DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 4/24/26 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9, 11, 27-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0058627) in view of LIU et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0294921).
Referring to figures 1-3H, Chen et al. teaches a method for fabricating an interconnection bridge (300) configured for coupling two semiconductor integrated-circuit (IC) chips (704/804) to each other, wherein the two semiconductor integrated-circuit (IC) chips are horizontally arranged and each of the two semiconductor integrated-circuit (IC) chips extends across over an edge of the interconnection bridge (see figure 3H), wherein the method comprises: providing a silicon wafer with a plurality of first scribe lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of second scribe lines extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and a plurality of portions each between neighboring two of the plurality of first scribe lines and between neighboring two of the plurality of second scribe lines, wherein each of the plurality of portions comprises twenty (20) first metal contacts (308) at a first side of a top surface of said each of the plurality of portions and twenty (20) second metal contacts (308) at a second side, opposite to the first side, of the top surface of said each of the plurality of portions, wherein the twenty first metal contacts are arranged in a first line in the first direction and the twenty second metal contacts are arranged in a second line in the first direction, wherein said each of the plurality of portions comprises twenty (20) first metal interconnects each coupling one of the twenty first metal contacts to one of the twenty second metal contacts, wherein said one of the twenty first metal contacts and said one of the twenty second metal contacts are aligned in a third line in the second direction; and cutting the silicon wafer along the plurality of first and second scribe lines to form one of plurality of portions as the interconnection bridge in a separated unit (see paragraph# 51, see figure 3H).
However, the reference doesnot clearly teach the specific number of metal bumps.
It would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to form the specific number of metal bumps with the same process as using in the first oxide layer to form a thicker oxide
layer since it is well-known in the art to repeat the same process for multiple effect. See St.
Regis paper, Co. V. Bemis Co. Inc. 193 USPQ 8, 11 (7th circuit 1977).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a specific number of metal bumps in TSAI et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to improve electrical connectivity
Liu et al. teaches scribe lines to form one of plurality of portions of interconnect bridge (see figures 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed to form scribe lines to form one of plurality of portions in Chen et al. as taught by Liu et al. because it is known in the art to form individual device.
Regarding to claim 2, the each of the plurality of portions further comprises twenty (20) third metal contacts arranged at the first side and in a fourth line in the first direction and between the first and second lines and twenty (20) fourth metal contacts arranged at the second side and in a fifth line in the first direction and between the second and fourth lines, wherein said each of the plurality of portions further comprises twenty (20) second metal interconnects each coupling one of the twenty third metal contacts to one of the twenty fourth metal contacts, wherein said one of the twenty third metal contacts and said one of the twenty fourth metal contacts are aligned in the third line with said one of the twenty first metal contacts and said one of the twenty second metal contacts (308, see figure 3H) .
Regarding to claim 3, wherein a space between said one of the twenty third metal contacts and said one of the twenty fourth metal contacts is greater than a space between said one of the twenty first metal contacts and said one of the twenty third metal contacts and greater than a space between said one of the twenty second metal contacts
Regarding to claim 4, wherein the interconnection bridge has no transistor therein (see figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 5, the interconnection bridge comprises a passive device therein (1200, see figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 6, Liu et al. wherein the each of the twenty first and second metal contacts comprises a copper layer and a tin-containing solder over the copper layer (see paragraph# 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed to form each of the twenty first and second metal contacts comprises a copper layer and a tin-containing solder over the copper layer in Chen et al. as taught by Liu et al. because it is known in the art that choosing an optimum material for a layer is known the semiconductor device.
Regarding to claim 7, each of the twenty first and second metal contacts comprises a copper layer having a thickness between 1 and 60 micrometers (see paragraph# 43, figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 8, the each of the twenty first and second metal contacts comprises a copper layer and an adhesion metal layer at a bottom of the copper layer and not at a sidewall, vertically over a top surface of an insulating dielectric layer of said each of the plurality of portions, of the copper layer.
Regarding to claim 9, the silicon wafer comprises a silicon substrate (see paragraph# 15) and an interconnection scheme on the silicon substrate, wherein the interconnection scheme comprises a first insulating dielectric layer over the silicon substrate, a first interconnection metal layer on a top surface of the first insulating dielectric layer, a second interconnection metal layer over the first interconnection metal layer, a second insulating dielectric layer between the first and second interconnection metal layers and a third insulating dielectric layer on the second interconnection metal layer, wherein the first interconnection metal layer comprises a copper layer over the top surface of the first insulating dielectric layer and a first adhesion metal layer at a first bottom and first sidewall of the copper layer and between the first bottom of the copper layer and the top surface of the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the first sidewall of the copper layer is vertically over the top surface of the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the twenty first metal interconnects are provided by the interconnection scheme (see figure 3H).
Liu et al. teaches the silicon wafer comprises a third scribe line extending in the second direction and between neighboring two of the plurality of second scribe lines, wherein said cutting the silicon wafer along the plurality of first and second scribe lines is performed without cutting the silicon wafer along the third scribe line, wherein the third scribe line is reserved in the interconnection bridge (see figures 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed to form scribe lines to form one of plurality of portions in Chen et al. as taught by Liu et al. because it is known in the art to form individual device.
Regarding to claim 27, the silicon wafer further comprises a third metal contact at its top and in the first line with the twenty first metal contacts, a fourth metal contact at its top and in the second line with the twenty second metal contacts and a second metal interconnect coupling the third metal contact to the fourth metal contact, wherein the third and fourth metal contacts are aligned in a fourth line in the second direction, wherein said cutting the silicon wafer along the plurality of first and second scribe lines comprises cutting through the third and fourth metal contacts (see figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 28, the interconnection scheme further comprises a fourth insulating dielectric layer on the top surface of the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the fourth insulating dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen, wherein the first interconnection metal layer is further in an opening in the fourth insulating dielectric layer and the first adhesion metal layer is further horizontally between the first sidewall of the copper layer and the fourth insulating dielectric layer (see paragraph# 16, figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 29, the first interconnection metal layer further extends downwards into an opening in the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the copper layer further extends downwards into the opening in the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the copper layer has a second sidewall and second bottom in the opening in the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the first adhesion metal layer is further at the second sidewall of the copper layer, horizontally between the second sidewall of the copper layer and the first insulating dielectric layer and at the second bottom of the copper layer (see figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 30, the first insulating dielectric layer comprises silicon and oxygen (see paragraph# 16, figure 3H).
Regarding to claim 31, each of the twenty first and second metal contacts is a metal bump (see figure 3H).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-26 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
None of the prior art teaches or suggests the second interconnection metal layer comprises a bulk metal layer and a second adhesion layer at a bottom of the bulk metal layer thereof but not at a sidewall, over the first insulating dielectric layer, of the bulk metal layer thereof, wherein the second adhesion layer is on the first insulating dielectric layer, wherein the second insulating dielectric layer contacts the sidewall of the bulk metal layer and is over a top of the bulk metal layer, wherein the second interconnection metal layer comprises a plurality of metal pads each at a bottom of one of a plurality of openings in the second insulating dielectric layer, wherein each of the plurality first and second metal bumps is on a metal pad of the plurality of metal pads and over an opening of the plurality of openings and couples to the metal pad through the opening.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893