DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 6/24/2026 has been entered. Claim 4 is cancelled. Claim 19 is withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 5-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a first positive tab” in line 4, “a first negative tab” in line 5, “a second positive tab” in line 6, and “a second negative tab” in line 7. It is not clear if the “a first positive tab” of claim 6 is a failure to invoke proper antecedent basis to the first positive tab recited within claim 1, or if this is an improperly claimed element that is separate and different from the first positive tab recited in claim 1. The same is true of the “a first negative tab”, “a second positive tab”, and “a second negative tab” of claim 6. For compact prosecution purposes, the issue will be considered to be the former and the claim will be examined accordingly.
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the second adapter is connected to a second end of the second inner post, and the second end of the second inner post passes through the second sleeve and is connected to the second sleeve on an outer side of the housing” in lines 4-7. It is unclear how the second end of the second inner post can be both connected to the second adapter and also passing through the second sleeve to connect to the second sleeve on an outer side of the housing, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN 214176205, making reference to previously provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Wu") in view of Jang et al. (US 2023/0025048, hereinafter "Jang") and Chen et al. (US 2022/0006115, hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a battery cell unit including a first battery cell 101 (“first body structure”) and a second battery cell/first battery cell 102 (“second body structure”) spaced out along a first direction [Wu Fig. 1, 0006, “A battery cell unit, comprising multiple battery cells, including an adjacent first battery cell and a second battery cell“, 0028, “an adjacent first battery cell 101 and a first battery cell 102”]. Wu teaches that the battery cell unit may be disposed inside a support frame (“housing”) [0037, “the battery cell unit is located inside the support frame, and the battery cell unit is fixedly connected to the support frame”]. Wu discloses that the battery cell unit also comprises a first positive electrode tab 1011 (“first positive tab”) and a first negative electrode tab 2012 (“first negative tab”) extending from the first battery cell 101, as well as a second positive electrode tab 1021 (“second positive tab”) and a second negative electrode tab 1022 (“second negative tab”) extending from the first battery cell 102 [Wu Fig. 1, 0028]. Wu Fig. 1 shows that the first positive electrode tab 1011 and the first negative electrode tab 2012 are disposed at an end of the first battery cell 101 facing the other first battery cell 102 along the first direction, and that the second positive electrode tab 1021 and the second negative electrode tab 1022 are disposed at an end of the other first battery cell 102 facing the first battery cell 101 along the first direction. Wu is silent regarding the first battery cell comprising a first positive electrode plate and a first negative electrode plate and the second battery cell comprising a second positive electrode plate and a second negative electrode plate.
1: Wu Fig. 1 (annotated by examiner)
Chen teaches analogous art of a battery including a battery housing, a first current collector (10) (“positive electrode plate”), and a second current collector (20) (“negative electrode plate”), the current collectors being disposed inside the battery housing (60) [Abstract]. Chen teaches that the first current collector is in contact with the battery housing, and that the first and second current collectors have different polarities [0006, “Polarities of the first current collector and the second current collector are different, and the first current collector is in contact with the battery housing”]. Chen discloses that if the first current collector is a positive electrode current collector, the second current collector is a negative electrode current collector [0007, “In an embodiment of the application, if the first current collector is a positive electrode current collector, the second current collector is correspondingly a negative electrode current collector”]. Chen teaches that the second current collector is insulated from the battery housing by being separate from the housing at a preset distance (L2) [0068, “Therefore, the second preset distance L2 is reserved, in the second direction, between the second current collector 20 and the battery housing 60, to improve safety of the cell during operation”]. Fig. 1 of Chen shows that an end of the first current collector protrudes beyond the second current collector and contacts a first inner surface of the housing. Chen also teaches two battery posts (70, 71), each connected to the first current collector and the second current collector, respectively, on an opposite side from where the first current collector contacts the battery housing [Chen Fig. 7a, 0092].
Chen teaches that when the first current collector is brought into contact with the battery housing, a part of the heat generated by a cell can be directly conducted to the battery housing through the first current collector, thus improving the heat dissipation of the cell [0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the battery cell unit of Wu by substituting both the first battery cell and the second battery cell with the battery taught by Chen, in order to improve the heat dissipation of the battery cell unit. Since Wu teaches that the battery cell unit may be bonded to the support frame, the first current collectors would be disposed in indirect contact with the support frame, through their respective housings. Furthermore, since Chen teaches that the first current collector contact with the housing occurs at an end opposite to an end on which the battery posts are disposed, when the batteries of Chen are substituted into the battery cell unit of Wu, the ends where the first current collector makes contact with the housing in each battery would be disposed on opposite surfaces to each other [see annotated figure below].
2: Chen Fig. 2 annotated by examiner, shown inside the construct of Wu
While Wu teaches a battery cell unit further comprising two battery cells, the battery cell unit of Wu may also constitute “a battery cell” as claimed. Jang teaches analogous art of a battery cell, wherein a battery cell is defined as including “at least two battery units, each including a plurality of electrode leads, wherein the electrode leads of one battery unit are connected to the other [Abstract]. Therefore, the difference between the claim language of “a battery cell” and the “battery cell unit” taught by Wu is simply a matter of word choice, and, as evidenced by Jang, a battery cell may be constituted of two cells with their own terminals and housings that are electrically connected to one another.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Chen teaches that the first current collector is coated with an active substance (40) (“active material layer”) [Chen Fig. 1, 0071]. Chen teaches that the coating range of the active substance does not extend the full length of the first current collector, and that the first current collector protrudes beyond the coating range of the active substance to contact the inner surface of the housing [Chen Fig. 1, 0071, “the first current collector 10 is coated with an active substance 40, and a coating range of the active substance 40 on the first current collector 10 does not extend, in the second direction, beyond the separator 30”].
Chen teaches that if the active substance were coated on the part of the first current collector which extends to the housing, the active substance may come into contact with an adjacent second current collector, resulting in a short circuit [0072].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the battery cells, or the first and second body structures, taught by modified Wu to have the first current collectors of each battery cell protrude beyond an end of the coating range of the active substance as taught by Chen, in order to prevent a short circuit. Furthermore, since Chen teaches that the first current collector contact with the housing occurs at an end opposite to an end on which the battery posts are disposed, when the batteries of Chen are substituted into the battery cell unit of Wu, the ends where the first current collector makes contact with the housing in each battery would be disposed on opposite surfaces to each other [see annotated figure above].
Regarding claim 3, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
Chen teaches that the second current collector may be at a preset distance (L2) from the battery housing [Chen Fig. 1, 0066].
Chen teaches that when the first current collector is in contact with the battery housing, if the second current collector were to also contact the battery housing, the cell may be short-circuited, therefore the preset distance between the end of the second current collector and the battery housing is reserved in order to improve safety of the cell during battery operation [0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified each of the battery cells, or the first and second body structures, taught by modified Wu to have the ends of the second current collectors of each battery cell oriented away from each other in a first direction to be at a preset distance from the housing as taught by Chen, in order to prevent a short-circuit and improve battery cell safety.
Regarding claim 15, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above.
Chen teaches that the battery may further include a separator, and that the first current collector, second current collector, and separator may be stacked and rolled using a third direction as an axis (“winding centerline”) [0009]. Chen teaches that the third direction is the direction in which the first current collector extends to contact the battery housing [0009].
Chen teaches that separator acts as a barrier between an active substance coated on the first current collector and the second current collector, which improves the safety of the cell during operation [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell taught by modified Wu to include a separator wound with the first current collector and the second current collector in each battery cell, in order to improve the safety of the battery cell during operation. Furthermore, since the rolling axis is parallel with the direction in which the first current collector extends to contact the battery housing, the rolling axis of both battery cells is thus parallel to the first direction.
Regarding claim 17, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Wu discloses that the battery cell may be included in a battery module (“battery”) [0070, “This utility model embodiment also provides a battery module, including at least one of the above-described battery cell components”].
Regarding claim 18, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Wu does not specifically teach an electrical device comprising the battery module. However, since batteries are meant to provide electrical energy and power to electrical devices, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the battery module of Wu in an electrical device in order to supply electrical energy to the electrical device. This is evidenced by Jang, which teaches an electronic device (“electrical device”), such as a smartphone or computer, including a battery pack (“battery”) [0089].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 214176205) in view of Jang (US 2023/0025048) and Chen (US 2022/0006115) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0083256, hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding claim 5, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above. Wu is silent regarding a bracket disposed between the first body structure and the second body structure.
Liu teaches analogous art of a battery (“battery cell”) comprising at least one pair of pole cores, each pair of pole cores comprising a first pole core (11) (“first body structure”) and a second pole core (12) (“second body structure”) [Liu Fig. 5, 0082, “The pole core 10 of the battery 100 may include at least one pair of pole cores 10, and each pair of pole cores 10 includes a first pole core 11 and a second pole core 12”]. Liu also teaches that the battery comprises an insulating spacer (50) (“bracket”) between the first pole core and the second pole core, on an underside of tabs (20) connected to the pole cores [Liu Fig. 5, 0048, “the battery 100 according to the embodiments of the present disclosure may include: a housing (not shown in the figure), a pole core 10, a cover plate 30, a terminal 40, and an insulating spacer 50”].
Liu teaches that the insulating spacer can effectively prevent deformation or damage of the tabs by cooperating with a cover plate of the battery to fasten the tabs [0052, “The insulating spacer 50 cooperates with the cover plate 30 to fasten the softer tab 20 and prevent deformation of the tab 20, 0053, “The battery 100 according to the embodiments of the present disclosure includes the insulating spacer 50, and can effectively prevent deformation or damage of the tab 20”]. Liu also teaches that the insulating spacer improves the structure firmness of the tab [0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell taught by modified Wu to include an insulating spacer as taught by Liu, in order to prevent deformation or damage to the battery cell. While Liu does not specifically teach that the insulating spacer functions to keep a positive electrode plate in contact with an inner surface of the housing, the structure of the insulating spacer is capable of performing the same function. The insulating spacer reduces the amount of free space within the battery, thus preventing the tabs and pole cores from shifting away from the battery’s housing. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) [see MPEP 2114(II)].
Further regarding claim 6, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 5, as described in the rejection of instant claim 5 above.
Liu teaches that the insulating spacer may further comprise reinforcing ribs (502) (“first and second support structures”) protruding towards the pole cores [0068, “a side surface that is of the insulating spacer 50 and that faces away from the cover plate 30 may be provided with a reinforcing rib 502 that protrudes toward the pole core 10”]. As shown in Fig. 5 of Liu, one reinforcing rib serves as a support between the first pole core and the tabs (20) of the first pole core, and the other reinforcing rib serves as a support between the second pole core and the tabs of the second pole core (only one tab of the first pole core and the second pole core can be seen in Fig. 5). The reinforcing ribs are connected by the middle portion of the insulating spacer (“third support structure”) [Liu Fig. 5].
Liu teaches that the reinforcing ribs can enhance the strength of the insulating spacer, and prevent the insulating spacer from being deformed or broken [0068].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery cell taught by modified Wu to include insulating ribs on the insulating spacer as taught by Liu, in order to strengthen the insulating spacer and prevent the insulating spacer from being deformed or broken.
Claims 7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 214176205) in view of Jang (US 2023/0025048) and Chen (US 2022/0006115) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitaoka et al. (US 2016/0293929, hereinafter "Kitaoka").
Regarding claim 7, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above. Wu further discloses that the battery cell unit may include a first electrode plate 20 (“first adapter”) and a second electrode plate 30 (“second adapter”) [Wu Fig. 1, 0063, 0067]. Wu teaches that the first positive electrode tab and the second positive electrode tab may both be connected to the first electrode plate 20 [Wu Fig. 1, 0063-0064]. Wu teaches that the first negative electrode tab and the second negative electrode tab may both be connected to the second electrode plate 30 [Wu Fig. 1, 0067-0068]. Wu discloses that the first and second electrode plates facilitate the connection of the battery cell unit to an external structure, but does not specifically teach a separate positive post and a separate negative post.
Kitaoka teaches analogous art of a prismatic battery comprising an electrode body, a prismatic outer body housing the electrode body, and a positive electrode terminal (7) (“positive post”) and a negative electrode terminal (9) (“negative post”) [Kitaoka Fig. 1, 0013]. Kitaoka teaches that the electrode body is connected to the positive electrode terminal via a positive electrode current collector (“first adapter”), and that the electrode body is connected to the negative electrode terminal via a negative electrode current collector (“second adapter”) [0013]. Kitaoka teaches that the positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal may be connected to an external conductive member disposed on the outer side of the battery [0092]. Kitaoka further discloses that a plurality of electrode bodies may be connected to the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode current collector [0015].
Both Wu and Kitaoka teach a structure for connecting multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Kitaoka’s electrode bodies) to adapters (Wu’s electrode plates, Kitaoka’s current collectors) in order to provide a way for the battery cell to be connected to an external structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined and connected the known positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal, or positive post and negative post, taught by Kitaoka with the first electrode plate and second electrode plate, or first adapter and second adapter, of Wu, and the results of which, i.e. providing a way for the battery cell to connect to an external structure, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 12, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7 above. Wu Fig. 1 shows that the first electrode plate 20 comprises a “first connecting structure” extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction. As described previously, Wu teaches that the first positive electrode tab and the second positive electrode tab may both be connected to the first electrode plate 20 [0063-0064], which would be along the first connecting structure.
As described above, Kitaoka teaches that the electrode body is connected to the positive electrode terminal via the positive electrode current collector [0013], and that the positive electrode terminal may be connected to an external conductive member disposed on the outer side of the battery [0092].
Both Wu and Kitaoka teach a structure for connecting multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Kitaoka’s electrode bodies) to adapters (Wu’s electrode plates, Kitaoka’s current collectors) in order to provide a way for the battery cell to be connected to an external structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined and connected the known positive electrode terminal, or positive post, taught by Kitaoka at an end of the first connecting structure of the first electrode plate, or first adapter, of Wu, and the results of which, i.e. providing a way for the battery cell to connect to an external structure, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 13, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7 above. Wu Fig. 1 shows that the second electrode plate 30 comprises a “third connecting structure” extending in a direction perpendicular to the first direction. As described previously, Wu teaches that the first negative electrode tab and the second negative electrode tab may both be connected to the second electrode plate 30 [0067-0068], which would be along the third connecting structure.
As described above, Kitaoka teaches that the electrode body is connected to the negative electrode terminal via the negative electrode current collector [0013], and that the negative electrode terminal may be connected to an external conductive member disposed on the outer side of the battery [0092].
Both Wu and Kitaoka teach a structure for connecting multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Kitaoka’s electrode bodies) to adapters (Wu’s electrode plates, Kitaoka’s current collectors) in order to provide a way for the battery cell to be connected to an external structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined and connected the known negative electrode terminal, or negative post, taught by Kitaoka at an end of the third connecting structure of the second electrode plate, or second adapter, of Wu, and the results of which, i.e. providing a way for the battery cell to connect to an external structure, would have been predictable [see MPEP2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 14, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7 above.
Kitaoka teaches that the negative electrode terminal comprises a flange portion (9a) (“second outer post”) and an insert portion (9b) (“second inner post”) [Kitaoka Fig. 2, 0079, “The negative electrode terminal 9 has a flange portion 9a and an insert portion 9b”]. Kitaoka also teaches an insulating member (“first insulator”) disposed in the prismatic outer body on the inner side of a sealing plate [Kitaoka Fig. 2, 0079]. Kitaoka Fig. 2 shows that the insulating member provides insulation between the insert portion 9b of the negative electrode terminal and the sealing plate and prismatic outer body.
Both Wu and Kitaoka teach a housing (Wu’s support frame, Kitaoka’s prismatic outer body) for accommodating multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Kitaoka’s electrode bodies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known insulating member, or first insulator, taught by Kitaoka with the support frame, or housing, taught by Wu, and the results of which, i.e. providing a housing for multiple body structures, would have been predictable [MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 214176205) in view of Jang (US 2023/0025048), Chen (US 2022/0006115), and Kitaoka (2016/0293929) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (CN 113300034, making reference to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Ji").
Regarding claim 8, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 7, as described in the rejection of instant claim 7 above. Modified Wu does not specifically teach the positive post being mounted on a first side face of the housing and the negative post being mounted on a second side face of the housing, wherein the first side face is disposed opposite to the second side face.
Ji teaches analogous art of a sealed battery comprising a casing/housing and at least two electrode cores inside the casing [0005, “A sealed battery includes: a casing defining a receiving cavity open at least one end; a separator disposed within the receiving cavity to divide the receiving cavity into at least two chambers; at least two electrode cores”]. Ji teaches that the two ends of the housing are open and opposite to each other, and that a first end plate covers one end of the housing, and a second end plate covers the other end of the housing [0050, “the two ends of the housing 1 are open and opposite to each other. The cover plate includes a first end plate 31 and a second end plate 32. The first end plate 31 covers one end of the receiving cavity, and the second end plate 32 covers the other end of the receiving cavity”]. Ji teaches that a positive electrode post may be disposed on the first end plate (“first side face of the housing”), and the negative electrode post may be disposed on the second end plate (“second side face of the housing”) [0050, “The positive electrode post 41 of each electrode post group is disposed on the first end plate 31, and the negative electrode post 42 is disposed on the second end plate 32”]. Ji teaches that the positive post is electrically connected to the positive electrode of the electrode assembly, and the negative post is electrically connected to the negative electrode of the electrode assembly [0049].
The positive and negative posts of modified Wu and the positive and negative posts of Ji both allow for the battery on which they are disposed to be able to connect to an external electronic device, in order to provide power to the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by modified Wu by rearranging one of the positive post or negative post to be disposed on a side face of the case opposite to the side face of the case on which the other terminal is disposed, both side faces being parallel to the stacking direction, as taught by Ji, in order to yield the predictable result of a battery having terminals allowing it to connect to an external electronic device. It would have been obvious to try this configuration out of the finite number of possibilities of the arrangement of the terminals on the battery case [see MPEP 2143(I)(E)]. See also the following case law in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C):
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); and
In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)
The rearrangement of the terminals of modified Wu would not have modified the operation of the battery; the battery would still provide power to an electronic device.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 8, as described in the rejection of instant claim 8 above. Modified Wu does not specifically teach a first end cap sealing a first opening disposed on the first side face of the housing and a second end cap sealing a second opening disposed on the second side face of the housing.
As described in the rejection of instant claim 9 above, Ji teaches that the two ends of the housing are open and opposite to each other, and that a first end plate covers one end of the housing, and a second end plate covers the other end of the housing [0050, “the two ends of the housing 1 are open and opposite to each other. The cover plate includes a first end plate 31 and a second end plate 32. The first end plate 31 covers one end of the receiving cavity, and the second end plate 32 covers the other end of the receiving cavity”].
Both Wu and Ji teach a housing (Wu’s support frame, Ji’s housing) for accommodating multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Ji’s electrode cores).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the known housing including a first opening covered by a first end plate, or first end cap and a second opening covered by a second end plate, or second end cap, of Ji for the housing of modified Wu, and the result of this substitution, i.e., providing a housing for multiple body structures would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)]. See also the following case law in MPEP 2144.04(V)(C):
In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.")
Regarding claim 10, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 9, as described in the rejection of instant claim 9 above.
Kitaoka teaches that the positive electrode terminal comprises a flange portion (7a) (“first outer post”) and an insert portion (7b) (“first inner post”) [Kitaoka Fig. 2, 0078, “The positive electrode terminal 7 has a flange portion 7a and an insert portion 7b”]. Kitaoka also teaches a gasket (11) (“first sleeve”) disposed on a sealing plate of the prismatic outer body (“end cap”), wherein the flange portion is disposed on an outer side of the sealing plate, connected to the gasket [Kitaoka Fig. 2]. A first end of the insert portion is connected to a positive electrode current collector (6) (“first adapter”), and a second end of the insert portion passes through the gasket and is connected to the gasket on an outer side of the prismatic outer body [Kitaoka Fig. 2, 0080, “The positive electrode current collector 6 has a base portion 6a to be connected to the positive electrode terminal 7”].
Kitaoka teaches that the positive electrode terminal comprising these parts is integrally secured [0078, “thus the positive electrode terminal 7, the gasket 11, the sealing plate 2, the insulating member 10, and the positive electrode current collector 6 are integrally secured”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminals of modified Wu to comprise the structure taught by Kitaoka, in order to ensure that the terminals are integrally secured.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 9, as described in the rejection of instant claim 9 above.
Kitaoka teaches that the negative electrode terminal comprises a flange portion (9a) (“second outer post”) and an insert portion (9b) (“second inner post”) [Kitaoka Fig. 2, 0079, “The negative electrode terminal 9 has a flange portion 9a and an insert portion 9b”]. Kitaoka also teaches a gasket (13) (“second sleeve”) disposed on a sealing plate of the prismatic outer body (“end cap”), wherein the flange portion is disposed on an outer side of the sealing plate, connected to the gasket [Kitaoka Fig. 2]. A first end of the insert portion is connected to a negative electrode current collector (8) (“second adapter”), and a second end of the insert portion passes through the gasket and is connected to the gasket on an outer side of the prismatic outer body [Kitaoka Fig. 2].
Kitaoka teaches that the negative electrode terminal comprising these parts is integrally secured [0079, “thus the negative electrode terminal 9, the gasket 13, the sealing plate 2, the insulating member 12, and the negative electrode current collector 8 are integrally secured”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the terminals of modified Wu to comprise the structure taught by Kitaoka, in order to ensure that the terminals are integrally secured.
3: Kitaoka Fig. 2 annotated by examiner
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 214176205) in view of Jang (US 2023/0025048), Chen (US 2022/0006115), and Kitaoka (2016/0293929) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 2012/0225342, hereinafter "Byun").
Regarding claim 16, modified Wu teaches the battery cell of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1 above. Wu does not specifically teach the housing being made of a metal material.
Byun teaches analogous art of a secondary battery (“battery cell”) comprising at least two electrode assemblies (“body structures”) and a case (“housing”) accommodating the electrode assemblies [Byun Figs. 2B and 3, Abstract, entire disclosure relied upon]. Byun teaches that the case may be formed of a metal material such as aluminum, copper, iron, or stainless steel [0043].
Both Wu and Byun teach a housing (Wu’s support frame, Byun’s case) for accommodating multiple body structures (Wu’s battery cells, Byun’s electrode assemblies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the known metal material of the housing taught by Byun for that of Wu, the results of which, i.e. providing suitable housing for multiple body structures, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729