DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 3/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2007/0257299.
Re claim 1, Chen teaches a non-volatile memory device (fig1), comprising at least one memory cell (fig2), wherein the at least one memory cell comprises:
a substrate (19, fig2, [21]) comprising a first doped region (21, fig2, [49]) and a second doped region (13, fig2, [46]);
an assist gate (17, fig2, [21]) disposed on the substrate and adjacent to the second doped region (13, fig2, [46]);
a byte select gate (WL 14, fig2, [22]) disposed on the substrate and adjacent to the first doped region (21, fig2, [49]);
a floating gate (11 FG, fig2, [21]) disposed on the substrate and between the assist gate (17, fig2, [21]) and byte select gate (14, fig2, [22]),
wherein the floating gate (11, fig2, [24]) comprising an upper edge (top two edge of FG 11 facing CG16, fig2, [22]) higher than top surfaces of the assist gate (17, fig2, [22]) and the byte select gate (14, fig2, [22]); and
an upper gate (16, fig2, [22]) covering the assist gate (17, fig2, [22]) and the floating gate (11, fig2, [24]),
wherein the upper gate (16, fig2, [22]) is laterally spaced apart (16 and 14 only partially overlap with each other with right side of 16 laterally spaced apart from 14, fig2) from the byte select gate (14, fig2, [22]), and the upper edge of the floating gate (top two edge of FG 11 facing CG16, fig2, [22]) is embedded in the upper gate (16, fig2, [22]).
wherein the byte select gate is configured to turn on or turn off a channel region in the substrate under the byte select gate (word line 14 turn on or off channel region between 21 and source line 13, fig2 and 3).
Re claim 2, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 1, wherein the assist gate has the same composition as the byte select gate (14 and 17 formed by etching polysilicon 44, fig4D-4H, [40]).
Re claim 3, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 1, wherein the assist gate (17, fig2, [21]) is laterally spaced apart from the byte select gate (14, fig2, [21]).
Re claim 5, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 1, wherein the assist gate (17, fig2, [21]), the byte select gate (WL 14, fig2, [22]), and the upper gate (16, fig2, [22]) extend along a same direction (14, 16 and 17 along SL in fig1).
Re claim 10, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory cell comprises two adjacent memory cells arranged in a same column and having a mirror image of each other (fig1-3).
Re claim 11, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 10, wherein the second doped regions (13, fig2 and 3, [46]) of the two adjacent memory cells arranged in the same column are configured to be electrically connected to each other (fig1-3).
Re claim 12, Chen teaches the non-volatile memory device of claim 10, wherein the byte select gates (WL 14, fig2, [22]) of the two adjacent memory cells arranged in the same column are spaced apart from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 and 17-19 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6-9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Specifically, the limitations are material to the inventive concept of the application in hand to improve the erase efficiency and reduce power leakage of the memory device.
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812