of one or more S-NSSAIs for serving PLMN in the present Registration Area.
N2 address information for N3IWF/TNGF
Identifies the N3IWF/TNGF to which UE is connected. Exists only if CM state for UE connected via N3IWF/TNGF is CM-CONNECTED.
URRP-AMF information
UE Reachability Request Parameter contains a list of URRP-AMF flags and associated authorised NF IDs. Each URRP-AMF flag indicates whether direct UE reachability notification has been authorised by the HPLMN towards the associated NF ID or not.
S-NSSAIs subject to Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization
Subscribed S-NSSAIs Subject to NSSAA as to allow the AMF to initiate the NSSAA procedure for a certain S-NSSAI which was previously authorized.
Also including the status, i.e. result, of the NSSAA.
Network Slice Instance(s)
The Network Slice Instances selected by 5GC for this UE.
Etc.”)
access via an air interface of the base station, ((R)AN is an acronym for Radio Access Network) further via the first network itself to an interworking function of the second network
(“, the new AMF creates an NGAP UE association towards the N3IWF/TNGF/W-AGF to which the UE is connected. This automatically releases the existing NGAP UE association between the old AMF and the N3IWF/TNGF/W-AGF.
19. N3IWF/TNGF/W-AGF sends a UE Context Modification Response to the new AMF.
….
The Allowed NSSAI for the Access Type for the UE is included in the N2 message carrying the Registration Accept message. The Allowed NSSAI contains only S-NSSAIs that do not require, based on subscription information, Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, or based on the UE Context in the AMF
….
If the AMF invokes the Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext procedure for UP activation of PDU Session(s) in step 18 and receives rejection from the SMF, then the AMF indicates to the UE the PDU Session ID and the cause why the User Plane resources were not activated. When the UE is connected to the two AMFs belonging to different PLMN via 3GPP access and non-3GPP access then the UE removes locally any internal resources related to the PDU Session of the current PLMN that are not marked as established in received PDU Session status.” TS32.502 pp. 35-37.
Note use case in TS 32.502 4.9.2.3.2 showing a N3IWF in a network separate from the registration network discussed above: “The UE performs a PDU Session Establishment procedure with the PDU Session ID of the PDU Session to be moved as specified clause 4.3.2.2.2 (PDU Session Establishment for Home Routed Roaming).”)
sending, by the wireless device to the mobility management function of the first network and based on the indication of
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the first network is an underlay network, and the second network is an overlay network.
(TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: registration to an underlying network followed by session establishment creating the overlying network: “The procedure assumes that the UE has already registered on the AMF… The UE initiates the UE Requested PDU Session Establishment procedure… The UE includes the S-NSSAI from the Allowed NSSAI of the current access type.” TS32.502 p. 88)
As to claims 3, 11, and 19, TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
the first network is one or more of: an onboarding network; a first public land mobile network; (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions], [PDU Session status], [Allowed NSSAI], [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN],” TS32.502 p. 35) a first non-public network; and a first standalone non-public network; and the second network is one or more of: a second public land mobile network; a second non-public network; and a second standalone non-public network. (TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: the session/slice overlayed on top of the underlying PLMN: “The procedure assumes that the UE has already registered on the AMF… The UE initiates the UE Requested PDU Session Establishment procedure… The UE includes the S-NSSAI from the Allowed NSSAI of the current access type.” TS32.502 p. 88)
As to claims 4, 12, and 20 TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the registration accept message indicates that the first network provides onboarding support for the second network. (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “The Allowed NSSAI for the Access Type for the UE is included in the N2 message carrying the Registration Accept message. The Allowed NSSAI contains only S-NSSAIs that do not require, based on subscription information, Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, or based on the UE Context in the AMF, those S-NSSAI” TS32.502 p. 36.)
As to claims 6, and 14 TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the registration request comprises an identifier of the second network.
(TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, [last visited TAI (if available)], Security parameters, [Requested NSSAI], [Mapping Of Requested NSSAI], [Default Configured NSSAI Indication],” TS32.502 p. 27)
As to claims 7, 15 TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses
wherein the registration accept message comprises one or more of: a closed access group identifier (CAG ID) associated with an underlying network capability to access an interworking function of the second network; a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; a data network name (DNN) associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; a registration area associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; and a mobility restriction associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network. (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions], [PDU Session status], [Allowed NSSAI], [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN], [Mapping Of Configured NSSAI], [rejected S-NSSAIs], [Pending NSSAI], [Periodic Registration Update timer], [Active Time], [Strictly Periodic Registration Timer Indication], [LADN Information], [accepted MICO mode], [IMS Voice over PS session supported Indication], [Emergency Service Support indicator], [Accepted DRX parameters], [extended idle mode DRX parameters], [Paging Time Window], [Network support of Interworking without N26], [Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI Inclusion Mode], [Network Slicing Subscription Change Indication], [Operator-defined access category definitions], [List of equivalent PLMNs], [Enhanced Coverage Restricted information], [Supported Network Behaviour], [Service Gap Time], [PLMN-assigned UE Radio Capability ID], [PLMN-assigned UE Radio Capability ID deletion], [WUS Assistance Information], [Truncated 5G-S-TMSI Configuration]).” TS23.502 pp. 35-38)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 13, and 16, and in the alternative claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, 14, 15, and 17-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS 23.502 V16.5.0 (2020-07), in view of S2-2004235 (2000-07).
As to claims 5, 13, TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
(“The initial AMF request UE's Slice Selection Subscription data from UDM by invoking the Nudm_SDM_Get (see clause 5.2.3.3.1) service operation. UDM may get this information from UDR by Nudr_DM_Query(SUPI, Slice Selection Subscription data).” TS32.502 p. 42)
…
comprising credentials to access the second network; (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “1. UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, [last visited TAI (if available)], Security parameters,… ” TS32.502 p. 27. “The Security parameters are used for Authentication and integrity protection” TS32.502 p. 28.)
receiving, by the wireless device from the second network, a second registration accept message; (“21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions],” TS32.502 p. 35)
…
receiving, by the wireless device from the second network, a session accept message. (TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: “(R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept))” TS32.502 p. 96)
TS 32.502 does not explicitly disclose:
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a second registration request message …
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a request to establish a session with the second network; and
S2-2004235 discloses:
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a second registration request message (“Step 1. UE switch its transmitter to the SNPN’s RAN to conduct initial registration” S2-2004235 p. 7. “Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session” S2-2004235 p. 7)
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a request to establish a session with the second network; and (S2-2004235 p. 7 steps 4-9).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined TS32.502 with S2-2004235 by utilizing the proposed changes disclosed in the S2-2004235 with the TS32.502 standards. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS32.502 with S2-2004235 as the standards are purposed to work together.
As to claims 8, 16, TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
… a session accept message; (TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: “(R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept))” TS32.502 p. 96)
… an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection request via the session, wherein the interworking function is a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF). (TS 32.502 § 4.12.2.2: “11. The IPsec SA is established between the UE and N3IWF by using the common N3IWF key that was created in the UE in step 9c and received by the N3IWF in step 10a.” TS32.502 p. 247).
TS32.502 does not explicitly disclose
sending, by the wireless device to the first network, a session establishment request message indicating that the session is for an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection to the interworking function of the second network;
receiving, by the wireless device from the first network,
and sending, by the wireless device to an interworking function of the second network
S2-2004235 discloses:
sending, by the wireless device to the first network, a session establishment request message (S2-2004235 p. 7 steps 4-9) indicating that the session is for an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection to the interworking function of the second network; (“via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN” S2-2004235 p. 7)
receiving, by the wireless device from the first network,
and sending, by the wireless device to an interworking function of the second network, an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection request via the session, wherein the interworking function is a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF). (S2-2004235 p. 7 steps 4-9).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined TS32.502 with S2-2004235 by utilizing the proposed changes disclosed in the S2-2004235 with the TS32.502 standards. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS32.502 with S2-2004235 as the standards are purposed to work together.
In the alternative claims 1-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S2-2004235 (2000-07), in view of TS 23.502 V16.5.0 (2020-07).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, S2-2004235 discloses a method/machine/CRM comprising:
sending, by a wireless device to a base station of a first network, a registration request;
receiving, by the wireless device from a mobility management function of the first network, a registration accept message indicating
(See S2-2004235 p. 6, discussing a second registration through the mobility management function of the PLMN to the second network in steps 0, 1 and 3)
that the first network provides access via an air interface of the base station, further via the first network itself to an interworking function of the second network; and (See S2-2004235 pp. 6-7, discussing a second registration through the mobility management function of the PLMN to the second network in steps 1 and 3.
(A) performing a registration over the PLMN with the SNPN: “Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session in PLMN to start second registration with SNPN’s AMF via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN. In this step, UE provides AMF with traffic split indication, as well as the previous allocated pairing code. With this code, AMF can associate this registration with the previous registration to identify the traffic split UE and skip some registration procedures if already conducted in step 1. After this step, AMF and UE establish NAS connection via N3IWF.”
(B) (Whatever data is transmitted in the prior registration to the PLMN (“assume UE already registered in PLMN” S2-2004235 p. 6) constitutes the claimed ‘indication’ because the UE in S2-2004235 expects to be able to obtain the underlay support on S2-2004235 p. 7 steps 8-9.
When no structure or acts are associated with an ‘indication’ the disclosure of S2-2004235 is sufficient to anticipate an ‘indication.)
sending, by the wireless device to the mobility management function of the first network and based on the indication of underlay support, a request to establish a session with the first network. (See S2-2004235 Fig. 3-4. “UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session in PLMN to start second registration with SNPN’s AMF via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN.” S2-2004235 p. 7)
Note that the use case and functionality of S2-2004235 is similar to that outlined in Applicant’s Figure 23 (the claimed embodiment), and S2-2004235 p. 6 provides an indication of network support by communicating with a second network during the registration request/accept handshake. Thus, a failure would indicate non-support, and a successful “registration accept” indicates support.
S2-2004235 does not explicitly disclose the terms:
registration request;
registration accept message
TS 23.502 discloses:
registration request; (see TS 32.502 p. 26 step 1. § 4.2.2.2.2-1 “UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type…”)
registration accept message (“21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (” TS32.502 p. 35)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined S2-2004235 with the full updated standard TS23.502 V16.5.0 (2020-07). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine S2-2004235 with TS 23.502 as the documents are purposed to define parts of a larger system, see S2-2004235 p. 7 explicitly mentioning TS 23.502.
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the first network is an underlay network, and the second network is an overlay network. (see S2-2004235 Figure on page 6. Note similarity to Applicant’s Figure 23. S2-2004235 shows the PLMN being an ‘underlay’ network.)
As to claims 3, 11, and 19, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
the first network is one or more of: an onboarding network; a first public land mobile network; (see S2-2004235 Figure on page 6, PLMN. TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions], [PDU Session status], [Allowed NSSAI], [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN],” TS32.502 p. 35) a first non-public network; and a first standalone non-public network; and the second network is one or more of: a second public land mobile network; a second non-public network; and a second standalone non-public network. (see S2-2004235 Figure on page 6, SNPN. TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: the session/slice overlayed on top of the underlying PLMN: “The procedure assumes that the UE has already registered on the AMF… The UE initiates the UE Requested PDU Session Establishment procedure… The UE includes the S-NSSAI from the Allowed NSSAI of the current access type.” TS32.502 p. 88)
As to claims 4, 12, and 20 S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the registration accept message indicates that the first network provides onboarding support for the second network. (see S2-2004235 p. 6: “This procedure demonstrates the case where SNPN receive “QoS sustainability” information from PLMN. If UE connect PLMN through SNPN via the N3IWF in PLMN, the similar procedure can also be applied.” TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “The Allowed NSSAI for the Access Type for the UE is included in the N2 message carrying the Registration Accept message. The Allowed NSSAI contains only S-NSSAIs that do not require, based on subscription information, Network Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization, or based on the UE Context in the AMF, those S-NSSAI” TS32.502 p. 36.)
As to claims 5, 13, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
(“The initial AMF request UE's Slice Selection Subscription data from UDM by invoking the Nudm_SDM_Get (see clause 5.2.3.3.1) service operation. UDM may get this information from UDR by Nudr_DM_Query(SUPI, Slice Selection Subscription data).” TS32.502 p. 42)
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a second registration request message (“Step 1. UE switch its transmitter to the SNPN’s RAN to conduct initial registration” S2-2004235 p. 7)
comprising credentials to access the second network; (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “1. UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, [last visited TAI (if available)], Security parameters,… ” TS32.502 p. 27. “The Security parameters are used for Authentication and integrity protection” TS32.502 p. 28.)
receiving, by the wireless device from the second network, a second registration accept message; (“21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions],” TS32.502 p. 35)
sending, by the wireless device to the second network, a request to establish a session with the second network; and (“Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session” S2-2004235 p. 7)
receiving, by the wireless device from the second network, a session accept message. (TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: “(R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept))” TS32.502 p. 96)
As to claims 6, and 14, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
wherein the registration request comprises an identifier of the second network.
(TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “UE to (R)AN: AN message (AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, [last visited TAI (if available)], Security parameters, [Requested NSSAI], [Mapping Of Requested NSSAI], [Default Configured NSSAI Indication],” TS32.502 p. 27)
As to claims 7, 15, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses
wherein the registration accept message comprises one or more of: a closed access group identifier (CAG ID) associated with an underlying network capability to access an interworking function of the second network; a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; a data network name (DNN) associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; a registration area associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network; and a mobility restriction associated with the underlying network capability to access the interworking function of the second network. (TS 32.502 § 4.2.2.2.2-1: “21. New AMF to UE: Registration Accept (5G-GUTI, Registration Area, [Mobility restrictions], [PDU Session status], [Allowed NSSAI], [Mapping Of Allowed NSSAI], [Configured NSSAI for the Serving PLMN], [Mapping Of Configured NSSAI], [rejected S-NSSAIs], [Pending NSSAI], [Periodic Registration Update timer], [Active Time], [Strictly Periodic Registration Timer Indication], [LADN Information], [accepted MICO mode], [IMS Voice over PS session supported Indication], [Emergency Service Support indicator], [Accepted DRX parameters], [extended idle mode DRX parameters], [Paging Time Window], [Network support of Interworking without N26], [Access Stratum Connection Establishment NSSAI Inclusion Mode], [Network Slicing Subscription Change Indication], [Operator-defined access category definitions], [List of equivalent PLMNs], [Enhanced Coverage Restricted information], [Supported Network Behaviour], [Service Gap Time], [PLMN-assigned UE Radio Capability ID], [PLMN-assigned UE Radio Capability ID deletion], [WUS Assistance Information], [Truncated 5G-S-TMSI Configuration]).” TS23.502 pp. 35-38)
As to claims 8, 16, S2-2004235 in view of TS32.502 discloses the method/machine/CRM of claims 1, 9, and 17 and further discloses:
sending, by the wireless device to the first network, a session establishment request message (“Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session in PLMN to start second registration with SNPN’s AMF via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN” S2-2004235 p. 7) indicating that the session is for an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection to the interworking function of the second network; (“via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN” S2-2004235 p. 7)
receiving, by the wireless device from the first network, (“Step 3: UE can either creates a new or re-uses a existing PDU session in PLMN to start second registration with SNPN’s AMF via N3IWF to prepare the UL data path with SNPN” S2-2004235 p. 7)
a session accept message; (TS 32.502 § 4.3.2.2.1-1: “(R)AN forwards the NAS message (PDU Session ID, N1 SM container (PDU Session Establishment Accept))” TS32.502 p. 96)
and sending, by the wireless device to an interworking function of the second network, an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection request via the session, wherein the interworking function is a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF). (“Step 3: …. After this step, AMF and UE establish NAS connection via N3IWF….. Step 8& 9: After the PDU session in SNPN is established, SNPN’s UPF starts to forward the DL data to UE via SNPN’s RAN (step 8), while UE transmits the UL data via the over-the-top IPsec tunnel with N3IWF through PLMN.” S2-2004235 p. 7)
an Internet Protocol Security (IPSec) tunnel connection request via the session, wherein the interworking function is a non-3GPP interworking function (N3IWF). (TS 32.502 § 4.12.2.2: “11. The IPsec SA is established between the UE and N3IWF by using the common N3IWF key that was created in the UE in step 9c and received by the N3IWF in step 10a.” TS32.502 p. 247).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly:
Mathison et al., US 2019/0082326, disclosing network slices constituting different networks.
Kodaypak et al., US 2018/0359337, disclosing network slices constituting different networks.
Farmanbar, US 2017/0257870, disclosing network slices constituting different networks.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492