DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-11, 13-14, 21, 23, 24 , and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by McKee ( US 2024/0168229 A1; hereinafter McKee)
Regarding claim 1, McKee teaches a method for forming a die ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) comprising a buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) an etched-facet laser chip ), the method comprising concurrently forming (450, fig. 4) a ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) ridge waveguide #104 ) of the buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) and a first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) on a substrate ( Fig. 1b #136 ), wherein the ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) #104 ) comprises a quantum well layer ( Fig. 1b and 1c an undoped multi-quantum well (MQW) layer #130 ) for generating an optical signal ( [0075] The SCH and MQW layers are the optically active layers in the laser ), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) comprises one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) for restricting movements of the die ( [0106] when the laser chip is ready for assembly it is positioned upside-down above the silicon photonic integrated circuit (PIC) and alignment is performed using the first and second portions of the fiducial marks ) in a direction parallel to a lateral surface of the substrate ( [0109] this arrangement provides not only good alignment of the PIC to the lateral position of the waveguide, but also good longitudinal alignment of the PIC to the optical coupling region #414 on the etched facet ) and perpendicular to a propagation direction ( Fig. 4 #404 is in direction of propagation) of the optical signal ( [0075] The SCH and MQW layers are the optically active layers in the laser ) by the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) configured to form a contact with one or more second side surfaces ( Fig. 7 fiducial marks #760 ) of an interposer ( Fig. 7 photonic integrated circuit (PIC) #702 ) when the die ( Fig. 7 laser chip #500 ) is mounted on and moved relative to the interposer ( Fig. 7 #702 ), wherein the concurrently forming comprises depositing a first stack of layers ( Fig. 4 #450 ) and patterning at least the first stack of layers to form the ridge component ( Fig. 4 #404 ) and the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ); forming a pedestal component (Fig. 1b #118, see annotated Fig. 1b pedestal area) of the buried heterostructure laser structure ( Fig. 4 #400 ) on and at sidewalls of the ridge component ( Fig. 1c shows #118 covers the sidewalls of #104), wherein forming the pedestal component comprises forming a current blocking layer ( Fig. 1b #118, bottom portion of 118 ) ) at least at the sidewalls of the ridge component ( Fig. 1c shows #118 covers the sidewalls of #104), wherein forming the pedestal component ( #118, annotated Fig. 1b) comprises depositing a second stack of layers (top portion of 118) ( Fig. 4 step #452 ) and patterning the second stack of layers (top portion of 118) ( Fig. 4 step #454 ) and the current blocking layer ( Fig. 1b #118, bottom portion of 118 ); forming a second alignment feature ( [0113] Fig. 5 illustrates a laser chip with deep fiducial marks corresponding to those described with reference to Fig. 4; Fig. 5c #546 ) by removing at least a top section of the first stack of layers ( Fig. 5c layers #510, #118, #124, and #110 are removed in the area of #546 ) to expose one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 5c part of #136 is exposed), with the one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #136 ) configured to contact ( Fig. 5c #546 is a fiducial mark) one or more top surfaces of the interposer ( [0117] Fiducial mark #540 is configured for alignment of an optical component to the optical coupling region #114).
Regarding claim 2, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 5a fiducial mark #540 ) is formed as a recess in the die ( Fig. 5b #542 and #544 ) with the one or more first side surfaces being one or more sidewalls of the recess ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ).
Regarding claim 5, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 7 #540 ) is configured so that during a subsequent process of moving the die ( Fig. 7 #500 ) in a direction comprising the propagation direction ( Fig. 7 #140 ), the first alignment feature ( Fig. 7 #540 ) guides the die movement ( Fig. 7 #500 ) to obtain a desired offset of the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140 ) in the direction perpendicular ( Fiducial mark #540 is a + symbol so it has a perpendicular component ) to the propagation direction of the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140 ) wherein the movement of the die is due to a misalignment of contact pads in the die and in the interposer ([0110] Rotational misalignment of the waveguide array to the PIC can cause a range of longitudinal misalignments of individual waveguides of the array to the respective optical components on the PIC. Having more than one fiducial mark in accordance with the present invention on the array chip allows accurate rotational alignment ).
Regarding claim 6, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) comprise two first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) with each first side surface configured to face a second side surface of the one or more second side surfaces ( Fig. 4 #446 ), wherein the two first side surfaces are configured for preventing the die from moving in either of two opposite directions perpendicular to the propagation direction ( [ 0105] The fiducial mark #442, #446, #444 is configured for alignment of an optical component to the optical coupling region #414 ).
Regarding claim 7, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 5 #542 and #544) comprise two parallel first side surfaces facing away from each other ( Fig. 5 #542 and #544), with the one or more second side surfaces disposed outside the two parallel first side surfaces ( [0118] In another example (not shown), the first and second portions of the fiducial mark are arranged together into an L-shaped pattern ).
Regarding claim 10, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the patterning at least the first stack of layers ( Fig. 4 step #450 ) comprises depositing a ridge mask ( [0069] A pattern of openings in a hard mask (202, 206 in Fig. 2) ) comprising a first ridge mask portion for patterning the ridge component ( [0069] in a lithographic step defines trenches #102, #106 that are etched to define the ridge waveguide #104 in between them ) and a second ridge mask portion for patterning the first alignment feature ( [0082] the entire fiducial mark is defined by the waveguide etch ).
Regarding claim 11, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above) , wherein the first stack of layers comprises a first etch stop layer ( Fig. 1b and 1C #124) under the quantum well layer ( Fig. 1: MQW) , wherein the first etch stop ( Fig. 1 #124 ) comprises a lower etch rate than at least a layer of the first stack of layers ( by definition an etch stop is a material chosen specifically to have a lower etch rate than the target layer ).
Regarding claim 13, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above) , wherein the patterning at least the first stack of layers comprises patterning the first stack of layers ( [0078] The trenches #102, #106 are etched by the waveguide etch, which selectively stops on the p-type etch stop layer #124) and a portion of the substrate ( [ 0098] The facet etch extends down into the substrate #136 ).
Regarding claim 14, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein a first distance between at least an exposed portion ( [0098] The facet etch extends down into the substrate #136 ) of the one or more exposed portions ( Fig. 5a there are 4 #540 fiducials with the exposed area #546 ) and the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140) is substantially the same as a second distance ( Fig. 7 shows spacing in second direction) between at least a top surface of the one or more top surfaces ( Fig. 7 surface of #704 ) and an optical pathway on the interposer ( Fig. 7 optical component #704 ).
Regarding claim 21, McKee teaches a method for forming a die ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) comprising a buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) an etched-facet laser chip ), the method comprising concurrently forming (450, fig. 4) a ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) ridge waveguide #104 ) of the buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) and a first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) on a substrate ( Fig. 1b #136 ), wherein the ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) #104 ) comprises a quantum well layer ( Fig. 1b and 1c an undoped multi-quantum well (MQW) layer #130 ) for generating an optical signal ( [0075] The SCH and MQW layers are the optically active layers in the laser ), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) comprises one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) for restricting movements of the die ( [0106] when the laser chip is ready for assembly it is positioned upside-down above the silicon photonic integrated circuit (PIC) and alignment is performed using the first and second portions of the fiducial marks ) by the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) configured to form a contact with one or more second side surfaces ( Fig. 7 fiducial marks #760 ) of an interposer ( Fig. 7 photonic integrated circuit (PIC) #702 ) when the die ( Fig. 7 laser chip #500 ) is mounted on and moved relative to the interposer ( Fig. 7 #702 ), wherein the concurrently forming comprises depositing a first stack of layers ( Fig. 4 #450 ) and patterning at least the first stack of layers to form the ridge component ( Fig. 4 #404 ) and the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ); forming a second alignment feature ( [0113] Fig. 5 illustrates a laser chip with deep fiducial marks corresponding to those described with reference to Fig. 4; Fig. 5c #546 ) on the substrate ( Fig. 1 #136 ) by removing at least a top section of the first stack of layers ( Fig. 5c layers #510, #118, #124, and #110 are removed in the area of #546 ) to expose one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 5c part of #136 is exposed), with the one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #136 ) configured to contact ( Fig. 5c #546 is a fiducial mark) one or more top surfaces of the interposer ( [0117] Fiducial mark #540 is configured for alignment of an optical component to the optical coupling region #114) and with a first distance between at least an exposed portion ( [0098] The facet etch extends down into the substrate #136 ) of the one or more exposed portions ( Fig. 5a there are 4 #540 fiducials with the exposed area #546 ) and the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140) being similar to a second distance ( Fig. 7 shows spacing in second direction) between at least a top surface of the one or more top surfaces ( Fig. 7 surface of #704 ) and an optical pathway on the interposer ( Fig. 7 optical component #704 ).
Regarding claim 23, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 7 #540 ) is configured so that during a subsequent process of moving the die ( Fig. 7 #500 ) in a direction comprising the propagation direction ( Fig. 7 #140 ), the first alignment feature ( Fig. 7 #540 ) guides the die movement ( Fig. 7 #500 ) to obtain a desired offset of the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140 ) in the direction perpendicular ( Fiducial mark #540 is a + symbol so it has a perpendicular component ) to the propagation direction of the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140 ) wherein the movement of the die is due to a misalignment of contact pads in the die and in the interposer ([0110] Rotational misalignment of the waveguide array to the PIC can cause a range of longitudinal misalignments of individual waveguides of the array to the respective optical components on the PIC. Having more than one fiducial mark in accordance with the present invention on the array chip allows accurate rotational alignment ).
Regarding claim 24, McKee teaches a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 5 #542 and #544) comprise two parallel first side surfaces facing away from each other ( Fig. 5 #542 and #544), with the one or more second side surfaces disposed outside or inside the two parallel first side surfaces ( [0118] In another example (not shown), the first and second portions of the fiducial mark are arranged together into an L-shaped pattern ).
Regarding claim 26, McKee teaches a method for forming a die ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) comprising a buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) an etched-facet laser chip ), the method comprising depositing a stack of layers on an etch stop layer on a substrate ( [0075] a p-metal layer #116 extends down through a window in the dielectric layer #118. The p-metal layer #116 makes contact to a p-type InGaAs contact layer #120, which is the top epitaxially-grown layer. Below that, a p-type InP cladding layer #122 is followed by a p-type etch stop layer #124 ); concurrently forming (450, fig. 4) a ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) ridge waveguide #104 ) of the buried heterostructure laser structure ( Figs. 1(a-c) #100 ) and a first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) on the substrate ( Fig. 1b #136 ), wherein the ridge component ( Figs. 1(a-c) #104 ) comprises a quantum well layer ( Fig. 1b and 1c an undoped multi-quantum well (MQW) layer #130 ) for generating an optical signal ( [0075] The SCH and MQW layers are the optically active layers in the laser ), wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ) comprises one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) for restricting movements of the die ( [0106] when the laser chip is ready for assembly it is positioned upside-down above the silicon photonic integrated circuit (PIC) and alignment is performed using the first and second portions of the fiducial marks ) by the one or more first side surfaces ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ) configured to form a contact with one or more second side surfaces ( Fig. 7 fiducial marks #760 ) of an interposer ( Fig. 7 photonic integrated circuit (PIC) #702 ) when the die ( Fig. 7 laser chip #500 ) is mounted on and moved relative to the interposer ( Fig. 7 #702 ), wherein the concurrently forming comprises depositing a first stack of layers ( Fig. 4 #450 ) and patterning at least the first stack of layers to form the ridge component ( Fig. 4 #404 ) and the first alignment feature ( Fig. 4 #442 and #444 ); forming a second alignment feature ( [0113] Fig. 5 illustrates a laser chip with deep fiducial marks corresponding to those described with reference to Fig. 4; Fig. 5c #546 ) on the substrate ( Fig. 1 #136 ) wherein the second alignment feature comprises one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 5c part of #136 is exposed), with the one or more exposed portions of the substrate ( Fig. 1 #136 ) configured to contact ( Fig. 5c #546 is a fiducial mark) one or more top surfaces of the interposer ( [0117] Fiducial mark #540 is configured for alignment of an optical component to the optical coupling region #114) and with a first distance between at least an exposed portion ( [0098] The facet etch extends down into the substrate #136 ) of the one or more exposed portions ( Fig. 5a there are 4 #540 fiducials with the exposed area #546 ) and the optical signal ( Fig. 7 #140) being similar to a second distance ( Fig. 7 shows spacing in second direction) between at least a top surface of the one or more top surfaces ( Fig. 7 surface of #704 ) and an optical pathway on the interposer ( Fig. 7 optical component #704 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 22 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKee; US 2024/0168229 A1; 03/2022 in view of Bowen et al.; US 2004/0048404 A1; 09/2003
Claim 3: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above).
McKee discloses with the one or more first side surfaces being one or more sidewalls of the recess ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces ).
McKee does not appear to disclose the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die.
However, Bowen teaches the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die ( Fig. 3 #252 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Bowen with McKee to implement the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die because making the alignment feature a protrusion makes it prominent to ensure highly accurate and repeatable alignment.
Claim 22: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above) wherein the first alignment feature ( Fig. 5a fiducial mark #540 ) is formed as a recess in the die ( Fig. 5b #542 and #544 ) with the one or more first sides being one or more sidewalls of the recess ( Fig. 4 the 1st portion of fiducial patterns is made with two surfaces).
McKee does not appear to disclose the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die with the one or more first sides being one or more sidewalls of the protrusion.
However, Bowen teaches the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die ( Fig. 3 #252 ) with the one or more first sides being one or more sidewalls of the protrusion ( as shown in Fig. 3 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Bowen with McKee to implement the first alignment feature is formed as a protrusion from the die with the one or more first sides being one or more sidewalls of the protrusion because this improves positional accuracy and mechanical guidance during the manufacturing and assembly process.
Claim 4 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKee; US 2024/0168229 A1; 03/2022 in view of Fangman et al.; US 2022/0260793 A1; 02/2021
Claim 4: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above).
McKee does not appear to disclose at least a first side surface of the one or more first side surfaces comprises a curved surface.
However, Fangman teaches at least a first side surface of the one or more first side surfaces comprises a curved surface ( Fig. 5 #72A and #72B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Fangman with McKee to implement at least a first side surface of the one or more first side surfaces comprises a curved surface because this would improve rotational accuracy during alignment.
Claim 8 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKee; US 2024/0168229 A1; 03/2022 in view of Damask et al.; US 5915051; 01/1997
Claim 8: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above).
McKee does not appear to disclose the one or more first side surfaces comprise two parallel first side surfaces facing toward each other, with the one or more second side surfaces disposed inside the two parallel first side surfaces.
Damask teaches the one or more first side surfaces comprise two parallel first side surfaces facing toward each other ( Fig. 12B outer lines of #96 ), with the one or more second side surfaces disposed inside the two parallel first side surfaces ( Fig. 12B inner lines of #96 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Damask with McKee to implement the one or more first side surfaces comprise two parallel first side surfaces facing toward each other, with the one or more second side surfaces disposed inside the two parallel first side surfaces because this approach can be used for laser scanning alignment.
Claims 9 and 25 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKee; US 2024/0168229 A1; 03/2022 in view of Fasano et al.; US 2021/0173145 A1; 12/2019
Claim 9: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above).
McKee does not appear to disclose the first alignment feature comprises a wedge or a recess having a wedge shape comprising two first side surfaces, with a first first side surface of the two first side surfaces forming a first angle with the propagation direction and a second first side surface of the two first side surfaces being parallel to or forming a second angle on an opposite side of the first angle with the propagation direction.
However, Fasano teaches the first alignment feature ( Fig. 3 groove #108) comprises a wedge ( Fig. 3 groove #108 has two sloped or angled sidewalls) or a recess having a wedge shape comprising two first side surfaces ( [0030] groove #108 may include two sloped or angled side walls ), with a first first side surface ( Fig. 3 first sidewall #112 ) of the two first side surfaces forming a first angle with the propagation direction ( Fig. 3 optical fiber #120 ) and a second first side surface ( Fig. 3 second sidewall #118) of the two first side surfaces being parallel to ( Fig. 3 #112 and #118 are in parallel with #120 ) or forming a second angle on an opposite side of the first angle with the propagation direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Fasano with McKee to implement the first alignment feature comprises a wedge or a recess having a wedge shape comprising two first side surfaces, with a first first side surface of the two first side surfaces forming a first angle with the propagation direction and a second first side surface of the two first side surfaces being parallel to or forming a second angle on an opposite side of the first angle with the propagation direction because the use of a wedge shape is often beneficial when optical fibers are being utilized.
Claim 25: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 (as discussed above).
McKee does not appear to disclose the first alignment feature comprises a wedge or a recess having a wedge shape.
However, Fasano teaches the first alignment feature ( Fig. 3 groove #108) comprises a wedge ( Fig. 3 groove #108 has two sloped or angled sidewalls) or a recess having a wedge shape ( [0030] groove #108 may include two sloped or angled side walls ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Fasano with McKee to implement the first alignment feature comprises a wedge or a recess having a wedge shape because the use of a wedge shape is often beneficial when optical fibers are being utilized.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Fasano with McKee to implement the first alignment feature comprises a wedge or a recess having a wedge shape because the wedge shape enhances alignment precision and reliability.
Claim 12 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKee; US 2024/0168229 A1; 03/2022 in view of Ferreira Villares et al.; US 2019/0190235 A1; 12/2017
Claim 12: McKee discloses a method as in claim 1 ( as discussed above).
McKee does not appear to disclose the first stack of layers comprises a second etch stop layer above the quantum well layer , wherein the second etch stop comprises a lower etch rate than the second stack of layers.
However, Ferreira Villares teaches the first stack of layers comprises a second etch stop layer above the quantum well layer ( Fig. 5 quantum well #108 [0086] The second waver #2 may initially be provided on a substrate, coated by an etch stop layer), wherein the second etch stop comprises a lower etch rate than the second stack of layers ( by definition an etch stop is a material chosen specifically to have a lower etch rate than the target layer ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Ferreira Villares with McKee to implement the first stack of layers comprises a second etch stop layer above the quantum well layer, wherein the second etch stop comprises a lower etch rate than the second stack of layers because this approach would protect the underlying layers as the die is built.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment filed 12/26/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Claim
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of remarks, filed 12/26/2025, with respect to claim 1 term "close proximity" have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 09/25/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to claim 1 are covered by McKee.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817