DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 03/20/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 5-8 and 11-18 have been amended.
Claim 20 is canceled.
New claim 21 is added.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are currently pending.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Since the scope of the amendment made to independent claims have been changed, the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) in the current rejection. The arguments are essentially directed towards the newly amended limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim 1, the applicant argued that Park and Kim fail to disclose or suggest, receiving a set of replication criteria defining, for a session, when at least one of first user traffic or second user traffic will be transmitted using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, wherein the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the session; determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set; and causing, in response to said determining, the first user traffic to be transmitted, using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the second user traffic to be transmitted, without using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic, wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.13-14, newly added Jin clearly discloses that the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions is comprising the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic since all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol (see Jin, Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24 and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35).
Additionally, Park discloses that a gNB is receiving a set of replicator defining for two or more streams of replicated packets i.e., a session since the gNB first access node is determining/receiving packet duplication of one or more sessions based on one or more criteria i.e., a set of replication criteria associated with a first user traffic and second user traffic for a session (see Park, Fig.33 [0322], Fig.34 [0328], Fig.49 [0518] and Fig.50 [0525]).
Park also discloses the gNB is transmitting the one or more sessions e.g., first session and second session/first user traffic and second user traffic are transmitted using a redundancy activation of duplication procedure or mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism since the first access node is sending packets of the first session e.g., the original session and the second session e.g., the duplicate session by employing a mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism communicated with the peer DPDEF (see Park, Fig.13 [0285] and Fig.50 [0554]).
Park also discloses packet duplication i.e., replication of the one or more sessions i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session since redundant packets transmission of each the first user traffic and second user traffic is for the QoS flow based on its QoS requirement, whereby the replication of the incoming data packets i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are subsets of packets of the replication of session since transmission of packets duplication e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the first session and the second duplicated session (see Park, Fig.34 [0324][0343], Fig.34 [0333], Fig.35&47 [0497]-[0498], Fig.49 [0520][0542] and Fig.50 [0533]).
Park also discloses the gNB is deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not i.e., determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while one or more packets i.e., second user traffic does not fulfil the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set since it is detecting whether the user traffic of multiple related flows fulfills the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set (see Park, Fig.31 [0301], Fig.33 [0322]-[0324] and Fig.49 [0518]-[0520]).
Park also discloses the gNB is causing the first user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic, a single RAN node is not providing enough reliability in air interface for the QoS flow, so the redundant packets is transferred between UPF and UE via two independent N3 tunnel and two RAN nodes to enhance the reliability of service and, duplication of packets and duplication elimination function (DPDEF) in UE or UPF since different physical transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths are having the QoS requirement associated with the first and second user traffic of the redundant packets for the QoS flow (see Park, Fig.20 &31 [0301]-[0302], Fig.14 [0338] and Fig.47 [0497]-[0498]).
Park also discloses the gNB is also causing the second user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted without using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic when deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not since different physical transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths are having the QoS requirement associated with the first and second user traffic of the redundant packets for the QoS flow (Fig.31 [0301] and Fig.47 [0497]).
Park further discloses that the session comprises the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic of the redundant packets and the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic of the redundant packets since different physical transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first and second user traffic of the redundant packets for the QoS flow (Fig.20 &31 [0301]-[0302] and Fig.47 [0497]-[0498]).
Additionally, Kim discloses the PDU sessions i.e., the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS Profiles, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement since one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup (Fig.8-10 [264][267] and Fig.10 [293][294]).
Kim also discloses NG-RAN is determining whether a PDU session i.e., first user traffic is fulfilled or not considering user plane requirements indicated by the RSN parameter while the other PDU sessions/second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set e.g., e.g., redundant user plane resources for duplicated/replicated PDU sessions since the duplicated traffic associated with at least two redundant PDU sessions is differentiated by two distinct traffic descriptors (see Kim, Fig.10 [294]-[296] and Fig.10 [304][308]).
Claims 8, 14 and 18, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 1. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 7, 13 and 17, the applicant argued that Park fail to disclose or suggest, the set of replication criteria comprises criteria relating to at least one of: a percentage of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic that is to be duplicated, a survival time of identified traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, an observed quality of experience level of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, or a type of access network used by the session. Kim similarly fails to disclose these features.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.34, Park clearly discloses that a service type of access network used by the session based on at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session since the CSI constitutes one or more parameters comprising a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CRI), and/or precoding type indicator (PTI) (see Park, Fig.34 [0329] and Fig.34 [0333]).
Claims 13 and 17, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 7. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 14 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 3-4, the occurrence of "the first traffic or the second traffic flow" should be "--- the first traffic or the second traffic
In claim 14, lines 10, the occurrence of "the first user traffic flow" should be "--- the first user traffic
In claim 14, lines 10-11, the occurrence of "the second user traffic flow" should be "--- the second user traffic
In claim 21, lines 3, the occurrence of "the first traffic flow or the second traffic flow" should be "--- the first traffic
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences
between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole
would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not
be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. [hereinafter as Park], US 2020/0084663 A1 in view of Kim et al. [hereinafter as Kim], WO 2021/187881 A1 further in view of Jin et al. [hereinafter as Jin], WO 2019/225888 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses wherein an apparatus (Fig.34 [0327], a gNB with replicator functionality) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.34 [0650], microprocessors; Fig.3-4 [0123]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least
one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (Fig.34 [0650], memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one of processors, cause the apparatus to perform; Fig.3-4 [0123]):
receiving a set of replication criteria defining, for a session (Fig.33 [0322], detecting/ receiving a set of replicator defining for two or more streams of replicated packets i.e., a session and Fig.34 [0328], the gNB first access node is determining i.e., receiving packet duplication of one or more sessions based on one or more criteria i.e., a set of replication criteria associated with a first user traffic and second user traffic for a session; Fig.49 [0518], Fig.50 [0525]),
when at least one of first user traffic or second user traffic will be transmitted using a replication-based redundancy mechanism (Fig.13 [0285], the one or more sessions e.g., first session and second session/first user traffic and second user traffic are transmitted using a redundancy activation of duplication procedure or mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism and Fig.50 [0554], the first access node is sending packets of the first session e.g., the original session and the second session e.g., the duplicate session by employing a mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism communicated with the peer DPDEF),
wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.34 [0333], packet duplication i.e., replication of the one or more sessions i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session; Fig.50 [0533] and Fig.35&47 [0497]-[0498], redundant packets transmission i.e., each the first and second traffic for the QoS flow based on its QoS requirement), wherein the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the session (Fig.34 [0324][0343], the replication of the incoming data packets i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are subsets of packets of the replication of session; Fig.49 [0520][0542], transmission of packets duplication e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the first session and the second duplicated session and Fig.34 [0333]);
determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set (Fig.31 [0301], deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not i.e., determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while one or more packets i.e., second user traffic does not fulfil the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set and Fig.33 [0322]-[0324], detecting whether the user traffic of multiple related flows fulfills the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set and Fig.49 [0518]-[0520]); and
causing, in response to said determining, the first user traffic to be transmitted, using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic (Fig.20 &31 [0301]-[0302], causing the first user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic,
a single RAN node is not providing enough reliability in air interface for the QoS flow, so the redundant packets is transferred between UPF and UE via two independent N3 tunnel and two RAN nodes to enhance the reliability of service and Fig.14 [0338], duplication of packets and duplication elimination function (DPDEF) in UE or UPF; Fig.47 [0497]-[0498]) and the second user traffic to be transmitted, without using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.31 [0301], causing the second user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted without using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic when deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not; Fig.47 [0497]),
wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.20 &31 [0301]-[0302], the session comprises the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic of the redundant packets and the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic of the redundant packets and Fig.47 [0497]-[0498], different physical transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first and second user traffic of the redundant packets for the QoS flow).
Even though Park discloses wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement; determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one of the replication criteria while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one of the replication criteria, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.8-10 [264][267], the PDU sessions i.e., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS Profiles, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and Fig.10 [293][294], one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup); determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set (Fig.10 [304][308], NG-RAN is determining whether a PDU session i.e., first user traffic is fulfilled or not considering user plane requirements indicated by the RSN parameter while the other PDU sessions/second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set e.g., redundant user plane resources for duplicated/replicated PDU sessions and Fig.10 [294]-[296], the duplicated traffic associated with at least two redundant PDU sessions is differentiated by two distinct traffic descriptors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation.
It would have been beneficial to use the PDU sessions i.e., the first and second user traffic which are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement for transmission and, one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Park to provide for improving a level of reliability and latency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0040], Fig.8-10 [264][267], Fig.10 [293][294] and Fig.10 [304][308])
Even though Park and Kim disclose wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic, in the same field of endeavor, Jin teaches wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park and Kim to incorporate the teaching of Jin in order to provide for improving the network of the 5G communication systems.
It would have been beneficial to use the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions which comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic and all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol as taught by Jin to have incorporated in the system of Park and Kim to provide for improving performance in call quality. (Jin, Fig.6-7 page 7 lines 23-26 and Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35)
Regarding claim 2, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the set of replication criteria is received from at least one of a policy control function or a session management function (Fig.1-2 [0127], the set of replication criteria is received from at least one of a policy control function (PCF) or a session management function (SMF)).
Regarding claim 3, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the replication function is collocated in a same apparatus as a first user equipment configured to transmit at least one of the first user traffic or the second user traffic (Fig.34 [0327], the replicator functionality is a part of the UPF or collocated with the UPF for user plane functionality and SMF for control plane functionality in a same apparatus as a first user equipment configured to transmit the first user traffic or the second user traffic).
Regarding claim 4, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses a replication function is collocated with a user plane function configured to replicate user traffic based on the set of replication criteria (Fig.50 [0523], the replicator functionality is a part of the UPF or collocated with the UPF for user plane functionality and SMF for control plane functionality based on the set of replication criteria).
Regarding claim 5, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform:
receiving third user traffic over a network (Fig.28-29 [0480], receiving the duplicating packets i.e., third user traffic over a network);
determining that the third user traffic was generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism (Fig.28-29 [0481], determining that the duplicating packets/ third user traffic was generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism); and
in response to the third user traffic being determined to have been generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism, causing at least one duplicate packet comprised in the third user traffic to be deleted (Fig.28-29 [0481]-[0482], causing at least one duplicate packet comprised in the duplicating packets/third user traffic to be eliminate/deleted in response to the duplicating packets/ third user traffic being determined to have been generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism).
Regarding claim 6, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 5 as stated above wherein Park further discloses determining that the third user traffic was generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism comprises detecting a same packet identifier and/or same sequence number in multiple packets of the third user traffic (Fig.28-29 [0480]-[0482], determining that the duplicating packets/ third user traffic was generated and transmitted using at least one replication-based redundancy mechanism comprises detecting a same packet identifier and/or same sequence number in multiple packets of the third user traffic).
Regarding claim 7, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the replication criteria comprises criteria relating to at least one of: a percentage of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic flow that is to be duplicated, a survival time of identified traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic flow, an observed quality of experience level traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, or a type of access network used by the session (Fig.34 [0333], a service type of access network used by the session based on at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein an apparatus (Fig.34 [0327], a gNB with replicator functionality) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.34 [0650], microprocessors; Fig.3-4 [0123]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to (Fig.34 [0650], memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one of processors, cause the apparatus to; Fig.3-4 [0123]):
receive a set of replication criteria defining, for a session (Fig.33 [0322], detecting i.e., receiving a set of replicator defining for two or more streams of replicated packets i.e., a session and Fig.34 [0328], the gNB first access node is determining i.e., receiving packet duplication of one or more sessions based on one or more criteria i.e., a set of replication criteria associated with a first user traffic and second user traffic; Fig.49 [0518], Fig.50 [0525]), when at least one of first user traffic or second user traffic will be transmitted using a replication-based redundancy mechanism (Fig.13 [0285], the one or more sessions e.g., first session and second session/first user traffic and second user traffic are transmitted using a redundancy activation of duplication procedure or mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism and Fig.50 [0554], the first access node is sending packets of the first session e.g., the original session and the second session e.g., the duplicate session by employing a mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism communicated with the peer DPDEF), wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.34 [0333], packet duplication i.e., replication of the one or more sessions i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session; Fig.50 [0533] and Fig.35&47 [0497]-[0498], redundant packets transmission i.e., each the first user traffic and second user traffic for the QoS flow based on its QoS requirement), wherein the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the session (Fig.34 [0324][0343], the replication of the incoming data packets i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are subsets of packets of the replication of session; Fig.49 [0520][0542], transmission of packets duplication e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the first session and the second duplicated session and Fig.34 [0333]);
forward the set of replication criteria to a replication function (Fig.50 [0542], forwarding the duplicate/copy/replica of the packets i.e., set of replication criteria to a duplication/replication function; Fig.33 [0323]-[0324], [0342]-[0343], Fig.49 [0519]-[0520]); and
transmit at least one of the first user traffic and the second user traffic in response to receiving an indication to do so from the replication function (Fig.20&31 [0301]-[0302], transmitting the first user traffic and the second user traffic of the redundant packets over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths upon receiving an indication by using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, a single RAN node is not providing enough reliability in air interface for the QoS flow, so the redundant packets is transferred between UPF and UE via two independent N3 tunnel and two RAN nodes to enhance the reliability of service and Fig.14 [0338], duplication of packets and duplication elimination function (DPDEF) in UE or UPF; Fig.47 [0497]-[0498] and Fig.51 [0635]-[0636], sending packets e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic in response to receiving an indication to do so from the duplication/replication function).
Even though Park discloses wherein each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.8-10 [264][267], the PDU sessions i.e., the first user traffic and second user traffic are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS Profiles, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and Fig.10 [293][294], one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation.
It would have been beneficial to use the PDU sessions i.e., the first and second user traffic which are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and, one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Park to provide for improving a level of reliability and latency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0040], Fig.8-10 [264][267] and [293][294])
Even though Park and Kim disclose wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, in the same field of endeavor, Jin teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park and Kim to incorporate the teaching of Jin in order to provide for improving the network of the 5G communication systems.
It would have been beneficial to use the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions which comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement and, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol as taught by Jin to have incorporated in the system of Park and Kim to provide for improving performance in call quality. (Jin, Fig.6-7 page 7 lines 23-26 and Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35)
Regarding claim 9, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network, routing rules defining how user traffic is routed through the network, wherein the set of replication criteria are comprised in the routing rules (Fig.2-4 [0128], obtaining packet routing & forwarding/routing rules defining how traffic flows/ user traffic is routed through the access network, wherein the duplication/set of replication criteria are comprised in the routing policies/rules); and
detect an explicit indication that the set of replication criteria are comprised in said routing rules (Fig.2-4 [0129], determining whether an explicit indication that the duplication/ set of replication criteria are comprised in said routing policies/rules).
Regarding claim 10, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the routing rules comprise at least one of: access traffic steering, switching and splitting rules or user equipment route selection policy rules (Fig.2-4 [0127], the routing rules comprise configuration of access traffic steering).
Regarding claim 11, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
establish one or more data sessions to ensure the replication criteria can be fulfilled (Fig.33 [0322], establish one or more data packet sessions to ensure the duplication/ replication criteria can be fulfilled), and
signal to the network a request that said one or more data sessions use an identifier provided in the indication received from the replication function (Fig.14-15&34 [0339], sending packets to the access network a request that the one or more data packet sessions use session identifier provided in the indication received from the duplication/replication function).
Regarding claim 12, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to signal, to a network function, an indication that the apparatus is collocated with the replication handling function, and wherein the set of replication criteria are received in response to said signalling (Fig.14-15&34 [0343], sending packets to access network function, an indication that the UE, UPF or PSA UPF is collocated with the entities replication handling function, and wherein the duplication/ set of replication criteria are received in response to the signaling).
Regarding claim 13, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 8 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the replication criteria comprises criteria relating to at least one of: a percentage of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic that is to be duplicated, a survival time of identified traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, an observed quality of experience level of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, or a type of access network used by the session (Fig.34 [0333], a service type of access network used by the session based on at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses wherein an apparatus (Fig.34 [0327], a UE with replicator functionality) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig.34 [0650], microprocessors; Fig.3-4 [0123]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least
one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform (Fig.34 [0650], memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one of processors, cause the apparatus to; Fig.3-4 [0123]):
signalling, to a replication handling function, a set of replication criteria defining, for a session (Fig.33 [0322], signaling a set of replicator defining for two or more streams of replicated packets i.e., a session and Fig.34 [0328], signaling packet duplication of one or more sessions based on one or more criteria i.e., a set of replication criteria associated with a first user traffic and second user traffic; Fig.49 [0518], Fig.50 [0525] and Fig.30 [0287], packet duplication/replication handling function), when at least one of first user traffic or second user traffic will be transmitted using a replication-based redundancy mechanism (Fig.13 [0285], the one or more sessions e.g., first session and second session/first user traffic and second user traffic are transmitted using a redundancy activation of duplication procedure or mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism and Fig.50 [0554], the first access node is sending packets of the first session e.g., the original session and the second session e.g., the duplicate session by employing a mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism communicated with the peer DPDEF), wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.34 [0333], packet duplication i.e., replication of the one or more sessions i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session; Fig.50 [0533] and Fig.35&47 [0497]-[0498], redundant packets transmission i.e., each the first user traffic and second user traffic for the QoS flow based on its QoS requirement), wherein the first user traffic flow and the second user traffic flow are respective subsets of packets of the session (Fig.34 [0324][0343], the replication of the incoming data packets i.e., each of the first user traffic flow and second user traffic flow are subsets of packets of the replication of session; Fig.49 [0520][0542], transmission of packets duplication e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the first session and the second duplicated session and Fig.34 [0333]).
Even though Park discloses wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.8-10 [264][267], the PDU sessions i.e., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS Profiles, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and Fig.10 [293][294], one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation.
It would have been beneficial to use the PDU sessions i.e., the first and second user traffic which are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and, one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Park to provide for improving a level of reliability and latency. (Kim, Fig.1 [040], Fig.8-10 [264][267] and [293][294])
Even though Park and Kim disclose wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement, in the same field of endeavor, Jin teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park and Kim to incorporate the teaching of Jin in order to provide for improving the network of the 5G communication systems.
It would have been beneficial to use the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions which comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement and, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol as taught by Jin to have incorporated in the system of Park and Kim to provide for improving performance in call quality. (Jin, Fig.6-7 page 7 lines 23-26 and Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35)
Regarding claim 15, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to perform receiving, from a user equipment, an indication that the user equipment is collocated with the replication handling function, and wherein said signalling is performed in response to the receiving of the indication (Fig.14-15&34 [0343], a user equipment is sending packets to access network function, an indication that the UE, UPF or PSA UPF is collocated with the entities replication handling function, and wherein the duplication/ replication criteria are received in response to the receiving of the indication).
Regarding claim 16, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the signalling comprises signalling the set of replication criteria and routing rules in same signalling, the routing rules comprising at least one of access traffic steering, switching and splitting rules or user equipment route selection policy rules, and wherein said same signalling further comprises an explicit indication that the set of replication criteria are comprised in said same signalling (Fig.2-4 [0127], the routing rules comprise configuration of access traffic steering and Fig.48 [0508], the data forwarding and/or data path switching).
Regarding claim 17, Park, Kim and Lin disclose all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the set of replication criteria comprises criteria relating to at least one of: a percentage of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic that is to be duplicated, a survival time of identified traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, an observed quality of experience level of traffic of at least one of the first traffic or the second traffic, or a type of access network used by the session (Fig.34 [0333], a service type of access network used by the session based on at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses wherein a method (Fig.34 [0327], a method of gNB with replicator functionality) comprising:
receiving a set of replication criteria defining, for a session (Fig.33 [0322], detecting i.e., receiving a set of replicator defining for two or more streams of replicated packets i.e., a session and Fig.34 [0328], the gNB first access node is determining i.e., receiving packet duplication of one or more sessions based on one or more criteria i.e., a set of replication criteria associated with a first user traffic and second user traffic; Fig.49 [0518], Fig.50 [0525]), when at least one of first user traffic or second user traffic will be transmitted using a replication-based redundancy mechanism (Fig.13 [0285], the one or more sessions e.g., first session and second session/first user traffic and second user traffic are transmitted using a redundancy activation of duplication procedure or mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism and Fig.50 [0554], the first access node is sending packets of the first session e.g., the original session and the second session e.g., the duplicate session by employing a mechanism i.e., replication-based redundancy mechanism communicated with the peer DPDEF), wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.34 [0333], packet duplication i.e., replication of the one or more sessions i.e., each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with at least one of a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session; Fig.50 [0533] and Fig.35&47 [0497]-[0498], redundant packets transmission i.e., each the first user traffic and the second traffic for the QoS flow based on its QoS requirement), wherein the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the session (Fig.34 [0324][0343], the replication of the incoming data packets i.e., each of the first user traffic and second user traffic are subsets of packets of the replication of session; Fig.49 [0520][0542], transmission of packets duplication e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are respective subsets of packets of the first session and the second duplicated session and Fig.34 [0333]);
determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set (Fig.31 [0301], deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not i.e., determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while one or more packets i.e., second user traffic does not fulfil the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set and Fig.33 [0322]-[0324], detecting whether the user traffic of multiple related flows fulfills the replicator functionality i.e., replication criteria of the set and Fig.49 [0518]-[0520]); and
causing, in response to said determining, the first user traffic to be transmitted, using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic (Fig.20&31 [0301]-[0302], causing the first user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic, a single RAN node is not providing enough reliability in air interface for the QoS flow, so the redundant packets is transferred between UPF and UE via two independent N3 tunnel and two RAN nodes to enhance the reliability of service and Fig.14 [0338], duplication of packets and duplication elimination function (DPDEF) in UE or UPF; Fig.47 [0497]-[0498]) and
the second user traffic to be transmitted, without using the replication-based redundancy mechanism, over one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.31 [0301], causing the second user traffic of the redundant packets to be transmitted without using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic when deciding whether redundant transmission need to be activated for a QoS Flow by the PCF based on its QoS requirement, implicitly discloses that - dependent on the QoS requirements – some flows are duplicated while others are not; Fig.47 [0497]),
wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.20 &31 [0301]-[0302], the session comprises the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic of the redundant packets and the different transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic of the redundant packets and Fig.47 [0497]-[0498], different physical transport paths i.e., one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first and second user traffic of the redundant packets for the QoS flow).
Even though Park discloses wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement; determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein each of the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with a respective Quality of Service (QoS) requirement (Fig.8-10 [264][267], the PDU sessions i.e., the first user traffic and the second user traffic are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS Profiles, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement and Fig.10 [293][294], one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup); determining that the first user traffic fulfils at least one replication criteria of the set while the second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set (Fig.10 [304][308], NG-RAN is determining whether a PDU session i.e., first user traffic is fulfilled or not considering user plane requirements indicated by the RSN parameter while the other PDU sessions/second user traffic does not fulfil at least one replication criteria of the set e.g., e.g., redundant user plane resources for duplicated/replicated PDU sessions and Fig.10 [294]-[296], the duplicated traffic associated with at least two redundant PDU sessions is differentiated by two distinct traffic descriptors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park to incorporate the teaching of Kim in order to provide for improving efficiency, reliability, economic feasibility, production sustainability and automation.
It would have been beneficial to use the PDU sessions i.e., the first and second user traffic which are associated with multiple QoS Rules, QoS flow level, QoS parameters for the QoS Flow(s) i.e., respective quality of service requirement for transmission and, one PDU session spans from the UE via master NG-RAN to UPF1 acting as the PDU session anchor and the other PDU session spans from the UE via secondary NG-RAN to UPF2 acting as the PDU session anchor, based on these two PDU sessions, two independent user plane paths are setup as taught by Kim to have incorporated in the system of Park to provide for improving a level of reliability and latency. (Kim, Fig.1 [0040], Fig.8-10 [264][267], Fig.10 [293][294] and Fig.10 [304][308])
Even though Park and Kim disclose wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic, in the same field of endeavor, Jin teaches wherein the session comprises the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic (Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Park and Kim to incorporate the teaching of Jin in order to provide for improving the network of the 5G communication systems.
It would have been beneficial to use the session of a plurality of protocol data unit (PDU) sessions which comprises the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the quality of service (QoS) requirement associated with the first user traffic and the one or more transmission paths or service-specific IP flows having the QoS requirement associated with the second user traffic and, all user traffic are including real-time services such as Voice over IP (VoIP) over the Internet protocol as taught by Jin to have incorporated in the system of Park and Kim to provide for improving performance in call quality. (Jin, Fig.6-7 page 7 lines 23-26 and Fig.13-14 page 10 lines 19-24, and Fig.31 page 18 lines 32-35)
Regarding claim 19, Park, Kim and Jin disclose wherein the receiving, the determining, and the causing are performed by the replication function;
the method further comprising:
forwarding the set of replication criteria to the replication function (Fig.50 [0542], forwarding the duplicate/copy/replica of the packets i.e., set of replication criteria to the duplication/replication function; Fig.33 [0323]-[0324], [0342]-[0343], Fig.49 [0519]-[0520]),
wherein the causing the first user traffic to be transmitted and the second user traffic
to be transmitted comprises causing at least one of the first user traffic to be transmitted or the second user traffic to be transmitted further based on receiving an indication to do so from the replication function (Fig.20&31 [0301]-[0302], transmitting the first user traffic and the second user traffic of the redundant packets over different transport paths i.e., transmission paths upon receiving an indication by using a replication-based redundancy mechanism, a single RAN node is not providing enough reliability in air interface for the QoS flow, so the redundant packets is transferred between UPF and UE via two independent N3 tunnel and two RAN nodes to enhance the reliability of service and Fig.14 [0338], duplication of packets and duplication elimination function (DPDEF) in UE or UPF; Fig.47 [0497]-[0498] and Fig.51 [0635]-[0636], sending packets e.g., the first user traffic and the second user traffic in response to receiving an indication to do so from the duplication/replication function).
Regarding claim 21, Park, Kim and Jin disclose all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Park further discloses the set of replication criteria comprises criteria relating to at least one of: an indication of specific traffic of at least one of the first traffic flow or the second traffic flow that is to be duplicated, time sensitive communication assistance information for identifying at least one burst number of traffic of at least one of the first traffic flow or the second traffic flow that is to be duplicated, an observed quality of service level of traffic of at least one of the first traffic flow or the second traffic flow, an indication of an explicit trigger from an application that will cause the duplication of traffic of at least one of the first traffic flow or the second traffic flow that is to start and/or stop, or an indication of a network being used by the session (Fig.34 [0332]-[0333], an indication of a service type of access network used by the session based on at least one of a quality of service (QoS) requirement of the one or more session and Fig.34 [0329], the CSI constitutes one or more parameters comprising a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), a channel quality indicator (CRI), and/or precoding type indicator (PTI)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0225165 A1) teaches Session Packet Duplication.
Frailong et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 8520675 B1) teaches System and Method for Efficient Packet Replication.
Miklos et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0414792 A1) teaches User Plane Redundancy between User Equipment and User Plane Function.
Di Girolamo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0106162 A1) teaches Methods and Apparatus for Access Traffic Steering, Switching, and Splitting (ATSSS) Redundant Traffic Steering Mode.
Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0107213 A1) teaches Packet Duplication by Core Network.
Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0319514 A1) teaches Multicast-Related Communication.
Kim et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12238812 B2) teaches Support of Service Continuity for Handover between SNPN and PLMN.
Youn et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0132058 A1) teaches Communication Associated with Multi-Access PDU session.
Zhu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0022089 A1) teaches Service Instance Indication for Resource Creation.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414