DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-29 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-15, 18, 26-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saby et al. (US PG Pub No. 2024/0126601 A1) in view of Reddy (US Pat No. 11,960,723).
Regarding claim 1, Saby teaches a system comprising:
at least one first processor associated with a first portion of pooled volatile memory ([0033], wherein processors are associated with a volatile memory pool 106; Fig 2, Volatile Memory Pool 212), the pooled volatile memory comprising a second portion not associated with the at least one first processor ([0058-0060], wherein the cloud resource manager (CRM) manage the volatile memory pools and receives requests for memory allocations, i.e. it is inherent that the entire memory pool is not associated with the requesting server/processor); and
allocate at least a third portion of the second portion of the pooled volatile memory to the at least one first processor ([0056-60]; Claim 10).
Saby does not explicitly teach a second processor for performing the allocating, wherein the second portion and the third portion of the pooled volatile memory are not associated with the second processor.
Saby is silent regarding the underlying hardware for carrying out the functions.
Reddy teaches the use of a memory controller for managing the allocation of memory pools wherein the memory controller is a processor (col 2 lines 2-35). The processor of the memory controller is not associated with second and third portions of memory and is only used for the assignment of memory (col 2 lines 25-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a hardware processor for implementing the allocation of memory. One would be motivated by the desire to offload the allocation to a dedicated memory controller to increase security (col 8 lines 24-27)
Regarding claim 3, Saby teaches wherein the second processor is to maintain a memory map of the pooled volatile memory ([0017]), the at least one first processor is to request access to data stored in the pooled volatile memory, and the second processor is to use the memory map to locate the data ([0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Saby teaches wherein the second processor is to allocate the third portion of the pooled volatile memory to the at least one first processor in response to a request to store data originating at least in part from an application being performed by the at least one first processor ([0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Saby teaches wherein further comprising: a device associated with the second portion of the pooled volatile memory and not including the at least one first processor (Fig 2, wherein multiple servers exist to utilize the pooled volatile memory pool).
Regarding claim 8, Saby teaches wherein further comprising: a third processor associated with the second portion of the pooled volatile memory (Fig 2, wherein multiple servers exist to utilize the pooled volatile memory pool).
Regarding claim 9, Sindhu teaches wherein the second processor is to manage input and output (“IO”) to and from the at least one first processor (abstract; [0006]; [0008])
Regarding claim 10, Saby teaches wherein the second portion comprises volatile memory that is remote with respect to the at least one first processor ([0033]; wherein processors are associated with a volatile memory pool 106; Fig 2, Volatile Memory Pool 212; [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Saby teaches wherein the first portion is to be utilized by at least one tenant, and the second processor is to allocate a fourth portion of the second portion of the pooled volatile memory to one or more tenants (Fig 2, wherein multiple servers exist to utilize the pooled volatile memory pool).
Regarding claims 12, 14-15 and 18, they are the processor claims of claims 1, 3-4 and 9 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 3-4 and 9 above.
Regarding claim 26, Saby teaches a method comprising:
receiving,
using,
causing,
Saby does not explicitly teach a receiving processor for performing the receiving and transferring. Saby is silent regarding the underlying hardware for carrying out the functions of the cloud resource manager (CRM). However, Sindhu teaches using a DPU for performing memory allocation and freeing ([0075]; [0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a hardware processor for implementing the allocation of memory.
Regarding claim 27, Sindhu teaches wherein the receiving processor is a data processing unit (“DPU”) ([0075]; [0089]).
Regarding claim 29, Saby teaches wherein the receiving processor and the requesting processor are components of a distributed computing environment comprising a data center or a multi-cloud environment, and the receiving processor receives the request from the requesting processor through the distributed computing environment (Figs 1-2).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saby et al. (US PG Pub No. 2024/0126601 A1) in view of Reddy (US Pat No. 11,960,723), further in view of Sindhu et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0012278 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Saby and Reddy do not teach further comprising: a data processing unit (“DPU”) comprising the second processor.
Sindhu teaches a data processing unit (“DPU”) comprising the second processor ([0075]; [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a DPU for implementing the allocation of memory. One would be motivated by the desire to support use a DPU to support specialized network-on-chip (NoC) fabrics for inter-processor communication as taught by Sindhu ([0075]).
Regarding claim 13, it is the processor claim of claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17, 19, 22-25, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saby et al. (US PG Pub No. 2024/0126601 A1) in view of Reddy (US Pat No. 11,960,723), further in view of Zhang et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0263913 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Saby and Reddy do not teach further comprising: a subsystem comprising the second processor and a switch to transfer data from the third portion of the pooled volatile memory to the at least one first processor or a fourth portion of the pooled volatile memory.
Zhang teaches coupling multiple host systems together using a network switch where requests and responses are communicated with the data center cluster using the memory pool (abstract; [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a switch to transfer data from the third portion of the pooled volatile memory to the first processor. One would be motivated by the desire to utilize commonly used networking components to enable multiple hosts to communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the switch is a Compute Express Link (“CXL”) switch (abstract; [0134]).
Regarding claims 16-17, they are the processor claims of claims 5-6 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 5-6 above.
Regarding claim 19, Saby teaches a method comprising:
receiving,
allocating,
Saby does not teach using a first processor for the receiving and allocating, wherein the second portion of the aggregated volatile memory is not associated with the first processor.
Saby is silent regarding the underlying hardware for carrying out the functions. Reddy teaches the use of a memory controller for managing the allocation of memory pools wherein the memory controller is a processor (col 2 lines 2-35). The processor of the memory controller is not associated with the second portion of memory and is only used for the assignment of memory (col 2 lines 25-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a hardware processor for implementing the allocation of memory. One would be motivated by the desire to offload the allocation to a dedicated memory controller to increase security (col 8 lines 24-27)
Saby and Reddy do not teach causing a subsystem, using the first processor, comprising one or more circuits, and a switch to transfer the data from the second processor to the second portion of the aggregated volatile memory.
Zhang teaches coupling multiple host systems together using a network switch where requests and responses are communicated with the data center cluster using the memory pool (abstract; [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a switch to transfer data from the third portion of the pooled volatile memory to the first processor. One would be motivated by the desire to utilize commonly used networking components to enable multiple hosts to communicate with each other.
Regarding claim 22, Saby teaches wherein the DPU receives the request from the requesting processor through a data center or a multi-cloud environment ([0056-60]; Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Saby teaches further comprising: updating a memory map for the aggregated volatile memory to record the allocation of the second portion of the aggregated volatile memory to the requesting processor ([0017]; [0020]).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches wherein the switch is a Compute Express Link (“CXL”) switch (abstract; [0134]).
Regarding claim 25 Saby teaches allocating at least a third portion of the aggregated volatile memory to different processor, the third portion not being not directly accessible by the different processor ([0056]).
Regarding claim 28, Saby, Reddy, and Zhang do not teach wherein the receiving processor causes a Compute Express Link (“CXL”) switch to transfer the data.
Zhang teaches coupling multiple host systems together using a network switch, such as a Compute Express Link (“CXL”) switch, where requests and responses are communicated with the data center cluster using the memory pool (abstract; [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a switch to transfer data from the third portion of the pooled volatile memory to the first processor. One would be motivated by the desire to utilize commonly used networking components to enable multiple hosts to communicate with each other.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saby et al. (US PG Pub No. 2024/0126601 A1) in view of Reddy (US Pat No. 11,960,723), further in view of Zhang et al. (US PG Pub No. 2022/0263913 A1), further in view of Sindhu et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0012278 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Saby, Reddy, and Zhang do not teach wherein the receiving, allocating, and causing are performed by a data processing unit.
Sindhu teaches a data processing unit (“DPU”) comprising the second processor ([0075]; [0089]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a DPU for implementing the allocation of memory. One would be motivated by the desire to support use a DPU to support specialized network-on-chip (NoC) fabrics for inter-processor communication as taught by Sindhu ([0075]).
Regarding claim 21, Sindhu teaches the DPU comprises the subsystem ([0075]; [0089]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195