DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 01/19/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/19/2026 under 37 C.F.R. 1.111 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Claim 19 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (JP 2010219324 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sano teaches a semiconductor assembly, comprising:
a substrate Fig. 1: 50 having a mounting surface (top surface of Fig. 1: 50);
a retaining wall Fig. 1: 55 disposed on the mounting surface and having an inner surface;
wherein an accommodation space (i.e. recess between retaining walls 55) is defined by the inner surface and the mounting surface (shown in Fig. 1);
a light emitting unit Fig. 1: 10+20+30 disposed in the accommodation space and disposed on the mounting surface (shown in Fig. 1);
wherein the light emitting unit Fig. 1: 10+20+30 is configured to generate a UV light beam (para. 0025), and has an upper light emitting surface Fig. 1: 90 and a side light emitting surface (para. 0016, “emitted light from the light emitting element 10 is usually radiated not only from the emitting surface but also from the side surface”); and
a reflective resin layer Fig. 1: 40 disposed in the accommodation space and disposed between the inner surface (inner surface of wall 55) and the side light emitting surface (side surface of light emitting elements);
wherein the reflective resin layer Fig. 1: 40 contains a based resin, a UV absorber, and reflective particles Fig. 1: 45 (para. 0033 teaches a based resin material; para. 0034 teaches reflective material including a low-absorbing particle, and para. 0025 teaches the light emitting element emits UV light).
Regarding claim 2, Sano teaches the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a height of the reflective resin layer Fig. 1: 40 near the side light emitting surface (side surface of) Fig. 1: 20 is lower than or equal to a height of the upper light emitting surface Fig. 1: 90.
Regarding claim 4, Sano teaches the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the reflective resin layer Fig. 1: 40 has a listric surface or a concave surface between the retaining wall Fig. 1: 55 and the light emitting unit Fig. 1: 10+20+30 (shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Sano teaches the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein, based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the reflective particles Fig. 1: 45 ranges from 5 phr to 75 phr. Para. 0035 teaches a weight percent concentration of 20% or more, which falls within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324 A).
Regarding claim 3, Sano teaches the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the reflective resin layer Fig. 1: 40 contacts the side light emitting surface and the inner surface, but fails to explicitly teach in this embodiment wherein relative to the mounting surface, a height of the reflective resin layer near the side light emitting surface is lower than a height of the reflective resin layer near the inner surface. However, in a different embodiment (i.e. Fig. 9), Sano teaches wherein relative to the mounting surface (annotated below), a height of the reflective resin layer Fig. 9: 41 near the side light emitting surface (side surface of Fig. 9: 24) is lower than a height of the reflective resin layer Fig. 9: 41 near the inner surface (see annotated Fig. 9 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the different heights in the first embodiment to suppress the light diffusion in recess and reduce light absorption by the mounting base/substrate (para. 0066-0067).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ozeki et al. (US 11,121,297).
Regarding claim 5, although Sano teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Sano fails to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the reflective resin layer near the side light emitting surface ranges from 180 µm to 300 µm. However, Ozeki teaches wherein relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the reflective resin layer Fig. 1B: 30+40 near the side light emitting surface ranges from 180 µm to 300 µm (col. 7, lines 43-44 discloses a range of 10-200µm which includes the claimed range). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Ozeki for the purpose of facilitating the formation of the reflecting layer and improving the effect achieved by disposing the reflecting material layer, reducing surface tension induced creeping up fo the resin onto the lateral surfaces of the light emitting element (col. 7, lines 45-50).
Claims 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morita (US 20170254936 A1).
Regarding claim 6, although Sano teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Sano fails to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein, based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the UV absorber ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. However, Morita teaches wherein, based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the UV absorber ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. In para. 0014 Morita teaches a buffer layer that includes a UV absorbing monomer with a 5 mass% or more before molding and 3 mass% or less after molding, which includes the range taught in claim 6. It is acknowledged that phr based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr will be equivalent to a percent mass. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Morita for the purpose of enhancing the buffering property and also to suppress external stress and prevent deterioration of optical reflectance (para. 0121-0122).
Regarding claim 8, although Sano teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Sano fails to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the reflective resin layer further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer. However, Morita teaches wherein the reflective resin layer (i.e. light reflecting film) further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer. Para. 0014 discloses the light reflecting film containing at least one UV stable monomer, and para. 0124 discloses the UV stable monomer including a hindered amine light stabilizer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Morita to include a HALS for the purpose of increasing self-restoring and scratch resistance properties of the light reflecting film and also enhancing light resistance (para. 0123).
Regarding claim 9, although Sano teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Sano fails to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 8, wherein based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. However, Morita teaches wherein based on a total weight of the based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. In para. 0014, Morita discloses a buffer layer that includes a UV stable monomer with a 5 mass% or more before molding and 3 mass% or less after molding, which includes the range taught by claim 9. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Morita to include a HALS for the purpose of enhancing the buffering property and also to suppress external stress and prevent deterioration of optical reflectance (para. 0121-0122).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miura et al. (US 11,934,003 B2).
Regarding claim 10, although Sano teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, Sano fails to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a first light transmitting layer disposed between the substrate and the reflective layer, wherein the first light transmitting layer contains a first based resin and a UV absorber. However, Miura teaches the assembly further comprising a first light transmitting layer Fig. 4: 22 disposed between the substrate Fig. 4: 50 and the reflective layer Fig. 4: 40, wherein the first light transmitting layer Fig. 4: 22 contains a first based resin and a UV absorber (col. 5, lines 27-50). Miura teaches a light adjusting member 40 (i.e. reflective layer) that includes a resin, zirconia (a UV absorber) and light scattering particles (col. 8, lines 22-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Miura and include a transmitting layer for the purpose of protecting the upper and lateral surfaces of the light emitting element, while performing wavelength conversion and light diffusion functions (col. 5, lines 20-26).
Claims 11, 12, 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324) and Miura et al. (US 11,934,003 B2), and further in view of Kumano et al. (US 20230155084 A1).
Regarding claim 11, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 10, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 10, wherein, based on a total weight of the first based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the UV absorber ranges from 0.1 phr to 2 phr. However, Kumano teaches wherein, based on a total weight of the first based resin Fig. 1: 31 being 100 phr, an amount of the UV absorber Fig. 1: 9 ranges from 0.1 phr to 2 phr. Kumano teaches a diffusion layer Fig. 1: 3 (i.e. first transmitting layer) containing a resin Fig. 1: 31 and a diffusion material Fig. 1: 9 (i.e. titanium oxide, para. 0092) wherein the diffusion material Fig. 1: 9 based on the resin Fig. 1: 31 had a concentration of 0.1 mass% to 20 mass% (para. 0084), which includes the range taught in claim 11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Kumano for the purpose of suppressing a decrease in luminous flux while exhibiting a desired light diffusion effect (para. 0084).
Regarding claim 12, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 10, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 10, wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the first light transmitting layer near the side light emitting surface ranges from 50 µm to 100 µm. However, Kumano teaches wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the first light transmitting layer Fig. 1: 3 (i.e. diffusion layer) near the side light emitting surface ranges from 50 µm to 100 µm. Kumano teaches a portion the diffusion layer Fig. 1:3 (i.e. first light transmitting layer) overlapping in a side surface direction of the light emitting element Fig. 1: 2, having a thickness in a range from 20 µm to 100 µm (para. 0093), which includes the range taught in claim 12. Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Kumano for the purpose of further improving the luminance of the light-emitting device (para. 0102).
Regarding claim 14, Miura teaches the semiconductor assembly according to claim 10, wherein further comprising a second light transmitting layer Fig. 4: 30 disposed between the reflective resin layer 40 Fig. 4: 40 and the first light transmitting layer Fig. 4: 22, wherein the second light transmitting layer Fig. 4: 30 contains a second based resin and a UV absorber (col. 7, lines 55-61, 65-67 “phosphor”), but fails to explicitly teach an amount of the UV absorber in the second light transmitting layer is larger than an amount of the UV absorber in the first light transmitting layer. However, Kumano teaches wherein an amount of the UV absorber Fig. 1: 9 (i.e. diffusion material) in the second light transmitting layer Fig. 1: 3 (i.e. diffusion layer) is larger than an amount of the UV absorber in the first light transmitting layer Fig. 1: 4. Kumano teaches a light transmitting body Fig. 1: 4 (i.e. first transmitting layer) that does not include a UV absorber, and a diffusion layer (i.e. second light transmitting layer) that includes a UV absorber. Hence, an amount of the UV absorber in the second light transmitting layer would be larger than an amount in the first light transmitting layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura and Kumano for the purpose of reducing illumination unevenness in a light emitting device (para. 0013) and controlling the optical characteristics including directional chromaticity of the light-emitting device (para. 0083).
Regarding claim 15, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 14, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 14, wherein, based on a total weight of the second based resin being 100 phr, the amount of the UV absorber in the second light transmitting layer ranges from 5 phr to 15 phr. However, Kumano teaches wherein, based on a total weight of the second based resin Fig. 1: 31 being 100 phr, an amount of the UV absorber Fig. 1: 9 ranges from 0.1 phr to 2 phr. Kumano teaches a diffusion layer Fig. 1: 3 (i.e. second transmitting layer, using Fig. 1: 4 as the first transmitting layer) containing a resin Fig. 1: 31 and a diffusion material Fig. 1: 9 (i.e. titanium oxide, para. 0092) wherein the diffusion material Fig. 1: 9 based on the resin Fig. 1: 31 had a concentration of 0.1 mass% to 20 mass% (para. 0084), which includes the range taught in claim 15. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Kumano for the purpose of suppressing a decrease in luminous flux while exhibiting a desired light diffusion effect (para. 0084).
Regarding claim 16, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 14, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 14, wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the second light transmitting layer near the side light emitting surface ranges from 70 µm to 150 µm. However, Kumano teaches wherein, relative to the mounting surface, a thickness of the second light transmitting layer Fig. 1: 3 (i.e. diffusion layer) near the side light emitting surface ranges from 50 µm to 100 µm. Kumano teaches a portion the diffusion layer Fig. 1:3 (i.e second transmitting layer, using Fig. 1: 4 as the first transmitting layer) overlapping in a side surface direction of the light emitting element Fig. 1: 2, having a thickness in a range from 20 µm to 100 µm (para. 0093), which includes the range taught in claim 16. Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Kumano for the purpose of further improving the luminance of the light-emitting device (para. 0102).
Claims 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324) and Miura et al. (US 11,934,003 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chae (US 20220259349 A1).
Regarding claim 13, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 10, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 10, wherein the first light transmitting layer further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer, and based on a total weight of the first based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. However, Chae teaches wherein the first light transmitting layer Fig. 3: 420 (i.e. resin layer) further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer (para. 0008), and based on a total weight of the first based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr (para. 0058). Chae teaches a resin layer Fig. 3: 420 with an optical resin, including an oligomer and monomer, and a light stabilizer content of 0.5-2 wt% based on the resin (oligomer and monomer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Chae for the purpose of suppressing decomposition and discoloration of the resin (para. 0008) and increasing the speed of curing the resin (para. 0028).
Regarding claim 17, although Sano and Miura teach the substantial features of claim 14, they fail to explicitly teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 14, wherein the second light transmitting layer further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer, and based on a total weight of the second based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr. However, Chae teaches wherein the second light transmitting layer Fig. 3: 420 (i.e. resin layer, using Fig. 1: 415 as the first transmitting layer) further contains a hindered amine light stabilizer (para. 0008), and based on a total weight of the second based resin being 100 phr, an amount of the hindered amine light stabilizer ranges from 0.1 phr to 15 phr (para. 0058). Chae teaches a resin layer Fig. 3: 420 with an optical resin, including an oligomer and monomer, and a light stabilizer content of 0.5-2 wt% based on the resin (oligomer and monomer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Sano, Miura, and Char for the purpose of suppressing decomposition and discoloration of the resin (para. 0008) and increasing the speed of curing the resin (para. 0028).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2010219324) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chae (US 20220259349 A1).
Regarding claim 18, although Sano teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Sano fails to teach the semiconductor assembly according to claim 1, wherein the based resin is a methyl silicon resin, a methyl phenyl vinyl silicon resin, or a combination thereof. However, Chae teaches wherein the based resin is a methyl silicon resin, a methyl phenyl vinyl silicon resin, or a combination thereof (para. 0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sano and Chae for the purpose of using heat resistant materials to withstand heat conducted through the substrate and light-emitting device (para. 0028).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 April 15, 2026