DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 06/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2, 3, 7, and 9 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previously mailed Office Action. In view of the amendments the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8 as amended, introduce new matter not supported by the original disclosure. If the new matter has been entered into the claims or affects the scope of the claims, the claims affected should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, on the ground that it recites elements without support in the original disclosure. See Waldemar Link, GmbH & Co. v. Osteonics Corp., 32 F.3d 556, 559, 31 USPQ2d 1855, 1857 (Fed. Cir. 1994); Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1560, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1114 (Fed. Cir. 1991)(A written-description question often arises when an applicant, after filing a patent application, subsequently adds "new matter" not present in the original application.); In re Rasmussen, 650 F.2d 1212, 211 USPQ 323 (CCPA 1981). See also MPEP 608.04(a).
Claim 1 recites “the venting part having a width and a length, the length being longer than the width, and a notch that divides the venting part in two”. The present specification is silent regarding this limitation. While page 7, line 17 – page 8, line 6 describes that a notching process may result in the venting part 230 having a thickness less than the surrounding area, it is silent regarding the specifically disclosed notch as claimed in amended claim 1. Furthermore, while the drawings depict a curved line across the venting part 130 or 230, it is not disclosed or identified as being the claimed notch anywhere in the original disclosure. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. See also MPEP 2163.02. The original disclosure including the drawings and specification does not define or support the notch as claimed. It is further noted that when the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value. See Hockerson-Halberstadt, Inc. v. Avia Group Int’l, 222 F.3d 951, 956, 55 USPQ2d 1487, 1491 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (The disclosure gave no indication that the drawings were drawn to scale. "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). See also MPEP 2125 II. The specification is silent regarding the length being longer than the width as claimed, as well as regarding the drawings being to scale. Therefore, the limitations regarding the proportions of the venting area lack written support.
Claim 8 recites “the venting part is spaced at an equal distance from both terminals”. The present specification is silent regarding the spacing and distance between the venting part and the terminals. Furthermore, as the specification does not explicitly state that the drawings are to scale, it can not be reasonably conveyed to the skilled artisan that the venting part is spaced at an equal distance from both terminals. While the drawings appear to represent the venting part between the terminals, "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). See also MPEP 2125 II. The precise spacing as claimed therefore is not conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art by the original disclosure.
Claims 4-6 do not remedy the lack of support of claim 1, and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al. (JP 2021170481 A) in view of Shimada (US 20200194759 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda discloses a prismatic secondary battery (paragraph 0006, figure 5) comprising: a battery case including six flat surfaces that are first to sixth surfaces to form a hexahedral shape (annotated figure 5), the first and third surfaces having an area wider than the second and fourth surfaces, and the fifth and sixth surfaces having the widest area (annotated figure 5); a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal which are disposed on the first surface (paragraphs 0033-0034, annotated figure 5, terminals 22), and a venting part disposed on the third surface, wherein the venting part has a width and a length (paragraph 0036, figure 5, release valve 23), wherein the venting part is located on a middle portion between the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal (figure 5), and wherein the venting part does not overlap with the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal along a vertical axis parallel to the second or fourth surface (figure 5). Masuda is silent regarding the length being longer than the width, and a notch that divides the venting part into two, wherein the venting part is formed by a notching process to have a thickness less than a surrounding area thereof.
Shimada discloses a prismatic nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive and negative terminal and a gas discharging valve (Shimada paragraphs 0012, 0016-0017, figure 1). Shimada further discloses that the gas discharging valve comprises a recess portion extending in a front-back direction and connecting to the recess along the edge of the gas discharge valve at both ends (Shimada paragraph 0031, figure 2-3, diving the gas discharging valve in two). The reference teaches that L2, corresponding to the claimed width, is preferably less than L1, corresponding to the claimed length, and that the recess according to these features allows for fracture of the valve and efficient gas discharge (Shimada paragraphs 0031, 0033). Shimada and Masuda are analogous because they both disclose prismatic battery housings with venting structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the venting part disclosed by Masuda to include the recessed part and dimensions disclosed by Shimada. Doing so would provide efficient gas discharge from the fractured vent.
Regarding claim 4, modified Masuda discloses the limitations of claim 1. Masuda is silent regarding the notch being disposed in the width of the venting part.
Shimada discloses a prismatic nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive and negative terminal and a gas discharging valve (Shimada paragraphs 0012, 0016-0017, figure 1). Shimada further discloses that the gas discharging valve comprises a recess portion extending in a front-back direction and connecting to the recess along the edge of the gas discharge valve at both ends, resulting in a notch in the L2 direction, corresponding to the claimed width (Shimada paragraphs 0031, 0033, figure 2, diving the gas discharging valve in two). The reference teaches that the recess according to these features allows for fracture of the valve and efficient gas discharge (Shimada paragraphs 0031, 0033). Shimada and Masuda are analogous because they both disclose prismatic battery housings with venting structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the venting part disclosed by Masuda to include the recessed part in the width direction, equivalent to the claimed notch, disclosed by Shimada. Doing so would provide efficient gas discharge from the fractured vent.
Regarding claim 6, modified Masuda discloses the limitations of claim 1. Masuda further discloses that only a single venting part is disposed on the third surface (figure 5, release valve 23).
Regarding claim 8, modified Masuda discloses the limitations of claim 1. Masuda is silent regarding wherein the venting part is spaced at an equal distance from both terminals.
Shimada discloses a prismatic nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive and negative terminal and a gas discharging valve (Shimada paragraphs 0012, 0016-0017, figure 1). Shimada further discloses that the gas discharging valve is preferably formed at a position substantially the same distance away from the positive electrode external terminal and the negative electrode external terminal to discharge gas more smoothly (Shimada paragraph 0027). Shimada and Masuda are analogous because they both disclose prismatic battery housings with venting structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the venting part disclosed by Masuda to be positioned the same distance away from each terminal as disclosed by Shimada for the purpose of discharging gas more smoothly.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al. (JP 2021170481 A) in view of Shimada (US 20200194759 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nemoto et al. (US 20100032039 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Masuda discloses the limitations of claim 1. Masuda is silent regarding wherein the notch is wave-shaped.
Nemoto discloses a pressure relief valve which can release excess gas for secondary batteries comprising an openable slit and fixed to an external container (Nemoto paragraphs 0026-0027, 0061, 0100). Nemoto further discloses that the slit may be S-shaped, equivalent to the claimed wave-shaped, resulting in a longer slit than when straight-lined, allowing for a reduction in size and operating pressure (Nemoto paragraphs 0056, figure 3c). Nemoto and Masuda are analogous because they both disclose venting structures for secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the notch disclosed by modified Masuda to be S-shaped as disclosed by Nemoto. Doing so would allow for preferred size and operating pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1-8 for failing to comply with the written description requirement, Applicant argues that persons of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed configuration when observing figures 3-4 and the specification. However, claim 1 recites relative dimensions of the length and width of the venting part, and relies solely on the drawings for support. When the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value. See Hockerson-Halberstadt, Inc. v. Avia Group Int’l, 222 F.3d 951, 956, 55 USPQ2d 1487, 1491 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (The disclosure gave no indication that the drawings were drawn to scale. "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). See also MPEP 2125 II. The specification is silent regarding the length being longer than the width as claimed, as well as regarding the drawings being to scale. Therefore, the limitations regarding the proportions of the venting area lack written support.
Claim 8 recites precise spacing of the venting part relative to the terminals, and Applicant’s specification is silent regarding said positioning. "[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue."). See also MPEP 2125 II. Therefore, the drawings alone insufficiently convey the claimed positioning of the venting part to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In view of Applicant’s arguments, the limitations of claims 4-5 are deemed to be adequately supported to persons of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727